Rlewis7270
Share Rlewis7270's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Rlewis7270's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    19 June 2009
  • Last Review
    14 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    01 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    14 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Rlewis7270's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The GatorSkin Folding is the UK's favourite training tyre (formely known as Ultra GatorSkin). With its DuraSkin™-anti-cut fabric and PolyX Breaker® also makes it suitable for commuting through to sportives as well as training.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good tyre
Posted14 October 2014
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have bought a couple of these tyres to replace wired Gatorskins on a tandem. They had lasted quite well, but eventually the back one blew out, and the front one developed a bulge. Both faults were at the rim, and I'm hoping that the folding tyres will perform better. They are reasonably light,and easy to fit, but only 4 stars as I don't know how long they will last."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality inner tube
Posted06 July 2014
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've had no problems with these tubes - easy to fit and reliable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight CNC alloy, ergonomically shaped, anodised for a durable finish.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for the price
Posted21 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"All I wanted was a cheap set of skewers, but these are really nice and lightweight."
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Place your dirty bike in this bag before loading into your car/van and save yourself the trouble of cleaning up the mess after the bike has been taken out when you arrive home.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted26 February 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I used this bag for a return trip to Mallorca, and it survived with no problems. It was plenty big enough for my 25" frame, and there were a couple of feet of plastic left over. Once I got there I could roll it up and strap it on to the back of my rack (you have to start with the closed end, or you'll never get all the air out). The only problem I had was that neither insulation tape nor duct tape stuck to the plastic very well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Night Vision City Overshoe - 2010
Night Vision City Overshoe - 2010
Waterproof overshoe designed to fit a wide variety of footwear. Rubber toereinforcing, minimal sole contact area and highly adjustable fit make this a greatall-rounder.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not a great fit, but they still work well
Posted20 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought these after my feet got wet and very cold on a winter ride. They don't fit very well at the back of my shoes, but still keep my feet warm. The Velcro allows them to be done up tight around the legs, which catches most of the wa\ter running down. They keep my feet dry for a couple of hours, but not if I'm out in the rain all day."
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lunar 35 Lux Front and 1/2 Watt Rear Light Set
Lunar 35 Lux Front and 1/2 Watt Rear Light Set
A great light set ideal for those commutes to work and back.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value
Posted25 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is my 2nd set of these lights - my son has taken my first set to university! The fixing of the front light is better than the old set, and the rear light is unusual in coming with a seat stay attachment as well as a seat tube fitting. The front light is just about good enough for cycling on unlit roads, and I don't think you'll get better for the money. Battery life is good - I use rechargeable AAs. I have found the lights to be durable."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pocket Bike Bag
Pocket Bike Bag
Bike Transportation Collection is the ultimate series of products for the SCI'CON bikers travelers and design to meet the needs of today's exigent Bike riders travelers combining sophisticated design details with ultra-functional features.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Perfect for European train trips
Posted18 July 2011
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this bag for a tour in Corsica, as it is a perfect size for taking bikes on Eurostars and TGVs. When you get to your destination the bag is small and light enough to stuff into the bottom of a pannier or a saddlebag for the duration of the tour. You have to remove the wheels, pedals, handlebars (they hang vertically) back mudguard and rack to get the bike down to the regulation size. You save the cost and hassle of booking it onto the trains (£30 each way on Eurostar)."
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Traditional version of the B17 with copper rails and chamfered sides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted22 June 2011
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have rarely been more delighted with a purchase. I bought it because I have six bikes but only two good Brooks saddles (both standard B17s), and was fed up with swapping them around. The saddle looks fantastic and I think is worth the extra. It came with a waterproof cover, which I hadn't expected. It isn't yet as comfortable as my old Brooks saddles, but is getting better each time I ride it. Even from new it was better than any non Brooks saddle I've ridden."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Carbon Fibre MTB Handlebar End Plugs
Carbon Fibre MTB Handlebar End Plugs
Glitz up your mountain bike with these Superlight and easy to fit carbon fibre bar end plugs.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not a good fit
Posted22 June 2011
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"They were a bit too big to go in my handlebars, I had to pare them down with a knife to make them fit. They look good, but would have been better if the outside bit had been slightly larger. I'm not sure how long they will last."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Ultra Sport Road Tyre
Continental Ultra Sport Road Tyre
The UltraSport adds a new dimension to Conti's road tyre range, offering their usual high quality make up yet at this entry level price.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Unique
Posted16 April 2011
Rlewis7270
fromBath
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As far as I am aware this is the only tyre available in 27" x 1 1/8 size on the ,market, and it's perfect for a narrow 27" rim. As other reviewers have found, it's a bit of a tight fit, but it handles and rolls well and I've had no punctures so far."
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Rlewis7270's Questions
 
