BionicHips
Share BionicHips's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BionicHips's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review
    29 September 2009
  • Last Review
    19 January 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    20 July 2010
  • Last Question
    25 April 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    15 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    10 December 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
BionicHips's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Original UA Boxerjock® stretches, recovers, stays put, wicks sweat, keeps you cool, and kills odors. Typical UA—even our underwear overachieves.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good sports trunk - on the large side
Posted19 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Good fabric, quality construction, comfortable slightly wider than usual waist band.
Went for the usual medium for u/wear as trunks are generally on the tight side in the waistband. Too big this time (just) so the sizing appears to be spot-on to slightly big."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Created for use against the blazing heat of Italy and France's peak temperatures, this bib short uses 7 different fabrics to make them as cool as possible without compromising performance. Incorporated titanium dioxide reflects sun rays.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent hot summer bibs
Posted09 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Castelli are always a small fit and I always buy up one size from S to M. Initial thoughts on putting these on were that this was even tighter again. However once sitting on the bike and out in the heat I was not troubled at all by the cut. It's a true race cut i.e. if you stand up straight they will not fit correctly at all.
These bibs have different fabrics on each part and so are very functional, and very comfortable indeed. Being so thin and light in places, yes they can be fairly see through on the side. The colour is a sublimated print on white fabric, so as usual with this combination any stretch points tend to show the white of the fabric. This is particularly so on the seams across the front - which is why I marked these down for their appearance.
The appearance of the sublimated fabric and the price are cons, but otherwise a top quality product."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 DeFeet Mondo Peleton-Charcoal Wool Socks
DeFeet Mondo Peleton-Charcoal Wool Socks
High cuff socks featuring a soft merino wool/nylon fabric construction. Featuring Aireator® for cooling airflow and moisture transfer in hot weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Street sox but still good
Posted24 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
""Peleton" is DeFeet code for street sox, and these are thicker and not constructed as sport sox.
That said, they are well made and have a long soft grip section to keep them up.
This style has mini cyclists embroidered onto it, although you'd have to be told that to work it out. Really they look like grey and coloured spots. Another pair to wear to work, not on the bike."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hot Peak 60 Cap - SS13
Hot Peak 60 Cap - SS13
Running cap featuring breathable stretch mesh, fast wicking, quick drying microfibre with UV resistance, anatomical fit and simple velcro fastening.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very light, great fit
Posted10 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a great summer weight cap. Very light fabric, big visor, and the slim internal sweatband makes it comfortable across the forehead.
The fit is just a little shallow, so if you want a cap that pulls right down on your head you might look elsewhere.
I ordered the white cap which showed a black underside to the visor (hoping this would be good to reduce glare) however the cap supplied was white underneath. Wiggle says all their stock is this way."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: not the colour i expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Inov-8 Prosoc 22 Twinpack - SS13
Inov-8 Prosoc 22 Twinpack - SS13
Anatomically designed training and winter racing sock. Developed and tested to provide the ultimate in off-road running comfort and performance. Fast wicking, quick drying Coolmax® with padded areas giving extra cushioning and protection for long distance running and walking.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Socks. Good socks.
Posted02 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Yep they're just socks.
However the toe seam is totally flat, which puts them ahead of many. Nice use of variable thickness makes them very comfy indeed. Seem to be reasonably quick drying as well.
The yellow pair is a bit fluoro, but most of the really bright colours will be hiding inside the shoe."
Pros: Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
These Ultegra brake blocks will also fit 105/RX100/Exage.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not Ultegra
Posted15 May 2012
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Only when I received these brake shoes and went back to the reviews did I realise that these are not Ultegra brake pads.
The pads supplied were BR-6403 (which is part serial number Y83G98070). They do fit Ultegra but are not the part Shimano specify. They are plastic not metal, and do not have a toe-in adjustment screw.
I'm sure they will do as a replacement, but they are not the real deal.
Now I've done the research I can share it. Genuine Ultegra replacement brake shoes all start with R55C then it depends which series of Ultegra you are running if you want to match them exactly (e.g. R55C2 for 6600 series).
Sorry Wiggle, you rarely misdescibe things but you have on this one."
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable, Low Quality
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
Performance lycra cycling shorts for summer days out on the saddle. Featuring cool mesh bibs and a ProGel Seatpad for cushioning and comfort on long endurance training rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value training knicks
Posted11 October 2011
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good quality lycra and finish. The cut gives medium compression on the legs.
Very good fit, although the front is cut fairly high for my liking and I start to feel the edge pressing on me.
The gel pad is certainly comfortable, more so than my Castellis over a 60km ride. The material surrounding the pad is quite wide. My guess is that it might chafe if used over longer rides than that.
Reflective decals on the legs are falling off after 3 washes which is a pity.
Don't let this put you off buying though. These are middle of the range knicks and will look good and be comfortable for shorter rides. You can pay a lot more for this quality finish.
I'm 5'10", slim build, long legs and the medium was a good fit."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
Cons: reflective patches fall off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mini Front Light
Mini Front Light
It may look like other lights out there, but it doesn't cost as much and does the same thing so why would you choose another? The ultimate solution to emergency lighting!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap and good
Posted14 September 2011
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Standard compact light, weighs nothing, elastic loop holds it tight and doesn't move if you hit a bump or hole. It is on the bright side :) for a compact light. One side has a rubberised concave section so it sits well on bars, stays or forks."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 GT-2150 (2E) Wide Fit Shoes
GT-2150 (2E) Wide Fit Shoes
When we build the next model in the 2000 series it must ride like its predecessor. This is so important and ensures the consumer gets that no fuss brilliant performance 2000 wearers have come to expect. The GT-2150 delivers great stability for slight to moderate over-pronation issues. The ride is ...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
a reliable performer
Posted30 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My second pair of these but with the advantage of Wiggle's price. They are comfortable from the start and stay that way. Very good support, light for what they are and the looks are fine. My first pair wore out in the heel sock, but I do this to many shoes and expect it will happen to this pair too. If you need a bit of support when running/walking these will do you very well."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Response Stability 2 Shoes SS10
Response Stability 2 Shoes SS10
A great value versatile shoe built on a wider last, New open mesh upper with updated 2d formotion unit that adapts to dynamic heel strikes, Second density midsole support provides stability , Offers very smooth transitions into a soft cushioned forefoot with adidas torsion to provide midfoot integrity
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Just the basics (I prefer ASICS)
Posted12 October 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
BionicHips
fromMelbourne AU
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these as a cheap spare pair. The first thing I thought when I put them on was that I should have stuck with ASICS. These shoes are ok but they are not as well made or as comfortable as an ASICS stability shoe (which tends to be very good straight from the box). They also look surprisingly similar. That said, they met my expectations."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
 
