spikee
Share spikee's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
spikee's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    1 August 2010
  • Last Review
    1 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    1 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    1 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
spikee's Reviews
 
A compact bike carrier with patented towball coupling for safe and rapid mounting. This bike rack carries a maximum of 2 bikes and has a load capacity of 30 kg.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb bike rack
Posted1 October 2014
fromsheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Comes with really good clear instructions,easy to put together,comes with all tools required to assemble and lights are plug and play.
I was a bit scepticle about how well it would work,but it just drops onto the towball,tighten one bolt (tool provided!) plug the lights in and its done.Even on Sheffields pot holed streets it never budged an inch,and on a 4x4 it easily clears the spare wheel cover too.
Just shove your bike on,lift up the centre stay,and just three straps to fasten,easy as that.Very impressed and looks like it will last a long time.
Only down side would be it would be easy to pinch if the scumbags had a spanner that fitted the bolt that holds it on,but you can buy a lockable cover but I would just either leave the OH in the car on guard dog duty (crack them a window theyll be fine) or just undo the carrier and chuck the whole lot in the boot for piece of mind.Otherwise its great and cheap and does the job.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: could be easy to pinch
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 CS500 Cycling Computer with Cadence Sensor
CS500 Cycling Computer with Cadence Sensor
For ambitious cyclists seeking improved cycling performance. The wireless cadence sensor provides accurate and disturbance-free measurement of your pedalling rate in revolutions per minute.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted1 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
" This is one gorgeous looking bike computer.Its bigger than you think,and for once size really does matter.As its so easy to read,even with blurry wind/rain soaked eyes.All the info you could want is there-altitude,heart rate,speed,rpm,temp,even how steep a decent/climb is.
All the info you need is on the main display,and you can easily flick through all the other displays with a quick press on one side of it,even at speed or just when bored.
Takes minutes only to fit,two cable ties for main computer either stem or bar fitting,same for the sensors.No wires at all.Great.
All sensors and computer have rubber cushions,so no vibration problems at all.
The magnet for the cadence sensor is stuck on the back of the crank (non drive side) with double sided tape which seemed enough,but I put some silicone around it just to be safe.But you do get a couple of spares in the box.
It all works great,only a couple of glitches which lastest a second or two over the last few rides.Otherwise its worked perfect.
Best bit is,if you buy the seperate usb connector (an extra £42) you can upload all your data automatically to Polars own dedicated website where you can store all your data,review it as often as you like,print it out,see it in graph form,have your own training diary and even have your own personal recomended training regime.All for free too,but then having paid another £42 for the connector it should be.
The only downside are,the occasional glitch reading (only lasts a second then back to normal),to access the online stuff you need to buy the connector at more expense,and the sensors are sealed meaning you have to send them off to polar to be replaced,which is going to cost more than just a set of batteries!
Its worth the expense though simply becouse its so easy to use and read,and looks fantastic,not to mention the online stuff really does help improve your riding and performance.
If it had sensors that you could replace the batteries on yourself,and included the extra usb connector it would get five stars all round.But it really is a superb computer despite that.Love it.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CS500 Datalink
CS500 Datalink
For use with the CS500 cycle computer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted1 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
" The CS500 bike computer is able to sync with your pc so you can download all your data from it and upload it to Polars dedicated website where you have your own space to check out your performance,store it on your own training diary,see your performance in graph form,print it out,get training tips or a full training regime,or just chat on the forum.
In order to do all that,you have to buy this gadget as well,otherwise you cannot connect your CS500 to your pc.
For what you gain access to and the information available and all for free,its worth the extra outlay I think,as Ive found the data when presented in graph form has helped me improve my technique and performance as a result no end.Im no athelete far,faaaar from it,but this has really helped me improve and make biking easier and more fun.
If youve already got the CS500,this add on is well worth it.
"
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High quality replacement inserts for all Shimano cartridge brake road blocks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fantastic brake blocks
Posted1 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
" Ive had original 105 brake pads for some time now.But I finally decided I needed some brakes that actually stopped me,instead of just wearing away the sidewalls of my wheels.As Ive always thought brakes are a good optional extra to have on a bike.
So out went the old standard brake blocks and I bought these after reading the reviews.I got the salmon ones,and they really do make a difference!!I now have brakes that actually work!No more carreering towards cars/walls/dogs/sheds etc.
Fitting took just a few minutes,loosen the screw on the brake block,slide the old one out,slide the new one in (they only go in one way),nip up the screw,job done.
They work in all weathers and can bring a road bike down from 40mph to a standstill in no time at all.Amazing at just how fast these things can slow you down.Plus Ive noticed no more wear on my mavic rims unlike before.No squal or noise,plus great feedback through the levers for the first time.
Buy some,you wont regret it.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: non
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Top quality, lightweight cassette for use with any 9 speed Shimano gear systems
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted1 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
" I needed to replace my worn out drivetrain,and having had 7 years of wear out of my old Ultegra components,I thought Id replace with the same.This cassette although having two more teeth on the bigger rings than my old cassette,it weights a lot less than my old one.It fits mavic wheels (with the spacer ofcourse) perfectly,but this new one has much smoother and quicker shifting than the old ultegra.
This is one really good cassette.Expensive yes,but becouse it shifts effortlessly and much quicker than the old ultegra,even under power,it gets five stars from me.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Continental Quality Light Road Long Valve Inner Tube is a must-have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted1 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
" Theres not much to say really,as even I cant get excited by inner tubes.
But I needed some new tubes and bought these as Ive always had good tubes/tyres from continental.My old specialized tubes kept failing around the valve,but these have lasted a good few hundred miles so far.Lightweight,roll well and fit my mavic wheels perfectly.So far no punctures too.
Good inner tubes.Only down side is they arent cheap,otherwise they would be getting a full five stars.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Zebra Bar Tape
Zebra Bar Tape
Shock absorbent cork bar tape in a zebra stripe finish, complete with a pair of matching end plugs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great tape
Posted1 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
" I had this tape 7 years ago,and after many thousands of miles in all weathers it still hasnt worn out,only the black has worn off where I usually have my hands on the bars.So decided to replace it with the same kind I was so impressed with the last lot.
Its dead comfy,soaks up the bumps and rattles nicely as its feels spongey and looks great.Hands dont slip about even in the wet as its very grippy.
You even get bar end plugs in for the money too.
Dead easy to fit as its self adhesive,just peel off the backing tape,wind it around the bars,cut off the excess,shove the end plugs in,done.
Far superior to any other kind of bar tape I think.Love it.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: non
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Joe Blow Max II is a great performing track pump that is superb value for money. providing efficiency and accuracy throughout its pressure range, the whole way up to 120 psi.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great pump!
Posted1 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
" Best pump Ive ever bought.It folds up and takes up no room when stored,gauge is accurate and very easy to read.It fits both types of valves with no messing with adaptors,you just push on the connector and flick the lever and its locked on,a few pumps and youre done,flick the lever and its off.Its even easy to pump my road bike tyres up to 100 psi,effortless.
Well made,tough durable plastic,seriously tough.Buy one you wont regret it.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: non!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
spikee's Questions
 
spikee has not submitted any questions.
 
spikee's Answers
 
A compact bike carrier with patented towball coupling for safe and rapid mounting. This bike rack carries a maximum of 2 bikes and has a load capacity of 30 kg.
 

Will it fit my car?

I have a Honda CRV (1 st series) that has a spare attached to the rear door. The tow bar is just inside the line of the wheel cover.
Would this or the 3bike version do the job?
I have a Rav4 with a spare on the rear,and the tow bar doesnt quite clear the spare,but the bike rack clears it with plenty to spare,even with 720mm handlebars fitted.So should be ok.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
spikee
sheffield
 
The Joe Blow Max II is a great performing track pump that is superb value for money. providing efficiency and accuracy throughout its pressure range, the whole way up to 120 psi.
 

I'm thinking of bying a floor pump as I an struggling to get top pressure with a hand pump, just wondering if they all fit all kinds of valves,

I have a road bike with thin valves.
Yes it fits both types of valves including road bike tyre valves (presta type).It easily pumps my road bike tyres up to 100psi in just a few pumps.
8 years, 1 month ago
by
spikee