Rlewis7270 has not submitted any questions.
 
Rlewis7270's Answers
 
The GatorSkin Folding is the UK's favourite training tyre (formely known as Ultra GatorSkin). With its DuraSkin™-anti-cut fabric and PolyX Breaker® also makes it suitable for commuting through to sportives as well as training.
 

Easier to fit?

I really struggle to fit the wire bead gatorskins, though otherwise they're my favourite tyres. Two questions:
1. is it significantly easier to fit the folding ones, preferably without using levers?
2. can anyone recommend similar tyres which would be easier to fit/
I am using Fulcrum Racing wheels
I have used both, and not found any significant difference.
1 week, 3 days ago
by
Rlewis7270
Bath
 

looking for 26x1.95 tube?

The Continental Quality MTB Inner Tube is available in size 26 x 1.75 - 2.5, which would be perfect.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Rlewis7270
Bath
 
Lightweight CNC alloy, ergonomically shaped, anodised for a durable finish.
 

is this for a single skewar or a pair (front and rear) ?

A pair, front and back.
10 months ago
by
Rlewis7270
Bath
 
Lightweight CNC alloy, ergonomically shaped, anodised for a durable finish.
 

Are these skewers suitable for MTB or Road or both?

Both
10 months ago
by
Rlewis7270
Bath
 
Place your dirty bike in this bag before loading into your car/van and save yourself the trouble of cleaning up the mess after the bike has been taken out when you arrive home.
 

airport approved

does anyone know are airlines happy to take bikes inside one of these and if so do they still insist on wheel off and handlebars turned.
can you just get away with wheeling it inside and wheeling it out of the bag the other end at luggage reclaim as it stands. its such a phaff having to do all the mechanical stuff to the bike to ship it to point of tour start? this looks like the answer to my problems if the airline are happy with it
I have just taken my bike on Easyjet, and I had to remove the pedals and turn the handlebars and rotate them down. I did not have to remove the wheels. On the return journey (but not the outward) they said the bike should be in a padded bag and made me sign a disclaimer that they wouldn't be responsible for any damage.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Rlewis7270
Bath
 
An elastic, waterproof and breathable helmet cover, ideal for all-weather commuters who dare to brave the downpours.
 

wha's the correct size for a helmet in medium(56-60) size?

for giro helmet's
I have found the large size to be a perfect fit.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Rlewis7270
Bath
 
An elastic, waterproof and breathable helmet cover, ideal for all-weather commuters who dare to brave the downpours.
 

Is it waterproof?

Is it waterproof?
Yes. I also find it keeps my head warm in winter.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Rlewis7270
Bath
 
 Carradice CarraDry Universal / Front Panniers (pair) 2013
Carradice CarraDry Universal / Front Panniers (pair) 2013
Fantastic Value Waterproof front or rear panniers.
 

What is the capacity of each of these bags?

Pretty small - I fitted a pair of cycling shoes and a few items of smartish clothing in one, and cycling clothes for a week and washing stuff in the other. They're perfect as front panniers or rear panniers for light touring.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Rlewis7270
Bath