GSeward
Top 1000 Contributor
Share GSeward's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GSeward's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    24 August 2009
  • Last Review
    24 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    27 August 2009
  • Last Answer
    24 April 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
GSeward's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 SRAM PowerLock 10 Speed Chain Connector - Pack Of 4
SRAM PowerLock 10 Speed Chain Connector - Pack Of 4
SRAM's unique, tool-free PowerLock connecting pin is light, quick, and easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Carry for Spares
Posted24 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Use these on all my 10 speed chains, nicely packaged so you can carry them easily as spares"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Speed Saddle Bag - Large 2013
Altura Speed Saddle Bag - Large 2013
Available in 3 sizes to suit a variety of requirements Speed seatpacks all fit neatly and securely under the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good Try, but let down by light clip
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Good bag, clips on well with good storage in main pod, Useful pockets at the side etc for small items like chain links.My main gripe was that the light strap stitching broke at both sides (each time dropping the Cateye lamp on the trail and being brought back to me by friends riding the trail behind me) and had to be zip tied back on (it hasn't dropped off since)"
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SDG Bel Air RL Saddle with Titanium/Alloy Rails
SDG Bel Air RL Saddle with Titanium/Alloy Rails
The Bel-Air line of saddles is known for its all-around comfort and functionality. For nearly a decade, the Bel-Air has been SDG's most popular saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The finishing touch !!
Posted18 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wanted a quality saddle to finish off my full suss project and had a SDG before which I sold on an old hardtail bike before realizing how comfy it was"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Night Vision Evo Jacket
Altura Night Vision Evo Jacket
A great choice commuter jacket at an exceptional price to help you prepare for the winter months. The Altura Night Vision Evo Jacket gives you 360 degree visibility with highly reflective trims and an integrated i-Lume LED rear light.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
More Pro's than Cons
Posted28 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great Jacket apart from the stupid light on the back pocket !!
IMO it would of been better higher up, for example on the collar.
it can't be seen when I have a camelback on or my rucksack which changes the mode of the light constantly as it's a push on to change mode. The light also creates a point load on your spine if you have anything in your bag, it's not been thought through at all.
Love the extra pockets at the front though, they are easier to use than the back one in the cold weather with a gloved hand."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: light in a stupid place
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
The BBT-9 is used to remove and install Shimano® Hollowtech II, Campagnolo Ulta-Torque, and many other external bearing crankset bottom brackets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Park tools - they do what they say on the tin !!
Posted07 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this to replace my C spanner type BB tool as i was sick of it damaging the cups on the BB on insatlation ( I suspect it opens up when you tap it with a mallet and slips round the cup).
No issues with this, precision fit doesn't move at all, and it does get quite a bit of use (12 bikes in the family, not to mention maintenance of friends bikes too !!
don't know why I bought a cheaper one in the first place, it did more damage than good !!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano BR-M775 Deore XT Pair of Disc Brake Pads
Shimano BR-M775 Deore XT Pair of Disc Brake Pads
Brake pads and spring design for Shimano Deore XT systems.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Brakes again !!
Posted18 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought these a while back with a view to changing them before my holidays earlier this month, my brakes had got a bit sqeely initial use and on long downhills sections.
Anyway changed them before my holidays, glad I did the old pads where very worn (about .75mm of pad left). what a difference loads of feel and much less presure needed to get the same stopping power, not to mention the noise reduction !!!
Fantastic product highly recommend"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Morgan Blue Chain Keeper
Morgan Blue Chain Keeper
This device clamps into the rear stay (drive side) and keeps the chain in place making it easy and less messy for you when you are transporting your bike to and from the car or if hanging on the wall in the shed/home.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A really usefull tool
Posted14 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A really simple but effective tool, saves getting your wheels and tyres dirty with lube during maintainance. it also stops the chain resting on the frame. You can turn the pedals as you spray the lube on or hold a rag round the chain to remove any excess lube. I had to use it without the bolt when working on my Trek full susser as that has a captive skewer nut (just slipped it onto the skewer instead)
Highly recommend"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Park Tools Professional Cable And Housing Cutter
Park Tools Professional Cable And Housing Cutter
The new CN-10 Cable and Housing Cutter is a shop quality cutter designed specifically for use on all bicycle cables and housing, including hard-to-cut index housing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
This is the one to buy
Posted25 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Read up on a few products on the net, lots blunt after a few uses but these are precision ground and look the part. I had a few bikes that I wanted to recable with Jagwire and wanted something that would do them all, these did the job with ease and I suspect will last years.
They also feature crimp jaws, one for the alloy ferules to stop the inner fraying and i'm guessing the other for the outer (which also comes in very handy sqeezing the outer round again should it be made slightly oval during the cutting opperation)"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Tiagra 4600 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano Tiagra 4600 10 Speed Cassette
High quality 10-speed cassette with hyperglide sprockets that have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Commuter choice
Posted09 February 2012
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this cassette so that I could do away with my worn out 7 speed x Triple chainset and replace it with a 10 speed double chainset without losing the hill climbing facilities of the triple.
As usual with Shimano the finish quality is fantastic with a great accurate fit
Coupled to Tiagra flat bar shifters and derailler it's a smooth slick operation and well worth the effort to change stuff over.
Might be a bit heavy for some looking to shave every last gram, but for a commute / touring bike at a budget price it's fab !!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: carrying few extra grams
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Mayhem MTB Shorts 2013
Altura Mayhem MTB Shorts 2013
Hard wearing MTB shorts for technical cross country and all-mountain riding. Featuring a baggy cut to accommodate armour and a removable padded liner for long range comfort, Mayhem shorts are tough enough for all the routes at the trail centre.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good but beware
Posted28 October 2011
GSeward
fromNantwich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these to wear alongside another pair of what I thought were a similar pair.
I wear the shorts for a 7 mile commute to and from work. Maybe I didn't read about them enough but the shorts have a lycra removable short loosely attached with 2 x 6mm staps which broke within the first couple of uses at the joint back to the baggy pant. They also have very few pockets the zips on the legs are for vents or fake I think, though why you should need pockets that close to the open leg beats me, There is a tiny pocket at the side of the hip that you can put a phone in with a velcro fasterener that drops down at every oppertunity to fasten the pocket when your trying to retrieve your phone with a gloved cold hand, the velcro would be much better fastening the other way ie attached to the pocket and velcro to the main short,, the only decent pockets are at the front which is not were you want them as when your pushing you constantly feel whatever is in your pocket in my case wallet and I Pod. my origionals were much better quality and thought out. they have proper pockets on the legs. having said that they are very comfy once you have them on if your travelling light
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Not Enough Features, Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GSeward's Questions
 
