LadyStar
Top 250 Contributor
Share LadyStar's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LadyStar's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    47
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    17 June 2009
  • Last Review
    18 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    2
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    08 December 2009
  • Last Answer
    04 July 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
LadyStar's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 Nike Ladies Legend 2.0 Obsessed Capri Tight
Nike Ladies Legend 2.0 Obsessed Capri Tight
The Nike Dri-FIT Obsessed Capris: Superior ease. Effortless style.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted18 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LadyStar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"Got these capris just to hang out, walk, do short cycle trips to the shops etc. They are a good fit, although thick material and quite a bulky waistband with the 'just do it' thick elastic bit inside... And the normal waist band on top... Also, I'm a fan of pockets... And they have just a small open pocket on the front outside, and the same on the inside..."
Cons: Not Enough Features, Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Zone3 Women's Aquaflo Trisuit
Zone3 Women's Aquaflo Trisuit
Designed exclusively for women based on feedback from some of the country’s most experienced triathletes. Female triathletes look for a high level of performance as well as comfort and support and we have brought all these features into the suit design.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted18 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
LadyStar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I returned this product as the fit was so small. Legs were short, but the overall size was tiny. I opted for an Orca and it fits perfectly."
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I wouldn't run in any other bra!
Posted18 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LadyStar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I would seriously never buy any other brand for running than this one. It keeps the assets in check and prevents from damaging delicate tissue and ruining your boobs for life. And I no longer get beeps from white can drivers and gestures of jiggling boobies... Hurrah!
Only thing I would say is that I go for one size bigger round my back, and a cup size smaller. The steps are adjustable on the back (three hooks) and the shoulders.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Ladies ProGel Cycling Shorts
Altura Ladies ProGel Cycling Shorts
Performance lycra cycling shorts for summer days out on the saddle. Featuring an 8 panel construction and a ProGel Seatpad for cushioning and comfort on long endurance training rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A comfortable pair of cycling legs!
Posted18 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LadyStar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Comfortable, well fitting pair of shorts with a good chamois tailored to women. The rise on the back of the shorts also offers good coverage...! This is my second pair..."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Deuter Race Rucksack
Deuter Race Rucksack
For those who only want to take the bare minimum. The Deuter Race packs for bikers are athletic and sleek. Whether for commuting or training, make the most of our lowest price offer while stocks last.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant compact yet feature rich rucksack
Posted15 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LadyStar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I bought one of these a few years ago originally. It was such a hit at home that the man about the house adopted it as his man bag. It had served me well for my running commute to work (4miles) and could easily take shoes and change of clothes and an iPad.
The new styling is just slightly different but same excellent quality and features and for a great price. The bag straps keep it in place when running and it's comfy and cool to carry ie you are not left holding the bag to stop it swinging, or with a hot sweaty back as a result."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Run Long Sleeve Half Zip Hoodie AW12
Ladies Run Long Sleeve Half Zip Hoodie AW12
FEATURES:WarmCELL maintains body temperature in cold weather conditions to keep you warm and comfortableWoven hood for more convenience in bad weather condtionsThumb hole for improved comfortReflective logo for enhanced visibility in low light conditions
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fabulously stylish yet warm and practical.
Posted05 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LadyStar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I love this top for running! It has got a decent quarter zip with a little cover at the top to stop it rubbing on your neck, and a little waterproof hoodie with easy to tighten draw string around it. Also long sleeves with thumb holes to keep your hands warm in cooler weather. And a mini pocket on the back side. It just about fits an iPhone 4 in with a little stretching... and my headphone cable can poke out and go under the top to the neck. Perfect. And so soft and warm. Love it."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit, looks fab!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 X-Socks Winter Run Socks
X-Socks Winter Run Socks
Warm feet even in bone-chilling cold. That's what the X-SOCKS Winter Run with highly insulating Merino wool makes possible. Through the integration of 99.9 % pure silver in the footbed, these cold weather socks also inhibit the growth of bacteria.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Disappointing
Posted08 August 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
LadyStar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"for such an expensive pair of socks... these were pretty disappointing. Not comfortable, rubbed in the wrong places, not great after around an hour on my feet and with another hour or two to go in marathon training..."
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Tech Tight SS11 - old page
Ladies Tech Tight SS11 - old page
This best in class running tight has bonded side seams that provide zero distraction by eliminating seams that can cause chaffing. Gripper elastic hems and mesh venting at back knees provide additional comfort. An added dwr coating on the lower legs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great performance tights
Posted04 July 2011
LadyStar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I love the Nike dri fit range for comfort and fit. I am 5ft 11 and they are long enough (just) for my height. And they have the features you need like a credit card size zip pocket on the back, breathable inserts, reflectives, and zips at the bottom of the legs as well. Really comfortable to wear and never any rubbing :-)"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, zip pocket on rear
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Recovery Powder - 24 x 72g
Recovery Powder - 24 x 72g
The UK's No.1 Recovery brand now in powders. The first to combine world class performance with world class taste. Fast & Slow Protein and Carbohydrate Formula.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted20 December 2010
LadyStar
"Brilliant for recovery after a long run or road bike session."
Pros: delicious!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Race 10 Litre Rucksack - Hydration Compatible
Race 10 Litre Rucksack - Hydration Compatible
An athletic and sleek cycle specific pack. With a simple, clean design made from technical Hexlite material, the Race 10 is the perfect lightweight partner for those who only want to take the bare minimum.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted20 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LadyStar
"Excellent compact bag, with adjustable straps across the waist and chest to keep everything in place even when jogging. Love it!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
LadyStar's Questions
 
