SeanMac
Top 250 Contributor
Share SeanMac's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
SeanMac's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    29
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    18 June 2009
  • Last Review
    23 October 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    4
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    66
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    31 January 2010
  • Last Answer
    13 August 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
SeanMac's Reviews
<<< 1 2 3 >>>
 
 K.ble SRAM Gear Cable Set
K.ble SRAM Gear Cable Set
For 50 years Transfil has created, developed, tested and manufactured brake and gear systems for your bike in conformity with the leading bike and component manufacturers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Slick shifting kit
Posted12 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" I'm running this with my X9 shifters and mechs and this cable set works very nicely. It comes with everything you need to replace your wire and casing for front and rear so is a very good buy. It you want to make this winter proof or British summer proof I recommend the transfil waterproof kit which again is cheap and comes with a liner to cover any exposed lengths of wire between cable bosses. Keep the gloop out and keep your gears running sweetly. "
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pimp My Pedals
Pimp My Pedals
40 coloured pins and 2 x end caps for DMR V12 pedals.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
The final pimp
Posted9 March 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" So you've pimped everything else on your bike, so why not your beloved V12's? Have put the blue option on to my code red V12's and what a fine set of pedals they look now. They are a bit of an extravagance but your bike is worth it. Buy some and make your pedals look super sweet. "
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Hope Steel Rod MTB Quick Release set is designed to reduce weight and look amazing on your bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Classic pimping accessory
Posted8 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" These really do add a nice touch to any bike with the range of colours and the smooth action of the levers. These would be the first thing I'd probably add to any bike for a nice finishing touch.
As with any quick release they do tend to corrode if not thoroughly washed off after having been exposed to road grit so they are bit of an extravagence on a commuter bike or winter bike. I've been using these for years so put my old scratched levers on to my commuter bike giving me a good excuse to buy some new ones.
"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Smooth running outer
Posted6 March 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Good quality outer that lasts and lasts. Have used this same outer on numerous bikes and all have had resulted in a nice light working action for the brakes ensuring the power is transfered to the brake pads. "
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Transfil is situated in the heart of France, at the base of the volcanoes where nature thrives in splendor. This region is also a genuine ground for innovation and know-how.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality cable
Posted6 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Good quality cables that don't stretch much at all after they've been fit which would sometimes mean readjusting the brakes a bit. If you use v-brakes still these cables are a great option "
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Transfil is situated in the heart of France, at the base of the volcanoes where nature thrives in splendour. This region is also a genuine ground for innovation and know-how.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality cable
Posted6 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Good quality cables that don't stretch much at all after they've been fit which would sometimes mean readjusting the gears. I'll certainly be buying more of these. "
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Muc-Off 8 in 1 bike cleaning and maintenance kit brings together 3 top selling products in a stylish black parts washer bucket. The kit is ideal for cleaning your machine once you have completed your wet or muddy ride during the Winter months.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great selection
Posted6 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" This really is a neat way of buying all your cleaning products and having a box to keep them all neatly in.
All the products are good quality and the muc-off spray does the job nicely with a spray head that can be transfered onto your next bottle of muc-off.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Hope Headset features sealed cartridge type, stainless steel bearings and additional 'o' ring seals in the cups to ensure years of maintenance free running.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted6 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" These really are a nice addition to any bike with a range of colours to choose from. The seals are good quality and stop even the worst that the peak district can through at them. I've been using hopes headsets since they were first launched and have never had any problems with them. The rollers last and last way beyond a lot of oter headsets if you maintain them now and again.
These are worth every penny and work super smoothly.
"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality and nice selection of colours
Posted6 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" These really are a nice little addition to any bike with a few of pimping colours to choose from. They look good close up and from a far but more importantly are good quality which is what you would expect from Hope products. "
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Anti Fray End caps
Posted6 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPeak District
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Does what an end cap should do. Don't split or do anything horrible when fitting them to the cables. Just do what they should do. Worth while buying and nice and cheap. "
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SeanMac's Questions
 
SeanMac has not submitted any questions.
 
SeanMac's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
 Continental Quality MTB Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Continental Quality MTB Pack of 10 Inner Tubes
Pack of 10 high quality inner tubes
 

Do these inner tubes fit the Continental Race King Supersonic MTB Tyre?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
As you get the right width then yes. Your tire will either be 2.0 or 2.2 I'm guessing so the 1.75-2.5 will work nicely with either size tyre.
7 years, 1 month ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
All common systems are covered with this upgrade unit - making it ideal for Shimano, Race Face and others. The machined aluminium cups hold either full stainless steel cartridge bearings, or ceramic bearings in stainless races.
 

