Darran
Share Darran's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Darran's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    03 March 2010
  • Last Review
    03 May 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    13 April 2010
  • Last Answer
    21 December 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Darran's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Tikka XP 2 Head Torch
Tikka XP 2 Head Torch
The TIKKA XP 2 headlamp integrates two light sources as well as a Wide Angle lens with a simple open-close feature, allowing you to choose between a long distance focused beam and flood beam proximity lighting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great compact headlamp
Posted03 May 2011
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is the best compact Petzl headlamp I have owned. I have owned and used 5 different Petzl headlamps and this Tikka XP2 is the best so far. It is very bright on the highest setting. Very good for navigating in the dark. The switch setting to red is very easy to use. Build in light defuser is also very handy. Not sure about efficiency yet, I haven't owned it long enough to test how long the battery lasts. Overall a very very good headlamp."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ranger Cross Country Shorts - SS2011
Ranger Cross Country Shorts - SS2011
All around Shorts for the rider who likes to put the hammer down.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Bit Disappointed
Posted16 April 2011
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I am a bit disappointed in these shorts. One of the belt buttons broke, within the first 2 weeks of owning these. I worn them for like 3 times.
On the plus side, they look great, they fit me really well, they are very comfortable and have heaps of good pockets. If they didn't break I would have been more then happy with them.
Wiggle warrantied these no problems for me."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ultegra 6600 10 Speed Chain
Ultegra 6600 10 Speed Chain
Hyperglide (HG) series 10-speed compatible chain, recommended for Ultegra drivetrains (recommended for use with triple chainsets).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not as exxy as Dura Ace
Posted16 April 2011
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great mid-range and mid-price chain. Works perfectly with my Sram Force Group. A lot cheaper then Dura-Ace chain. Don't know if I would be able to tell the difference in the 2 chains anyway."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top notch alloy bars
Posted16 April 2011
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These are probably THE best alloy handlebars I have tried thus far. I have tried about 6 different alloy bars. These are pretty much the exact specs I was after, short reach, compact drop, rounded drops, slightly flattened tops. Lighter then the two pairs of FSA I previously tried. I would say stiffer then the FSA I have tried. They look great and I am really enjoying the shape of these. Works really well with Sram hoods, give a nice flat transition and you can easily reach the brake leavers from the drops.
Hand position is great and has heaps comfortable hand placements.
Be aware-Deda quote outside-outside measurements, so 44 o-o is equivalent to 42 c-c.
Very happy.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 GTS 11 Shoes AW11
GTS 11 Shoes AW11
The GTS just met DNA, and sparks are flying.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great running shoes
Posted03 January 2011
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are really nice runners. I have the previous GTS9 and these are softer under foot, with just as much pronation and roll support. The uppers feel like they fit nicer as well. I was able to wear these straight out of the box and they felt very nice brand new. Zero break in period. I love Brooks shoes and will not buy any other runners. They just fit my feet. If you have flat feet and need support give these a go. Colours are not exactly my favourite but they are not that bad either. Got them for a great price from wiggle as well. Basically less then half the price I could get them in Oz."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nano Windproof Knee Warmers
Nano Windproof Knee Warmers
Due to anatomic shaping and light weight, Nano warmers feel more natural and bunch less than other windproof warmers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
nice knee warmers
Posted25 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are very well made. Great fit, has a wide range of sizes so you can chose correct fitting pair. My other Assos pair only have one size fits all and they fit pretty badly. They are light weight compared to some of the other knee warmers I have purchased. Great price vs their competition. They don't fall down due to their gripper design.
Overall a good purchase for those colder morning or days.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ball Bearing 7 MTB Disc Brake With 160mm Rotor
Ball Bearing 7 MTB Disc Brake With 160mm Rotor
World-class disc brake performance for fluid-o-phobes. If hydraulic isn't your bag, then you owe it to your ride to try the new BB7.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BEST mech brakes on the market
Posted21 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are THE BEST mechanical disc brakes on the market. Super easy to set up. Correct positioning of the caliper is a so easy. Can be adjusted for lever pull. These are as powerful as hydro disc brakes without the expense. Only down point is the Roundagon Rotors that come with the brakes. But I believe newer versions have the G2 rotors. Highly recommended if you are after mech disc brakes."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome mech levers
Posted21 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Wow, these are some really nice mechanical levers. Very light, I think about 90 gm per side. Some nice adjustment functions. Can be adjusted for reach, and feel. Very easy to set up. Great value in comparison to hydro brakes."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Custom Race Bottle Cage 2011
Custom Race Bottle Cage 2011
The undisputed number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great bottle cage
Posted21 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Looks great. Holds bottles tightly and they don't slip. Great price, heaps cheaper then carbon and works just fine. I am using this on my mtb and this Elite bottle cage is heaps better then the last cage I had on. Bottle does not rattle and access is very easy."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Water-resistant, superslim, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting, directional LEDs. Low battery warning indicator. Visible up to 600 metres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great rear light for safety
Posted06 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Darran
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Very nice rear flashing light. Super compact, very simple to use, can be mounted simply."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Darran's Questions
 
Darran has not submitted any questions.
 
Darran's Answers
 
 Ball Bearing 7 MTB Disc Brake With 160mm Rotor
Ball Bearing 7 MTB Disc Brake With 160mm Rotor
World-class disc brake performance for fluid-o-phobes. If hydraulic isn't your bag, then you owe it to your ride to try the new BB7.
 

Are the rotors and their fixing bolts included in the kit?

Yes, rotors and fixing bolts are include. I got the Roundagon rotors which aren't that great, but I believe that current models ship with G2 rotors which are great.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Darran
Sydney
 
 Wing Pro Compact Road Handlebar
Wing Pro Compact Road Handlebar
FSA's new road handlebars are available in multiple widths & shapes. Whether you prefer to spend time on the tops, the hood or in the drops, FSA have an option that will suit your style.
 

Width at hoods?

I've heard that FSA compact bars are narrower at the hoods than the centre to centre measurement. Therefore one should buy a size up. I usually go for a 40cm c-c but would need to go for a 42cm.

Is this the case with these bars? Thanks
You are correct in what you stated. FSA measure their bars at the drops and the drops have about a 4 degree outward bend of the drops compared to the hoods. A 42cm c-c for the wing pros will be 42 cm at the drops but only 40 cm at the hoods. A 40 cm will be 40 cm at the drops and approx 38 cm at the hoods.

I guess what size you choose depends on if you spend more time in the hoods or the drops??
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Darran
Sydney
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

Are they not just measured by height? and not chest size?

Im confused why shorts would be measured by chest size? The Assos website suggests its measured by height alone.
Best answer
Assos Fit can be a bit tight some times. I found using a combination of height, weight, and chest measurements gave me the best indication for fit.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Darran
Sydney