Flyingdoov
Share Flyingdoov's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Flyingdoov's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    22 July 2009
  • Last Review
    09 June 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    20 August 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    02 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    02 July 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Flyingdoov's Reviews
 
The Zecto Drive rear LED ligh sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Blinded by the light
Posted09 June 2015
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good lighting option with multiple flash modes. Frustrating need to cycle through all options to my preferred instead of a "switch on at last off" capability. Charging port also a little too snug with water-proof plug which sometimes needs very carefully adjusted to ensure the thing is actually charging (I'd call it a design fault). Still love the integrated rubber strap and visibility."
Pros: Attractive, Versatile
Cons: charge port problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A light weight clincher wheelset with milled alloy rims and a MoMag inner profile to eliminate rim tape and reduce rotational mass. Racing 3s feature an oversized drive side flange and a 2:1 spoke ratio for quick handling out on the tarmac.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
2 years, 0.5mm movement
Posted24 April 2015
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"1st set of these must have been a bad batch as was continually re-truing and having my LBS work them. ~10,000km... almost half commuting and the rims were worn down :-(
2nd set are sensational. 2 years in and there's about 0.5mm deviation in one spot on one wheel. Great gear. My LBS said they are typically like this.. bomb proof and solid as they come."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wheel go round and round
Posted07 February 2015
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Air in, lock valve closed, pedal. Just talc up the rubber first to avoid "operator (pinch) errors"."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6600 10 Speed Chain
Shimano Ultegra 6600 10 Speed Chain
Hyperglide (HG) series 10-speed compatible chain, recommended for Ultegra drivetrains (recommended for use with triple chainsets).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Makes the wheels go round and round
Posted22 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Slight rust forms after heavy water logging if you don't dry it out. Maintain regularly are you'll get a good 5000kms out of it!"
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sidi Dominator 5 Lorica MTB Shoes 2013
Sidi Dominator 5 Lorica MTB Shoes 2013
High performance mountain bike shoes with all you need to keep your feet comfortable and secure out on the trails. Featuring a lorica synthetic leather upper and the Sidi MTB competition heel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Once you go black, you never go back
Posted18 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"First set of serious shoes and aside from the colour (wish they had them in white.... SIDI !!!!) they have been a dream. Great fit (yes check out your sizing before checking out your wallet), easy to adjust on a ride clipped in, they wear well (4 year, 16,000kms and still looking new) and make my bike fly...or is that me?"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance road-specific pad inserts designed to fit all Shimano Road Systems. Designed for alloy rims and compatible with Dura-Ace 7900 brakes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lights up!
Posted02 July 2011
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Usually good for 6,000kms including a fair bit of commuting.
"Stopped me dead in my tracks""
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Double-looped cable for use with all Kryptonite U-locks, disc locks and padlocks. Braided steel cable has greater core density than twisted cable, increasing cut resistance.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Flex-o-snake
Posted02 July 2011
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After purchasing the longer cable, I wonder if it may be abit too long but at least I'll never be kept "short" when trying to secure my front wheel. As with all cables (unarmoured) I suspect a pair of decent bolt cutters would likely make a small meal but it does deter those less serious types.
The cable itself is well housed in thick plastic coating (won't damage your bike) and the bright orange cable ends screem "leave me alone" (or maybe anything but bolt cutters!).
A good partnder to a heavy duty d-lock."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: heard it easy to snip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 New York 3000 Bike D Lock
New York 3000 Bike D Lock
Hardened steel sleeve over crossbar provides double security protection with a double deadbolt locking mechanism.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bomb-proof Bike Security
Posted02 July 2011
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"For years I agonised over my continued use of my combo cable lock, off and on eying off D-locks thinking, why should I upgrade? Its worked for years!
Well,a few weeks ago building security at my work caught some rapscallion who had severed the cable (they saw him on CCTV and sadi it took him seconds) and was making off with my treasured wheels "Hannibal". My bike and severed lock was retreved by the scoundrel ran off through the city.
I didn't hesitate in purchasing my kryptonite New York lock and after receiving it 2 business days later!!!!!! feel comfortable that unless someone is sporting a generator (or long power lead), an angle grinder and has 10mins of noise making merriment uninterupted (well that's how long the reviews say it will take to break and I believe from the feel of the beast) that my bike will not go walkies.
It is heavy and not intended for transporting around so for those who complain that the weight is a detractor, I guess unless you are going to obtain an unreleased NASA invention that gives the same protection for 1/10 of the weight, yes you will be weighed down when moving this baby around. I did it last week once, suffered but knew I was going to and still have my bike."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Park Tools Master Link Pliers are designed to help remove and replace master links in modern chain systems, although not needed when new they are invaluable on a used chain which can become 'stubborn' when attempting to separate the joining link
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fingers in tact!
Posted02 July 2011
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After too many chain detatching "operations" using all manner of tools and invariably me ending up with strained and cut fingers (probably due to poor tool selection) I found these pliers to be a revelation in chain removal.
They take about 5 seconds to use properly and operate a master link release with hardly any effort.
If you were like me and fumble about, straining to get your chain off due to grit buildup which prevent the "sales brochure" finger operated release, get yourself a pari of these!"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Rubino Pro Folding Road Tyre
Rubino Pro Folding Road Tyre
Road racing folding clincher tyre with full bead to bead puncture protection. All-rounder for different conditions, from dry to wet, from fast to twisty, to be used in almost every situation.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Rubino Pro Go GO GO!!!
Posted22 July 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flyingdoov
fromMelbourne, Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After being recommended these by a friend who used them for training rides, I tossed my continentals that had given me no end of grief after 1000kms and have had nothing but good service for the last 5000kms from my rubino pros. Good grip, handling and sexy looking colours to match your paint work. Good value and great durability."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Flyingdoov's Questions
 
