Othehills
Share Othehills's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Othehills's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    06 July 2010
  • Last Review
    15 November 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    15 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    20 July 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Othehills's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
At last I'm in long trousers!
Posted15 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"My first pair of bib tights. Overall very good, I've used them on two rides of about 30miles and have been very comfortable. No chaffing or undue movement. Only very slight criticsm is that off the bike they feel as though they are falling down in the crotch! But great first tights, very warm and comfortable and should see me through most winter rides."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Etape Windproof Gilet
Etape Windproof Gilet
A lightweight, cycling vest for core windchill protection in mild conditions. With an unrestricive cycle specific cut and a ventilating mesh back, the Etape Gilet is the ideal for quick descents and cool early morning starts.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good value basic gilet
Posted15 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The gilet does what it says on the packet..it kees the wind off the chest, allows the back to ventilate and is very comfortable. The lack of a back pocket has proven to be an unfortunate ommission and I think some reflective markings on the back would be a very good feature. On reflection I think it may be worth paying a little more for a few extras."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features, a back pocket and reflective markings would be use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Shame about the bracket
Posted20 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've not yet tried the pump in anger on the roadside, and hope it will be a long time before I do. But practicing in the shed it worked well. It is solid, stable, the footpad works well and it quickly got me upto 95psi. So fine.
My criticsm is that the bike mounting bracket does not fit onto the bottle fittings and allow a bottle cage to also fit...my old Toppeak pump did. And unfortunately the old bracket did not fit the new pump. So it is slung under the cross bar using two plastic ties. Which quite honestly is utterly naff and means the pump waggles about on bumpy roads and and the bracket gets in the way whenever I put the bike onto the service stand.
So good pump, lousy mounting bracket.
"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: lousy mounting bracket
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib short with Action 205 and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics, contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface Giro Air chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I'm a total convert.
Posted27 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
User submitted photo
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I got tired of my shorts slipping down as I rode. So I asked Mr Wiggle's advice. I said I'm 54 years old, a recreational cyclist doing up to 50 miles a week and I don't want to squeeze into something designed for an athlete half my age.
He recommended the Aeron Race Bib Shorts (well actually he first recommended the Ladies version.. but we won't go there!).
They arrived, they looked and felt really good. Two rides and 50 miles later I can say they are superb, comfortable, relaxed, the padding is the best I've ever used, and I don't look like a sad old fool reliving his long lost youth.
So thanks Mr Wiggle, I'll be back for another pair very soon.
PS The photo is me taking a picture of myself in the mirror , to show my wife who was then in the Sue Ryder Hospice undergoing cancer treatment.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Summer Cruiser Unpadded Tights
Altura Summer Cruiser Unpadded Tights
Versatile multi-sport tights, ideal for cycling, walking or as a layering piece in cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Fit
Posted13 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Looking for a light weight legging for the cool starts to April/May morning rides. These proved just perfect. the fit is superb and I found them totally comfortable during rides of up to 30 miles.
But they are more a cool spring day legging than a summer cruiser..if you're putting any effort into the ride the legs wil over heat on days above 10 degrees."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit, warm on cool morning rides
Cons: too warm on mild morning rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ergofit Long Sleeve Jersey
Ergofit Long Sleeve Jersey
This jersey is the perfect all rounder; under a waterproof, combined with a gilet or as a comfortable outer layer.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
keeping warm in style
Posted24 April 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As soon as I unwrapped this jersey I knew it was going to be good. The fabric is a bit thicker and warmer than I had expected. But it is ideal for those much cooler, very slightly frosty, spring morning rides. When you don't really want a jacket on.
The fit is really good and the styling ( I have the red.white/black) version is very smart . I'm not usually bothered about appearance, but I LIKE this jersey and it makes me feel good on the bike.
Absolutely no niggling criticsms, except I fancied the black/yellow but it was discontinued in my size (Medium - in case Mr Wiggle finds one lurking at the back of the shelf)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Jersey
A super light, slim garment with integrated wind protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good way to keep warm on a budget
Posted24 April 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was looking for a light weight jersey for use on spring morning recreational/fitness rides of about 30 - 40 miles.
The DHB does the job and does it well. Initially the windproof front felt like wearing a plastic vest, but I soon got used to that and overall the jersey is very comfortable. The windproofing certainly works well on a cool day coming down the Cotswold escarpment.
Only two minor criticsms; watch the sizing DHB jerseys are distinctly smaller than some other makes - I needed a large in the DHB and a medium in the Altura that I bought at the same time.
Also the zip feels a bit weak, I suspect it will not last more than a couple of seasons. A stronger zip would not add to the weight or slow my ride, but would improve the durability of the jersey.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit, a good budget priced jersey
Cons: weak zip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Safety light design comes full circle with the CatEye Loop. This versatile, lightweight Front and Rear LED light set is the latest innovation in visibility.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bee seen - be safe
Posted03 January 2012
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've stuck these little gems on my helmet and the bright flashing lights .. I believe..make me easier for drivers to see and (hopefully) miss. They are light, easy to fit and very bright.
They also give my colleagues at work a great laugh as I walk out the office with a flashing head!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A flexible bike carrier with ISO approved towball coupling and a quick-tilt.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
On the rack
Posted03 January 2012
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was looking for a simple, low cost towball bike carrier, to take one bike on the back of my campervan. The Thule 972 was the best I could find, it takes three bikes but was easy to adapt. On the towbar it is very secure and provides a stable bike support. The tilting mechanism takes abit of practice, but is simple, secure and effective.
Excellent engineering, good value for money and a neat system to store when not in use. The only downside is that it can mask the number plate and lights - don't take it abroard!
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile
Cons: masks lights and plates.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Nano Tech Bike Cleaner 5 Litre
Muc-Off Nano Tech Bike Cleaner 5 Litre
Muc-Off have now added Nano technology to their award winning cleaning formula. So why is Muc-Off with Nano better? Because the Nano sized particles contained in our revolutionary formula will remove dirt and grime with even less effort!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Best Easy Cleaner
Posted03 January 2012
Othehills
fromTewkesbury
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The biodegradeable, Muc - Off is the most effective bike cleaner I've used. It does what it says on the bottle. It is especially effective in awkward ares such as around derailiers etc. The 5 litre pack makes excellent value....Shame it is pink..I hate pink, but it soon goes mucky brown on the bike!"
Pros: Great Value, biodegradeable, effective
Cons: pink!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Othehills's Questions
 
