Hammers
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Hammers's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Hammers's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    34
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    17 June 2009
  • Last Review
    26 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    21 June 2009
  • Last Question
    21 March 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    04 February 2012
  • Last Answer
    02 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Hammers's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 Topeak Tri-Bag with Mesh Cover
Topeak Tri-Bag with Mesh Cover
Positioned for minimum wind resistance and easy access these bags are ideal for triathletes or other riders wanting to keep energy food or other small items close at hand.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
For long rides it makes food accessible
Posted26 October 2014
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I generally dont like these types of bags as they can ruin the lines of the bike but if you are riding 150k+ you need to carry a lot of food with you.
Wish it was slightly longer, and not quite as high but otherwise it does the trick pretty well. good value, no need to spend more on expensive ones unless you are using it on every ride
"
Pros: Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
glad I got the blue ones
Posted26 October 2014
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i only got the blue ones (semi adjustable/float) as yellow was out of stock. Blue is better my friends! feel more connected to the bike and the pedals than with a sloppy yellow. Takes a couple of rides to get used to but glad I made the change"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Marathon Race Pack
High5 Marathon Race Pack
Marathon Pack contains enough award-winning nutrition to boost your carbohydrate intake at breakfast on race day, EnergyGel for use during your Marathon and Protein Recovery for afterwards.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
seriously good value
Posted26 October 2014
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"good product and for how much you get for $15 - you cant go past it for a specific event, or stocking up the gel cupboard
the wife loves the drink bottle too"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Race Pack
High5 Race Pack
A performance sports nutrition program for endurance events. The High5 Race Pack includes everything you need to stay fuelled, hydrated and focussed on race day.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bargain central
Posted05 October 2014
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"High 5 gels are gentler than other brands and easier to get down. almost watery, but still do the trick"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Winter Sock
dhb Winter Sock
Heavyweight winter cycling sock, with Thermolite polyester fibers aimed to keep you as warm as possible, in crisp cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
what have I been missing out on!
Posted04 October 2014
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Winter socks are da bomb. nothing worse than cold toes and these little babies keep my toes warm at anything between 0-8 degrees.
get on board
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, toastie warm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Wet Lube 120ml
Muc-Off Wet Lube 120ml
Race quality lubricant suitable for all types of bikes. Ideal for chains, cables, shifters, derailleurs, pedals & cleats.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
could buy better
Posted13 July 2014
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"it just doesn't seem to last very long. maybe you get what you pay for but I wish I'd spent a little more and got something better"
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sugoi RS Zero Long Sleeved Jersey
Sugoi RS Zero Long Sleeved Jersey
Sugoi's pinnacle performance thermal LS jersey that features advanced fabrics & detailing for maximum rider comfort during wet/cold weather rides. The jersey also displays a full front zip, 3 rear pockets, & windproof chest & arm panels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great cut
Posted13 July 2014
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A great cut. not quite as windproof as I hoped but really nice, comfortable and warm. I bought the red not realising the back is all black which isn't the safest, but with a gilet no issue"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value for money warm winter 3/4
Posted13 July 2014
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"a great chamois, well constructed kit. dhb are better than many 50% more expensive"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Northwave Force Long Sleeve Jersey
Northwave Force Long Sleeve Jersey
A long sleeve road cycling jersey with a breathable, insulated polyester thermopile fabric construction. Featuring rear pockets for storing ride essentials and reflex inserts for increased visibility.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Arms made for a monkey
Posted24 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The arms on this jersey are freakishly long. I couldn't use the product and needed to return it. Looked great just not a good cut at all"
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Udderly Smooth Chamois Cream
Udderly Smooth Chamois Cream
A thick moisturising solution for comfort and reduced friction on endurance road rides. Apply to your seatpad on shorter rides or apply to both your skin and seatpad on epic sportives and stage races.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect
Posted24 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hammers
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Went on a 40k ride without using the cream and a 100k ride using it. Felt better after the 100k ride thanks to the cream. If you've never used chamois cream get on board"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Hammers's Questions
 
