BGB29
Top 1000 Contributor
Share BGB29's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BGB29's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    20
  • First Review
    18 August 2009
  • Last Review
    04 May 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    08 June 2014
  • Last Question
    23 November 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    26 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    05 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
BGB29's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The award winning POC Octal Raceday helmet is engineered to be the next step in road bike helmet safety and race performance. It offers optimal ventilation and comfort while remaining incredibly lightweight - designed to perfectly match Raceday clothing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great looking, lightweight helmet
Posted04 May 2017
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I love my POC Octal Rceday - its lightweight, adjustable and comfortable. It looks great to boot. I have the matt navy blue one and matching DO Halfbalde sunnies and love the combination.
I can wear the helmet with or without a cap underneath depending on the temperature and generally don't really notice its there. Thats a good sign for me.
Would I recommend it? Yes, definitely. De different from the Giro gand, go POC and stand out!"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great fit, field of vision & lightweight
Posted04 May 2017
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The design of these sunnies is down to personal taste - i love them, others are not so sure :)
The best part is the quality lens used - I really can't fault it in all light conditions for field of view and clarity. The half frame design really helps ensure great vision while the lens quality does the rest.
Getting 2 lenses is great to ensure all weather conditions and light are covered. Switching lenses is very easy and you get a good quality box to keep everything in with a few spares, lens cloth/bag.
Fit with the POC Octal helmet is also great and I like the 'garage' so you can stick them in the air vents while climbing or stopping for coffee if needed.
Overall, a great buy. Price was also excellent via Wiggle.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Arundel Mandible Carbon Bottle Cage
Arundel Mandible Carbon Bottle Cage
The Mandible is tough enough for any type of use, including mountain bike, triathlon style brackets, and cobble-esque road riding. Designed for lengthy rides, The Mandible is strong but light, and work better than anything else available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great all round bottle cage
Posted22 December 2016
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought 2 of these for my Ti gravel bike as I'd heard they were reliable, strong and didn't lose bottles easily. They were a great choice and surprisingly light too. Overall, if you want a quality cage and are willing to pay a bit of a premium then these are a great choice. Look pretty good too in my opinion :)"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fulcrum Racing Zero Nite Alloy Clincher Wheelset
Fulcrum Racing Zero Nite Alloy Clincher Wheelset
The Racing Zero Nite wheelset is new to the Fulcrum range & boasts a brand new, hard wearing Plasma braking surface as well as ceramic bearings, carbon hubs & differentiated rim heights. These wheels deliver high-end performance weighing in at 1420g.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light, great rolling & good looking wheels
Posted21 January 2016
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought a set of Fulcrum Zero Nites as a set of back-up/wet day wheels to save taking my carbon wheelset out. I also needed an 11 speed wheel that could be converted to 10 with a spacer for use on another bike. I wanted lightweight, high quality alloy clinchers that were a good weight - the Fulcrum Zero Nites fit the bill perfectly.
Tyres go on easily (I use 25mm Vittoria Open Corsa's) and the ceramic bearing are very very smooth and quiet. They roll pretty much as well as my Chris King R45 hubs and as a wheelset climb very well with no noticeable flex. I like the fairly shallow rim height for hilly/mountain days. Braking is firm and predictable but a little noisy if you dont brake very hard. I'm assuming that will bed in. I'm planning to set them up as tubeless in the future.
In the box the wheels came with a pair of nice wheel bags, skewers, a 9/10spd hub spacer, spoke key and carbon brake pads that need to be used with the rim due to the plasma coating.
Overall, I paid about £675 delivered to Switzerland (no UK VAT). I believe they are a great value, top end alloy clincher that perform excellently. DO I still think the carbon clincher version would have been a good idea? Yes, but then I wouldn't have as reliable braking in the wet, would have spent an additional £300 and only saved 62g. As a 93kg rider the 62g isn't so important. Would I recommend them? Yes 100%."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
 
