haggisinlondon
Top 250 Contributor
Share haggisinlondon's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
haggisinlondon's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    57
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    15 October 2009
  • Last Review
    01 April 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    5
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    04 April 2010
  • Last Question
    14 November 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    16 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    16 November 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
haggisinlondon's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
The Compressport R2 was the number one calf guard worn at the Ironman World Championships in Kona 2010. The Compressport R2 calf guard boosts your venous return, reducing the accumulation of toxins while increasing oxygenation to the muscles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Helped me through my calf injury
Posted01 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Injured my calf running, getting a tear in the muscle. After getting some physio he recommended a calf sleeve, so after reading reviews decided on this. The fit is excellent and you can really feel the support. I just completed a half marathon a few weeks after the injury and the support and confidence this gave me was good."
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Launched in 1991, GU's patented carbohydrate blend delivers high-quality, easily-digested and long-lasting energy for athletes in every sport and at all levels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best on the market for both running and cycling
Posted19 March 2012
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Had some of these a few years ago while training for a marathon, they were not available in the UK but I got some from the US. The chocolate is a great flavour and easily palatable and enjoyable. Have to stop myself eating them when not out running or on the bike."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Chain Rivet Extractor
Chain Rivet Extractor
Lifeline chain link extractor tool
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solid build and great value
Posted28 March 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"My previous chain tool bent badly pushing a pin out and bought this one after reading the reviews. Its a very solid piece of kit which gives you confidence its going to do the job well. It does just that knocking pins out with ease.
Value item in terms of the price but great quality, will last a good few years."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Swissstop Flash Pro Black (Brake Compound) Blocks
Swissstop Flash Pro Black (Brake Compound) Blocks
The Swissstop Flash Pro Black is ideal for less agressive riding, really good in wet and dry conditions and ideal for alloy rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Expensive but quality product
Posted28 March 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wore through my current 105 brakes very quickly and bought these due to the reviews. Glad I did, very solid quality pieces. Very easy to fit and the quality is excellent, great stopping power. Will be buying these for my back brakes when needed."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Minewt Mini 250 Cordless Rechargeable Front Light
Minewt Mini 250 Cordless Rechargeable Front Light
The new MiNewt.250 Cordless raises the bar of what a one-piece, modular bike light should be.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best purchase of the winter
Posted31 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have commuted for two years now and used your basic flashing light and very average front beam light. This year I wanted to get something better and read a lot of reviews. An upgrade to a light in this category is quite a bit more expensive than the normal lights you would buy.
Saying that you get what you pay for. The build quality on this light is excellent. It is very solid and the quality is evident. It charges via USB so can be charged at work if need be. The light had 3 beam settings and a flashing setting. The main beam is very powerful and lights up a lot of the road. My commute is around 90 minutes and sometimes up to 3 hours if doing some training before or afterwards, and the battery has lasted through that. I believe there is a warning when the battery is getting low but I have not got to that stage yet.
making the upgrade is worth it and this light is excellent."
Pros: High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Brute LS 26cm Bike D Lock
Brute LS 26cm Bike D Lock
One of the tougest locks from Onguard This one'll take up to ten tons!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value Lock
Posted31 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this for an additional piece of security when keep the bike at home. It stays outside and the weather the lock has had to put up with recently has been everything from snow and rain. The lock works perfectly everytime and no sign of sticking which I have had on previous more expensive locks.
It has a rubber coating which protects the frame from getting damaged when in use. The price is excellent compared to what you will pay for some better brand name products and the quality seems as good."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value product
Posted31 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Perfect chain breaker, it works everytime I have used it and seems very solid. The price is excellent and all you really need to spend from a home DIY point of view."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Get serious about your training with the CycleOps Jet Fluid Pro trainer. The Jet Fluid Pro's PowerTuned technology provides smooth, realistic accelerations and inertia offering real-world feel for widest range of riders and riding types.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Build quality
Posted31 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this last winter but a combination of travelling and getting out on the road meant I only used it a few times. This winter I have used it fairly extensively over the past few weeks.
The build quality is excellent and its very solid. Getting it level is easy with the extendible leg and connecting the bike is simple and very secure. The reason I went for this is because of the feel of the ride, it is very close to road conditions and resistant is increased as you pedal so no cables or anything needed to adjust it.
Noise wise its probably on par with other trainers, I use headphones as I have wooden floors and it can get noisy.
Fantastic piece of kit which I think will last me for a good few years."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Muc-Off 5 Cleaning Brush sets are designed to clean your frame and all components whilst caring for your bike's delicate finish. Reach hard to shift grime!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good set of brushes
Posted31 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Got this set of brushes for cleaning the bike and the quality is excellent. They do a good job but have to admit I find myself using the little brushes more. The large brush for cleaning the frame I hardly use as a cloth and sponge works better.
The one problem I have with the brushes is keeping them clean themselves only you get grease on them. Overall though they are good quality and a useful addition you the cleaning armoury."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Compression Socks AW11
Craft Compression Socks AW11
Tight compression fit over the calf reduce muscle vibration and focus power.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value product
Posted31 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
haggisinlondon
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"having read all the articles on compression I decided to go for these after reading the reviews online. They are fantastic value given the quality of the socks themselves. I have been using them for about 10 months and they are still in excellent condition.
I wear them after long rides and I feel a difference the next day, I am not sure how much of that is mental, but I would recommend these."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
haggisinlondon's Questions
 
 Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Designed to be used on a daily basis and for training purposes. An great product offered by Fulcrum® that guarantees an excellent performance/price ratio.
 

Are these the 2011 model?

4 years ago
by
haggisinlondon
London
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino Pro has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust and have a 150 TPI nylon casing, & a technical tread pattern + a long life tread compound.
 

is this a normal clincher tyre?

 
Products related to my question
 
4 years, 7 months ago
by
haggisinlondon
London
 
haggisinlondon's Answers
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

Does it have a zipped pocket?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No its got a folded over pocket so a flap over the middle pocket
4 years ago
by
haggisinlondon
London