LadyStar
Top 500 Contributor
Share LadyStar's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LadyStar's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    47
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    17 June 2009
  • Last Review
    18 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    2
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    8 December 2009
  • Last Answer
    4 July 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
LadyStar's Reviews
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The incredibly stylish but compact EL-135 measures just 2.5 x 3.5 x 9cm and weighs in at just 91g.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LadyStar
"Small and compact yet very bright. Excellent value for money for the urban commute."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Aspiration Powerlite Capri SS10
Ladies Aspiration Powerlite Capri SS10
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
LadyStar
"Silicone around the legs means they stay in place, but also leave a little wiggly line afterwards :-) Great for summer running as they are breathable and light."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mini Rear Light
Mini Rear Light
It may look like other lights out there, but it doesn't cost as much and does the same thing so why would you choose another? The ultimate solution to emergency lighting!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LadyStar
"Perfect back up light that you can leave on your bike in all weather and it still does the job. These even fit around smaller tubes like pannier racks and stay in place on there as well."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vapor Daybreak Cap
Vapor Daybreak Cap
CONTENT: Body/bill: Dri-Fit CP; 100% polyester taffeta; everquick dry mm chemical finish; inner panel: 108771 Dri-Fit CP; 100% polyester basic interlock; mm inherent, PROFILE: lightweight. check. ventilation. Check. Reflectivity. Check. Our vapor daybreak cap takes our tried and true running silhouette and adds even more performance detailing. The Dri-Fit taffeta features laser perforated side panels offer ventilation as well as protection from the elements. To enhance safety we have reflective piping, binding, backstrap detail, as well as Swoosh design trademark for 360 degree visibility. Comfort bill minimizes forehead pressure and one hand quick adjust closure offers easy sizing on the go.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
LadyStar
"Good running cap with hi viz details. Quite a big size but looks and feels great."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 MP3 / L.E.D. Armband SS12
MP3 / L.E.D. Armband SS12
MP3 / mobile phone / key security pocketNeoprene pocketAdjustable hook & loop armband to fit allPower Mesh vented armbandIncludes Vizion L.E.D
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Just not up to scratch
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
LadyStar
"I bought this so that I could make use of the LEDs on the armband when running on dark winter evenings. The LEDs themselves are quite poor - very basic lightstick which velcros to the front of the MP3 pouch - but the worst thing is that the velcro fastening on the armband itself was just not up to it at all. Not one bit. Doesn't even stay closed. So had to return for a full refund. Have not heard that it was just this one that I had which was faulty - maybe not enough velcro or some part missing?!? - so presume it is a fault with all of them. I absolutely would not recommend. Such a shame as otherwise Ronhill have been reliable and great value for money (running tops, tights, caps, socks are all in my Ronhill wardrobe!)"
Cons: Poor Quality, Low Quality, Poor Fit, not fit for purpose!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Peak Protector SS09
Peak Protector SS09
360 Scotchlite reflective trim, Mesh side panels for breathability and ventilation, Stretch woven fabric and Velcro adjustable strap for comfortable fit, Soft stretch fabric on inner trim for extra comfort around the head
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted22 October 2010
LadyStar
"Good fit and breathable. Perfect for running in rain or bright sun"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Analysis, inspiration and innovation are the key words behind the development of the Tao, the Tacx superlight streamlined bottle cage. The shape of the bike and its technical components inspired the designers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted5 May 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LadyStar
"Very light and great low price. Easy to fit and is easy to get the bottle in and out of the cage, although my Camelback 750 ml didn't fit in so had to nip down to the local bike shop and get a Bontrager bottle which was a bit narrower and a perfect fit."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Earnley Cycling Shorts
Earnley Cycling Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices. One of our best-selling products, the dhb Earnley Cycling Shorts are exceptionally comfortable and affordable.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted5 May 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LadyStar
"Great value and comfortable fit. Definitely recommend."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mini Front Light
Mini Front Light
It may look like other lights out there, but it doesn't cost as much and does the same thing so why would you choose another? The ultimate solution to emergency lighting!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy to fit, bright, easy to use
Posted25 March 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LadyStar
"This little light is very easy to fit on to the bike and quickly take off again as needed. It is bright with two modes of flashing or constant which is easy to switch on/off/change mode as well with a small button on the top. And apparently, the battery lasts much longer than some other similar products. Great value for back up when you need it."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye SL-LD110 Loop LED Safety Front Light
Cateye SL-LD110 Loop LED Safety Front Light
Safety light design comes full circle with the CatEye Loop. This versatile, lightweight Front LED is the latest innovation in visibility.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy to install, bright, not very sensitive
Posted25 March 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
LadyStar
"This light is really easy to install and is pretty small relative to the brightness it gives off - perfect for stashing and using as and when you need it or lightweight enough to just leave on the bike just in case. The only thing is that turning it on and off is a bit fiddly and it also apparently doesn't last as long in terms of battery life as some other similar products"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
LadyStar's Questions
 