 Etxeondo Team Edition Windstopper Jersey (and Arm Warmers)
Etxeondo Team Edition Windstopper Jersey (and Arm Warmers)
The Exteondo Team Edition Windstopper Jersey fits and feels like a jersey but performs like a jacket. Supplied with arm warmers for versatility, it is a staple set for high intensity training in cold weather. As used by the Team Giant Alpecin Pro riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Without doubt the best jersey i have
Posted26 October 2015
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A 'gabba' by another name but with wiggle's pricing far better value with equal, if not better performance.
Personally I feel the cold when riding so have been known to wear 4 or more layers. With the Etxendeo windstopper i'm down to a base layer and the jersey for all but the coldest days. Its breathable, stretchy, windproof and waterproof enough to see you through most things. I really like the long tail to cover your bum when there is wet roads.
The addition of matching windstopper arms are a bonus too. Something you dont get on a gabba at a higher price point.
Fit is a close performance style. I'm 187cm with a 42cm chest and wear a Large. I can still comfortably reach the rear pockets and store my usaul ride goodies without hassle. The arms are longer than normal too so overlap the seperate arm warms nicely.
Overall, a great jersey for days when the weather looks a bit changeable or cold. I like mine so much I've just order a second one in red."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Fizik Arione R1 Saddle with Braided Carbon Rails
Fizik Arione R1 Saddle with Braided Carbon Rails
The Arione R1's carbon thermoplastic composite shell and braided carbon rails reduce weight and increase saddle stiffness with Wing Flex™ designed for freedom of thigh movement. The Arione shape is flat, narrow and long and is ideal for Snakes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great saddle, lightweight, comfortable
Posted16 October 2015
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"All I ride is Arione's. This is the latest in a ong line of them for me and I personally dont ride anything else so have one on each bike. If the Fizik snake fit is for you then you wont go wrong.
The R1 one is about as light as it gets for saddles without getting into silly money so if shaving a few grams is important to you this is a great option. Looks wise its very classic and for me comfortable on rides of 100-160km plus."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Schwalbe Extra Light Road Innertubes - for true reliability and reduced weight that has been proven on the ground for years and years. These tubes are lighter than standard tubes to assist with reducing overall weight.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Lightweight but quite delicate
Posted16 October 2015
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good tubes, lightweight and ride nicely, almost like latex. Be careful fitting them though as the tube wall is thin (light) so can easily be pinched and puncture. A quick and easy fix but annoying when your gorilla hands do it fitting them new!"
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 BBB BTL-50 Chain Grip
BBB BTL-50 Chain Grip
A quick-release axle system that keeps the chain under tension when the wheel is removed.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great little gadget for cleaning or travelling
Posted22 December 2014
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ideal little gadget for when you want to clean your bike with the wheels off. Holds the chain in the right place and spins easily on the red wheel. Also ideal for putting in place to hold the chain in place when you transport your bike with the wheels off. I found it so useful i bought another for my 2nd bike and will get a 135mm for my MTB."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Osprey Viper 5 Mens Hydration Pack
Osprey Viper 5 Mens Hydration Pack
The most compact in the Viper series, the Osprey Viper 5 Hydration Pack is the most useful for short and fast mountain bike rides and is also an ideal hydration pack for fun trail runs and day hikes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great small hydration bag for cross country
Posted05 September 2014
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you like bright green - you can go far wrong! The pack is small but fits all you need and has a built in 2ltr hydro pack. NIcely made and the hydro feed has a magnetic connection to the chest strap to stop it swinging around. ON the left shoulder strap there is also a neat little webbing pouch that I use for a gel or two. So far that seems secure and I havent lost anything. The helmet clip on the back is useful too.
Overall a great bag for 3-4 hour trips with just the basic spares (tool, innertube, bars and gels, rain jacket). I wouldnt take a full set of wet weather longs in it though as its really not that big."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Venti Sock
Castelli Venti Sock
Soft, merino wool cycling socks with a 20cm cuff to ensure your lower legs stay warm during your cold weather rides/training sessions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great if you get cold feet
Posted22 August 2014
BGB29
fromZurich, Switzerland
Country : Switzerland
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Get cold feet when cycling like me? These will definitely help. A nice long sock thats thicker than the average cycling sock so be aware of how much space you have in your shoes.
I wear these in the autumn with normal shoes and winter cycling boots when it gets cold. I live in Zurich so Dec-Mar can be a bit nippy but I can manage 2-3 hr rides with these on. (my feet arent warm, but definitely the unfeeling blocks of ice they used to be!)"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BGB29's Questions
 
The Clug Hybrid Bike Holder is the perfect storage solution for your bike. Just clip it in out the way and get on with enjoying the extra space. Great for organising storage of multiple bikes.
 

Which one for Gravel/CX tyres?

Which one is the best fit for a bike fitted with Gravel/CX tyres 35-40mm? Hybrid or MTB?

