WillB42
Share WillB42's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
WillB42's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    04 November 2012
  • Last Review
    02 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    10 July 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    19 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    20 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
WillB42's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
105 double front derailleurs provide smoother shifting performance and smooth shifting under heavy load at each rear position gives a perfect shift every time.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good upgrade on veryday bike
Posted02 July 2015
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Had the cheaper Sora front mech on my bike when bought, got through a couple of winters and decided to upgrade to a 105 as its better quality and a lighter gauge mech sucj as Ultegra would wear out over winters. Does the job great, juts that little bit smoother and very well priced by Wiggle."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 2XU Transition Bag
2XU Transition Bag
A brilliant value transition bag with loads of storage, zipped pockets and a large capacity to keep kit in order. The ultimate training or race day bag for holding all your essential race equipment.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Okay for the price i paid
Posted20 May 2015
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Firstly i only paid £40 for this bag as it was on sale.
Used it a couple of times now, no major complaints, the right size for all your kit for an OW tri event. Little bit dissapointed with the quality though, the mesh wont last, i can see that already and the zippers will fail on the corners i think. That said for £40 i'm not gutted but would look for another brand in the future.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new design also allows better cable routing with less friction (especially on frames with a slanting top tube). Other features include an adjustable tension return spring and toe-in adjustable brake shoe.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent brake at a great price
Posted09 March 2015
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I had a some factory fitted brakes on my 'B' bike and was never happy with them so upgraded to Ultegra same as my 'A' bike and marked difference, feels so much better knowing they're there when you need them. Great price also."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
There's no need to miss out on time in the saddle because your lights are flat. The Exposure USB Charger comes complete with 2xRCR123 Batteries allowing you to charge one set while you're out using the other.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Some advice on unpackaging
Posted22 February 2015
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Make sure you take the second set of plastic off the battery pair :)
......Or you will look a right plonker on returning the item saying it does not work.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Core Tri Top
Castelli Core Tri Top
The Castelli Core Tri Top is hard working, durable, and able to hold up to the entire season. Ready to race every weekend, this Tri Top will be central to your Tri lifestyle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Tri top
Posted30 September 2014
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I do love Castelli kit, it lasts, it fits well, it looks good.
I bought this top and the core shorts recently (%50 off both at wiggle) and did a pool based tri in it. Great in the pool, didnt billow out as some do. Rubbed a bit on the run under my arm but its new and was the first time out in it.
Only thing i would say about Castelli is the sizing is crazy. I am usually a medium in tri shorts and large on the tops (2XU & Skins) for this top and the core shorts i was XXL!! I first off had XL.
My advice follow the high end of the size guide then at least put a size up.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Vision wetsuit is a very exciting product in the Zone3 range. Performance and comfort have always been top of the list for Zone3 products and the Vision combines these with fantastic looks and value.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really made difference to my OW Swims
Posted30 September 2014
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I previously had an entry level Orca westuit around the £100 mark and it was okay (you pay for what you get). I decided on the Zone 3 Vision wesuit and the difference was marked. Great for someone like me with sinky legs.
Looks good, feels good, no pinching anywhere or rubbing around the neck (with glidelub). Its even bearing up well in some recent colder water saturday morning swims.
Best money ive spent in a while.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Buy a quick release chain link instead
Posted07 July 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I don’t like doing negative reviews, especially as I like the Park brand but this product is a good idea poorly executed.
After a couple of uses, and being well looked after, the plastic is brittle and breaks off the edges, the pins for the clips fell out and mine now leaks as a result.
My advice, get yourself a quick release chain link and take the whole chain off and let it soak in a cleaning agent and get an old toothbrush on it. Save yourself £30.
"
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 105 5701 10 Speed Chain
Shimano 105 5701 10 Speed Chain
Shimano's super narrow Hyperglide 105 (5701) 10-speed compatible directional chain is recommended for 105 drivetrains. For use with double chainset only, for triple please use the 5600 10-speed chain.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Buy a quick link
Posted10 June 2014
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"No problem with the chain or price out of wiggle but the provided link pin is a bit of a pain, get a quick link as well, far easier to fit, plus an old one/2nd in a pack will be a good addition to your emergency bag on the bike."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Cleat
Posted26 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Always one for Shimano products i chose these cleats based on pedal selection when i got my first road bike (and subsequent ones)
A good product and reasonably priced, ive not had any other types of cleats but these are definatlley a perishable item, i wonder if another brand may be tougher.
I tend to wear down my left twice as fast as my right due to when i unclip for lights/stops so changing one out is less painful.
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Are you a serious roadie? If you are then you probably shave your legs, measure what you eat, obsess about your training regimen, and you read everything you can about cycling. If this is you then you're a CycleOps Jet Fluid Pro trainer user.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Turbo that will last forever
Posted03 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I did a lot of research into what Turbo Trainer to buy and on deciding a budget knew I was looking at a Fluid Resistance unit (over a mag), did not want the cost of anything VR and saw that the resistance curve of this unit was better than a trainer with a lead to alter resistance. ( need a trainer thats for rainiest days only)
This Cycleops pro fluid trainer is bigger and feels studier than the standard Cycleops fluid trainer and the cowling on the resistance unit (purportedly) reduces noise. The fly wheel on each model means you have less annoying run down so you can back off on interval training for a couple of seconds which feels more ‘roady’.
The matt supplied in this kit is of decent quality, the riser blocks have a decent spread and feel secure when pedalling out of the seat, the sweat thong I find a bit superfluous but it does its intended job.
Resistance curve is good and feel is better than I had hoped for. All in all a great turbo and kit with a lifetime guarantee. Not as quiet as some here have suggested, though I am on the matt on a wooden floor. Also this same kit sometimes comes with a training DVD, I missed that on buying with Wiggle so was looking in the box for something I’d never actually bought. But I cant complain as I got a great price off Wiggle.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, best on test in many magazines
Cons: noisier than i thought
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
WillB42's Questions
 

