CarbonBilly
Top 25 Contributor
Share CarbonBilly's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
CarbonBilly's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    92
  • Helpfulness Votes
    21
  • First Review
    05 August 2009
  • Last Review
    12 November 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review Comment
    06 September 2010
  • Last Review Comment
    26 July 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 September 2012
  • Last Question
    14 May 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    40
  • Helpfulness Votes
    27
  • First Answer
    24 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    23 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
CarbonBilly's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bling'd up mesh
Posted12 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Am a bit of a Castelli base layer fan so could not resist this one as it looks so good.
I always wear a base layer so wanted a mesh one for the odd hot summer day we have.
Its mesh so very minimal.
Nice box. It looks like it is for a doll when you take it out, but it does fit.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Neck Warmer
Neck Warmer
Wear the Vittoria buff when you want to keep the chill of your neck and around you head. Ideal for use in cold conditions whilst on the bike or our walking etc.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Every cyclist should have a 'Buff'
Posted12 November 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not quite the same quality as my other buffs but I like the colour/design and its good to have different ones for differing conditions."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Coca-Cola themed plastic bottles with protective cover.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Basic but good looking bottle
Posted12 November 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got two of the black ones with black writing (which you cannot really notice) because the black/red colour matches my wives bike.
Really pleased with them due to cost and colour.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 GripGrab ProGel Summer Gloves
GripGrab ProGel Summer Gloves
Lightweight summer cycling gloves with a comfortable high-stretch backhand, velcro cuff and a Doctor Gel padded palm for vibration and pressure relief on long endurance rides. The ideal accessory for committed, high mileage riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really nice gloves
Posted12 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Gave 5/5 as cannot really fault and seem better than other gloves around.
Originally got the ladies ones for my wife but did not realise the stitching was pink! (why do manufacturers do this? She is not 5! (not that pink is any more justifiable for a 5 yr old)). The fit was also better in the non female ones.
Padding is great and they look fab too. Have just ordered her some Grip Grab full finger liner gloves and think I will be trying some myself soon too.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Experience Procovery with this complete recovery kit. Includes 8 sachets in mixed flavours and a 750ml Water Bottle.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Beware! Use by date is AUG 2013!!!
Posted08 August 2013
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"You will have about 3 weeks to use these if you order now :-0"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies ProGel Summer Gloves
Ladies ProGel Summer Gloves
Women's version of the range's most comfortable glove. Constructed from lightweight, flexible material it offers maximum freedom of movement along with excellent fit and grip. Additional DoctorGel padding helps reduce risk of cyclist's palsy.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pink!
Posted26 July 2013
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I thought the coloured sections were red but they are pink so had to send back and get my wife the mens ones.
Padding is very substantial and they look ideal apart from the colour."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Prudential RideLondon Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
Prudential RideLondon Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
A light, breathable jersey with Prudential RideLondon cycling festival graphics. Featuring a high wicking, summer weight fabric construction, a short zip and an aerodynamic fit, the RideLondon Jersey is ready for the fastest riders in the 100 mile event.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Do not buy a size larger!!!
Posted24 July 2013
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I ordered when people were saying they came up small so went for XL instead of large.
Those people must not know how a cycling jersey is meant to fit because the XL was way too big for me.
The body was OK'ish but the arms were big and the rear of arms/shoulders are a joke.
I have re-ordered a large but cannot see the arm/shoulder area being a good fit. There is just way too much fabric there.
"
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Aircomp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very pleased with these tubes
Posted23 July 2013
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you are thinking of trying latex tubes buy these now. They are a lot cheaper than trying tubular wheels/tyres ;-)
Have riden 100's of miles on them without a problem.
As with anything high end they need a bit of extra care and have to be treated differently to butyl.
Make sure rims are clean/smooth (especially if type that do not use rim tape and especially around valve hole.
Take care not to twist or catch when fitting (inflate slightly) and do not push valve stem back into tyre when re-inflating.
Lastly, make sure you do re-inflate on every ride to avoid pinch punctures.
If this is all too much for you, stick to inferior butyl or try tubeless wheels/tyres."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Vittoria Latex road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels if you like watching your bike weight. Latex tubes will require pumping up more often as due to the material used in construction, air seeps out slowly over time.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Latex is well worth a try ;-)
Posted23 July 2013
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Have tried 2 pairs of latex tubes and prefer the others to these so only gave 4 stars.
Downside to these are that they are more expensive and have an overly long (for my wheels anyway) valve stem.
Love the noise latex tubes make and they feel faster to me.
Have to be pumped up every ride but personally I do not find that a problem.
Photo does not show a latex tube and they do not come with valve nut (stem is not threaded) as shown either.
As they need re inflating so much a threaded stem would be useful as it would stop stem being pushed back into tyre and ripping tube.
I feel some of the problems people have had might be due to this so just take care.
Make sure your rim is perfectly clean and smooth too if they are type that do not need rim tape. My aluminium ones had some corrosion around valve hole that may have caused a latex tube to pop.
Needs slightly more care fitting to due to thinner material."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
The ladies Aeron Pro premium bib short feature a top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad for serious sessions in the saddle and ‘Field Sensor’ fabric for great moisture management.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great bib shorts
Posted23 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CarbonBilly
fromGloucestershershire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got these for my wife and cannot fault them.
Look good, good fit and v comfortable.
Much better option than cheaper bib shorts and I would never buy non bib cycling shorts personally."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CarbonBilly's Questions
 
 World Cup 2.0 Disc 2013
World Cup 2.0 Disc 2013
A classy cyclocross bike that features clean lines and simple tube shapes to ensure plenty of mud clearance and reliability season after season. The World Cup is Colnago’s solution for riders who enjoy the thrills and spills of cyclocross.
 

