BGB29
Top 1000 Contributor
Share BGB29's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BGB29's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    19
  • First Review
    18 August 2009
  • Last Review
    21 January 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    27 April 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    26 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    05 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
BGB29's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Racing Zero Nite wheelset is new to the Fulcrum range & boasts a brand new, hard wearing Plasma braking surface as well as ceramic bearings, carbon hubs & differentiated rim heights. These wheels deliver high-end performance weighing in at 1420g.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light, great rolling & good looking wheels
Posted21 January 2016
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought a set of Fulcrum Zero Nites as a set of back-up/wet day wheels to save taking my carbon wheelset out. I also needed an 11 speed wheel that could be converted to 10 with a spacer for use on another bike. I wanted lightweight, high quality alloy clinchers that were a good weight - the Fulcrum Zero Nites fit the bill perfectly.
Tyres go on easily (I use 25mm Vittoria Open Corsa's) and the ceramic bearing are very very smooth and quiet. They roll pretty much as well as my Chris King R45 hubs and as a wheelset climb very well with no noticeable flex. I like the fairly shallow rim height for hilly/mountain days. Braking is firm and predictable but a little noisy if you dont brake very hard. I'm assuming that will bed in. I'm planning to set them up as tubeless in the future.
In the box the wheels came with a pair of nice wheel bags, skewers, a 9/10spd hub spacer, spoke key and carbon brake pads that need to be used with the rim due to the plasma coating.
Overall, I paid about £675 delivered to Switzerland (no UK VAT). I believe they are a great value, top end alloy clincher that perform excellently. DO I still think the carbon clincher version would have been a good idea? Yes, but then I wouldn't have as reliable braking in the wet, would have spent an additional £300 and only saved 62g. As a 93kg rider the 62g isn't so important. Would I recommend them? Yes 100%."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
 
