Mossman
Top 100 Contributor
Share Mossman's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Mossman's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    66
  • Helpfulness Votes
    43
  • First Review
    04 October 2009
  • Last Review
    11 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    6
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    29 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    11 December 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Mossman's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
The Trace and TraceR are super bright USB rechargeable front and rear lights. New to the range its compact design, high power and ultra reliability make this a winning product.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just brilliant
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I'm delighted with these super-bright little lights. Very well made, charge easily via USB, look good, and of course, are incredibly bright!
They mount easily with the rubber straps in the box, and they get a lot of positive comments from other riders.
Highly recommended."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Estremo Overshoes
Castelli Estremo Overshoes
Pure protection for sub-zero temperatures, driving rain and Arctic winds. The Estremo overshoe features a rubber textured surface for weatherproofing, warmth and durability - seal out the elements and keep numbness at bay on long winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Buy once. Enjoy.
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After going through two pairs of Castelli's other overshoes in recent years, plus suffering from cold feet, I thought I'd try these.
I'm very pleased I did.
They are very well made, much more substantial than other overshoes from any manufacturer and are pretty warm too.
I've gone for the XL for my 45 feet and they fit well (slightly too big would be my only criticism).
I can see these lasting for many years and so come highly recommended."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Sanremo Thermosuit
Castelli Sanremo Thermosuit
Ride through the winter with a similar lightweight feeling as your summer kit. The SanRemo Thermosuit combines a Trasparente Jersey, Sorpasso tights and the most advanced fabric technologies for full weatherproof coverage and total comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just buy it
Posted29 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a terrific piece of kit. It really is a revelation when wearing it. No bulk and super-comfy. It is so nice to have less layers and clothes on riding in the cold. I've been wearing varying thicknesses of base layers and this down to 4 degrees with no issues.
Pair this with the Castelli Extremo overshoes and gloves, and you are ready to go.
My only criticism is that the material is slightly thin, and you do apparently see the red inner material when on the bike showing through,"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Sanremo 2.0 Short Sleeve Speed Suit
Castelli Sanremo 2.0 Short Sleeve Speed Suit
The Sanremo 2.0 Speedsuit integrates the lower portion of Body Paint bibshorts with an Aero Race top for supreme aerodynamic performance a total comfort. Featuring a full zip and an un-stitched front waist for skinsuit advantages with added practicality.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It is as good as they say (but the fit...)
Posted08 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having toyed with the idea of trying one of these for some time, I went ahead and made a purchase a couple of weeks ago. I'm delighted I did.
Firstly, the concept, essentially pretty simple, really works. Not only does the attached jersey proof vastly superior to to bib straps for holding up your shorts, but the aero concept seems to work. There are other benefits too like having the ability to fully unzip the jersey and not have the back pockets swinging around widely with the gear you have stashed away in them.
What do Castelli say?
"The jersey portion and short portion overlap on the front for full coverage, but leaving the front unstitched allows for nature breaks even from the bike. We tested that too. The 3 rear pockets are securely held in place in all conditions, including when fully loaded. The main aero benefit comes through improved airflow around the torso by keeping the sides of the jersey in tension."
The fact that you don't have bib straps is a revelation. You just don't notice anything. You just wear it. The materials feel good. Clever in fact. Clever materials, ones which are all designed to do a specific job, whether ventilate, provide an aero surface and reduce drag, or to provide stretch and grip.
The shorts themselves are based on the excellent Body Paint versions, with the "Progetto X2 Air seat pad for famous X2 comfort and improved air flow". The grippers on the end of the legs are excellent, but, and this is the only downside, they are slightly loose for me...
This brings us neatly onto the only downside of the Speed Suit. The sizing/fit. I have gone for the XL in this, so not quite the medium or large that I take in Rapha kit. Why XL and why the sizing issue? Well, I'm reasonably slim, but a large in the Speedsuit would be a brave move for the top portion. The XL is already tight, very tight, which it should be for an aero-orientated piece of kit. I just couldn't get away with a smaller size (it would look obscene, or require me to drop some significant weight).
So, the XL is fine on the top, but this is where we run into the problem. The bottom half is a little too big. I could wear a large for the bottoms I think. The grippers at the end of the legs are just not snug on initial wearing. It does improve when on the bike and they've moved up the leg, but it's not perfect.
Castelli's fault? Probably not. Moss body sizing discrepancy? More likely.
I've had two of my best rides ever in this thing. Placebo? Maybe. Training coming good? Maybe. Feels brilliant when wearing it and saves some energy. Could be. What I do know is that you *feel* fast in this thing and it does look good. I'm so impressed that I've bought another from a good friend who had a new one left over from last year. (Thanks Simon). I highly recommend it, but watch the sizing and make sure you're pretty lean!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Worlds first Non Bio Laundry Detergent designed specifically for Sports wear clothing. Used by Fitness Professionals and Amateurs alike, this unique Sportswash works as hard as you do to stay on top of your game in the battle against odours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Impressed
Posted02 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Smells great and does what it promises. Never heard of it prior to a friend recommending it a couple of weeks ago.
Well worth using on your sports kit."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos insulatorGloves L1_S7
Assos insulatorGloves L1_S7
The L1 is the improved version of the former ALS insulator glove. Now made out of RXQ fabric, it has a new pattern design tailored to snugly fit your hands. The inner palm features new siliconized proGrip treatment to ensure secure handlebar contact.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and effective
Posted20 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Nicely designed inner gloves. Perhaps a little on the expensive side, but I really like the rubber grip which works very well.
Perfect with the Early Winter gloves."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LL.Bonka S5 Bib Tights 2012
LL.Bonka S5 Bib Tights 2012
The new generation of Assos Campionissimo long legged bib tights for cold winter riding conditions featuring Stratagon airblock membrane fabric inserts where you need them the most.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
My favourite winter tights
Posted07 November 2012
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These are my second pair which says a lot really. Having changed name to the frankly very silly LL.Bonka S5 Bib Tights, they have not changed in terms of terrific quality, warmth and comfort.
Both pairs I own have the S5 pad built in. I've tried non-padded tights over bib shorts and they are just not as comfy.
The pad on these is tried and tested, super-comfy and just works. The quality oozes from every part of the tights with the different materials, design and how they are all put together.
They are really warm too, and the windblock material does work.
A superb bit of kit, and highly recommended."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Most advanced Cycling Jacket available. Extensively developed with the Garmin-Sharp pro tour team, the Pocket Liner jacket has been refined in every detail to provide a close fit and waterproof protection with outstanding breathability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best? Quite possibly.
Posted06 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having had this for a while, I've actually been looking forward to some of the predictable UK weather arriving, and by that, I mean the rain!
So, last weekend was its first outing and wore it on Saturday and Sunday over 85 miles in total.
Verdict? Superb. It kept me completely dry, was very comfy, solicited a number of very positive comments about how it looked, and, critically, did not allow dampness to form underneath.
I love the colour and fit. Everything seems to have a lot of thought behind it. Yes, it's not cheap, but good kit is not cheap. By cheap and buy twice. Buy this, and wear it for a long, long time.
Very impressed and highly recommended.
Note: it is perfect as a waterproof layer, but in the very cold conditions last week, I wore a winter jersey and base layer underneath. It is thin, and so while being waterproof and windproof you need to layer to achieve some warmth."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for the coldest cycling conditions. The Estremo Glove is constructed from a Windstopper® X-Fast fabric combined with a fleecy material on the palm, covered with silicone texture for grip and durability. Essential for deep winter training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best winter gloves ever?
Posted05 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"No question, these are superb winter gloves. The moment you unpack them, feel the quality and see the quality, you know you've made a good choice.
They feel thick and really well insulated, and having worn them over the weekend, they perform brilliantly. The temperature on Sunday started at 2 degrees and didn't get much above six degrees. At no time did I have cold hands, and I normally would do prior to these.
Castelli have really thought about the design, especially the long cuff with velcro fastening - it really does allow you to tuck your jacket in and not allow any cold air to penetrate. The padding and rubber grip is also excellent making them super-comfy.
A simple verdict. Brilliant, warm, well made gloves. Highly recommended."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
A pair of wheel skewers available in various colours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solid and great quality
Posted05 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mossman
fromHull
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very pleased - terrific quality and for nicely on the winter bike.
Highly recommended."
Pros: Attractive, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Mossman's Questions
 
