metastable
Top 500 Contributor
Share metastable's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
metastable's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    39
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    27 August 2009
  • Last Review
    09 September 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    25 February 2010
  • Last Question
    09 September 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    02 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    17 August 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
metastable's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 Camelbak Bite Valves (2) and Straws (2) - Kids
Camelbak Bite Valves (2) and Straws (2) - Kids
Replacement bite valves and straws.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect replacement for the Kids Camelbaks
Posted09 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
metastable
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are a great alternative to just throwing the kids camelbak bottles when the bite valves go. They fit perfectly. If anything they could be cheaper, as the pair is almost as much as one bottle itself, but that's my only minor complaint."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak TwinHead Kit
Topeak TwinHead Kit
An upgrade/replacement pump head and hose featuring Topeak's TwinHead connector and long length hose.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect replacement for my Topeak Joe Blow Sprint
Posted09 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
metastable
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have a Joe Blow Sprint that's about 6 years old. The presta part of the twinhead was starting to leak air. Wiggle didn't sell a rebuild kit for the internals, but did sell this kit.
When I got it, it had a multitude of connectors. All I had to do for the sprint, was pull the entire old hose out of it's nipple connector and put this on in its place. It's like a new pump for half the price.
Highly recommended."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Zaffiro Pro Home Trainer Tyre
Vittoria Zaffiro Pro Home Trainer Tyre
The Zaffiro Pro Home Trainer tyre features a special compound and tread pattern for better heat dispersion and noise reduction whilst on the turbo or rollers. A must for the year round rider when outdoor conditions are unfavourable.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Doesn't last
Posted08 September 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
metastable
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this tyre over a Continental, due to the price. I had a previous Continental trainer tyre that lasted about 4 years. This tyre lasted about 1.5 before the actual casing started splitting all around the tyre.
While it was intact it worked really well, but it doesn't last."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 0.5L Fuel Bottle with safety valve
0.5L Fuel Bottle with safety valve
Keep your stove fire burning safely with this safety valve-fitted fuel bottle
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for its intended use
Posted21 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
metastable
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Given that Trangia sell this bottle, it's no wonder that it works perfectly with their stoves. The pouring spouts allow you to fill the metho burner without taking it out of the stove. It's a nice thin profile, so sits nicely in your pack."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Phone Wallet
Lezyne Phone Wallet
A streamlined, compact wallet organizer designed to hold modern smartphones and cycling essentials. With a stylish single fold design, water resistant pocket and Velcro fastening the Phone Wallet is the perfect addition to the jersey pocket or pack.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fits a Samsung Galaxy S3 (just)
Posted25 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
metastable
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this to put my Galaxy S3 in, and it fits. Just. If I take the cover off that I usually have on it, and put on a really thin cover I had lying around it fits exactly.
The rest of the wallet is nicely built, space for cards and a small change zip. I've used it on a few rides and hardly know it's there, stashed in the middle jersey pocket.
I highly recommend it."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Phone Caddy
Lezyne Phone Caddy
A highly versatile, lightweight and compact organizer designed to hold modern smartphones and ride essentials in a jersey, pocket, pack or on a belt.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice idea, but won't fit a Galaxy S3
Posted25 March 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
metastable
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought this to put my Samsung Galaxy S3 in, but alas it's too small. Even with the phone case off, it still is too long and too square. Pity, as it's otherwise a good design for carrying along items in a way that will fit in a jersey pocket.
If you had a smaller phone, it would be a great item.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Deuter Speed Lite 20 Litre Pack - Hydration Compatible
Deuter Speed Lite 20 Litre Pack - Hydration Compatible
An ultra light sports pack for the fast-footed athlete. Experience virtual weightlessness when mountain running, ski tour racing, cycling marathons, Nordic walking or even when sprinting to catch that bus.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great backpack
Posted03 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
metastable
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this as a round town backpack when travelling with kids. It has served this purpose spectacularly well. The stash pocket on the front it perfect for 2 kids sized water bottles. I was initially worried things would fall out of that pocket, but that's not the case.
The bag is great to wear, very light. It's made of thin material, but I've really given it a hard time and it's hardly been damaged at all.
The zips work well and have never jammed."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Knebworth Phone/MP3 Carrier AW12
Knebworth Phone/MP3 Carrier AW12
The Ultimate Performance™ Knebworth arm band allows you to carry your phone or MP3 player with ease and in complete comfort.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works as advertised
Posted09 February 2012
metastable
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is quite a small carrier. It fits my Sandisk Clip, and sits nicely on my upper arm. Seems well made and should last"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Transfil Shimano Road Brake Cable Inner
Transfil Shimano Road Brake Cable Inner
Transfil is situated in the heart of France, at the base of the volcanoes where nature thrives in splendor. This region is also a genuine ground for innovation and know-how.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works as advertised
Posted17 August 2011
metastable
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's a brake cable and it works as it should. Good quality. No complaints"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye TL-Rapid 3 LED Rear Light
Cateye TL-Rapid 3 LED Rear Light
The brightest and best looking rear light on the market! This powerful rear light has the same family genes as the popular TL610, but really packs a punch.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works on Aero seat posts
Posted07 June 2011
metastable
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this light as I read that it works on aero seat posts. I have a 2011 Giant TCR2 and the mount fits perfectly around the seat post. Finally I have a bike mounted light rather than hanging them off the saddle bag.
It's also quite bright and can be seen clearly from the side."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
metastable's Questions
 
 Shimano FC-M770 22T Chainring
Shimano FC-M770 22T Chainring
Genuine Shimano replacement 36T chainring.
 

Is it a 22 or 32 teeth chainring?

The title says 22T, the description says 32T. Which is it?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
metastable
Brisbane
 
 Mission Cycling Wallet
Mission Cycling Wallet
Don't let your bike ride interfere with your texting habits. This streamlined wallet protects your smartphone while letting you access all of its functions, and it fits nicely right in the pocket of your bike jersey.
 

Does this fit a Galaxy S3?

1 year, 8 months ago
by
metastable
Brisbane
 
 Knog Blinder 4 Standard LED Rear Light
Knog Blinder 4 Standard LED Rear Light
The Knog Blinders pack into a very small and bright package. Over 7 years of research, design and plain hard work make a deceptively simple light that packs a heavy technical punch.
 

Will these attach to an Aero seatpost, specifically a Giant TCR?

1 year, 9 months ago
by
metastable
Brisbane
 
 Fit Carbon Mini Pump
Fit Carbon Mini Pump
Neat little pocket sized carbon mini pump for use on road bikes and capable of inflating up to 100psi. The pump head is attached but with an extractable hose that helps protect the tyre valve from damage when inflating.
 

What are the dimensions of this mini pump (length and diameter)?

3 years, 7 months ago
by
metastable
 
 Raptor MTB Long Sleeve Cycling Jersey
Raptor MTB Long Sleeve Cycling Jersey
Thermic long sleeves jersey with raglan cut sleeves and a full opening reversed zip with camlock NW puller.
 

Is this the Raptor made of nw4 material (i.e. windproof)?

It does say windproof in the description, but it doesn't specifically say it is using NW4 and Northwave makes two types of this jersey, one windproof and one not.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
metastable
 
 Yutaak Saddle
Yutaak Saddle
Features Vibram rubber inserts with cushioning effect on the rear, non slip covering and strengthened side tabs: total control for any type of tough terrain.
 

What seat post will work with a Selle Italia Yutaak saddle?

I recently purchased a Yutaak saddle which has ovalised rails. I was told a Thomson Elite seat post would work with it, which I already had. In fact, they don't work together. The Yutaak rails are too far apart compared to the width of the Elite's rail guides. I could pull them in I guess, but then they are angled and I don't think the stresses on them would be optimal from above (as the oval wouldn't be at 90 degress to the ground it would be at some other angle, but the top clamp expects the rail in the same position as the bottom rail).
 
Products related to my question
Yutaak Saddle
4 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
Thomson Elite Setback Seat Post
4.8 out of 5(103)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 9 months ago
by
metastable
 
metastable's Answers
 
 Crank Brothers 17 Function Multi Tool
Crank Brothers 17 Function Multi Tool
The Multi 17 is a fully featured tool with 17 tools weighing in at 168g. The chain tool is cast stainless steel, and when removed is an easy to use spoke key. The Torx key is useful for tightening disc brake rotors.
 

Can anyone tell me what 2 functions this tool is missing that the Crank 19 function tool has?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A T10 and a second Phillips.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
metastable
 
 High5 EnergySource 4:1 With Super Carbs 1.6kg Tub
High5 EnergySource 4:1 With Super Carbs 1.6kg Tub
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 

Is it isotonic?

The description refers to it being hypotonic. Is this the same as isotonic?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A quick search on Google yields the following:

* Isotonic sports drinks contain similar concentrations of salt and sugar as in the human body.

* Hypertonic sports drinks contain a higher concentration of salt and sugar than the human body.

* Hypotonic sports drinks contain a lower concentration of salt and sugar than the human body

So isotonic is not the same as hypotonic
4 years, 4 months ago
by
metastable
 
 Wippermann Connex Chain Link (8-9 Speed)
Wippermann Connex Chain Link (8-9 Speed)
All Connex chains (except the 800 series) are supplied with a Connex link which requires no tools. Chain disassembly couldn't be simpler.
 

Is this one link or a pair

Do I need 1 or 2 of these to join a chain
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You need just one. It comes as a split link, so you put the two halves together and join the chain
4 years, 6 months ago
by
metastable
 
 Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
The Finchdean range - top performance kit which looks good and feels great
 

Are these any good for winter?

I am looking for a winter outfit but there is nothing saying what they are suitable for.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, these are summer knicks
 
Products from my answer
Finchdean Padded Bib Tights
4.5 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 6 months ago
by
metastable