Poseidon47
Share Poseidon47's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Poseidon47's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    28 October 2010
  • Last Review
    01 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 January 2011
  • Last Question
    07 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    01 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    19 October 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Poseidon47's Reviews
 
The Monza's race-bred styling and cool performance were made for life in the faster lane. Sleek and sophisticated, it's the perfect choice for riders with a passion for style and an eye for value.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice Fitting, looks good
Posted01 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Poseidon47
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Only down side is the lack of a fly mesh, which my previous, cheaper, helmet had..., Really uncomfortable when flies get in there, and plenty of them around at this time of year..."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: no fly mesh
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Don't like the chill and the feeling of water in your shoes? Waterflex overshoes are designed to offer the best protection against the rain.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
These shoes are NOT made for walking
Posted13 February 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Poseidon47
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Unless you can put these on and get on your bike without touching the floor I guess these are ok.. From our office to the bike shed is about 100yards and after 2 weeks these are shredded at the seams on the heels. Might last another couple of weeks but a pair a month is a bit excessive. Seem to be good at wind and waterproofing but not as warm as some of the neoprene versions available"
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Amazing low priced SPD pedal for all round use including tough freeride and off-road use
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
So far so good
Posted19 October 2012
Poseidon47
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Firstly, be aware these are double sided cleats, which isn't clear from the description I read. Using normal shoes isn't a problem. However, if you have cleated shoes on and just dont want to clip in ( through rush hour queueing traffic for example) you have to get used to picking where to put foot on pedal to avoid clipping in. Other than that seem fine. We'll see how they stand up to a winter commuting..."
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, Adjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Bryton Rider 50 is a GPS cycling computer designed for cyclists of all levels. You can personalise your preferred settings with 33 options of display information. High sensitivity GPS, barometer and thermometer.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good so far
Posted01 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Poseidon47
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Had this for 3 weeks now, and after some initial teething problems, now perfectly happy with it. The unit itself is easy to use, and scroll through the various menu's and settings, although with full finger gloves it is a bit fiddly to press buttons on the side. I'm getting on a bit and the eyes aren't what they used to be , so the map can be hard to see in bright conditions, so why a high gloss screen I don't understand. As well as seeing your route on the map, you can also get directions but some of the instructions appear a bit late, almost on some junctions before the instruction appears... Tracks routes very well and accurately. Only other problems have been with software and BrytonSport site..some planned trips haven't uploaded properly and there seems to be a limit to the length of the route you can plan, although Bryton insist this is being sorted. Loading the maps also didn't go as smoothly as I would have liked but support from distributor was very good.
The mount bracket is just held on with heavy duty rubber bands which mean it can be swapped from bike to bike very easily. (Useful as I have 4..) There is also a cable tie fix if you want to make it more permanent. I think the additional mount price is a bit steep for what it is.
Altogether good for the money
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
First Pair
Posted28 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Poseidon47
"With winter coming on I thought I would try my first pair of bib tights. I can't compare with other brands but these do everything I expect of them, keep the legs war and are comfortable at a great price compared to others."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Poseidon47's Questions
 
Like taking your floor-pump out on the trail. Winner of Bicycling Magazine (USA's) 'Best Overall Pump' Award.
 

Mounting Bracket

The information says the bracket fixes to the bottle cage mountings. I assume this is offset so the bottle cage can still be fitted?
10 months ago
by
Poseidon47
Hull
 
 X-Power 1000 Rechargeable Front Light
X-Power 1000 Rechargeable Front Light
The X-Power 1000 generates 1000 lumens of light output and is fully rechargeable thanks to the external Li-ion battery pack.
 

Fitting and charging

Can you tell me how the battery fixes to the frame, velcro or cable ties? Need to swap between different bikes so need something easy to fit and remove.
Also, is it a mains charger or USB which seems to be becoming popular..?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Poseidon47
Hull
 
 SLX M660 9 Speed Rapidfire Pods
SLX M660 9 Speed Rapidfire Pods
Tough, aggressive and light weight All-Mountain SLX Rapidfire shift levers with 2-way release function. 2-way release allows shifting from various riding positions; the upper lever still performs the same shift function, but it can now swing in either direction allowing it to be released by the thum...
 

Compatability

I need replacements for my Deore SL-M510 shifters for a 9 speed. Are these compatible?
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Poseidon47
 
Poseidon47's Answers
 
Amazing low priced SPD pedal for all round use including tough freeride and off-road use
 

Are these double sided??

Just wondering whether its possible to clip in on either side of the pedal??
Yes...
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Poseidon47
Hull
 
 Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Bryton Rider 50 is a GPS cycling computer designed for cyclists of all levels. You can personalise your preferred settings with 33 options of display information. High sensitivity GPS, barometer and thermometer.
 

Can it be mounted on the front stem of a bike?

My cyclocross bike has limited (read none left) space on the handlebars. My only option would be a fitting on the front stem - can this computer be mounted easily here on the basic mount?
Simple answer, Yes. I mount it on the stem of one of my bikes. Different bands depending on the size of stem. This is probably the best position actually as glare doesn't seem to be such a problem
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Poseidon47
Hull
 
 Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Bryton Rider 50 is a GPS cycling computer designed for cyclists of all levels. You can personalise your preferred settings with 33 options of display information. High sensitivity GPS, barometer and thermometer.
 

what is the 3M sticky pad and the cable tie for?

what is the 3M sticky pad and the cable tie for?
Not sure why I've got these in the package and cannot find anywhere telling me how/where to use them.
The unit rattles ever so slightly whilst riding, this is not the mount but the unit rattling in the slide socket, hoping these parts are to correct that, but not sure???
I assume they are if you want a more permanent mount. I move it between bikes so haven't used them, as it seems easy to do so, and the spare mounts are expensive for what they are..
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Poseidon47
Hull
 
 Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Bryton Rider 50 is a GPS cycling computer designed for cyclists of all levels. You can personalise your preferred settings with 33 options of display information. High sensitivity GPS, barometer and thermometer.
 

If I set off without plotting a route does it have the capability to plot a route home

If not which unit does?
Yes it will guide you home. You set 'Home' as a point of interest, and then select it as your destination. One line appears on the map of the direct line to the destination, whilst a route is also shown on roads. It doesn't appear to identify bridleways though...
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Poseidon47
Hull