The Exteondo Team Edition Windstopper Jersey fits and feels like a jersey but performs like a jacket. Supplied with arm warmers for versatility, it is a staple set for high intensity training in cold weather. As used by the Team Giant Alpecin Pro riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Without doubt the best jersey i have
Posted26 October 2015
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A 'gabba' by another name but with wiggle's pricing far better value with equal, if not better performance.
Personally I feel the cold when riding so have been known to wear 4 or more layers. With the Etxendeo windstopper i'm down to a base layer and the jersey for all but the coldest days. Its breathable, stretchy, windproof and waterproof enough to see you through most things. I really like the long tail to cover your bum when there is wet roads.
The addition of matching windstopper arms are a bonus too. Something you dont get on a gabba at a higher price point.
Fit is a close performance style. I'm 187cm with a 42cm chest and wear a Large. I can still comfortably reach the rear pockets and store my usaul ride goodies without hassle. The arms are longer than normal too so overlap the seperate arm warms nicely.
Overall, a great jersey for days when the weather looks a bit changeable or cold. I like mine so much I've just order a second one in red."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
The Arione R1's carbon thermoplastic composite shell and braided carbon rails reduce weight and increase saddle stiffness with Wing Flex™ designed for freedom of thigh movement. The Arione shape is flat, narrow and long and is ideal for Snakes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great saddle, lightweight, comfortable
Posted16 October 2015
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"All I ride is Arione's. This is the latest in a ong line of them for me and I personally dont ride anything else so have one on each bike. If the Fizik snake fit is for you then you wont go wrong.
The R1 one is about as light as it gets for saddles without getting into silly money so if shaving a few grams is important to you this is a great option. Looks wise its very classic and for me comfortable on rides of 100-160km plus."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Schwalbe Extra Light Road Innertubes - for true reliability and reduced weight that has been proven on the ground for years and years. These tubes are lighter than standard tubes to assist with reducing overall weight.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Lightweight but quite delicate
Posted16 October 2015
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good tubes, lightweight and ride nicely, almost like latex. Be careful fitting them though as the tube wall is thin (light) so can easily be pinched and puncture. A quick and easy fix but annoying when your gorilla hands do it fitting them new!"
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A quick-release axle system that keeps the chain under tension when the wheel is removed.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great little gadget for cleaning or travelling
Posted22 December 2014
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ideal little gadget for when you want to clean your bike with the wheels off. Holds the chain in the right place and spins easily on the red wheel. Also ideal for putting in place to hold the chain in place when you transport your bike with the wheels off. I found it so useful i bought another for my 2nd bike and will get a 135mm for my MTB."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Osprey Viper 5 Mens Hydration Pack
Osprey Viper 5 Mens Hydration Pack
The most compact in the Viper series, the Osprey Viper 5 Hydration Pack is the most useful for short and fast mountain bike rides and is also an ideal hydration pack for fun trail runs and day hikes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great small hydration bag for cross country
Posted05 September 2014
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you like bright green - you can go far wrong! The pack is small but fits all you need and has a built in 2ltr hydro pack. NIcely made and the hydro feed has a magnetic connection to the chest strap to stop it swinging around. ON the left shoulder strap there is also a neat little webbing pouch that I use for a gel or two. So far that seems secure and I havent lost anything. The helmet clip on the back is useful too.
Overall a great bag for 3-4 hour trips with just the basic spares (tool, innertube, bars and gels, rain jacket). I wouldnt take a full set of wet weather longs in it though as its really not that big."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Soft, merino wool cycling socks with a 20cm cuff to ensure your lower legs stay warm during your cold weather rides/training sessions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great if you get cold feet
Posted22 August 2014
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Get cold feet when cycling like me? These will definitely help. A nice long sock thats thicker than the average cycling sock so be aware of how much space you have in your shoes.
I wear these in the autumn with normal shoes and winter cycling boots when it gets cold. I live in Zurich so Dec-Mar can be a bit nippy but I can manage 2-3 hr rides with these on. (my feet arent warm, but definitely the unfeeling blocks of ice they used to be!)"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Morvelo A Bloc 14 Short Sleeve Jersey
Morvelo A Bloc 14 Short Sleeve Jersey
Morvelo place great importance on making sure their jerseys look superb and perform to their best. Well, thanks to the Dri-Clim fabric composition, the A-Bloc 14 jersey does this as it helps to keep you cool when in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance fit, great for long, hot rides
Posted22 August 2014
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought the Morvelo a bloc as I have one of their other jerseys and a set of bibs that I wear all the time. I'm 6'2" (187cm) and built to go downhill so find the XL a nice close fit but not restrictive.
The jersey has 3 good sized pockets on the pack, an extra with a zip thats great for keys. There is also a nice little 'gel pocket' on the right hip. Dont overload it though as its not the most secure pocket and I lost 2 gels on a fast & long mountain descent last week (& I wasnt pedalling back up to get them!) The back panel is kind of mesh like so very breathable for long hot days in the saddle.
Colour is a pretty bright orange/red with a dark charcoal grey. Contrasts nicely against the white and works with the mandatory black bibs (rule 14).
Overall, I really like this jersey and think for value its great. Rapha is nice but you can buy 3 of these for the same price via Wiggle :)"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
The first Gore-Tex shoes launched exclusively by Northwave guarantees all-out water protection combined with excellent breathablilty. Suitable for riding in temperatures from -10° - +15°C.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value, warm winter road boots
Posted22 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I suffer from cold feet even on warm days so need a warm boot for the winter months living in Switzerland. Paired with merino winter socks I can feel my toes after a 2-3 hour ride in temps as low as zero - what more could you want?
Add to the performance that these shoes look great, fit well for my awkward size 47's (i bought a 48 as most cycling shoes come up tight on me and its perfect).
At the price I paid on Wiggle, I highly recommend them to anyone who has winter training in mind."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Femto Drive lightset is an affordable yet brilliant compact "be seen" light. Engineered alloy body is light (62g per pair with straps) and tough with long lasting, high polished and anodised finish.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Small bright light for being seen by others
Posted31 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great little light. Good value. Small, versatile and can easily be removed if you use them on a commute.
Both front and rear have contstant bright light plus 3 or 4 flashing options.
A nice little light that isnt in the way and gives you the safety of knowing you have something on for when the light or weather goes and you have a way to go before home"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BGB29's Questions
 
But can a cycle shoe really be that light? Yes, it can!
 

