WillB42
Share WillB42's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
WillB42's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    04 November 2012
  • Last Review
    30 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    05 December 2012
  • Last Question
    10 July 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    19 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    30 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
WillB42's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Castelli Core Tri Top
Castelli Core Tri Top
The Castelli Core Tri Top is hard working, durable, and able to hold up to the entire season. Ready to race every weekend, this Tri Top will be central to your Tri lifestyle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Tri top
Posted30 September 2014
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I do love Castelli kit, it lasts, it fits well, it looks good.
I bought this top and the core shorts recently (%50 off both at wiggle) and did a pool based tri in it. Great in the pool, didnt billow out as some do. Rubbed a bit on the run under my arm but its new and was the first time out in it.
Only thing i would say about Castelli is the sizing is crazy. I am usually a medium in tri shorts and large on the tops (2XU & Skins) for this top and the core shorts i was XXL!! I first off had XL.
My advice follow the high end of the size guide then at least put a size up.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Zone3 Vision Wetsuit
Zone3 Vision Wetsuit
The Vision wetsuit is a very exciting product in the Zone3 range. Performance and comfort have always been top of the list for Zone3 products and the Vision combines these with fantastic looks and value.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really made difference to my OW Swims
Posted30 September 2014
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I previously had an entry level Orca westuit around the £100 mark and it was okay (you pay for what you get). I decided on the Zone 3 Vision wesuit and the difference was marked. Great for someone like me with sinky legs.
Looks good, feels good, no pinching anywhere or rubbing around the neck (with glidelub). Its even bearing up well in some recent colder water saturday morning swims.
Best money ive spent in a while.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Park Tools CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Cleaner
Park Tools CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Cleaner
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Buy a quick release chain link instead
Posted07 July 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I don’t like doing negative reviews, especially as I like the Park brand but this product is a good idea poorly executed.
After a couple of uses, and being well looked after, the plastic is brittle and breaks off the edges, the pins for the clips fell out and mine now leaks as a result.
My advice, get yourself a quick release chain link and take the whole chain off and let it soak in a cleaning agent and get an old toothbrush on it. Save yourself £30.
"
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 105 5701 10 Speed Chain
Shimano 105 5701 10 Speed Chain
Shimano's super narrow Hyperglide 105 (5701) 10-speed compatible directional chain is recommended for 105 drivetrains. For use with double chainset only, for triple please use the 5600 10-speed chain.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Buy a quick link
Posted10 June 2014
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"No problem with the chain or price out of wiggle but the provided link pin is a bit of a pain, get a quick link as well, far easier to fit, plus an old one/2nd in a pack will be a good addition to your emergency bag on the bike."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Cleat
Posted26 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Always one for Shimano products i chose these cleats based on pedal selection when i got my first road bike (and subsequent ones)
A good product and reasonably priced, ive not had any other types of cleats but these are definatlley a perishable item, i wonder if another brand may be tougher.
I tend to wear down my left twice as fast as my right due to when i unclip for lights/stops so changing one out is less painful.
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CycleOps Jet Fluid Pro Winter Training Kit
CycleOps Jet Fluid Pro Winter Training Kit
Are you a serious roadie? If you are then you probably shave your legs, measure what you eat, obsess about your training regimen, and you read everything you can about cycling. If this is you then you're a CycleOps Jet Fluid Pro trainer user.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Turbo that will last forever
Posted03 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I did a lot of research into what Turbo Trainer to buy and on deciding a budget knew I was looking at a Fluid Resistance unit (over a mag), did not want the cost of anything VR and saw that the resistance curve of this unit was better than a trainer with a lead to alter resistance. ( need a trainer thats for rainiest days only)
This Cycleops pro fluid trainer is bigger and feels studier than the standard Cycleops fluid trainer and the cowling on the resistance unit (purportedly) reduces noise. The fly wheel on each model means you have less annoying run down so you can back off on interval training for a couple of seconds which feels more ‘roady’.
The matt supplied in this kit is of decent quality, the riser blocks have a decent spread and feel secure when pedalling out of the seat, the sweat thong I find a bit superfluous but it does its intended job.
Resistance curve is good and feel is better than I had hoped for. All in all a great turbo and kit with a lifetime guarantee. Not as quiet as some here have suggested, though I am on the matt on a wooden floor. Also this same kit sometimes comes with a training DVD, I missed that on buying with Wiggle so was looking in the box for something I’d never actually bought. But I cant complain as I got a great price off Wiggle.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, best on test in many magazines
Cons: noisier than i thought
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedo Elite Pullbuoy Foam
Speedo Elite Pullbuoy Foam
Speedo's training aids are designed to help you get the most from your swim workout. The Elite Pullbuoy is designed to aid development of upper body technique and improve strength.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good product from Speedo
Posted16 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Had this nearly 8 months and using it 3-4 times per week, not a mark on it, though i do look after my kit. Can't really go wrong with the speedo brandm they don't do substandard its always good kit."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite SuperCorsa Team 750ml Water Bottle 2013
Elite SuperCorsa Team 750ml Water Bottle 2013
Every serious cyclist knows that hydration is the key to staying ahead of your game. Well why not use the precise replicas of the bottles used in competition by the world’s fastest riders?
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good bottle
Posted03 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Cant really argue with a large bottle at this cost with team colours. Very happy with mine."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Aqua Sphere Kayenne Goggles Clear Lens
Aqua Sphere Kayenne Goggles Clear Lens
The Kayenne’s oversized lenses and patented curved lens technology gives you style while providing an undistorted, expanded, 180-degree field of vision.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good on paper......
Posted03 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"I have been using these for about 2 weeks now and the jury is still out.
I had a pair of mirrored speedo aquasocket which have lasted me 10 months and are still going strong with the occasional aplication of anti fog spray.
I bought these Aquasphere as they had good reviews on Tri sites. On the first time of using them they fogged up, the second time they did the same and as it was a longer swim started to hurt a bit too.
I have sparyed them with anti fog to no avail they still feel leaky ( i never had any issues with the speedos)
I will keep giving them a go but they promised much and have fallen short for me.
"
Pros: Attractive, Rugged, Adjustable
Cons: Poor Fit, fog up badly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
A dirty drivetrain causes poor shifting and unnecessary wear to expensive parts. The ChainGang contains everything needed to quickly and easily clean the chain, freewheel cogs, and chainrings. The ChainGang includes a CM-5 Cyclone: Chain Scrubber, a GSC-1 GearClean Brush, and an 8 oz. (237 ml) bottl...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Expensive but works well
Posted07 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
WillB42
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Easy to use and set up and very clean as a unit with zero cleaning fluid coming out of the containment.
A bit pricey but a fine piece of kit to protect your chain and drive gear.
"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
WillB42's Questions
 
