Gentlemanbear
Share Gentlemanbear's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Gentlemanbear's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    08 May 2013
  • Last Review
    06 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    06 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    06 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Gentlemanbear's Reviews
 
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice looking jersey in a race fit.
Posted06 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Gentlemanbear
"Bought this jersey along with the matching short and it does indeed look smart when they're matched.
Sleeves and back have a two layer mesh construction going on which I presume helps with ventilation - the jersey's pretty lightweight and if probably better for summer use than all seasons depending what you're wearing with it.
One note is that the jersey really is race fit in my opinion - I'm a medium in normal life and a large in cycling tops so I went for the large here and whilst it fits nicely it's probably right at the cusp of being big enough for me. It's also very nearly too short and at 174cm I'm barely average height, let alone tall. I'd order one size up from your normal off-bike clothes size if you want a very snug fit and two sizes up if you want a bit of give or if you have a beer reserve which needs to be accommodated!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great short for the price
Posted06 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gentlemanbear
"Nice shorts for everyday use - the pad's chunky enough to provide a decent level of comfort and the bib is really lightweight.
Minor minor gripe is that the small dhb logo on the bum has started to peel at the edges after just three wears/washes. Not a problem in the grand scheme of things.
In terms of sizing, I'm 174cm (5'9'') tall and 89cm (35") around the middle and a medium fits perfectly."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Cosmic Elite Clincher Wheelset 2013
Cosmic Elite Clincher Wheelset 2013
The Cosmic Elite wheelset is the starting point for Mavic’s aerodynamic range of wheels. Featuring a 30mm aluminium rim profile, the Cosmic Elite is designed for riders who want speed coupled with excellent rider qualities.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A great upgrade option
Posted08 May 2013
Gentlemanbear
"So I've had my Focus Cayo for about four years now - a mix of commuting (25-30miles a day, four times a week) and the odd longer ride (50+miles once a month or so) on the stock wheels that it came with - Shimano RS10s. Not terrible wheels by any means, and I wondered for ages and ages how much difference a £300 upgrade could possibly make.
Well, I finally took the plunge on the Cosmic Elites and I can't believe the difference a set of wheels can make. To the extent that I'm kicking myself that I didn't upgrade sooner because they're such a joy to ride.
The whole bike feels stiffer at low speeds or climbing, and as I'm not a light rider (87kg) this difference is very comforting.
Spin up speed isn't significantly better since this isn't a particularly light pair of wheels but once you're up to speed they hold it well. When you put the hammer down I'd estimate that they're worth 1mph advantage vs. the RS10s under 20mph and 2mph advantage above that mark.
Lastly, and most important, they make the bike look totally pimp.
My only gripe, and it's a really minor one which says more about my bike maintenance skills than anything else, is that the spacer on the shimano fit is pretty tricky to slot on if you don't know what you're doing... and even with the spacer my chainline is about half a mm out which is going to require a trip to the LBS. This could be avoided by paying your LBS to fit in the first place I suppose.
In short - would definitely recommend."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, fast, stiff
Cons: tricky to set up if you don't know how
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Gentlemanbear's Questions
 
Gentlemanbear has not submitted any questions.
 
Gentlemanbear's Answers
 
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 

What type of fit is this, the picture below the size chart shows form fit but the description says slim?

It's race-fit if you ask me - if you don't want a super close fit I'd go one size up from your normal cycling jersey size... it's also quite short so again, if you're tall or long-bodied you might want to go one up.

Nice jersey though.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Gentlemanbear