OlDirtyCyclist
Share OlDirtyCyclist's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
OlDirtyCyclist's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    03 November 2009
  • Last Review
    27 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    2
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    18 August 2010
  • Last Question
    18 August 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    19 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    16 October 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
OlDirtyCyclist's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Hope QR Seat Post Clamp
Hope QR Seat Post Clamp
Quick Release Seat Post Clamp.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A little bit of bling.......................
Posted27 November 2014
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Add a bit of bling to your bike with this QR seat clamp. Looks good, works well and as with all Hope products the build quality is second to none."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
The first Gore-Tex shoes launched exclusively by Northwave guarantees all-out water protection combined with excellent breathablilty. Suitable for riding in temperatures from -10° - +15°C.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A very good winter boot
Posted06 November 2014
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These are not 100% waterproof but then agan what boot can be?
Apart from that, this boot offers a nice wide fit to accomodate winter socks. The boot closure system is quick and easy and the double wrap neoprene around the ankles has so far kept my ankles dry. They are relatively lightweight for a winter boot and easy enough to walk in if you add a set of cleat covers.
They could do with a bit of reflective material but that is the only downside to these boots and not a big enough downside to knock off a star."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Merino Long Sleeve Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Long Sleeve Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted06 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I love this base layer.
It is warm, fits well and has excellent moisture transfer properties. I find it very unrestrictive and moves well with the body when cycling. Also this base layer is quick drying without any lasting sweat odours.
Even the packaging is top notch!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Spiuk Team Jacket
Spiuk Team Jacket
Constructed with a triple membrane fabric to offer warmth, moisture management and water repellancy. An excellent jacket perfectly suited to the harsher conditions of the colder months.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Looks like a very good winter jacket
Posted24 September 2014
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Though I haven't worn it for a ride, the fit is very good and the jacket feels warm without being too bulky. I also like the elasticated cuffs, which are a step up from the velcro cuffs on my other winter jacket. Also the range of colours is good which makes the jacket look very attractive and visible on those dark nights.
I would have no problem paying full price for this jacket so with WIggle offering it at a 60% saving it is a no-brainer for anyone looking for a attractive and effective winter jacket."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windslam Softshell Jacket
dhb Windslam Softshell Jacket
The dhb Windslam Jacket is a warm soft shell jacket suitable for dry cold rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
An absolute bargain and a top quality product
Posted16 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is my first venture into soft shell technology and I'm impressed. This jacket feels like having a wind-proof cocoon around you when riding without being too bulky or stifling and I cannot wait to see how it handles the deep winter winds.
I've seen similar technology jackets for double or triple the price so if you are on a budget then get this jacket as it ticks all the boxes.
I bought a L (I'm 5'8 and 86kgs) and the fit was perfect. It is snug without being too form-fitting and has enough room for a base layer and winter jersey beneath. It has a good high collar, which is also nice and snug and the material has enough stretch in it that it allows full freedom of movement.
This doesn't look like a typical cycling jacket for those times when you are off the bike. The reflective piping and logos are low key but well placed for those times when you want to ride in the drops.
Only downside is that it could have done with an extra front pocket and a flash or three of hi-viz yellow or orange along the sides."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Mech Hanger
Mech Hanger
Please consult table to find the mech hanger for your bike and make sure it matches the picture. If in any doubt please email us with the model and serial number of your bike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
An important bit of kit
Posted19 February 2012
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"mech hangers are an important bit of kit so if you can get a spare one to keep around the house then do so. There isnt much to say about this particular hanger apart from the quality is good considering what a mech hanger is designed to do and the price is good for a very important bit of bike kit."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A great sports drink
Posted19 July 2011
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very easy to use and the flavoursI have tried actually taste good. Seems tpo be pretty effective too. I certainly will stock up on these tablets when I trek through the Atlas mountains in September."
Pros: High Quality, tasty, effective, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Active Long Sleeve Cycling Jersey - AW09
Active Long Sleeve Cycling Jersey - AW09
Comfortable training wear of good quality with efficient moisture transportation, the active Bike garments make the perfect outfit for active cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good all-round top
Posted20 April 2011
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Nothing fancy here at all but don't let that fool you as you don't need fancy when you are just looking for a basic top. It's a bit too clingy to make for a good all-rounder but hey, as a cycling top you cannot go wrong if you are not looking to shell out load sof money ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lizard Skins Head Set Seal Protector
Lizard Skins Head Set Seal Protector
The Lizard Skins Headset cover protects the lower headset seal with soft, conformable neoprene. It keeps grit, mud and dust out of the headset, preventing premature wear.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
SImple but effective
Posted12 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A great way to keep the elements out of your headset with the winter fast approaching. Easy to fit and once on it blends in with the rest of the frame.
Well worth the few quid it cost if it keeps the headset clear of grime and muck."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fork Boot Protector
Fork Boot Protector
Lizard Skins Fork Boots cover the seals and stanchions with soft neoprene. They prevent stone chips or damage to the stanchions which can cause seal and bush wear. They keep dust off the stanchions in dry weather, and mud and grit in wet conditions, again preventing seal and bush wear and improving ...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Well worth it
Posted12 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OlDirtyCyclist
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Keeps the muck and water from my forks so with winter coming something like this is a must. Easy to fit and it can be trimmed to suit the length of the stanchions so it doesn't effect the performance of the suspension."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
OlDirtyCyclist's Questions
 
 Fat Boy 2010
Fat Boy 2010
Great equipment for great ride enjoyment.
 

Can you fit a rear rack that to this frame?

More specifically, can you fit a rear rack that will hold an Altura Arran 16 Pannier to this frame? From what I can see of the bike in the picture, the lower mounting holes for a rear rack are in place but I cannot see any holes to mount the top end of the rack.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
OlDirtyCyclist
London
 
OlDirtyCyclist's Answers
 
 dhb Windslam Softshell Jacket
dhb Windslam Softshell Jacket
The dhb Windslam Jacket is a warm soft shell jacket suitable for dry cold rides.
 

Right size

I am 172 cm, is the M fitted size for me?
Best answer
Depends on how slim you are. I'm around the same height but weigh 86kgs so I bought a large and it fits perfectly, snug with enough room for a base layer and winter jesery beneath. Also, the jacket is made of a relatively stretchy material.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
OlDirtyCyclist
London
 
 High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Individually wrapped?

I've had free samples of these where the tablets were individually wrapped - is that the case when they're in a tube? It would be nice to take a few out with me in the event I drain my bidons...
No but the tube is small enough that you will not notice it if you have to carry it around and tough enough that you dont have to worry about it breaking. I carry a tube every day on the commute and will be taking a few tubes with me when i trek through the Atlas mountains.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
OlDirtyCyclist
London