Compatible with Ultegra 6770

Hi will these wheels fit the Ultegra 6770 series rear derailuer? Thanks
11 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 Adidas Supernova Sequence 6 Shoes - SS14
Adidas Supernova Sequence 6 Shoes - SS14
The Adidas Supernova Sequence 6 is lighter, cushier and more flexible, but every bit as stable. All-new design for a great feel and transition, with an improved midsole and Continental™ Rubber outsole with ZONEMOTION. miCoach®-ready.
 

Shoe Type

I really struggle with the plethoral the jargon around running shoes, are these for a neutral gait runner or moderated? Ie what foot type. Thanks
1 year, 2 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 Wahoo Blue HR Heart Rate Strap
Wahoo Blue HR Heart Rate Strap
The Wahoo Fitness Blue HR heart rate monitor is the world's first Bluetooth Smart heart rate monitor made for the iPhone 4S and newer, select Android devices, iPod Touch (5th generation) and iPad (3rd and 4th generations).
 

Garmin devices

I have one of these I use with I phone with strava, will it work with garmin products like 910xt?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 

Replacement for an M532 22x32x44 Crank 'Big' ring.

Hi i have a Ginat XTC 2009 with a Shimano Deore M542 22x32x44 Crank set. Big 44T ring is (very worn)
Cant seem to find the M542 (on spec) or M532 (on the bike) is this a direct replacement?
Thanks (Photos attached)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 years, 7 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
WillB42's Answers
 
 2XU Transition Bag
2XU Transition Bag
A brilliant value transition bag with loads of storage, zipped pockets and a large capacity to keep kit in order. The ultimate training or race day bag for holding all your essential race equipment.
 

Is the lower part big enough to contain wetsuits?

Yes easily, with room.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 Castelli Core Tri Top
Castelli Core Tri Top
The Castelli Core Tri Top is hard working, durable, and able to hold up to the entire season. Ready to race every weekend, this Tri Top will be central to your Tri lifestyle.
 

Sizing

I'm undecided on which size to go for. My chest is 98cm which is in between a M and L according to Castelli, but I have broad shoulders - so should I go for the L?
Best answer
Ima 40% chest and broad across the shoulders, i had an XL and it didnt fit and had to send back for XXL.
Castellis great kit but the size guides are crazy.
9 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 

What cleaning liquid should be used

Hello, The Cleaning tool is still available but the citrus degreaser is no longer available.

Which cleaner on this website is recommended for this tool???
Buy a concentrate degreaser/cleaner. Do not waste your money on the Park product.
1 year ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
Are you a serious roadie? If you are then you probably shave your legs, measure what you eat, obsess about your training regimen, and you read everything you can about cycling. If this is you then you're a CycleOps Jet Fluid Pro trainer user.
 

How many riser blocks come with the cycleops fluid pro trainer package

So if you wanted to have two riser blocks to raise the front wheel higher, would you need to buy an extra riser block ??
Ive juts bought one and the kit comes with 2 Riser blocks
1 year, 5 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 Wahoo Blue HR Heart Rate Strap
Wahoo Blue HR Heart Rate Strap
The Wahoo Fitness Blue HR heart rate monitor is the world's first Bluetooth Smart heart rate monitor made for the iPhone 4S and newer, select Android devices, iPod Touch (5th generation) and iPad (3rd and 4th generations).
 

How does this work in a handlebar mount?

When cycling I have my iPhone 4S in a handlebar mount. As I understand it, this HRM needs to have a part plugged into the bottom of the phone for it to work. Or am I getting the wrong end of the stick?
As the Wahoo Blue is bluetooth you dont need the ANT addition to plug into your phone bottom, thats old technology. This is a great product, comfy, never drops out, not cheap but ive had mine 3 months and no probs at all. very happy with it.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool