jowate
Share jowate's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
jowate's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    04 March 2011
  • Last Review
    02 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    04 March 2011
  • Last Answer
    15 February 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
jowate's Reviews
 
 RD-5700 105 10-Speed Rear Derailleur
RD-5700 105 10-Speed Rear Derailleur
The new 105 medium cage (GS) rear derailleur which is super stiff and provides fast and accurate changes across the cassette.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
read the small print!
Posted02 December 2013
jowate
fromCorwen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"No doubt at all that this is a good piece of kit and at a very good price. My old one snapped when on holiday - the chain doubled back on itself. I ordered this right away, and it arrived quickly but it was only when I took it to a bike shop to get it fixed on that I was told it was the read derailleur for a triple not a double chainset.
As I wanted to continue cycling while away, I had it fitted and there was no problem insofar as it works fine on a double. BUT it would be nice if the Wiggle site could be clearer so that it's harder for non-experts like me to order the wrong size."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good trainer
Posted15 February 2012
jowate
fromCorwen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Actually the only trainer I've used, so nothing to compare it with, but bought it based on other positive reviews. It does prove to be quiet in use, provides adequate resistance and allows a good work-out, at a very reasonable price.
It's quite straightforward to set up from the box, but DO read the "Alteration in mounting of bicycle with different wheel diameter" section and check whether you'll need to use one of the supplied adapters BEFORE fitting the magnet unit to the handle - I followed the instructions in exact order and didn't come to read this section until after I'd set it up without the necessary adapter for my standard road bike wheel size."
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, good value
Cons: instructions could be clearer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Pace Roubaix Padded Tight
Ladies Pace Roubaix Padded Tight
These Roubaix Tights are your winter saviours offering the next level in warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new women's specific Tour chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Haven't worn them myself but...
Posted18 November 2011
jowate
fromCorwen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these as a present for a woman friend ... she's thrilled with them. I've got the men's equivalent (the bib version) and they're comfortable, fit well and are warm for cycling in 5 - 10 degree conditions (it hasn't got colder yet since I got them)."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value winter tights
Posted11 October 2011
jowate
fromCorwen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good warm tights for winter. Excellent value for the price. Fit is good, for my size (small and rather short legs)! Would be improved with smaller zips - can't quite see the rationale for these large zips. All the same, very happy with them overall. Only downside was coming off my bike and holing the knee on about 4th use ;( but of course that's not DHB's fault!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Good Fit, good value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Shorts
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Shorts
Our Pace Roubaix Bib Shorts are made from the finest brushed Italian 235g lycra and offer the highest level of comfort afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good, but seam problem...
Posted15 April 2011
jowate
fromCorwen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good bib-shorts, good close fit and ideal for use in not-quite-warm weather with leg or knee warmers, i.e. probably most of the time in the UK! However, after using them several times I noticed discomfort on my front thigh, and on a longer run the other day found that the rubbing of the seam on the leg front had caused a painful sore on my leg. Flat seams at the front would prevent this problem. Otherwise, a good piece of kit."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: seams can cause discomfort
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cervelo Test Team Cycling Cap 2009
Cervelo Test Team Cycling Cap 2009
This is perhaps the only piece of cycling clothing that hasn't really changed since Eddy Merchx was winning everything.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value
Posted04 March 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jowate
fromCorwen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"It fits pretty well, keeps sun, rain and wind out of your eyes, keeps your head warm (have only used it in cold weather so far) and looks great - I love the Castelli & Cervelo graphics. At this price, couldn't really ask for more."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
jowate's Questions
 
jowate has not submitted any questions.
 
jowate's Answers
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Setting resistance

Hi
I seem to be having problem setting the resistance on the trainer correctly. I'm using continental ultra gatorskin tyres 700x23c 100psi (as it was worse with 120psi)

I know something isn't right as when I stop pedalling wheel stops instantly absolutely no flywheel movement. The resistance is set to 10 via the cable which I assume is the lowest setting?

I've tried turning the knob on the underside but it doesn't allow enough adjustment.

I assume I didn't need to use the enclosed adapter's with a 700c wheel
I found I did need to use the adapter with my 700c wheel, and it works ok - maybe that's your problem?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
jowate
Corwen
 
 Cervelo Test Team Cycling Cap 2009
Cervelo Test Team Cycling Cap 2009
This is perhaps the only piece of cycling clothing that hasn't really changed since Eddy Merchx was winning everything.
 

size

what is the one size dimensions

I have a large head?
I've a medium size head and I guess it'd fit a bigger head than mine too.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
jowate
Corwen