RBfromMidSussex
Share RBfromMidSussex's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
RBfromMidSussex's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    28 December 2009
  • Last Review
    01 November 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    05 October 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    05 October 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    05 September 2010
  • Last Answer
    16 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
RBfromMidSussex's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Exposure Lights started with the Joystick and it remains the lightweight helmet light of choice. To celebrate reaching the 1,000 lumen milestone. Upgraded with the high quality, stainless steel button gives more tactile feedback than ever before.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent 2nd Light
Posted01 November 2017
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Have bought this as a second backup light for the dark nights now the clocks have gone back. I can now vouch tat this is an excellent light. It allows me to look around me when fitted to my cycling helmet.and going dark lanes.
It also acts as a good secondary light to my handlebar one.
I have also bought the attachment that goes into the Smart Port at the back as very visible light.
These Exposure products has given me even more confidence to commute more regularly this winter. Purchase this product with confidence you will not be disappointed.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Get you home pump in a small package
Posted03 September 2017
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ha
I've only had to use this once so far.
What is good about it is the hose attachment which secures to the tube and keeps your hands away frm the bike wheel during inflation.
Need about 200 pumps to get it up to approx 80 psi.
Which is good enough to get you home.
Easy to carry can either use Jersey pocket or the the bracket it is supplied with.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Essential friction wear
Posted03 September 2017
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"When the summer months arrive (April to August)
I always use this cream to prevent unwelcome chafing.
Have been using for the last 5 years and it always works.
Highly recommend
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The SiS GO Isotonic Gel was the world’s first isotonic gel effectively delivering an easily digestible and quick supply of carbohydrate for energy during exercise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Go to food to get you home
Posted03 September 2017
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I always use one of these in the last 10 miles of a run to give me the boost necessary to get home. Always seems to work. Gel is very liquid and easy to consume whilst on the move, highly recommend"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tacx Antares Storage Bag
Tacx Antares Storage Bag
Special carrier bag for the Tacx Antares, finished in black.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Bag for Rollers
Posted29 June 2014
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After seeing a lot of people turning up to the Track meeting carrying a blue set of rollers, I wondered after spotting this why you would not want to have a bag to transport it in! So I ordered this bag for my rollers and have not regretted it one bit.
Reasons are:
It allows you to carry it in comfort on your shoulder with its padded strap
Or you could use instead its padded handle.
Also it fits neatly into the car and the padding of the bags helps to pack out the car when going to events.
And finally if you want to carry anything else inside there is plenty of space in between the rollers as well.
So buy with confidence.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 SKS Race Blade XL Clip On Mudguard Set
SKS Race Blade XL Clip On Mudguard Set
This profile design is specially made for on road fitness and touring bikes with tyre sizes 23-35mm.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Clip on Guards for Road Bike
Posted16 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Have tried others but these really are easy to fit and to adjust into position. Also they allow you to fit tyres wider than just 23mm which in Winter months is a must. I will be fitting some 25mm's to my very soon. Unlike others they do not rub and make a noise on your bike whilst riding (a welcome relief)"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Now available in a choice of three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and very effective design
Posted14 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought a clear lens version of these for riding at night and have proved excellent so far."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Jacket
Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Jacket
A close fitting, super light weight and aerodynamic cycling jacket. The Gore Active Shell membrane fabric provides breathable windproof and waterproof protection with a compact pack size. Ideal for the committed all-weather road cyclist.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Packable Jacket
Posted11 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What the description for this Jacket didn't say was that it came with its own stowaway pouch measuring 18 x 11 x 7cm. Which will just about fit in your rear pocket of your Jersey, allowing you to go out whatever the weather."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Power Drive XL Front Light - Loaded 2012
Power Drive XL Front Light - Loaded 2012
NEW Compact performance light, very powerful unit with “infinite light” feature: Ideal for serious MTB and Road cycling.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent light for the money
Posted11 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having used this for the first time last thursday through some dark lanes in Sussex I would just like to say that this give out a great light enough for you to travel at 20mph on familiar country lanes with confidence. Also the flash mode is excellent for being seen in the towns and cities, approx 3 flashes every 2 seconds.The back up battery you get in this pack is a nice feature too. The only problem with this however is that you need to fit it inside the light to charge up the second battery. It would be a good feature if Lezyne a battery charger product to do this because most of the time I am just charging up the battery through the USB lead and at work this takes around 7 hours (in other words not enough time to charge up the other one as well). The bracket for fitting it to the handlebar is very easy to use and I will definitely be getting more spare brackets so that #i can easily swap this between my other bikes.
So if you want a cost effective light buy this one today. Other light manufacturers might be looking over their shoulder.
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable, Limited Color Choices, needs a separate charger for spare battery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple but effective and not expensive
Posted21 January 2012
RBfromMidSussex
fromBrighton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is the second set of pedals i have purchased and they do an excellent job, also easy to adjust when your cleats are getting worn. Highly recommend."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RBfromMidSussex's Questions
 
RBfromMidSussex has not submitted any questions.
 
