Philswell
Share Philswell's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Philswell's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    11 January 2011
  • Last Review
    23 March 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    21 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    21 January 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Philswell's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Xenon III Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Xenon III Short Finger Cycling Gloves
"These road cycling gloves are made of the best performance fabrics and offer an optimal level of padding with minimal chafing, even on longer trips."
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted23 March 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"good gloves, plenty of padding. Could do with a bit to tighten them a bit"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Waist Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Waist Tight
These Roubaix Tights are your winter saviours offering the next level in warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice and snug
Posted23 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What a great purchase, comfy, warm, well padded. great for the cash. Just back from My second 70M+ ride in these in the cold Scottish hills.. great to ride in."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Run Performance Socks (Twin Pack)
Run Performance Socks (Twin Pack)
Run Performance has little energy boosters for your feet. All anatomically vulnerable zones are padded, reducing the chances of blisters and pressure sores, even during long periods or intense activity.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No more twin skin!
Posted23 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Struggling with twin skin socks? Get X-Socks - the dogs!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tacx Antares Professional Training Rollers. These heavy-duty tapered rollers ensure that it is almost impossible to ride off the machine. High concentration on steering is required when riding without a brace; this reinforces your sense of balance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
First experience
Posted21 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As a first time user of rollers it's impossible for me to compare these to others, that said, I am please with these, they are round and rolly, a nice shade of blue and have helped me keep some of the winter flab off.
They work as I would expect them to. pleased with my choice."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cozy warm
Posted21 January 2011
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great Jacket, good fit and warm. one of the few bike jackets that I have had that I think is actually worth the money.
(And DHB - if you are reading this - don't let that be an excuse to put the price up!)"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vizion Rip-Zip Jacket AW10
Vizion Rip-Zip Jacket AW10
Jacket to Gilet by ripping off the sleeves, QuickBurst™ Rip-Zips ensure quick and easy removal of the sleeves, Back zip pocket for storage of removable sleeves, 360° Reflectivity with lock down front reflective zip, Windlite Pro fabric is wind resistant and breathable with a DWR treatment, Arti...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BRIGHT
Posted21 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What a great Jacket. Bright as a search light, light and windproof. really happy. the conversion from jacket to Gillet you can do while on the bike/running it's that easy and stuffs into the pocket - great idea!
i use this for both the bike and run. get one. now."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
In line with the formulation used in their energy drinks, Torq Gels have a blend of Maltodextrin, a long chain complex carbohydrate and Fructose (fruit sugar) in a 2:1 ratio for maximum carbohydrate absorption.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Yummy
Posted21 January 2011
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"well all things a relative!
for a gel these taste great (against a plate full of steaming hot pasta with tomato sauce - not so yummy) and work much better than others I've tried."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A set of bespoke brushes for cleaning your bike and maintaining your drivetrain. With a chain cleaning mechanism and specially shaped brushes, The LifeLine Essential cleaning kit helps keep your bike spotlessly clean and performing at its peak.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
fiddly
Posted21 January 2011
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Now it could be that I'm just not used to using these on the bike chain cleaner thingys, but i found this fiddly to use and just a little irritating. With a third hand or a willing assistant it would be easier to use.
once on, well it gets some of the gunk off the chain, but TBH - get a brush and degreaser and do it by hand - more mess but a better job."
Cons: Unadjustable, Low Quality, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent shades
Posted21 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These have been great glasses - have used the summer and winter now and the lens choice is helpful for all conditions - quick and easy to change.
they are durable and have survived a head-plant or two off the mountain bike.
Next time I get shades, I'll look for some with a narrow or no bar across the top of the shades, head down on the road bike, it can be a bit vision limiting - but maybe that's just my poor riding position!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pressure Drive Mini Pump Medium 2011
Pressure Drive Mini Pump Medium 2011
The Pressure Drive is a sleek, compact pump that delivers up to 120psi making it ideal for road or Mtb use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lightweight pump
Posted21 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Philswell
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great pump, looks good, works even better even at high pressures of a road tyre. Has handy little seals that stops the crud of MTB use getting it all clogged up.
only tiny tiny niggle: after nursing my road bike such that there are no rattles ( i hate rattles on a long ride) the pump has a rattle... it can be fixed with an inch of tape - i did say it was a tiny niggle.
worth the price for the quality?? just about IMHO"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Philswell's Questions
 
Philswell has not submitted any questions.
 
Philswell's Answers
 
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

Sizing issues?

Several of the user reviews of this item, whilst being generally very favorable, do question the sizing of the top. From your sizing chart I am a 'medium' but am usually 'large' in normal clothes - if I buy a 'medium' and it's too small what is your returns poilcy to exchange for 'large'?
As a user and not a wiggle person - the wiggle exchange has not let me down to date - Very fair.

As a user of this jacket - get the bigger one.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Philswell
Reading
 
 Pressure Drive Mini Pump Medium 2011
Pressure Drive Mini Pump Medium 2011
The Pressure Drive is a sleek, compact pump that delivers up to 120psi making it ideal for road or Mtb use.
 

how do you stop the top ratting around?

Make sure the rubber seals are fitted correctly. I also found the flex tube rattled inside - an inch of insulation tape around the end of the tube fixed the rattle for me.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Philswell
Reading
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

Will these fit a 700 x 35 cyclo cross tyre?

it fits very very close to my road tyres. I suspect that you would have some issues making them fit the slightly chunkier cross tyres without draging
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Philswell
Reading