Mossman has not submitted any questions.
 
Mossman's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Trace and TraceR are super bright USB rechargeable front and rear lights. New to the range its compact design, high power and ultra reliability make this a winning product.
 

Does a USB charging cable come with the set?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes indeed!
10 months ago
by
Mossman
Hull
 
 Castelli Estremo Overshoes
Castelli Estremo Overshoes
Pure protection for sub-zero temperatures, driving rain and Arctic winds. The Estremo overshoe features a rubber textured surface for weatherproofing, warmth and durability - seal out the elements and keep numbness at bay on long winter road rides.
 

Sizing for Sidi shoes

Should I go for XL or XXL when I have size 45 in Sidi Ergo 3?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I think the XL will be fine. I'm using the XL for 45 Specializeds shoes.
10 months ago
by
Mossman
Hull
 
Designed for the coldest cycling conditions. The Estremo Glove is constructed from a Windstopper® X-Fast fabric combined with a fleecy material on the palm, covered with silicone texture for grip and durability. Essential for deep winter training.
 

sizing

Does the sizing chart accurately apply to these gloves by castelli ,as i take a large for most companies in jerseys but always have to size up to a x large with castelli ,does the same apply to their gloves?
Thanks Rick
Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hi Rick, no - normal sizing is fine. I take a large in all gloves I have so you should be fine with a large and no need to size up.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Mossman
Hull
 
 Aero Rain Lite Long Sleeve Jersey - 2011
Aero Rain Lite Long Sleeve Jersey - 2011
A fully protective wind and waterproof jersey built from the latest innovation in fabric technology; Windstopper X-Lite Plus. Tested and developed by the Cervelo Test Team, Aero Rain Lite Jersey is the long sleeve version of the Groundbreaking Gabba.
 