LadyStar has not submitted any questions.
 
LadyStar's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
An Evolution of the best selling Night Vision Jacket. In a new fabric and new design featuring a removable LED tab, front hand pockets, hood fittings and loads of reflective trim this is the Ultimate commuting jacket.
 

Is this jacket too warm for Brisbane winters?

I commute to work in the mornings. Is it too warm for Brisbane during winter time? How small does it fold up as it has usually warmed up by late afternoon.
Also, how does this product differ from the cheaper version?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I would reckon that this is too bulky for what you are looking for. You need something more usual for runners or road cyclists which is just a really thin shell which packs down - usually in to itself... I would search for lightweight... and look for one with less pockets and velcro fastenings as these add to the bulk - the lighter jackets have concealed zips and elasticated cuffs and hems. Hope that helps!
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/altura-pocket-rocket-waterproof-cycling-jacket/
6 years, 10 months ago
by
LadyStar
London
 
 Race 10 Litre Rucksack - Hydration Compatible
Race 10 Litre Rucksack - Hydration Compatible
An athletic and sleek cycle specific pack. With a simple, clean design made from technical Hexlite material, the Race 10 is the perfect lightweight partner for those who only want to take the bare minimum.
 

Will Deuter Race Rucksack take a Steamer bladder

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes
7 years, 5 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
The incredibly stylish but compact EL-135 measures just 2.5 x 3.5 x 9cm and weighs in at just 91g.
 

to these conform to uk laws? BS6102/3

can't seem to find info anywhere, many thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
In the blurb on Wiggle, the product description says 'Standards: RVLR'.

This should mean that they are compliant with UK standards and regs per the Dept of Transport. Try these links:

http://www.dft.gov.uk/pgr/roads/vehicles/vssafety/regulationsforpoweredtwoandt4564

http://www.ctc.org.uk/desktopdefault.aspx?tabid=4071

http://www.cateye.com/sites/cateye/upload/manuals/en/LIGHT%20POS%20USA%20081009.pdf
7 years, 7 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
The Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra is soft with seamless inners which reduces repetitive friction injury. It has wide, padded, non slip straps with advanced technology.
 

Is the run bra suitable for triathlon and does it dry fast

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Never done a triathlon, but if you mean can you run swim and cycle in it? ... it has a really soft inner lining which is all moulded from one piece of material - like microfibre. I sweat a lot when running and it has never chafed me anywhere - up to 14 mile runs. It wicks the sweat away so doesn't feel cold, and if I leave it out to dry after running or washing then yes it dries quickly. Also, the fastening on the lower band is metal, but has survived many washes without the coating coming off, and the upper fastening is plastic. The racer back would mean you have good movement in your arms... So you should be OK for swimming as well.
7 years, 7 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
The Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra is soft with seamless inners which reduces repetitive friction injury. It has wide, padded, non slip straps with advanced technology.
 