GSeward has not submitted any questions.
 
GSeward's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Shimano BR-M775 Deore XT Pair of Disc Brake Pads
Shimano BR-M775 Deore XT Pair of Disc Brake Pads
Brake pads and spring design for Shimano Deore XT systems.
 

are these compitable with Shimano M535 brakes.

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes
7 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich
 
 Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
The BBT-9 is used to remove and install Shimano® Hollowtech II, Campagnolo Ulta-Torque, and many other external bearing crankset bottom brackets.
 

How do I measure the torque?

Can I use this tool to measure the torque (maybe combining it with another tool)?

If not, do you have any recomendations?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
you need to use the socket type to torque it up with a torque wrench, I usually tighten by hand then tap the wrench with a mallet, not had any issues so far, and fitted loads
7 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich
 
 Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
The BBT-9 is used to remove and install Shimano® Hollowtech II, Campagnolo Ulta-Torque, and many other external bearing crankset bottom brackets.
 

Will this work with an SRAM Rival crankset/Bottom Bracket?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes it will
7 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich
 
 Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
The BBT-9 is used to remove and install Shimano® Hollowtech II, Campagnolo Ulta-Torque, and many other external bearing crankset bottom brackets.
 

Black object at handle end

Is the handle end equivalent to product 5360009204 Shimano Crank Installation Tool for HollowTech II or will I need to buy this separately?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes it is
7 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich
 
 Altura Explore Expanding Seatpack
Altura Explore Expanding Seatpack
The Altura Explore Expanding Seatpack this light and reflective seat pack is capable of expansion to hold extra kit at short notice. A great addition to any ride.
 

What can you fit inside?

Hi.
I'm wondering how much stuff you can fit inside. Can you fit a dhb ladies Minima S jacket with a multi tool, spare tube, levers, patches and food?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Not sure you would fit the food in as well, I carry levers, 2 tubes, multitool and can usually put my jacket in if I need to
9 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich
 
 Continental Ultra Gatorskin City MTB Tyre
Continental Ultra Gatorskin City MTB Tyre
Highly puncture resistant training/commuting tyre with unique grippy winter compound tread.
 

What wheelset do you sell that these fit?

Hi,

Have just upgraded from my creaky 1999 Specialised and now thinking of converting it to a winter road/commute bike. These tyres look lovely to do this, but I'm struggling to figure out what wheelsets you sell that would fit these tyres. Any product recommendations?

Looking for a wheelset <£200 for a v-brake set-up.

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i'm guessing they are 26" wheels I used 26 x 1.25" gaitorskins and they were ace until I built my commuter bike which runs 700c x 25c tyres
10 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich
 
 Continental Ultra Gatorskin City MTB Tyre
Continental Ultra Gatorskin City MTB Tyre
Highly puncture resistant training/commuting tyre with unique grippy winter compound tread.
 

Will these tires fit DT-Swiss 445D, 26 inch, alloy double wall disc, pin joint, eyelets, 28 hole front, 32 hole rear

MY bike is a Specialized Rockhopper SL Pro 2010 Mountain Bike
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I would think so but they will be a much smaller dia I went with 1.25 width to get max speed /lowest risistance,(with rim brakes) my friend who has disks went to a 700c wheel with disk mounts and a 28c section, I use 25c on my700c commuter these days !!
10 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich
 
 SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

11-25 casette 53-39 chainset

Will this cassette 11-25 work with an SRAM rival short cage rear mech and a FSA gossamer 53-39 chainset.

Thanks for your help
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i would think so
10 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich
 
 Shimano Tiagra 4600 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano Tiagra 4600 10 Speed Cassette
High quality 10-speed cassette with hyperglide sprockets that have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Can I replace a 8 speed cassette for a 4600 10 speed cassette on my mountain bike

I have a 10yr old Giant mountain bike that currently has a 8 speed cassette. I have a brand new 10 speed Shimano CN 5701 chain never been used. I have been told that I can change my current 8 speed cassette (which is warn out) with the Tiagra 4600 10 speed cassette that will be compatible with the CN 5701 chain. Is this correct?

If this is correct what tools would you recommend that I need to remove the current cassette with?

Any advice you can provide will be most welcome.

Regards...............Kevin
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It won't fit, the spacing is different between the cogs
10 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich
 
 Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
Park Tools Hollowtech II BB And Crank Arm Tool
The BBT-9 is used to remove and install Shimano® Hollowtech II, Campagnolo Ulta-Torque, and many other external bearing crankset bottom brackets.
 

Will this tool remove a FSA MegaExo BB?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes, i have one of these BB on my Ribble cycle
11 months ago
by
GSeward
Nantwich