oceandweller
Share oceandweller's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
oceandweller's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    28 October 2013
  • Last Review
    22 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    22 December 2013
  • Last Answer
    22 December 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
oceandweller's Reviews
 
Its time has come. Introducing the all-new Grip Shift by SRAM. Three rows of ball bearings for smooth shifting action. Full-metal shift indexing. Integrated lock-on grip design. Unrivaled.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job.
Posted22 December 2013
oceandweller
fromBracknell, Bracknell Forest, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have arthritis in my hands & using regular trigger shifters becomes quite painful after half an hour or so. I switched to gripshift several years ago. My old MTB had X9 shifters & derailleur, which were fine, but when I built the new one I wanted 10-speed & the X9 gripshift is only available in 9-speed so I had to grit my teeth & splash out on X0. Wow! Am I glad I did! The X0 is much smoother than the (already quite smooth) X9 -- I can change up or down just using pressure from my palm while I'm using my fingers on the brakes -- amazing. Only criticism would be the SRAM-supplied shorty grip -- it's much too long & pushes the shifter section too far inboard. I've replaced it with ordinary shorty (80mm) bolt-on grips & everything works much better. Without that problem these shifters would have rated 5 stars, absolutely no doubt."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, very fast shift
Cons: grip too long
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Not cheap but worth the money
Posted22 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
oceandweller
fromBracknell, Bracknell Forest, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Does everything I would want of a pair of winter bibtights. Fits well & keeps my legs warm without overheating. Pad is comfortable on the longest rides I've done so far (2+ hours). The RRP is probably a bit pricey (IMHO) but the Wiggle discount makes it much better VFM. Sizing seems fine -- I'm a sort of "I go to the gym" shape, Large for jackets but Medium for trousers (176cm, 75kg) & size Medium is tight but comfortable. The material is very stretchy & I wouldn't want it any looser. All in all, very happy."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Trasparente Due Wind Jersey
Castelli Trasparente Due Wind Jersey
A lightweight cycling jacket with a jersey fit. The Trasparente Due features a WINDSTOPPER® X-Lite Plus Fabric front panel for breathable weather protection with a high-wicking rear panel for cooling when your route starts to climb.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does its job perfectly
Posted28 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
oceandweller
fromBracknell, Bracknell Forest, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've had this jacket for 6 months & it's been outstanding. It's warm, windproof & shower resistant over the body, with fairly warm but not windproof stretchy jersey for the lower sleeves. It's too warm for summer use but on cool days it feels nicely warm for starting off & for stops, but with the zip undone, partially or completely, isn't too hot when I'm pushing hard. With a micro waterproof rolled up small & tucked into 1 of the 3 very effective rear pockets I can cope with almost anything the British climate throws @ me! I've used it both on-road & off-road & tho it obviously doesn't have the off-road "look" it's so comfortable I wouldn't swap it for anything else."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
oceandweller's Questions
 
oceandweller has not submitted any questions.
 
oceandweller's Answers
 
Its time has come. Introducing the all-new Grip Shift by SRAM. Three rows of ball bearings for smooth shifting action. Full-metal shift indexing. Integrated lock-on grip design. Unrivaled.
 

Will the XO 10 speed gripshift work with Shimano SLX 10 speed deraileur. cluster?

Hi. No, I don't think so. As I understand it, SRAM & Shimano rear derailleurs are pulled by different amounts of cable, & the indexing of a SRAM shifter would miss some gears if it was pulling a Shimano rear derailleur. I believe they **are** interchangeable for front derailleurs. Also, I think the cassettes are interchangeable, if that's your problem (that is, I think you could have a SRAM shifter & derailleur with a Shimano cassette). Hope that helps.
7 months ago
by
oceandweller
Bracknell, Bracknell Forest, UK
 
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 

Sizing?

I am 6ft tall and have 32 inch inside leg, what size please? Thanks
I'm only 5' 9" but have long'ish legs (inside leg 32") & size Medium is fine, with some stretch remaining.
7 months ago
by
oceandweller
Bracknell, Bracknell Forest, UK