How do Giro Empire SLX size? Small or large?

How do these Empire SLX's size compared to others? In Fizik and DMT I wear a 48, Northwave winter boots a 47. I tend to go up a size in cycling shoes compared to normal shoes where I am a 46 more often than not.

Would prefer to order only once and get it right if possible.
4 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Oakley Heritage Radarlock Path
Oakley Heritage Radarlock Path
The Heritage Radarlock Path is part of the Heritage collection, which looks back over the last 30 years of Oakley sunglasses. The Heritage Radarlock Path features unique colour styles yet still offers the same technologies as the standard Radarlock Path.
 

2 lemses or 1 included?

The product description says 2 lenses - one for low light, one for bright. However there is no info confirming this on the 'buy' tab.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Dakine Bike Bag
Dakine Bike Bag
The Dakine bike bag is a heavy duty bike bag with a large amount of padding and internal padded bags for wheels, forks and the rear triangle.
 

Fit for frame with ISP?

Will the bag fit a custom road frame with an 80cm integrated seat post (bottom bracket cc to top of post) ?

Cheers
2 years, 2 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
BGB29's Answers
 
 Osprey Viper 5 Mens Hydration Pack
Osprey Viper 5 Mens Hydration Pack
The most compact in the Viper series, the Osprey Viper 5 Hydration Pack is the most useful for short and fast mountain bike rides and is also an ideal hydration pack for fun trail runs and day hikes.
 

Does the viper mens hydration pack include a bladder?

In the product information it says 2L bladder included but later on in the product details it says that there is no bladder included
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, i just received a green version and it has the 2ltr hydro pack and feed tube included.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

Are the wheels as shown in the photo or the newer version with the smaller 'Attack' decal?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Mine came with the smaller 'attack' logo
2 years, 9 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

do the stickers come of or are they laquered over

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Can be removed on my set if wanted
2 years, 9 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

Weight Limit?

For my weight 90kg going well these wheels? How much is the weight limit?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm a wind cheating 100kg and dont have any issues with wheel flex (good wheels shouldnt have a weight limit in my opinion)
2 years, 9 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

Compatible with SRAM?

Hi, is this wheelset compatible with SRAM cassettes?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, I use these with the SRAM Force PG1070 12-32 cassette and the SRAM Red PG1090 12-25 cassette
2 years, 9 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

What is included in the packaging?

Does the wheelset come with wheel bags, spoke key etc.?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No wheel bags but comes with rim tape, skewers and Reynolds blue brake blocks
2 years, 9 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

Rim tape

Including rim tape and levers to remove the tires?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, they come with blue reynolds rim tape and skewers (& Reynolds blue brake pads) in the box.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Waterproofness

How waterproof is this jacket? e.g. 5000mm
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No idea of the offical waterproof rating but in torrential rain its kept me dry and comfortable.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Torque Key 2011
Torque Key 2011
Properly install your Ritchey carbon bars and stem without fear of over-torquing. This Torque Key uses a M4 bit and is pre-set to 5Nm (maximum recommended torque for Ritchey carbon bars and WCS stems).
 

Click?

Is this supposed to click at 5Nm?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes. Its quite subtle though so becareful not to try again for a 2nd click as this will increase the pressure above 5Nm
6 years ago
by
BGB29
Oxfordshire, UK
 
 Torque Key 2011
Torque Key 2011
Properly install your Ritchey carbon bars and stem without fear of over-torquing. This Torque Key uses a M4 bit and is pre-set to 5Nm (maximum recommended torque for Ritchey carbon bars and WCS stems).
 

are the bits changeable / removable?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No, its glued in very securely. I've tried removing it but its fixed in pretty tight.
6 years ago
by
BGB29
Oxfordshire, UK