Mino
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Mino's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Mino's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    24 July 2009
  • Last Review
    06 July 2010
  • Featured Reviews
    4
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    24 July 2009
  • Last Question
    04 February 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    06 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    07 July 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Mino's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Michelin Pro3 Race Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro3 Race Folding Road Tyre
The Pro³ Race has one of the lowest rolling resistances of any commercial racing tyre.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted06 July 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great tyres but these she soley be used as a race tyre.
Some guys in my riding group use these and get away with puntures but if you ask me these tyres cut up easily and provide great training km's
I personally use the Gatorskin and fine that these roll nice (with latex tubes) and have provided me with great puncture resistance.
Anyway these tyres are great in terms of grip, rolling resistence and cornering i.e. crit use
If you are looking for training tyres, save you're money because these are not them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Summer Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Summer Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Technical Summer gloves with a tailored race fit and advanced Assos fabrics for hot weather performance. The shock absorbing padded palm provides cushioning on long rides and the velcro-less construction slips on and off with ease.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted06 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"So far, so good with these gloves
I'm usually a medium in all other brands and these fit like a glove. I'm sure after a few more rides they will 'give' however they are nicely made, lightweight, comfy and will be a nice bit of kit during the hot days of summer. Assos as always are second to none."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Black GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 500 Black GPS Cycle Computer
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted06 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Recently downgraded from the 705 unit to this for many reasons
1) the size of the 705 is huge, this is less half and about 50grams lighter.
2) I don't have any functional use for the maps
3) I waited for the black 500 model to come out, looks great
I love how the charger simple actually counters up or down and tells you in % what power is left.
So far so good, alot of custom options, two bike mounts provided which was a great bonus. Wiggles prices and service is second to none."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted06 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As everyone has stated already, these are a great pair of bibs.
The Milie for a bit extra comes with a better chamois but these will do fine for races, and rides that are 100km or less. They look great with the Assos writing down the side (if you choose them) and the compression on these are nice. Assos bibs or the evo jacket is not made to walk around in or sit, so be aware these cloths come to life whilst riding!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Roubaix Knee Warmers
Roubaix Knee Warmers
Fashionable, soft, comfortable, warm. Combine kneeRubi knee warmers with ASSOS bibshorts to transform them into a 3/4 length bibknicker equivalent. kneeRubi are perfect to wear in cool Spring and Autumn, or at the beginning of a ride.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted06 July 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Argh... as much as I love the Assos gear these knee warmers are their biggest let down. I am 185cm and approx 80kg and while these fit nice around the calfs, around the thights they just fall down. They dont have any grippers and hold up due to the grippers on you're bibs but after some hard efforts these will creap down. These are going to back to wiggle and I've purchase the Castelli ones instead."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Analysis, inspiration and innovation are the key words behind the development of the Tao, the Tacx superlight streamlined bottle cage. The shape of the bike and its technical components inspired the designers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted06 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great cages for the price, they do the job but I recently retired these and got the Elite custom race for the Cervelo S1 - just looks x10 better and they do the job too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Monaco Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Monaco Short Finger Cycling Gloves
The Monaco is the most full-featured glove in the Giro line. Designed for high-performance and high-mileage riders, the Monaco delivers an exceptional combination of pressure distribution, ventilation and fit.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted06 July 2010
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These gloves are great when new but over a few months they will either fall apart of wear out (fast).
every pair (3) I've brought I've had to send back - they are great but just not up to quality. I went for the assos summer mits in the end and so far so good"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Arione CX Braided Saddle
Arione CX Braided Saddle
The Arione CX Braided features a new lightweight foam yielding a 70 grams weight reduction from the standard Arione.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Like the Arione but lighter!
Posted06 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I had the Antares on my bike for 6 months and I recently started seeing a physio due to my back, since using THIS saddle I have not needed to go back. This saddle is light, comfy and gives you a little more options when you need to put the hammer down. love the arione series by fizik"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
The WH7850 CL Carbon Laminate wheel earn the Dura-Ace pedigree and are designed to complement any of their 10-speed groupset whilst meeting pro road race criteria.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the wheels do it all
Posted07 January 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Well as you can see by the other reviews here, this wheelset does it all. Recently I'd seen photos of Rabobank's sprinter Graeme Brown, riding on a set of these in the Jayco Bay Crit. Obviously the team is sponsered by Shimano, however he choose to ride these over the 50mm full carbon Clinchers/Tubulars - does that say enough? They are light and lively, the bulk of their weight is at the hub so there is less 'rational' weight therefore less effort you're legs need to spin/hold these wheels at top speed. Keep in mind rim tape needs to be use and the skewers provided are not exactly 'lightweight' - I would suggest purchasing KCNC skewers which come in at about 50grams for a set. Best tyres for these would be the Open Corsa or Pro3 Race's for race day and Gatorskins for training. These wheels are extermely great value as a 'all round' wheelset, they come with a 3 year warranty from Shimano and free wheel bags as a added bonus - Happy riding!"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Wheel Stand
Wheel Stand
Park your bike anywhere.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
for the price, you can't go wrong
Posted07 January 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mino
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"well I order two of these stands. For the price you obviously can't go wrong. They hold up the bike and do a fair job in doing so. Is it the best, no but for $20 its worth having you're bike fall over in the shed. I find that overtighten the bolts, it will throw the wheel braces off where you're real wheel won't fix, however loosening the nutt will fix this up. Either way, great stand for keeping your pricey bike upright."
Pros: Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Mino's Questions
 