What length is the stem on the 54cm frame?

1 year, 2 months ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
Excellent tape for all applications, sufficient for one 28" rim.
 

How do you get it off?

Am I right in thinking that if you take tyre off, you then have to take old tape off, then fit new tape and tyre?
How easy is it to pull tyre off, and how easy to then get tape off?
Does tape pull off in a strip, or come off in little bits?
Thanks for any help ;-)
1 year, 10 months ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions High performance compound for carbon wheels. Excellent stopping power wet and dry with superior modulation and low pad wear rates.
 

Are pads different for front and rear wheels?

The reason I ask is that one pair of left and right pads both have the same set of numbers on them, and the other pair of left and right pads both have a different set of numbers on them.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
CarbonBilly's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The Vittoria Latex road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels if you like watching your bike weight. Latex tubes will require pumping up more often as due to the material used in construction, air seeps out slowly over time.
 

Removable core?

One of the questions above states that the valve is not removable but in the reviews a user mentions that removable CORE is a plus.

So do these tubes have removable cores? In other words will I be able to install a valve extender to use it with my race wheels?

Thanks,
Rog
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A key fits on mine and it looks removable.
1 year ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
The Vittoria Latex road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels if you like watching your bike weight. Latex tubes will require pumping up more often as due to the material used in construction, air seeps out slowly over time.
 

Do they have removable valve?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. It is shaped to take a key and looks removable.
1 year ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
The Vittoria Latex road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels if you like watching your bike weight. Latex tubes will require pumping up more often as due to the material used in construction, air seeps out slowly over time.
 

Is the valve stem threaded or smooth?

I use Lezyne pumps that have the screw-on chuck., so (I think) I require a threaded stem.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Smooth (apart from bit that valve cap screws on) which is a shame as threaded would allow fitting a nut to hold stem when re-inflating.

I use a Lezyne pump too. It screws on to the valve cap thread so its not a problem.

Be careful unscrewing as heat generated may cause it to unscrew removable valve core. Let it cool down before unscrewing.
1 year ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 

Best Angle of Fit

I've heard mixed reports about these saddlebags. Some swear by them and others say the clips break after heavy bumps. Others say that the breaking is due to the angle you fix them at.

What is the best angle to fix them at to make them less prone to breakage?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have both small and medium. Only use the small on road bike as feel medium is too big.
No problem with clip breaking but it will not stay in position I like (horizontal or slightly tucked up towards saddle) I have to re-adjust it a lot which may lead to breaking if overtightened out of frustration.
I might try supergluing it or something.
Great little bag other than that.
1 year ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
 Active Hydration Tablets Tube (Buy 1 get 1 FREE)
Active Hydration Tablets Tube (Buy 1 get 1 FREE)
Buy one tube and get another FREE! Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration - whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat
 

How many tablets do the nun tubes have

The ones which are buy one get one free.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The ones I have bought in the past are 12 tablets per tube.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
Given 9/10 by What Mountain Bike. This lock is roughly the same size as a mobile phone and weighs a few grams only. Compact, convenient security solution for low risk applications.
 

What is lock like?

What is this lock like?
i am after a lock to hold my road bike for a short while like while i pop in to a shop or order some food etc on a long ride. i have got bigger locks for longer periods. but dont want to be carrying around bulky locks on a long ride...
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have three Abus locks of varying sizes, for varying risks.
I use the smallest (one of these) for cafe stops when out with others on club rides in the Cotswolds. As no one else really lock their bikes, its just to stop my bike being the one taken by an opertunist without a pair of pliers on him!
If your bike is at any more risk than this I would get something a little more secure.
I have a storage container that fits in a second bottle cage. Ideal to put a bigger cable lock in ;-)
1 year, 9 months ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
3mm stretch Neoprene, taped-seam overshoe protects feet from cold, wet, mid Winter weather.
 

will these fit over normal running trainers as well as cycle shoes?

Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes, as long as you are intending to cycle, not run in them!
1 year, 9 months ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
3mm stretch Neoprene, taped-seam overshoe protects feet from cold, wet, mid Winter weather.
 

Cleat holes

Hi,

This is probably a bit of a silly question: Do these overshoes have holes in the sole for the cleats to fit through? I would like to wear these over a pair of Shimano MTB shoes.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes, they have well reinforced cut outs for cleat and heels.
The sizing chart recommends going up a size for MTB shoes, which I have done. They are easier to get on but would look better if a tighter fit. Depends how much of a fiddle you want.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
Water-resistant, superslim, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Low Battery warning indicator. Visible up to 600 metres.
 

Band size?

Will the band fit snug round skinny seat stays?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
No, it's for seat posts.
Also, mine does not like getting wet and goes looney when it does.
Probably ok in light rain or if you have mudgaurds.
Its fine again after being dried out and I still think its a great light.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire
 
Warm breathable Leg warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 

is this price for a pair or a single leg warmer?

Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Price is for one, but if you do not specify left or right it confuses the packers and they just stick both in.
Has always worked for me.
Works with arm warmers and shoes too.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
CarbonBilly
Gloucestershershire