cyclekarl
Share cyclekarl's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
cyclekarl's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    21 July 2009
  • Last Review
    10 May 2010
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    3.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    18 January 2010
  • Last Question
    18 January 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
Answers
  • Answer Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    None
  • Last Answer
    None
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
cyclekarl's Reviews
 
 Rebel 1.0 Wired Cycle Computer
Rebel 1.0 Wired Cycle Computer
The large, easy to read display, along with simple, user friendly buttons, make using the Rebel a breeze. From the Rebel 1.0 to the 8.0, all five Rebel models feature a back light - an industry first. More serious training features can be found on our 2.4GHz digital wireless models, including a power meter, altimeter and heart rate monitor. An innovative mounting bracket allows for quick tool-free mounting to nearly any handlebar or stem. From the heavy duty wired Rebel 1.0 to the 2.4 GHz Digital 8.0 we have a cycle computer to fit your needs. The Rebel, from the company you've come to trust for your cycling electronics..
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Totally over priced
Posted10 May 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
cyclekarl
fromNottingham united kingdom
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this computer because it has a longer wire than usual and needed a long wire so it would go easily on my recumbent,I found it awkward to fit,it uses elastic bands so apparently tools aren't needed,although they are because you need to remove your handlebars from the headset on a normal bike and all over the controls one side on my recumbent,which is a real pain,why they couldn't have stuck with a cateye style of bracket I don't know.
In use it takes 5 seconds to update,so if you're going along at 20 mph and stop at the lights,it will still say you're doing 20 mph for 5 seconds,this sort of thing went out in the mid eighties on other computers,also the odometer only records whole numbers,but the trip distance does fractions of a mile,it also takes 5 seconds to zero the counter and tends to sleep even when you're cycling,so watch out or it won't record your millage or speed,but the worst thing is when it sleeps you need to push a button even if you're moving to wake it,then often it resets itself so all of your settings are as if you have never used it before,I recently did 2000 miles and now have to start again.
This computer is poor value for money,you can buy a better computer for £5.00 in Aldi or Lidl,but if you need to extra length I guess you're stuck with this,personally I would highly recommend people give this a wide birth,I worked in the cycle trade for 15 years and can honestly say this is the worst computer I have seen."
Pros: Durable, Attractive
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Super C Universal Front Panniers
Super C Universal Front Panniers
28 litre capacity per pair Can be used on the rear when the larger capacity rear pannier is not needed Large outside pocket Carradice C-system pannier fittings for quick and secure fitting Heavy duty black cotton duck Hi-viz reflectives front and rearH32 x D16 x W27cmWeight: 685g each
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic panniers
Posted12 January 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclekarl
fromNottingham united kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"There's some total idiots writing reviews on here,I worked in a cycle shop for 15 years and sold many carradice products and have also cycled many thousands of miles all over europe using panniers and other bags made by this firm,they last ages and withstand loads of abuse,the cotton duck on these panniers is in use more waterproof than the welded plastic panniers,they breath but due to the nature of cotton they expand when they get wet closing up any holes,but if you get little holes from wear and tear with the welded panniers your things get wet as well as sweaty due to them not being able to breath,for me I like the simplicity of these bags,zips look tidy but are unreliable and prone to breaking,and the colour isn't of importance unless they were a horrible pink,but you can't please all,they will always be some people who like to critercise know matter how good a product is."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
 
Galvanised chain that is ideal for city, touring or BMX bikes with narrow sprockets. Compatible with derailleur systems ( 5, 6, and 7 speed) as well as internal hub gear systems (5, 6, 7, 12 or 14 speed).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant chain
Posted21 July 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclekarl
fromNottingham united kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I use a 6 or 7 speed freewheel and don't use indexed gears on my touring bike,I'm very aggressive with my gears changing rapidly from one extreme to the other,this chain reminds me of the old fashioned sedis or sachs chain before Sram took over and ruined things,most modern chains last me a few weeks,they break so easily even the most expensive ones,I cycle at least 100 miles a week in the winter and at least 300 in the summer and these chains last me a year,if you could still get decent freewheels then I'm sure it would last two years,I join my chain the old fashion way with a link extractor,and it never breaks ever,the only downer is the chain is short,and it doesn't look very nice,but after a few weeks it's covered in dirt anyway,for 6 or 7 speed systems this chain comes highly recommended although I don't know how well it shifts in index mode."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
cyclekarl's Questions
 
Place your dirty bike in this bag before loading into your car/van and save yourself the trouble of cleaning up the mess after the bike has been taken out when you arrive home.
 

Size

Does anyone know what this bag weighs,and how big it is both folded up and opened out?

Many thanks.

Karl.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
cyclekarl
Nottingham united kingdom
 
cyclekarl's Answers
 
cyclekarl has not submitted any answers.