 3T Doric Team Seat Post
3T Doric Team Seat Post
DORIC is a new seat post, with a simple, minimalist design focused on essentials: rider comfort, security, and ease of use.
 

dorico seatpost

will wiggle be getting in the 3T Team dorico seatpost which has a 25mm setback....??
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Vittoria Pair Of 62mm Valve Extensions
Vittoria Pair Of 62mm Valve Extensions
Used to extend some Presta valves for use in deep rims e.g. Mavic Cosmic Carbone etc.
 

Valve adaption

will these extensions work with the valves that come with the Continental Sprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tyres? thanks
5 years ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 3T Funda Team Carbon Road Bike Forks
3T Funda Team Carbon Road Bike Forks
FUNDA is a range of forks for racing and sports bicycles. Constructed entirely in carbon-fibre, all FUNDA forks benefit from 3T's designed-for-composites philosophy.
 

54cm Cervelo R3-SL

Will this fork fit my 54cm framset?
5 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
Mino's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Take the design of the Ksyrium ES with its unique features (different rim heights, carbon front hub, optimised rim heights, carbon front, optimised rear dish...) and add an asymmetric rear rim for greater stiffness and increased durability. Front 645g, rear 840g, pair 1485g (ED10).
 

What is the Max rider weight - are they OK for 92kgs

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
these are fine for 92kgs - I would say anything 120kg + would be pushing it.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Take the design of the Ksyrium ES with its unique features (different rim heights, carbon front hub, optimised rim heights, carbon front, optimised rear dish...) and add an asymmetric rear rim for greater stiffness and increased durability. Front 645g, rear 840g, pair 1485g (ED10).
 

Clincher or Tubular???

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
these are clincher however you can find these in tubulars.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Take the design of the Ksyrium ES with its unique features (different rim heights, carbon front hub, optimised rim heights, carbon front, optimised rear dish...) and add an asymmetric rear rim for greater stiffness and increased durability. Front 645g, rear 840g, pair 1485g (ED10).
 

These can be shipped to New Zealand, no worries, I heard sold in EU only ??

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
As of recently in 2010 these wheels can be shipped outside of the EU
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Take the design of the Ksyrium ES with its unique features (different rim heights, carbon front hub, optimised rim heights, carbon front, optimised rear dish...) and add an asymmetric rear rim for greater stiffness and increased durability. Front 645g, rear 840g, pair 1485g (ED10).
 

Do the wheels come with skewers and wheel bags included?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
They come with skewers but no bags.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Take the design of the Ksyrium ES with its unique features (different rim heights, carbon front hub, optimised rim heights, carbon front, optimised rear dish...) and add an asymmetric rear rim for greater stiffness and increased durability. Front 645g, rear 840g, pair 1485g (ED10).
 

Rim tape

Do they come wit rim tape, or would I have to buy that separately?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
they dont require rim tape and therefore don't come with it.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Ksyrium SL Road Bike Wheelset 2009
Take the design of the Ksyrium ES with its unique features (different rim heights, carbon front hub, optimised rim heights, carbon front, optimised rear dish...) and add an asymmetric rear rim for greater stiffness and increased durability. Front 645g, rear 840g, pair 1485g (ED10).
 

will Mavric Ksyrium SL wheels fit on SRAM gears

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The Shimano freehub is compatable with SRAM cassettes and will therefore work with their gears.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Summer Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Summer Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Technical Summer gloves with a tailored race fit and advanced Assos fabrics for hot weather performance. The shock absorbing padded palm provides cushioning on long rides and the velcro-less construction slips on and off with ease.
 

How/where is hand diameter measured?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Around the whole of the hand, right where you're knuckles are. Ensure you use a measuring tape or some string and line it up with a ruler so you include the width of you're hand.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Black GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 500 Black GPS Cycle Computer
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing.
 

heart rate monitor

can a heart rate monitor be purchased seperately and used with the edge 500 or if i own a heart rate monitor can it be used with the 500?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A garmin heart rate monitor can be purchased seperately and uses however I don't think a Polar will work.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Tacx Tao Ultralight Bottle Cage (Silver)
Analysis, inspiration and innovation are the key words behind the development of the Tao, the Tacx superlight streamlined bottle cage. The shape of the bike and its technical components inspired the designers.
 

Bottle scratching?

One reviewer mentioned that these cages scratch up your bottles. I would like to know if anyone else has had a similar experience, or have found them okay?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
They did not scatch up my camelbak podium bottles in the 3 months I used them.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth
 
 Monaco Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Monaco Short Finger Cycling Gloves
The Monaco is the most full-featured glove in the Giro line. Designed for high-performance and high-mileage riders, the Monaco delivers an exceptional combination of pressure distribution, ventilation and fit.
 

I am right on the border between small and medium (203mm), is it better to go up or down a size, i.e. do the gloves "give" with use?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The gloves WILL give with use, go with small. I've had 3 pairs!
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mino
Perth