haggisinlondon
Top 500 Contributor
Share haggisinlondon's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
haggisinlondon's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    57
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review
    15 October 2009
  • Last Review
    1 April 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    5
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    4 April 2010
  • Last Question
    14 November 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    16 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    16 November 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
haggisinlondon's Reviews
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
 Recovery Powder - 24 x 72g
Recovery Powder - 24 x 72g
The UK's No.1 Recovery brand now in powders. The first to combine world class performance with world class taste. Fast & Slow Protein and Carbohydrate Formula.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great recovery product
Posted7 August 2010
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I have always used the premixed version you get in the supermarket and got a sample of this with one of my Wiggle deliveries. It mixed incredibly well with water and the taste of the strawberry one was very palatable. The added benefit of these is you can easily carry them with you to races, sportives, touring etc.
The come in cheaper than the premade version you can buy which is a bonus. Would have loved a mixed flavour box. Also bought these on the promotion which made them even more economical. "
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
A dirty drivetrain causes poor shifting and unnecessary wear to expensive parts. The ChainGang contains everything needed to quickly and easily clean the chain, freewheel cogs, and chainrings. The ChainGang includes a CM-5 Cyclone: Chain Scrubber, a GSC-1 GearClean Brush, and an 8 oz. (237 ml) bottl...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wish I had bought this ages ago
Posted20 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I have always battled to keep my chain and cassette clean and gone through packs of baby-wipes and degreaser to no avail. I had seen these chain cleaners but thought they were gimmicky. However I decided to take the plunge and get one.
What a result, this works brilliantly. I went for the one from Park Tools due to the quality of their products. Its very solid and you fill up the resovoir, attach it to your chain and spin the chain through. There is a magnet at the bottom which catches any metal on your chain. The solution that comes with it works very well and has a citrus smell. Initially I though this would be very expensive as the fluid that comes in the package lasts only about 5 cleans. However it recommends you use dish washing liquid and water. This work just as well.
Cleaning the chain cleaner is very easy and after about 3 months of use it still looks new. Great product. "
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Amberley Glove 2010
Amberley Glove 2010
The Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it the ideal choice for those wanting to ride throughout the winter.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good winter gloves
Posted20 July 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I bought these after the Altura ones I used to use fell apart. I really feel the cold and was looking for a glove that fitted well which was not too bulky and kept my hands warm.
I had decided to ride right through winter and unfortunately I really feel the cold. One very cold days this glove did not protect my hands but I do think I would need a much bulkier glove to do that. These allow you to easily change gears and are not too bulky.
A good purchase for cold days on the bike, but get thicker gloves for below zero rides. "
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: limited warmth
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey AW09
Elite Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey AW09
This ergonomic fitting, thermal weight, race cut jersey is designed to work in conjunction with Craft Elite Bibs and Knickers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great summer top
Posted20 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Having tried the Craft base layer I liked the look of this top and bought it. I got a size too small initially and ended up getting the Large size. I am 6'1". I must say the Wiggle returns policy and turnaround time was brilliant.
The top is very high quality with a zip pocket and three others at the back. Its very lightweight with some mesh sections. On hot rides you can really feel the benefits of this top. I wear a base-layer with it and without that the top could be very see-thru which could put off some people.
Saying that I bought it for hot weather and thats where it really shines. I won't be using it when the weather gets cold. Another great quality garment from Craft. "
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Cool Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer SS10
Cool Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer SS10
Cool provides a superior cooling effect and a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during work-outs in warm conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Favourite summer purchase
Posted20 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Having never worn a base layer in summer I bought this to test the theory. It was on discount which made it fairly good value. The fit was very good and figure hugging which is what you need. I am 6'1" and the medium fit me perfectly.