The Osprey Hydraulics 2L Reservoir System allows you to remain hydrated without compromising fit, comfort or stability.
 

Osprey Hydraulics 2L Reservoir System

Will this work with a Deuter 30AC?
1 week, 1 day ago
by
Flyingdoov
Melbourne
 
A compact, bike specific rucksack with an AirStripes carry system, anatomic straps and mesh wings. The Trans Alpine offers 30 litres of durable, secure and stable storage with a cool and comfortable feel.
 

Trans Alpine 30 Rucksack aircon

I was wondering if Wiggle is going to stock the Trans Alpine 30 AC (aircomfort) model as opposed to the airstripes one currently stocked? I've done a bit of reading and think I would prefer to go with the AC over the one on offer. Please let me know! Thanks :-)
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Flyingdoov
Melbourne
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 

Are you going to stock the replacement brushes?

 
Products related to my question
 
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Flyingdoov
Melbourne
 
 Chainring Nut Tool
Chainring Nut Tool
Chainring nut wrench.
 

Shimano Ultegra Chainring Suitability

Will this work with Ultegra 6601chainring bolts: gear fixing bolts (M8 x 9.1)?
5 years, 4 months ago
by
Flyingdoov
Melbourne
 
 Ksyrium Elite Black Clincher Road Wheelset
Ksyrium Elite Black Clincher Road Wheelset
1550 grams! High end technologies - Ksyrium - What else.
 

Will you sell the wheels separately , i.e. rear or front only?

5 years, 10 months ago
by
Flyingdoov
Melbourne
 
Flyingdoov's Answers
 
Double-looped cable for use with all Kryptonite U-locks, disc locks and padlocks. Braided steel cable has greater core density than twisted cable, increasing cut resistance.
 

How big are the loops? (internal diameter). Will they fit over the ends of a Abus Granit Steel O Flex 1000?

ID is approx 15mm but I think could be made to fit up to 25mm due to the flex in the cable. Fits Kryptonite NewYork ~14mm prongs fine.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Flyingdoov
Melbourne
 
 New York 3000 Bike D Lock
New York 3000 Bike D Lock
Hardened steel sleeve over crossbar provides double security protection with a double deadbolt locking mechanism.
 

Is the lock weatherproof ? for example if i left the lock outside the majority of the time would is stop working ?

Yes (from what I have read) and the key hole has a sliding (sturdy) plastic cover which would prevent it being fouled. The heavy plastic coating would also protect it from most conditions (can't think of any that it wouldn't but there's no harm in hedging your bets... lava flows?)
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Flyingdoov
Melbourne
 
 New York 3000 Bike D Lock
New York 3000 Bike D Lock
Hardened steel sleeve over crossbar provides double security protection with a double deadbolt locking mechanism.
 

What is the weight of this lock?

I've looked at a few locks and none of them (so far) seem to list the weight. Many thanks Barry
some reviews quote 1.8kg and in the hand/lugged in my day pack, it feels about right.... its not really intended for transporting around but it is a great lock!
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Flyingdoov
Melbourne
 
 New York 3000 Bike D Lock
New York 3000 Bike D Lock
Hardened steel sleeve over crossbar provides double security protection with a double deadbolt locking mechanism.
 

What is the size of this lock? (Kryptonite New York 3000 Bike D Lock)

as i ask above can you please tell me the specification of this item?

I can not find information regarding the size is it the
4" x 8" (10.2cm x 20.3cm)
or
3.25" x 6" (8.3cm x 153cm)

Thanks
4" x 8" - which seems small if you haven't used a d-lock before (like I hadn't a few weeks ago), but is fine for most locations/bike racks
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Flyingdoov
Melbourne