Dadofdot
Share Dadofdot's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Dadofdot's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    31 July 2009
  • Last Review
    11 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    28 May 2011
  • Last Answer
    28 May 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Dadofdot's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Wippermann Connex Chain Link (10 Speed)
Wippermann Connex Chain Link (10 Speed)
Wippermanns unique and sophisticated 10 speed connectors are easy to open and close without any tools. Suitable for for use with Connex chains.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Doesn't fit Shimano 10 speed chain
Posted11 July 2014
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A bit of a major issue in that the link wouldn't fit through the links in the chains! Nice looking bit of kit but practically useless."
Cons: does not fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos Chamois Cream
Assos Chamois Cream
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Buttering your backside
Posted20 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I never thought I would be smearing my rear end with cream as part of a past-time! However, if you are foolish enough to have challenged yourself to a long ride or a series of long rides, or like me 9 days back to back Ride Across Britain then this stuff should help you out. It's thick and provides good lubrication to those tender under parts.
This should form part of your undercarriage care program; cleanliness and after care such as Sudocream is essential if you're doing long rides. There are some good articles out there on the subject one being on the British Cycling website - Beat Saddle Soreness.
This stuff is the industry standard, it's not cheap but then again what price do you put on not having a sore botty?"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Northwave Sid Jacket
Northwave Sid Jacket
A breathable cycling jacket with mesh inserts and a nylon ribstop fabric construction. Featuring an internal windproof coating to help maintain temperature and includes a packable bag for easy transport in uncertain weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A great in expensive windcheater
Posted22 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"With the cold weather coming in I thought a really light weight jacket would be useful to act as a windcheater. I already have a Gore Path II jacket for those days when you know it's going to rain at some point or the chilly days - a really good jacket. However, I wanted a jacket that was easier to stow away and a bit more light weight, it didn't need to be waterproof but it had to be cheaper. This is it, a good fit, keeps the wind off and keeps you warm, folds up nice and small, does take a light shower and looks OK too. For £26 I think it's a good buy.
I bought a medium which has a good close fit for the arms, good length for the back, a snug fit around my 41" chest but that's not an issue."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 TT04 Sport Puncture Repair Kit
TT04 Sport Puncture Repair Kit
Sport repair kit with extra thin patches for narrow road tyres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Standard issue puncture repair kit
Posted28 January 2012
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A great little kit for your saddle bag/ rucksack - a must have. I always have at least one of these kit at home spare as you never know when you'll get that nightmare ride when the farmers decide to cut the hedge rows! You can spend most of your ride fixing punctures making your inner-tube look like a patch work quilt!
If applied properly these patches never leak and provide a perfect seal to get you back on your way. I haven't tried the Park Super Patch kit yet but you can't go wrong with these little fellas"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Wiggle 650ml Water Bottle 2013
Wiggle 650ml Water Bottle 2013
Wiggle's very own 650ml water bottle
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good little water bottle
Posted28 January 2012
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"What can you say about a water bottle? Everything works it has a rubber spouty bit like the expensive bottles and the plastic seems to be of the same quality.
I bout this as I needed a shorter bottle than the SIS ones. It fits nicely in my full sus frame"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Team Workstand
Elite Team Workstand
Another wiggle exclusive!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great workstand good quality
Posted28 January 2012
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've wanted a work stand for a while and finally treated myself to one of these. As usual I turned to wiggle to see what they had, this one was recommended and had a load of reviews. Reading reviews really does give you a good indication if the product quality and performance.
So here are my thoughts on it. This is a great bit of kit, reassuringly solidly built with a quality feel about it. The pictures don't do this justice, the clamp looks plastic in the picture, but it is made out of two hinged aluminium plates with rubber jaws that clamp down on your bike frame - very solid. I bought it in the January sale at a good price, a couple of weeks later and it's even cheaper! You're missing a trick if you don't snap one of these up.