Cheers
11 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
The Quarq DZero spider (hidden bolt) is available both in 110 and 130 BCD's and allows you to upgrade the Quarq Prime Power Ready chainset, available as OEM on selected 2017 bikes, into an accurate and very powerful power meter device.
 

Fitment to SRAM Force22 GXP crank?

Hi
Does this fit a SRAM Force 22 GXP crank?
Thanks :)
11 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
But can a cycle shoe really be that light? Yes, it can!
 

How do Giro Empire SLX size? Small or large?

How do these Empire SLX's size compared to others? In Fizik and DMT I wear a 48, Northwave winter boots a 47. I tend to go up a size in cycling shoes compared to normal shoes where I am a 46 more often than not.

Would prefer to order only once and get it right if possible.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Oakley Heritage Radarlock Path
Oakley Heritage Radarlock Path
The Heritage Radarlock Path is part of the Heritage collection, which looks back over the last 30 years of Oakley sunglasses. The Heritage Radarlock Path features unique colour styles yet still offers the same technologies as the standard Radarlock Path.
 

2 lemses or 1 included?

The product description says 2 lenses - one for low light, one for bright. However there is no info confirming this on the 'buy' tab.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Dakine Bike Bag
Dakine Bike Bag
The Dakine bike bag is a heavy duty bike bag with a large amount of padding and internal padded bags for wheels, forks and the rear triangle.
 

Fit for frame with ISP?

Will the bag fit a custom road frame with an 80cm integrated seat post (bottom bracket cc to top of post) ?

Cheers
3 years, 5 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
BGB29's Answers
 
 Osprey Viper 5 Mens Hydration Pack
Osprey Viper 5 Mens Hydration Pack
The most compact in the Viper series, the Osprey Viper 5 Hydration Pack is the most useful for short and fast mountain bike rides and is also an ideal hydration pack for fun trail runs and day hikes.
 

Does the viper mens hydration pack include a bladder?

In the product information it says 2L bladder included but later on in the product details it says that there is no bladder included
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, i just received a green version and it has the 2ltr hydro pack and feed tube included.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

Are the wheels as shown in the photo or the newer version with the smaller 'Attack' decal?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Mine came with the smaller 'attack' logo
4 years ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

do the stickers come of or are they laquered over

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Can be removed on my set if wanted
4 years ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

Weight Limit?

For my weight 90kg going well these wheels? How much is the weight limit?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm a wind cheating 100kg and dont have any issues with wheel flex (good wheels shouldnt have a weight limit in my opinion)
4 years ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

Compatible with SRAM?

Hi, is this wheelset compatible with SRAM cassettes?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, I use these with the SRAM Force PG1070 12-32 cassette and the SRAM Red PG1090 12-25 cassette
4 years ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

What is included in the packaging?

Does the wheelset come with wheel bags, spoke key etc.?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No wheel bags but comes with rim tape, skewers and Reynolds blue brake blocks
4 years ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Attack Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Full carbon road wheels at an outstanding affordable price point. With aerodynamic 32mm carbon rims and smooth rolling Reynolds hubs, Attack Wheels offer world class handling, climbing and sprinting performance for racing cyclists and sportive riders.
 

Rim tape

Including rim tape and levers to remove the tires?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, they come with blue reynolds rim tape and skewers (& Reynolds blue brake pads) in the box.
4 years ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 dhb EQ2.5 Waterproof Cycling Jacket
dhb EQ2.5 Waterproof Cycling Jacket
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Waterproofness

How waterproof is this jacket? e.g. 5000mm
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No idea of the offical waterproof rating but in torrential rain its kept me dry and comfortable.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
BGB29
Zurich, Switzerland
 
 Torque Key 2011
Torque Key 2011
Properly install your Ritchey carbon bars and stem without fear of over-torquing. This Torque Key uses a M4 bit and is pre-set to 5Nm (maximum recommended torque for Ritchey carbon bars and WCS stems).
 

Click?

Is this supposed to click at 5Nm?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes. Its quite subtle though so becareful not to try again for a 2nd click as this will increase the pressure above 5Nm
7 years, 2 months ago
by
BGB29
Oxfordshire, UK
 
 Torque Key 2011
Torque Key 2011
Properly install your Ritchey carbon bars and stem without fear of over-torquing. This Torque Key uses a M4 bit and is pre-set to 5Nm (maximum recommended torque for Ritchey carbon bars and WCS stems).
 

are the bits changeable / removable?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No, its glued in very securely. I've tried removing it but its fixed in pretty tight.
7 years, 2 months ago
by
BGB29
Oxfordshire, UK