I need a new bottom bracket, I have a 2010 Specialized Rock Hopper, with Shimano Deore arms with a hollow crank outside races.

Can you recomend a "hope" replacement bearing set that fits the frame BB is about 66m wide the dia of the thread section is 35mm and the outside flange is about 44mm. I liked the SS one for £57 but note sure which version to order. Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
These are beautiful bottom brackets that run silky smooth so a great choice. The size you will want is the 68/73 in what ever colour you like. They come with 3 2.5mm spacers so that it will fit your 68mm shell or if you ever have a frame with a 73mm shell you can just take it out, remove 2 spacers and fit it into that new bike. These bottom brackets really do last with an absolute minimum amount of servicing. Your crankset will work nicely with as well, just take care when installing that the axel is lined up when you go to knock it through the second set of cups (you don't want to damage them). I just use a soft face mallet and gently tap if it needs it.
7 years, 1 month ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 

Replace a 26x1.95 tyre - what other sizes would be ok?

The tyre I have on my bike are 26x1.95. I'm wanting to change to some fast rolling tyres and the preferred tyres come in 1.90 or 2.00 widths.

What are the min\max widths I should consider assuming I cannot get the 1.95 width?

Thanks Greg
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The Doublefighter comes in 1.9 which would fit no problem and they definately roll quickly.
8 years, 1 month ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Race Face Team XC X-Type Bottom Bracket Cups
Race Face Team XC X-Type Bottom Bracket Cups
Our high end X-Type external bottom bracket has been totally redesigned and upgraded for 2010! Bearings, sealing and machining precision are all improved to create a smoother running, longer lasting BB set which is now fully serviceable!
 

what are the bearings made of in the race face team xc bb?

2010 version.

i am looking for a ceramic bb for my 2009 race face deus xc chainset, what do you suggest?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The bearings in this aren't ceramic unfortunately. I would suggest any of Hope's bottom brackets. They last and last with minimal maintenance to them and they come in a range of colours to pimp your bike.
 
Products from my answer
Hope Ceramic Bottom Bracket
4.7 out of 5(102)
 
 
 
 
 
 
8 years, 1 month ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Sun Ringle/Shimano XT MTB Wheelset - OE
Sun Ringle/Shimano XT MTB Wheelset - OE
A sturdy MTB wheelset designed for 'All Mountian' use. This wheelset comes supplied with two Maxxis ADvantage 26 x 2.40 tyres with inner tubes, which are fitted to the wheels.
 

Can the front hub be fitted with a 9mm QR adaptor and if so what type?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I have just received these wheels myself and they do not come with an adaptor for QR conversion and having looked on SUNringles site I can't find this hub so would say its a 20mm only.
8 years, 1 month ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Sun Ringle/Shimano XT MTB Wheelset - OE
Sun Ringle/Shimano XT MTB Wheelset - OE
A sturdy MTB wheelset designed for 'All Mountian' use. This wheelset comes supplied with two Maxxis ADvantage 26 x 2.40 tyres with inner tubes, which are fitted to the wheels.
 

hi, is the hub compatible with sram 9 speed please?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes the hub is 9 speed compatible, I have just fitted a SRAM PG-990 to mine that turned up today. Seems like a nice hub.
8 years, 1 month ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Continental Race King MTB Tyre
Continental Race King MTB Tyre
With a large volume casing combined with a low profile tread pattern this tyre ensures you of a head start on any fast paced technical worldcup racing track or or local downhill marathon pists.
 

Will this fit a standard scott aspect 45?

Sorry for the foolish question, but tyre sizes are confusing me! I'm currently using the standard 26 x 2.0 scott ozon tyres. Here it is...http://scottusa.com/gb_en/product/378/746/aspect_45
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
These would be a great option for replacing your current tyres
8 years, 5 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
Built around one of Avids original breakthrough designs, the Speed Dial 7 is the smooth and powerful way to control linear pull or mechanical disc brakes. They are super easy to install and adjust - so you can dial in the modulation just the way you like.
 

Are these compatible with Shimano mechanical brakes?

I have shimano M475 brakes, would these leavers fit the brakes?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes these would work fine with shimano v brakes
8 years, 5 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 Toro Front Light
Toro Front Light
The Toro replaces the classic Enduro model and has a stunning power to weight ratio.
 

Does the light have to mounted above the bars? Could it be mounted below?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Mounting either way will be fine, just make sure its going to have plenty of clearance (frame) and the beam won't be obstructed by wires etc.
8 years, 5 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District
 
 X.9 OE Rear Derailleur 2009
X.9 OE Rear Derailleur 2009
Sram X.9 Rear Mech Long Cage
 

Hi, is this a long cage?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes
8 years, 5 months ago
by
SeanMac
Peak District