Othehills has not submitted any questions.
 
Othehills's Answers
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

Can anybody recommend a bracket which allows this pump to sit with a bottle cage?

The pump is excellent and I have tried attaching it to the cross-bar using the cable ties; however it slips around a bit.

I use two water bottles so am after a bracket which I can use in conjunction with a bottle cage.
I've just posted a review with the same complaint... Topeak used to do one...so come on Wiggle hassle Topeak to provide the brackets their customers want and make sure you post one free of charge to everyone who has already bought this pump!!!
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Othehills
Tewkesbury
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Jersey
A super light, slim garment with integrated wind protection.
 

Summer use and SPF rating?

Hi,

I'm from Australia and have sensitive skin. Looking for a long sleeve jersey to wear in the 30 degree sun over here.

- Will this product be too warm?
- What's the SPF rating?
- Any other lightweight products you can recommend?

Cheers
I'd love the chance to find out!

But seriously you do not need the windslammer front in those conditions and I'd suggest you'd be at risk of getting very sweaty on the chest in this jacket.

I've no idea on alternatives, except perhaps to look at long sleeved walking baselayers instead.

Or try night riding.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Othehills
Tewkesbury
 
Safety light design comes full circle with the CatEye Loop. This versatile, lightweight Front and Rear LED light set is the latest innovation in visibility.
 

Would these fit on a helmet?

Depends on your helmet design. But I have fitted them to mine (a specialized) and I think they are a fantastic safety addition. If needs be you can always adapt the elastic cords to improve fit...Oh and don't forget the red one goes at the back.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Othehills
Tewkesbury
 
A flexible bike carrier with ISO approved towball coupling and a quick-tilt.
 

can you confirm if the rack fits on a swan neck towbar

Yes. I'm using it on a swan neck on my campervan and it is very secure.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Othehills
Tewkesbury
 
The height of Castelli Technology and expertise manifested for total performance and zero compromise. The softest fabrics are used for pure comfort, protection and grip while every fine detail is attended to, making this a true Rosso Corsa Glove.
 

How can I choose size for Castelli gloves ?

Go to your local shop,try on lots of gloves, till you find your ideal size and style. Then go home and order from wiggle!
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Othehills
Tewkesbury