Winter Clothing Options

Hi there,

Im based in the Southern Hemisphere and winter is finally upon us. (Not happy!)
Im looking to buy a complete set of winter cycling clothing from you guys and was hoping for some advice.
Initially I was after:
- Warm, lightweight winter jacket (eg Castelli Mortirolo)
- Lightweight, fully waterproof jacket (eg Castelli Adriano)
- Warm, lowprofile gloves

I've been browsing your store and I am now confused with all the different product variations out there.
I like the look of the Castelli Aero Rain Light Jersey, however am confused as to whether this is to be used as a rain jacket over my normal jersey and arm warmers, or by itself. What are your thoughts?
My chest measures 38.2inches and my waist measures 32.8inches. Im approximately 183cm tall. Are the Castelli size charts based around your actual measurements, or are the sizes given the actual dimension of the garments?

Im open to your suggestions as to which garments I should purchase, bearing in mind my size and the fact that I want low profile gear (not baggy!)

Look forward to hearing from you guys. Love your store!

Jack
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hi Jack,

This is a terrific bit of kit for spring / autumn rides and possibly winter if paired with a few other layers.

It would be fine in a shower but I would probably have a full-on waterproof for heavy rain (the Pocket Liner jacket is superb).

Sizing - I'm similar measurements to you and went for the XL. Ever so slightly too big but I think the large would be too small.

Hope this helps.

Jon
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Mossman
Hull
 
Speedplay Coffee Shop Cups are cleat covers that snap over the cleats to make walking easier and to protect your cleats.
 

Do these covers fit shimmano the floating ones clets

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Speedplay only :)
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Mossman
Hull
 
 Gabba Windstopper Rain Jersey - 2011
Gabba Windstopper Rain Jersey - 2011
A fully protective wind and waterproof jersey built from the latest innovation in fabric technology; Windstopper X-Lite Plus. Tested and developed by the Cervelo Test Team, the Gabba jersey is a breakthrough in comfort and wet weather protection.
 

What size do you go for if medium usually if Gabba worn on top of jersey?

Not sure if to order a medium or large since I'm thinking of using it as an alternative to a waterproof if already wearing a jersey and underlayer? Usually wear medium castelli. Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'd go for a large then. Like the other aero jerseys, (and most Castelli stuff) the sizing is on the small side.

I'm a L normally but have an XL Gabba and wear a base layer underneath.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Mossman
Hull
 
 Assos T FI.13 S5 Bib Shorts
Assos T FI.13 S5 Bib Shorts
T FI.13_S5 offers pure performance while riding. A new benchmark in bib shorts, it is lighter, lower volume, with less pressure on sensitive areas.
 

Assos Bib Sizing

I am 6'2" , 32inch, 76kg What size would recommend
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I would say X large, namely because of your height.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Mossman
Hull
 
 Assos T FI.13 S5 Bib Shorts
Assos T FI.13 S5 Bib Shorts
T FI.13_S5 offers pure performance while riding. A new benchmark in bib shorts, it is lighter, lower volume, with less pressure on sensitive areas.
 

Does the price include Assos Chamois Cream?TKS..

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You do get a little sample pot.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Mossman
Hull
 
 Garmin Cervelo Roubaix Short Finger Gloves - 2011
Garmin Cervelo Roubaix Short Finger Gloves - 2011
Garmin-Cervélo riders have worn cycling's most coveted jerseys and the team is one of the sport’s most talented and hard-working. The Roubaix Glove brings you the same technology and prestige the team have forged though racing and development.
 

Sizing

What are the sizing guidelines for these gloves?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I think they have the guidelines on the Castelli website, but make sure you size UP!
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Mossman
Hull
 
 Garmin Cervelo Aero Race Jersey - 2011
Garmin Cervelo Aero Race Jersey - 2011
Garmin-Cervélo riders have worn cycling's most coveted jerseys and the team is one of the sport’s most talented and hard-working. The Aero Race jersey brings you the same technology and prestige the team have forged though racing and development.
 

Hi, i wonder which size to go for. I am 5 feet 10 inch but only 60 kg (132 pounds). Would appreciate some advice.

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Depending on how you like your jerseys, I would suggest a medium.

Best bet would be to order both a medium and large and then send one back! It is a VERY snug fit and I have sized up and it is still tight (as it should be I guess!).
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Mossman
Hull