RBfromMidSussex's Answers
 
 SKS Race Blade XL Clip On Mudguard Set
SKS Race Blade XL Clip On Mudguard Set
This profile design is specially made for on road fitness and touring bikes with tyre sizes 23-35mm.
 

Will these mud guards fit a Felt Z95 Special Edition 2013 with 25c tyres?

I have fitted them to my Felt Z100 and they are fine. The guardds only fit up to one side of the Brake Calipers. So fitting them should not be an issue.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
RBfromMidSussex
Brighton
 
 Craft Neoprene Bike Bootie Overshoes
Craft Neoprene Bike Bootie Overshoes
Waterproof overshoes for protection in cold and wet conditions. Craft neoprene overshoes have taped seams at the front to seal out rain and spray and kevlar reinforcements on the heal and toe for durability. A rear zip provides a secure closure.
 

Which size overshoes to buy?

I have size 37 road bike shoes and very cold feet.
Which size overshoes should I buy? I cannot see a size guide only XS, S - XL...
Thanks
Have now received the Size 'S' overshoes for my daughter and can confirm that they fit a treat.
If you suffer from cold feet add a good pair of quality socks as well which will cost you about £30 but that should give you the extra insulation as well. These overshoes will only keep the rain off.
4 years ago
by
RBfromMidSussex
Brighton
 
 Craft Neoprene Bike Bootie Overshoes
Craft Neoprene Bike Bootie Overshoes
Waterproof overshoes for protection in cold and wet conditions. Craft neoprene overshoes have taped seams at the front to seal out rain and spray and kevlar reinforcements on the heal and toe for durability. A rear zip provides a secure closure.
 

Which size overshoes to buy?

I have size 37 road bike shoes and very cold feet.
Which size overshoes should I buy? I cannot see a size guide only XS, S - XL...
Thanks
My daughter has Size 37 shoes and have just tried the XS tonight she used from last winter and they would not fit. I am therefore in the process of buying a size 'S' for her
4 years ago
by
RBfromMidSussex
Brighton
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

SPD compatible?

Can I fit normal SPD cleats to these to use them on a spin bike?
Thanks!
Yes! There is the standard 3 hole pattern for SPD-SL's which I use. Howevever there is also a 4th adjustable range of threaded holes which would cover all SPD positions. When you purchase a pair you understand exactly what i mean. Buy with confidence as they are a very comfortable shoe.
5 years, 10 months ago
by
RBfromMidSussex
Brighton
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

My size is normally between a 10 and 11. Is it worth me going for the 47 in these?

They will be used all year round. With my DHB MTB shoes I just pull the velco straps down more.
No. I have got two pairs of these shoes in 43 and I have a size nine foot. A 44 or a 45 would be a better bet. Order both at once and send back the pairthat don't fit. I have tried a 44 last year and they were too big. Hope this helps!
5 years, 10 months ago
by
RBfromMidSussex
Brighton
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

Im totally new to competitive cycling and was wondering what I need when buying Road shoes?

I know I have to get shoes and pedals that match up i.e. 3bolt etc. but is there something im missing? When looking at pictures of shoes I noticed on one of the reviews that there were extra steel brackets attached to the sole (exmple; around the 3 bolts) of the shoe that you never see in pictures of shoes for sale, do these come with all new shoes purchased??? I apologise for my extreme lack of knowledge on all things cycling, its been a steep learning curve!!
This particular shoe did not come with any bolts or brackets.
For these shoes I am using SPD-SL cleats.( I have got the YELLOW type cleat which gives 6 degree rotation at the pedal which helps to save wear and tear on your knees). These have the appropriate screws and brackets supplied with them.
This particular shoe however will also accept just SPD type leat as well.
For setting up cleats I found the following link very helpful as well (it originally was an article from Cycling Plus magazine)
http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/article/sweet-cleats-24284
Hope this helps.
User submitted photo
 
Products from my answer
Shimano SPD SL Cleats
 
 
 
 
 
6 years, 9 months ago
by
RBfromMidSussex
Brighton
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 

Do they have rubber pads in the nose piece?

No this is just plain plastic. However there are rubber grips on the side arms which do the job of keeping them in place instead.
7 years, 2 months ago
by
RBfromMidSussex
Brighton
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 

Do they come with a retaining cord?

No but as they sit on my face without moving I don't see this as a problem. If you wear normal cycling tops there should always be space in one the three rear pockets on your cycling jersey to stow them when not in use.
7 years, 2 months ago
by
RBfromMidSussex
Brighton
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 

As a female I find many of these glasses too big. Would you recommend a particular DHB pair?

Try the ladies Triple lens sunglasses set as these appear to be smaller in size and fit my wife's face perfectly.
7 years, 2 months ago
by
RBfromMidSussex
Brighton