I definitely notice the difference in terms of wicking the sweat away from my body. Its also very comfortable underneath my cycling top. I have now bought a second one. "
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pressure Drive Mini Pump Small 2011
Pressure Drive Mini Pump Small 2011
The Pressure Drive is a sleek, compact pump that delivers up to 120psi making it ideal for road or Mtb use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great small powerful pump
Posted20 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Bought this to replace the pump I used to have on my bike. I now carry this in my back pocket as its small enough to fit in there with no worry about it falling out. There are a varying array of colours should you be after one that matches your top or bike.
I recently had to use the pump and was very surprised how easy it was to use. The valve connector is in the pump and you pull that out and connect it. It was pretty powerful as well and got my tyre up to a pressure that got me to the end of my ride.
Very impressive piece of kit. "
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Kaiman Goggles Light Blue Lens Regular Face
Kaiman Goggles Light Blue Lens Regular Face
A traditional goggle with added comfort and visibility. The Kaiman goggle is an excellent competitive-style goggle that offers features superior to a traditional swim goggle. Constructed of Softeril, the Kaiman also provides 100% UVA and UVB protection.The Kaiman fitted with blue lenses are designed...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works great in gym swimming pool
Posted20 July 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I Bought these to replace the ones that I lost. I mainly swim at the pool at gym which has very strong chemicals in it. The price of goggles is fairly low in comparison to other sports and I snapped these up after reading the reviews. They are very comfortable and fit very well. Easily adjustable. The tint is good on them and I image they would be good as well swimming outdoors.
Overall a good purcahse. "
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 MuleBar 24 x 56g Energy Bars
MuleBar 24 x 56g Energy Bars
Each unique flavour of MuleBar has become the benchmark for great tasting, Fairtrade and organic energy bars. Designed to be easy on the stomach and digestion, the flavours will change your opinion of all other dull-tasting energy bars after one bite.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic taste
Posted22 May 2010
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I have tried a number of bars but got these based on the reviews. They were right, fantastic tasting product and on my long rides I really feel the benefit from the bars. Only problem I have is that they taste so good I am tempted to eat them anytime. "
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Quality Road Pack of 5 Inner Tubes
Continental Quality Road Pack of 5 Inner Tubes
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bulk buy saves money
Posted22 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Given the UK roads at the moment I have had a number of punctures this year. Got a few sportives coming up so bought the bulk pack. Continental is a good quality product and its good value in this format. Have had to use one tube which so far has done the job. "
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 R105 Road Cycling Shoes
R105 Road Cycling Shoes
A serious sport / competition road race shoe with silver carbon sole offering maximum performance and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Upgraded to these and love them
Posted2 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Got into cycling about 8 months ago and bought the cheapest shoes as mu budget was blown on the bike. Now I have saved up and upgraded my shoes to these. Value for money was good as I used a discount code to get £20 off them. They look great and the build quality is excellent. Its all velcro strap so no ratchet like you find on some shoes. The fit is perfect as well and the straps stay in place.
The real difference is in the feel when pedaling, from my cheap shoes to this is ridiculously different. I could feel the power going straight into my pedal stroke. Would recommend upgrading to a carbon sole. "
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
haggisinlondon's Questions
 
 Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Designed to be used on a daily basis and for training purposes. An great product offered by Fulcrum® that guarantees an excellent performance/price ratio.
 

Are these the 2011 model?

7 years, 8 months ago
by
haggisinlondon
London
 
 Vittoria Rubino Pro Folding Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Rubino Pro Folding Clincher Tyre
The popular all-rounder Rubino Pro has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust and have a 150 TPI nylon casing, & a technical tread pattern + a long life tread compound.
 

is this a normal clincher tyre?

 
Products related to my question
Vittoria Rubino Pro Folding Clincher Tyre
4.5 out of 5(945)
 
 
 
 
 
8 years, 3 months ago
by
haggisinlondon
London
 
haggisinlondon's Answers
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

Does it have a zipped pocket?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No its got a folded over pocket so a flap over the middle pocket
7 years, 8 months ago
by
haggisinlondon
London