 Shimano Ultegra RD6700 Tension Guide Pulley Kit
Shimano Ultegra RD6700 Tension Guide Pulley Kit
Genuine replacement part.
 

Compatible with Ultegra 6770

Hi will these wheels fit the Ultegra 6770 series rear derailuer? Thanks
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 Adidas Supernova Sequence 6 Shoes - SS14
Adidas Supernova Sequence 6 Shoes - SS14
The Adidas Supernova Sequence 6 is lighter, cushier and more flexible, but every bit as stable. All-new design for a great feel and transition, with an improved midsole and Continental™ Rubber outsole with ZONEMOTION. miCoach®-ready.
 

Shoe Type

I really struggle with the plethoral the jargon around running shoes, are these for a neutral gait runner or moderated? Ie what foot type. Thanks
6 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 Wahoo Blue HR Heart Rate Strap
Wahoo Blue HR Heart Rate Strap
The Wahoo Fitness Blue HR heart rate monitor is the world's first Bluetooth Smart heart rate monitor made for the iPhone 4S and newer, select Android devices, iPod Touch (5th generation) and iPad (3rd and 4th generations).
 

Garmin devices

I have one of these I use with I phone with strava, will it work with garmin products like 910xt?
8 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 Shimano FC-M540 Deore Black 44T Chainring
Shimano FC-M540 Deore Black 44T Chainring
Genuine Shimano replacement 44T chainring.
 

Replacement for an M532 22x32x44 Crank 'Big' ring.

Hi i have a Ginat XTC 2009 with a Shimano Deore M542 22x32x44 Crank set. Big 44T ring is (very worn)
Cant seem to find the M542 (on spec) or M532 (on the bike) is this a direct replacement?
Thanks (Photos attached)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 year, 11 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
WillB42's Answers
 
 Castelli Core Tri Top
Castelli Core Tri Top
The Castelli Core Tri Top is hard working, durable, and able to hold up to the entire season. Ready to race every weekend, this Tri Top will be central to your Tri lifestyle.
 

Sizing

I'm undecided on which size to go for. My chest is 98cm which is in between a M and L according to Castelli, but I have broad shoulders - so should I go for the L?
Ima 40% chest and broad across the shoulders, i had an XL and it didnt fit and had to send back for XXL.
Castellis great kit but the size guides are crazy.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 Park Tools CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Cleaner
Park Tools CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Cleaner
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 

What cleaning liquid should be used

Hello, The Cleaning tool is still available but the citrus degreaser is no longer available.

Which cleaner on this website is recommended for this tool???
Buy a concentrate degreaser/cleaner. Do not waste your money on the Park product.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 CycleOps Jet Fluid Pro Winter Training Kit
CycleOps Jet Fluid Pro Winter Training Kit
Are you a serious roadie? If you are then you probably shave your legs, measure what you eat, obsess about your training regimen, and you read everything you can about cycling. If this is you then you're a CycleOps Jet Fluid Pro trainer user.
 

How many riser blocks come with the cycleops fluid pro trainer package

So if you wanted to have two riser blocks to raise the front wheel higher, would you need to buy an extra riser block ??
Ive juts bought one and the kit comes with 2 Riser blocks
9 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool
 
 Wahoo Blue HR Heart Rate Strap
Wahoo Blue HR Heart Rate Strap
The Wahoo Fitness Blue HR heart rate monitor is the world's first Bluetooth Smart heart rate monitor made for the iPhone 4S and newer, select Android devices, iPod Touch (5th generation) and iPad (3rd and 4th generations).
 

How does this work in a handlebar mount?

When cycling I have my iPhone 4S in a handlebar mount. As I understand it, this HRM needs to have a part plugged into the bottom of the phone for it to work. Or am I getting the wrong end of the stick?
As the Wahoo Blue is bluetooth you dont need the ANT addition to plug into your phone bottom, thats old technology. This is a great product, comfy, never drops out, not cheap but ive had mine 3 months and no probs at all. very happy with it.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
WillB42
Liverpool