SeanMac
Top 100 Contributor
Share SeanMac's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
SeanMac's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    29
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    18 June 2009
  • Last Review
    23 October 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    4
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    66
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    31 January 2010
  • Last Answer
    13 August 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
SeanMac's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Advantage 70a Mountain Bike Tyre
Advantage 70a Mountain Bike Tyre
Alison Dunlap designed the ADvantage as a high-volume, aggressive cross country tyre that corners great on big side-knobs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality tire for British conditions
Posted23 October 2011
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have used these tires for quite some time and have used most of the different compounds. The 70a compound really is proving a pleasure to ride. It doesn't wear out quickly if you have to ride road to get to your trails and when your on them it hooks up nice in the mud and on rocky tracks. For an all round tyre I don't reckon you will ever go far wrong with this tyre, and you will defo get your money's worth."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Quality MTB Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Continental Quality MTB Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Pack of 10 high quality inner tubes
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Full of air
Posted13 August 2011
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Simply does what you would it to do. Great quality that really will stand up to a good amount of use and heavy riding."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Hollowtech II Crank Installation Tool
Hollowtech II Crank Installation Tool
Designed to fit Shimano Hollowtech chainsets.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Not cheap but nasty
Posted13 August 2011
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"What an awful product simply. For the money I did not expect it to be made of plastic. If you do a reasonable amount of maintenance work stay away from this. The plastic around where the 8mm allen key fits in chews up very easy and that is just using the recommended amount of nm force. There are other metal versions out there for the same money or a bit more."
 
Products related to my review
Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
4.6 out of 5(138)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Holzfeller MTB Red Stem 2011
Holzfeller MTB Red Stem 2011
Truvativ Holzfeller stem 1 1/8" and 1 1/2".
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Red hot!!
Posted13 August 2011
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"What an absolute bargain. Had already been using an older version of this stem in white and for vanity reason and at this amazing low price I couldn't resist. This is an absolute fit and forget piece of kit. No matter what your style of riding I would recommend this stem. I use it on a NS Bikes Surge frame I built for jump park and more full on trail riding where a XC bike will just not cope. With a nice set of handle bars fitted in there it sure makes for a good look at the front."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
 
Products related to my review
Atlas AM Riser MTB Handlebar
4.7 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
Race Face Atlas FR Riser MTB Handlebar 2011
4.8 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Chain Cleaner 400ml Aerosol
Muc-Off Chain Cleaner 400ml Aerosol
The Muc-Off Chain Cleaner Aerosol rapidly removes heavy chain grime quickly and safely and is also bio-degradable. It breaks down oil, grease and grim, leaving the chain containment free.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Too expensive
Posted08 August 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This way to expensive for what it does. It is a solvent based degreaser which you can find for half the price in a can nearly twice the size. If you can't find a cheaper alternative then this will do the job but a higher price than it should be."
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic commuter tyre
Posted27 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Have had a pair of these on my bike for work and they roll very nicely. Very little resistance indeed meaning my ride to work goes even quicker now. They are quite happy on canal tracks as well as long as it doesn't get to muddy but the extra grip on the sides hooks in nice when cornering. I would say in any dry conditions off road these tyres would hold up nicely on a xc/trail bike, so much so I'm going to give them a whirl when the weather dries up again."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 XT RT75 180mm 6 Bolt Rotor
XT RT75 180mm 6 Bolt Rotor
Shimano XT RT75 6 Bolt rotor
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
SLX/XT rotor
Posted17 April 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Have just given this a good ride to break the rotor and new pads in and the power was definately there so I'd say its all good. A bit plain looking, and it could probably benefit from some waves cut out for mud clearance. The price isn't cheap but its genuine shimano so until I find a good alternative I'll keep using these."
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Disc Brake Calliper Adapter
Shimano Disc Brake Calliper Adapter
Interchangeable, precision engineered disc calliper mount adapter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what an adapter should
Posted04 April 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very simply this does what exactly you would expect it to do. Shame no pimp colours but it sets brakes up to the relevant rotor size with all holes lining up nicely."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cyclus Headset Press
Cyclus Headset Press
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic tool
Posted04 April 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"What a brilliant tool at a great price. Finally bought a headset tool after years of block and mallet clobbering headsets in place. This made the job so incredibly easy I found myself looking in disbelief it was done already. Anyone could use this tool, it really is very straight forward to use. Definately worth having as part of your tool kit and what a pocket friendly price."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Transfil Outer Gear Casing
Transfil Outer Gear Casing
Replacement outer gear casing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality outer at a good price
Posted15 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SeanMac
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Really good quality outer casing for the money. Cables run sweetly even full length tubing from shifter to mech boss. If you want to still use your bosses but want a waterproof system I'd also recommend transfil's gear waterproof kit which help seals your cables for winter or a dusty summer."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SeanMac's Questions
 
SeanMac has not submitted any questions.
 
SeanMac's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
 Continental Quality MTB Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Continental Quality MTB Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Pack of 10 high quality inner tubes
 

Do these inner tubes fit the Continental Race King Supersonic MTB Tyre?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
As you get the right width then yes. Your tire will either be 2.0 or 2.2 I'm guessing so the 1.75-2.5 will work nicely with either size tyre.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Hope Stainless Steel Bottom Bracket
Hope Stainless Steel Bottom Bracket
All common systems are covered with this upgrade unit - making it ideal for Shimano, Race Face and others. The machined aluminium cups hold either full stainless steel cartridge bearings, or ceramic bearings in stainless races.
 

I need a new bottom bracket, I have a 2010 Specialized Rock Hopper, with Shimano Deore arms with a hollow crank outside races.

Can you recomend a "hope" replacement bearing set that fits the frame BB is about 66m wide the dia of the thread section is 35mm and the outside flange is about 44mm. I liked the SS one for £57 but note sure which version to order. Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
These are beautiful bottom brackets that run silky smooth so a great choice. The size you will want is the 68/73 in what ever colour you like. They come with 3 2.5mm spacers so that it will fit your 68mm shell or if you ever have a frame with a 73mm shell you can just take it out, remove 2 spacers and fit it into that new bike. These bottom brackets really do last with an absolute minimum amount of servicing. Your crankset will work nicely with as well, just take care when installing that the axel is lined up when you go to knock it through the second set of cups (you don't want to damage them). I just use a soft face mallet and gently tap if it needs it.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 

Replace a 26x1.95 tyre - what other sizes would be ok?

The tyre I have on my bike are 26x1.95. I'm wanting to change to some fast rolling tyres and the preferred tyres come in 1.90 or 2.00 widths.

What are the min\max widths I should consider assuming I cannot get the 1.95 width?

Thanks Greg
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
The Doublefighter comes in 1.9 which would fit no problem and they definately roll quickly.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Race Face Team XC X-Type Bottom Bracket Cups
Race Face Team XC X-Type Bottom Bracket Cups
Our high end X-Type external bottom bracket has been totally redesigned and upgraded for 2010! Bearings, sealing and machining precision are all improved to create a smoother running, longer lasting BB set which is now fully serviceable!
 

what are the bearings made of in the race face team xc bb?

2010 version.

i am looking for a ceramic bb for my 2009 race face deus xc chainset, what do you suggest?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
The bearings in this aren't ceramic unfortunately. I would suggest any of Hope's bottom brackets. They last and last with minimal maintenance to them and they come in a range of colours to pimp your bike.
 
Products from my answer
Hope Ceramic Bottom Bracket
4.7 out of 5(82)
 
 
 
Hope Stainless Steel Bottom Bracket
4.8 out of 5(141)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 4 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Sun Ringle/Shimano XT MTB Wheelset - OE
Sun Ringle/Shimano XT MTB Wheelset - OE
A sturdy MTB wheelset designed for 'All Mountian' use. This wheelset comes supplied with two Maxxis ADvantage 26 x 2.40 tyres with inner tubes, which are fitted to the wheels.
 

Can the front hub be fitted with a 9mm QR adaptor and if so what type?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I have just received these wheels myself and they do not come with an adaptor for QR conversion and having looked on SUNringles site I can't find this hub so would say its a 20mm only.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Sun Ringle/Shimano XT MTB Wheelset - OE
Sun Ringle/Shimano XT MTB Wheelset - OE
A sturdy MTB wheelset designed for 'All Mountian' use. This wheelset comes supplied with two Maxxis ADvantage 26 x 2.40 tyres with inner tubes, which are fitted to the wheels.
 

hi, is the hub compatible with sram 9 speed please?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes the hub is 9 speed compatible, I have just fitted a SRAM PG-990 to mine that turned up today. Seems like a nice hub.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Continental Race King MTB Tyre
Continental Race King MTB Tyre
The Race King (26 x 2.0 or 2.2) has presented itself as any talented newcomer in the best possible manner: With victories.
 

Will this fit a standard scott aspect 45?

Sorry for the foolish question, but tyre sizes are confusing me! I'm currently using the standard 26 x 2.0 scott ozon tyres. Here it is...http://scottusa.com/gb_en/product/378/746/aspect_45
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
These would be a great option for replacing your current tyres
4 years, 8 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Avid Speed Dial 7 Brake Levers
Avid Speed Dial 7 Brake Levers
Avid SD7 Brake Lever Set.
 

Are these compatible with Shimano mechanical brakes?

I have shimano M475 brakes, would these leavers fit the brakes?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes these would work fine with shimano v brakes
4 years, 8 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Toro Front Light
Toro Front Light
The Toro replaces the classic Enduro model and has a stunning power to weight ratio.
 

Does the light have to mounted above the bars? Could it be mounted below?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Mounting either way will be fine, just make sure its going to have plenty of clearance (frame) and the beam won't be obstructed by wires etc.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 X.9 OE Rear Derailleur 2009
X.9 OE Rear Derailleur 2009
Sram X.9 Rear Mech Long Cage
 

Hi, is this a long cage?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes
4 years, 8 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District