What is the back like? Is it cross over?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It has a normal bra fastening around the band underneath the bust, and then forms a racer back as well between the shoulders which fastens with a bikini style plastic fastening. I put it on like I would a normal bra and then use both hands behind my head to grab the plastic fastening and put them together. Note my review though - brilliant product but you might need to play with the sizing to make sure you get a perfect fit.
7 years, 7 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Analysis, inspiration and innovation are the key words behind the development of the Tao, the Tacx superlight streamlined bottle cage. The shape of the bike and its technical components inspired the designers.
 

What size bottles

can the Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage take?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Sports bottles are pretty generic in size - Generally I would say any bottle made for a bike cage will do the trick.. But I have a Camelback 750ml which came with a waist belt for running and that is a very snug fit making it a bit of a danger to grab a drink when hurtling down a hill for example... I also tried a Sigg bottle but there was too much space around the outside so risked rattling around. I therefore opted to buy a new Bontrager bottle from a local bike shop and it fits perfectly.
8 years ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Forerunner 405CX w/ Magazine Subscription
Forerunner 405CX w/ Magazine Subscription
Garmin International is pleased to announce the new Forerunner 405CX GPS-enabled sport watch. Comes with a voucher for a 12-month subscription to Runner's World or Triathlete's World.
 

Are speed and distance shown without foot-pod?

Do you have to buy the foot-pod in order to see current speed and distance travelled? Or can it calculate from GPS how fast I'm running?

My current device is Polar 625X with Foot-Pod, still a great device, but not GPS, and I love Garmin GPS, bought 705 this year for my racer, excellent kit, really excellent.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The Garmin Forerunner 405 measures speed, pace, distance using the GPS when outdoors. If you want to use it indoors, then you will need a footpod. I have the Forerunner 405 (not the new CX but the only difference is colour choice and also an enhanced calorie counting using the Heart Rate Monitor). So standard 405 and 405CX will be the same in terms of GPS. I am a newish runner and love my Garmin. It gets me out, keeps track of my training, keeps me moving, competing with myself or against the Virtual Partner - and then you can quickly download your workout to your PC. You can look at all sorts of stats including mapping the route on a google maps type view - see your speed at each point, laps or splits, elevation etc. I recommend Sportstracks software from Zone Five - loads more features than Garmin Connect.
8 years, 4 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Speed Cadence Sensor Fitting Kit
Garmin GSC 10 Speed Cadence Sensor Fitting Kit
Speed/Cadence sensor (GSC 10) replacement fittings (F/R305 Edge 305HR, 305 CAD, 500, 605, 705HR).
 

Does this include the magnet that goes on the crank?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The description says that it includes a magnet?? Does that help?
8 years, 4 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Saris Wheel Arch Cycle Stand
Saris Wheel Arch Cycle Stand
Great storage idea from Saris. Link more than one bike at any time.
 

Is the width on the Saris wheel arch stand adjustable.

Hi. I have 3 bikes to park in my garage. My son has a mountain bike, I have a Giant CRX2 with narrow tyres and my daughter has a mountain bike too. It would be handy if the width the slot the wheel fits in is adjustable.

Thanks Tony
( Melbourne Australia)
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Recommend you read the reviews on this one... Seems that the Saris mighty rack might be more what you are looking for? I have a Saris car rack which is brilliant., so don't be put off the brand - just get the right solution for what you need! :-)
 
Products from my answer
 
8 years, 4 months ago
by
LadyStar
 
 Podium 710ml/24oz Water Bottle
Podium 710ml/24oz Water Bottle
It's time your bottle caught up with the rest of racing technology.
 

Will the bottle fit in my cage and frame?

Can you tell me how tall it is because my bicycle is a small frame and wanted to know if it'll fit in it? Also, I'm currently using a side bottle cage so wanted to know if the slightly skinny bit in the middle of the bottle is actually aligned with my bottle cage so that it'll fit perfectly.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The bottle itself is 20.5 cm, without top. From the bottom of the bottle to the bottom of the indent is 12cm. The indent is then 4cm, taking you another 4.5 cm to the top of the screw bit on the bottle itself. Haven't got the lid to hand at the moment, but add another 0.5 on the top I guess. I have a Bontrager bottle holder and fits nicely.
8 years, 4 months ago
by
LadyStar