snail24
Share snail24's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
snail24's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    22 October 2010
  • Last Review
    14 March 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    22 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    08 November 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
snail24's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 NOH Edge 500
NOH Edge 500
Newly Overhauled Garmin GPS. Sharpen your cycling performance with Edge 500, a lightweight GPS-based cycling computer for performance-driven cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
did not work
Posted14 March 2013
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Looks like a neat unit but after taking ages to find satelite coverage and heading out for a 4 am ride things did not go so well on it's 1st ride.
It kept searching for coverage every 40 seconds and when i did have coverage the speed and distance were just stupid.
I rode for 2 hours and travelled 437km and climbed over 30000M!
I also checked Garmin conect for software updates and it has latest.
I tried contacting Garmin AUS who gave no help at all.
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: did not work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_150 AW11
Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_150 AW11
This ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin. This version of our popular Merino range is available with a zip neck to increase ventilation when the going gets hot.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
value for money
Posted06 July 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"good fit, long back, i am using it under a my MTB jersey and find it works as a great base layer without getting too sweaty."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value
Posted02 November 2011
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this to replace an old cheap trainer.
The Sirius is very quiet and provides ample resistance.
The frame is stable enough for out of saddle high intensity sprints.
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hoops Pro2 Front Mtb Wheel
Hoops Pro2 Front Mtb Wheel
Following on from the success of the Pro2 hub, this now proven award winning wheelset continues to receive accolades and awards.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great XC wheelset for trail or race
Posted29 November 2010
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought a set of these for my spare XC bike and have been very impressed.
Only 100g/ wheel heavier than my race wheels (useing same crest rims and much more expensive hubs and spokes) at a fraction of the cost.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Earnley Roubaix Arm Warmers
Earnley Roubaix Arm Warmers
The anatomic dhb Earnley Arm Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great buy
Posted29 November 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These fit well, don't fall down and are cheap. What more do you need?"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Superlight, tough high density foam for grip in wet conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
super grips
Posted08 November 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have been using these for a few years now and have them on all my bikes.
Only down side is they move when wet so i glue them on which means if i need to remove i destroy them. No huge drama when they are so cheap...
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano's CN-7701 Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed compatible chain is recommended for XTR and Dura-Ace drivetrains
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
i still break them
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This should be 1 of the strongest chains around but i have broken 2 (and sram chain too).
Perhaps my legs are too strong ;-)
Good life (when i don't break them) and the cost is OK.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano XTR M970 9 Speed Cassette
Shimano XTR M970 9 Speed Cassette
Three alloy carriers and 4 titanium sprockets make this Shimano's lightest ever 9-speed MTB cassette.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great cass
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Benchmark cassette for years. They last well and are getting cheaper."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Crossmark UST Tubeless Tyre
Crossmark UST Tubeless Tyre
The CrossMark is the dramatic evolution of the cross country racing tire.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dependable
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I only use UST tires in longer races and the crossmark is super dependable and rolls well.
No problem with flats and they last quite well.
They are a bit heavy (compared to exeption series) but the advantage is you know they will finish the race.
"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, rolls well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This new Lightweight Titanium Cage weighs a tiny 22g
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
best cage!
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
snail24
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I now have 4 of these between MTBs and roadie. I got 1 of these after a carbon cage broke in 1st race (MTB).
I have no bottle losses even on tracks littered with bottles ejected from other racers.....
super light at 22g!
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
snail24's Questions
 
snail24 has not submitted any questions.
 
snail24's Answers
 
Superlight, tough high density foam for grip in wet conditions.
 

Can these be used with bar ends?

I'm looking at Tioga Power Studs XS bar ends from Wiggle also. Just need a cheap grip to replace my worn ones - mainly use the bar ends when riding. Would these grips work?
Yes, just move them in to fit your bar ends.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
snail24
 
Shimano's CN-7701 Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed compatible chain is recommended for XTR and Dura-Ace drivetrains
 

Compatible with HG50?

I have just bought this along with the HG50 9 speed 12-25 cassette. The instructions with the cassette say it is only compatible with the HG53 or HG73 chains? Is this right?
No, put in on. I think Shimano don't want lower grade chain used but don't consider using a higher spec...
3 years, 9 months ago
by
snail24
 
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

If I change from 11-25 to 11-28 or 12-27 do I need to adjust the chain length?

Best answer
Put your chain big ring to big ring. Now pull RD forward and see how much chain slack you can get. You should be able to go+ 2 without a longer chain.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
snail24