LadyStar has not submitted any questions.
 
LadyStar's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
An Evolution of the best selling Night Vision Jacket. In a new fabric and new design featuring a removable LED tab, front hand pockets, hood fittings and loads of reflective trim this is the Ultimate commuting jacket.
 

Is this jacket too warm for Brisbane winters?

I commute to work in the mornings. Is it too warm for Brisbane during winter time? How small does it fold up as it has usually warmed up by late afternoon.
Also, how does this product differ from the cheaper version?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I would reckon that this is too bulky for what you are looking for. You need something more usual for runners or road cyclists which is just a really thin shell which packs down - usually in to itself... I would search for lightweight... and look for one with less pockets and velcro fastenings as these add to the bulk - the lighter jackets have concealed zips and elasticated cuffs and hems. Hope that helps!
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/altura-pocket-rocket-waterproof-cycling-jacket/
3 years, 5 months ago
by
LadyStar
London
 
 Race 10 Litre Rucksack - Hydration Compatible
Race 10 Litre Rucksack - Hydration Compatible
An athletic and sleek cycle specific pack. With a simple, clean design made from technical Hexlite material, the Race 10 is the perfect lightweight partner for those who only want to take the bare minimum.
 

Will Deuter Race Rucksack take a Steamer bladder

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes
4 years ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Cateye HL-EL135 LED Black Front Light
Cateye HL-EL135 LED Black Front Light
The incredibly stylish but compact EL-135 measures just 2.5 x 3.5 x 9cm and weighs in at just 91g.
 

to these conform to uk laws? BS6102/3

can't seem to find info anywhere, many thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
In the blurb on Wiggle, the product description says 'Standards: RVLR'.

This should mean that they are compliant with UK standards and regs per the Dept of Transport. Try these links:

http://www.dft.gov.uk/pgr/roads/vehicles/vssafety/regulationsforpoweredtwoandt4564

http://www.ctc.org.uk/desktopdefault.aspx?tabid=4071

http://www.cateye.com/sites/cateye/upload/manuals/en/LIGHT%20POS%20USA%20081009.pdf
4 years, 1 month ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra
Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra
The Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra is soft with seamless inners which reduces repetitive friction injury. It has wide, padded, non slip straps with advanced technology.
 

Is the run bra suitable for triathlon and does it dry fast

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Never done a triathlon, but if you mean can you run swim and cycle in it? ... it has a really soft inner lining which is all moulded from one piece of material - like microfibre. I sweat a lot when running and it has never chafed me anywhere - up to 14 mile runs. It wicks the sweat away so doesn't feel cold, and if I leave it out to dry after running or washing then yes it dries quickly. Also, the fastening on the lower band is metal, but has survived many washes without the coating coming off, and the upper fastening is plastic. The racer back would mean you have good movement in your arms... So you should be OK for swimming as well.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra
Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra
The Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra is soft with seamless inners which reduces repetitive friction injury. It has wide, padded, non slip straps with advanced technology.
 

