ajcherry
Share ajcherry's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
ajcherry's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    13 July 2010
  • Last Review
    07 November 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    28 March 2014
  • Last Question
    28 March 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    01 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    01 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
ajcherry's Reviews
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4 Season Folding Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4 Season Folding Road Tyre
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great all year round tyre
Posted07 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ajcherry
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have been a big fan of the Continental brand having previously used the 4000s tyre.i have been using a 25mm on the front and a 28mm on the rear which has noticeably Improved the comfort levels because you can run at much lower tyre pressures.
They offer excellent grip and are easy to fit and remove especially Important If you do suffer a puncture which I did after covering 2600miles on the rear tyre(a shard of glass).
Typically I expect to get 3000 and 8000 miles out of rear and front tyres respectively.
They certainly are not the lightest tyre I have used, so not the best for racing but they do still roll well,but for all year round use they are hard to beat."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Night Vision Thermolite Cycling Socks
Altura Night Vision Thermolite Cycling Socks
Thermal cycling socks with a thermo-lite hollow-core polyester fabric construction for insulation in cold winter cycling conditions. Featuring hi-viz technical styling and a high stretch fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very bright sock
Posted01 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ajcherry
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Firstly when wearing cycling shoes only the top half of the sock is visible so It would n't mattered If the sole was black.
I'm size 10 with wide feet so ordered the large size and they fit perfectly as they stretch very easily.
I've always found Altura clothing to be of high quality yet good value and these socks are no exception. I've only worn them when the weather has been warm so I've yet to test them In cooler conditions.
Great for giving you that added visibility when light levels are low."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent value,great day time footage
Posted01 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
ajcherry
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this camera entirely for safety reasons after too many near accidents with motorists.
It features a wide angle lens that give a tremendous field of view.
Daytime use produces great footage but it's not so great when light levels are low.
Battery last about 3 hours 10 mins but you need a minimum 16gb memory card as the 4gb one supplied will only last 1hour 20mins.
It's slightly bigger than I Imagined and the microphone does pick up a lot of wind noise on windy days or at 30mph plus.
The quality of the camera Is excellent and It's very simple to operate.
I purchased a separate mount as the ones supplied only stuck the camera to the helmet.
Overall If you are looking for a good value quality Image camera that you are going to use daytime this is the one to go for.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Bulky, not so good if light levels are low
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Coloured Balaclava
dhb Coloured Balaclava
The balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Essiential winter kit
Posted27 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ajcherry
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This has made the difference between being able to ride at temperatures hovering around freezing for up to 2 hours where as before my face and particularly my ears would suffer.If you can keep your head warm the rest of your body keeps warmer.
It fits well under my helmet as the material is thin but warm and you can adjust it to uncover your mouth. I`ve got a larger than average head yet it stretches well to cover my neck. If you wear glasses,which i do, you have to slide them under the balaclava as your ears are covered but this is not uncomfortable.It`s been washed twice and still looks like new.
You may not win any awards from the fashion police wearing this but who cares when you can continue riding in sub zero conditions.
Buy it you won`t regret it."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good all year round training tyre
Posted13 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ajcherry
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I`ve put nearly 700miles on these tyres in 3 weeks and i`m really pleased with the performance and durability.This was my first folding tyre but they were no harder to fit than non-folding tyres.
They have not punctured or cut up at all yet.The main thing i noticed is the lower rolling resistance.I`ve seen my average speed increase by 1mph.
I`ve not ridden in the rain yet to comment on wet road grip but certainly dry road grip has been very good.
I like the colour with the green stripe but more choice of colours i`m sure would increase sales.
If there is one gripe it would be the price,they are not cheap at £37 a time but if the performance and durability continue i`m sure i can justify that."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ajcherry's Questions
 
 KMC 11 Speed Chain Links
KMC 11 Speed Chain Links
Quick release chainlink suitable for use with Campagnolo, Shimano 11 speed and Sram 11 drive systems.
 

Will this link work with the Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain?

8 months ago
by
ajcherry
West Sussex
 
ajcherry's Answers
 
 Altura Night Vision Thermolite Cycling Socks
Altura Night Vision Thermolite Cycling Socks
Thermal cycling socks with a thermo-lite hollow-core polyester fabric construction for insulation in cold winter cycling conditions. Featuring hi-viz technical styling and a high stretch fit.
 

Sizing

The Altura website shows sizing as S(4-6) M(7-9) L(10-12) but the photo shows a sock marked 41-44 L (presumably large?). 10-12 would be 45-47. Can you clarify the sizing please (seems to apply to all Altura socks).
I ordered a large pair of socks and they are marked 45/48L as I'm size 10 and they fit perfectly.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
ajcherry
West Sussex
 
 Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 

Supports larger SD cards?

Is this capable of supporting larger SD card (i.e 32GB) rather than just the 4GB one supplied? I need to be able to record more than just 3.5 hours.
I can confirm this camera support 32gb memory card,but bear In mind the battery on mine runs out after 3hr 10mins. A 16gb card would probably last around 3 and half hours.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
ajcherry
West Sussex