Plunknotter
Share Plunknotter's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Plunknotter's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    07 July 2009
  • Last Review
    27 February 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    23 April 2010
  • Last Question
    23 April 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    08 June 2011
  • Last Answer
    08 June 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Plunknotter's Reviews
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Leg Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
No bad but not warm enough for me
Posted27 February 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Plunknotter
fromBridgnorth UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought these to take the chill off on cold mornings. They fit well and are brilliant value, especially at the discounted price. They were a bit too lightweight for me so I am sending them back. For info I am 6ft - 77kg and the medium fits ok"
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
Cons: thin material
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A pure bred Road Race helmet made with the finest Italian craftsmanship. The Dieci features the Kask Up & Down fitting system for an exceptional fit and a unique synthetic leather chin strap for soft, un-abrasive securing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Brilliant Quality Helmet
Posted14 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Plunknotter
fromBridgnorth UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought this helmet to replace my Giro Atmos. In terms of quality it is in a different league with minimal areas of exposed polystyrene and the best straps and rear retention system I have ever seen on a helmet. When you put the helmet on it immediately feels comfortable and secure, even without the strap done up! With the strap fastened you are wearing something that feels as if it would really provide protection in a spill. That said it is stil really light, comfortable and in seconds you forget you are wearing it. The only very slight niggle is the ends of the arms of my Oakley Radars touch the sides of the rear retention system touch and although you can wear them perfectly ok it is slightly irritating. I wouldn't change the helmet on that basis but may consider different sunglasses next time! All in all a great buy albeit still expensive for a polystyrene hat with no VAT!... Highly recommended."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant Bibshort - Fantastic Value
Posted08 June 2011
Plunknotter
fromBridgnorth UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I had a bit of a crash! Ripped a huge hole in my Assos shorts - Oh well I thought I'll just buy a new pair - Not at £160 I won't - So I started to look at alternatives. That's how I came to these on Wiggle and decided to give them a try. Well, I can honestly say unless the price of Assos shorts plummets I will be sticking with these. Tthe quality is excellent - All the stitching is neat and strong. The material is great quality but the best bit is the pad - Long spells seated at tempo no problem. Just the right amount of padding in the right place with no bulkiness. Oh and the price - under half the price of Assos Milles. I am 6' tall and about 12 stones - Large fits me like a glove. Great shorts."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Squadra Due Jacket
Squadra Due Jacket
A lightweight packable shell, ideal for stuffing in your pocket in-case of rain on those showery days
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very Good Value for Money..But
Posted20 April 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Plunknotter
fromBridgnorth UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I really like Castelli - I find that there clothing generally fits me really well and is of excellent quality. Castelli usually sits towards the upper end of the expense scale and this item is therefore an exception but this is for a reason. Despite being of the usual Castelli fit and design this jacket is quite flimsy and thin. It does not have the Castelli substantial feel and gives the impression that it will not last too long. That said I did a 100 mile sportive in it 2 weeks ago the weather was chillier than I had anticipated and I only turned up with a race jersey and arm warmers and this saved me. It kept me warmer and thwarted a couple of light showers. It packs up really small and takes up very little space in a jersey pocket. I'd definately recommend as a 'take along just in case' Jacket just don't expect too much for the price paid.."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Low Quality, flimsy material
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Performance lycra cycling shorts for summer days out on the saddle. Featuring cool mesh bibs and a ProGel Seatpad for cushioning and comfort on long endurance training rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Bib Short at the price
Posted11 February 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Plunknotter
fromBridgnorth UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these shorts as training shorts to save my really expensive shorts from excessive wear caused by turbo training etc. These shorts make me wonder why the premium shorts are so much more expensive! The quality at this price is exceptional. The stictching is neat and the material is a not too shiny and has a quality feel. I ordered a large size and they are a perfect fit (I am 6ft and 12 1/2 stone). On the bike the pad is comfortable and not too bulky. Great for at least an hour on the turbo. In all you couldn't reasonably expect more at this price point - Highly recommended."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: no real neg. points for the price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Trosso 6cm Ankle Cuff Socks
Trosso 6cm Ankle Cuff Socks
Meryl skinlife antibacterial fibres, Midfoot support, 6cm ankle cuff
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Socks - A bit expensive
Posted09 July 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Plunknotter
fromBridgnorth UK
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Thes socks fit fantastically - They are stretchy in the right areas and allow your feet to breathe without being boring about socks they look the bees knees too"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Classic Pirate Cycling Socks
Classic Pirate Cycling Socks
3" classic cuff socks.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Pirate Logo - Not white as it appears
Posted07 July 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Plunknotter
fromBridgnorth UK
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The quality of these socks is generally good but theh pirate logo is not white as it appears in the picture but a sort of marbled effect beige and light green. If this is what you want they are a good pair of socks that will be unaffected by the weather/road spray"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Plunknotter's Questions
 
 Dura Ace 7800 OE 10 Speed Chain
Dura Ace 7800 OE 10 Speed Chain
Three words have emerged as the theme for the new Dura Ace system: Speed, Smooth and Strength. Speed and Smooth leads to effortless shifting, improved braking operation, and enhanced ergonomics. Strength is focused on the critical need for light weight without sacrificing rigidity, durability or pre...
 

Is this chain a 7800 or a 7801 model?

4 years, 4 months ago
by
Plunknotter
Bridgnorth UK
 
Plunknotter's Answers
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Your size guidelines aren't really helping me much. I am looking for some DHB Aeron pro bib shorts but am unsure on sizing.

5 ft 11 tall
32 waist
25 inch thighs.

What size do you recommend?
I am 6 foot tall 32 inch waist - I have a large fits perfectly - I think a Large would be good for you too.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Plunknotter
Bridgnorth UK
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

what size would i require?

I'm 6 foot 2 and a 32inch waist. I'd like some of the Aeron pro bib shorts but none of the sizes seem suitable for me. What size for me would you recomend?
I an 6 foot and 32 inch waist and have a large - You'd need and XL as I am certain mine would be too short in the body. Great shorts though
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Plunknotter
Bridgnorth UK
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 

Padding

What is the padding like in these? Gel, foam? Are they Comfortable?
Cheers
The padding is great - I am not sure what is inside - It feels like high density foam - But they are pretty much as comfortable as my Assos shorts without the cost.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Plunknotter
Bridgnorth UK