Do yourself a favour and get one of these to do all those bike maintenance tasks you've been putting off, and save a load on bike shop costs."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Wool Ultra Performance Socks Twin Pack
Wool Ultra Performance Socks Twin Pack
1000 mile wool ultra performance sock with added padding on forefoot and heel.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good running socks
Posted23 October 2011
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I can't get too excited about running socks but thought I would give these a try. They are well priced as they come in a twin pack for a similar price of a single pair.
Tried them out for the first run and found they were comfortable and well cushioned. As for the 1000 mile capability, it may take me a while to get there...watch this space! :-)"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Keepin' you warm and comfortable
Posted23 October 2011
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I read the reviews and have to agree these are a great pair of cycling padded tights.
Tried these out on the Wiggle South Downs Sportive Oct 2011. It wasn't really cold enough to test out how warm they keep you, but I have to say they are comfortable and wick away the sweat very well. The overall construction and materials used are of high quality, the padding/chamois is excellent and the ankle zips, front zip and wide shoulder straps make sure of a good fit. The only improvement could be flat stitched seams rather over-locked ones.
You can't go wrong, and won't regret buying these.
Size: I bought Small and they are a great fit. I'm 5"6, 32 waist, 42 chest, 78kg."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mid Thermal Merino Waterproof Socks
Mid Thermal Merino Waterproof Socks
More stretchy and breathable
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Great for standing in a bucket of water!
Posted26 September 2011
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought these with the intention of using them for an adventure race across the highlands of Scotland. I tried them out prior to the event on a very wet and windy day. Splashing through puddles kept my feet dry, BUT, then the water ran down my shins and into the top of the socks. By the end of the ride my feet were swishing around in water! They were more like my wetsuit boots I use for sailing.
After drying the socks I checked to see if they leaked and stood in the bath with a couple of inches of water. They worked a treat and kept my feet bone dry.
At first, I was quite disappointed in the socks but then read reviews and found that others had the same issue. They had resolved the leaky tops by using rubber glove cuffs as gators to prevent water running into the socks. I tried the same, even shaving a patch on my shin to tape the cuff/gator to prevent it rolling down. It worked, and prevented most of the seepage.
These are a great bit of kit if you want to stand in a puddle, bath or a bucket of water up to, but not over the cuff of the sock. There needs to be some sort of cuff designed to restrict the water flow in through the top of the sock from run off from your leg. The alternative is to wear waterproof over-trousers, which aren't the best for cycling in.
All in all, I like the socks but the ankle length ones have short comings in the wet. That's not to say they won't be good for the cold damp winters day to keep your tootsies toastie warm."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: leaky cuffs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pedals for MTB or Road
Posted18 March 2011
Dadofdot
fromSouth Coast, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is another product I have bought from Wiggle by reading the reviews. Again I have not been disappointed and they live up to the rating others and I have given them.
They are well designed, easy to fit and adjust the hold on the shoe cleat. I have put them on a road bike and which I did a 49 mile ride on yesterday, and they were faultless. These are excellent as they allow me to use my cycling shoes for both my MTB and road bike. And, they look just as good on a MTB or road bike.
I don't think these are the choice of pedal for a serious road racer but they work for me on the road and also bashing down the hills on an MTB. These have to be right up there as a solid performing, great looking product at a bargain price with fast delivery from Wiggle."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Dadofdot's Questions
 
Dadofdot has not submitted any questions.
 
Dadofdot's Answers
 
 Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

do these pedals come with cleats?

Yes, you get a bag with cleats, countersunk hex socket bolt and backing plate to fix in to your shoe.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Dadofdot
South Coast, UK
 
 Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Can they be fitted to any bike?

I currently run a 2010 Specialized Secteur and want to swap the regular pedals to cleated pedals. As a bargain I want to know if they can be fitted to any/most bikes?
Unless your bike has non-standard threads on it they should fit a treat. They will fit, and they are an excellent peddle I have 3 bikes and all of them have the same peddle, road, full sus and hardtail. They're a great peddle.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Dadofdot
South Coast, UK