 Ladies Free 3.0 V4 Shoes SP13
Ladies Free 3.0 V4 Shoes SP13
The Nike Free 3.0 Women's Running Shoe is the closest to barefoot that Nike has offered to date. Designed for flexibility and foot strengthening, it also delivers the underfoot protection and traction of a shoe.
 

will you be getting more of these in stock or are they discontinued? Thx

1 year, 9 months ago
by
Hammers
Melbourne
 
 CX236C Road Shoes
CX236C Road Shoes
Fully featured road shoes with a Carbon Fibre sole, Full grain leather construction and the highly praised BOA lacing system, all at fantastic value.
 

Can you buy rubber wear pads for these shoes?

I have a pair of these shoes and love everything about them except the fact that there are no rubber wear pads, its sole straight onto concrete as soon as you get out of the pedals.

I have taken to gluing old bits of rubber on the soles but that is far from ideal. I sent an email to Lake directly and got no response (tsk tsk).

Was hoping someone may have a better solution

Cheers
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Hammers
Melbourne
 
 Morning-Ton Sportive - Standard 110km Route
Morning-Ton Sportive - Standard 110km Route
The second Australian Wiggle Cycling Series event has arrived - The Wiggle Morning-Ton. Join Wiggle and ride over 100kms around the stunning Mornington Peninsula in glorious sunshine.
 

What is the route?

Interested to do this ride - but do you have a map of the route / profile so I can know what I am getting myself in for / the difficulty of the ride?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Hammers
Melbourne
 
 Clarks Road Brake Pad for Shimano Brake Systems
Clarks Road Brake Pad for Shimano Brake Systems
A triple compound brake pad for use with Shimano brake systems.
 

are these pads for carbon or alu rims? Thanks

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Hammers
Melbourne
 
 FSA Ceramic Bearing Jockey Wheels
FSA Ceramic Bearing Jockey Wheels
Ceramic rotational parts are making a huge impact on the cycle scene, Ceramic bearings equal increased speed at a lower effort and increased durability for your high-end components.
 

How many are in a package? i.e is price for 1 wheel or a pair?

5 years, 5 months ago
by
Hammers
 
 Ksyrium SL Premium Wheel Set
Ksyrium SL Premium Wheel Set
Take the Ksyrium SL with all that makes it unique (different rim heights, carbon front hub, optimised rear dish, asymmetric rear rim...) and then lighten it even further with titanium. Supplied with titanium quick release and wheel bags.
 

How heavy is this wheelset?

5 years, 6 months ago
by
Hammers
 
Hammers's Answers
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 

Can these be attached to the back of your helmet?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
Have one on my seat post and one on my helmet, but it likely depends on your helmet. I have a lazier genesis
11 months ago
by
Hammers
Melbourne
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

i am 5' 11 and 34 waist, can you tell me if i need a medium or large in the Aeron Pro cycling bib shorts

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I am pretty much the same dimensions as you and got the large. Fits great. Think medium would be too small for you
11 months ago
by
Hammers
Melbourne
 
 CX236C Road Shoes
CX236C Road Shoes
Fully featured road shoes with a Carbon Fibre sole, Full grain leather construction and the highly praised BOA lacing system, all at fantastic value.
 

What Overhoes fits these shoes?

I've got a pair of these shoes but have been unable to find a pair of overshoes that fit them. The BOA system at the heel gets in the way. Can you recommend any particular one/brand?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have these shoes and DHB overshoes
its tight but they do fit over ok

Great shoes (although no rubber wear pads on the sole)
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Hammers
Melbourne
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

Is the photo on this product page black/black or black/white?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
black / white
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Hammers
Melbourne
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

Sizing question

Hi - would need some guidance on the sizing for me:

Height: 6'1"
Chest: 42"
Waist: 36"
Thighs: 23"

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
hi
i'm 6'0", 40" chest and 34" waist and the large are spot on for me, so maybe an XL for you
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Hammers
Melbourne