What is the back like? Is it cross over?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
It has a normal bra fastening around the band underneath the bust, and then forms a racer back as well between the shoulders which fastens with a bikini style plastic fastening. I put it on like I would a normal bra and then use both hands behind my head to grab the plastic fastening and put them together. Note my review though - brilliant product but you might need to play with the sizing to make sure you get a perfect fit.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Analysis, inspiration and innovation are the key words behind the development of the Tao, the Tacx superlight streamlined bottle cage. The shape of the bike and its technical components inspired the designers.
 

What size bottles

can the Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage take?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Sports bottles are pretty generic in size - Generally I would say any bottle made for a bike cage will do the trick.. But I have a Camelback 750ml which came with a waist belt for running and that is a very snug fit making it a bit of a danger to grab a drink when hurtling down a hill for example... I also tried a Sigg bottle but there was too much space around the outside so risked rattling around. I therefore opted to buy a new Bontrager bottle from a local bike shop and it fits perfectly.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Forerunner 405CX w/ Magazine Subscription
Forerunner 405CX w/ Magazine Subscription
Garmin International is pleased to announce the new Forerunner 405CX GPS-enabled sport watch. Comes with a voucher for a 12-month subscription to Runner's World or Triathlete's World.
 

Are speed and distance shown without foot-pod?

Do you have to buy the foot-pod in order to see current speed and distance travelled? Or can it calculate from GPS how fast I'm running?

My current device is Polar 625X with Foot-Pod, still a great device, but not GPS, and I love Garmin GPS, bought 705 this year for my racer, excellent kit, really excellent.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The Garmin Forerunner 405 measures speed, pace, distance using the GPS when outdoors. If you want to use it indoors, then you will need a footpod. I have the Forerunner 405 (not the new CX but the only difference is colour choice and also an enhanced calorie counting using the Heart Rate Monitor). So standard 405 and 405CX will be the same in terms of GPS. I am a newish runner and love my Garmin. It gets me out, keeps track of my training, keeps me moving, competing with myself or against the Virtual Partner - and then you can quickly download your workout to your PC. You can look at all sorts of stats including mapping the route on a google maps type view - see your speed at each point, laps or splits, elevation etc. I recommend Sportstracks software from Zone Five - loads more features than Garmin Connect.
4 years, 11 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Speed Cadence Sensor Fitting Kit
Garmin GSC 10 Speed Cadence Sensor Fitting Kit
Speed/Cadence sensor (GSC 10) replacement fittings (F/R305 Edge 305HR, 305 CAD, 500, 605, 705HR).
 

Does this include the magnet that goes on the crank?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The description says that it includes a magnet?? Does that help?
4 years, 11 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Saris Wheel Arch Cycle Stand
Saris Wheel Arch Cycle Stand
Great storage idea from Saris. Link more than one bike at any time.
 

Is the width on the Saris wheel arch stand adjustable.

Hi. I have 3 bikes to park in my garage. My son has a mountain bike, I have a Giant CRX2 with narrow tyres and my daughter has a mountain bike too. It would be handy if the width the slot the wheel fits in is adjustable.

Thanks Tony
( Melbourne Australia)
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Recommend you read the reviews on this one... Seems that the Saris mighty rack might be more what you are looking for? I have a Saris car rack which is brilliant., so don't be put off the brand - just get the right solution for what you need! :-)
 
Products from my answer
Saris Mighty Mite Cycle Stand
4.1 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 11 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Podium 710ml/24oz Water Bottle
Podium 710ml/24oz Water Bottle
It's time your bottle caught up with the rest of racing technology.
 

Will the bottle fit in my cage and frame?

Can you tell me how tall it is because my bicycle is a small frame and wanted to know if it'll fit in it? Also, I'm currently using a side bottle cage so wanted to know if the slightly skinny bit in the middle of the bottle is actually aligned with my bottle cage so that it'll fit perfectly.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The bottle itself is 20.5 cm, without top. From the bottom of the bottle to the bottom of the indent is 12cm. The indent is then 4cm, taking you another 4.5 cm to the top of the screw bit on the bottle itself. Haven't got the lid to hand at the moment, but add another 0.5 on the top I guess. I have a Bontrager bottle holder and fits nicely.
4 years, 11 months ago
by
LadyStar