Products related to my review
GT-2150 (2E) Wide Fit Shoes
4.9 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BionicHips's Questions
 
 Flyroc 310 Shoes AW12
Flyroc 310 Shoes AW12
High performance lightweight Trail and Adventure racing shoe with high levels of comfort, breathability and performance. Ideal for off-road and mixed terrain use with good grip in grass and muddy conditions.
 

Size compared to ASICS

I take a UK 8 in ASICS stability running shoes, and usually an EU 42.5. What size would be best for this brand?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
BionicHips
Melbourne AU
 
 111 105 2011
111 105 2011
Francesco Moser - whose name adorns this beautiful bike - was a phenomenally successful Italian road rider during the 70's and 80's and notched up countless victories and records in his pursuit of cycling's highest achievements. While known as a classic's and time-trial specialist (winning Paris-Roubaix no less than three times in succession and featuring on the podium a further four) he also won the Giro d'Italia in 1984, took the UCI Road Title in 1977 and broke Eddy Mercx's world hour record in 1984. Francesco's dedication to cycling is clear and the bikes that now bear his name embody his example - capturing his flair, passion and committment in models like the 111. Featuring a beautifully realized carbon frame with true racing geometry worthy of it's namesake and a mix of top drawer Shimano 105 and Miche kit the Moser 111 is no anonomous big brand bike. While providing all the performance you'd expect at a very attractive price the Moser offers something else - stand-out looks and a little piece of Italian heritage to inspire you to your own victories too.
 

More cassette and chainset specs please

What range of sprockets in the cassette (e.g. 12-25)?
What size are the chainrings (e.g. 50/34)?
3 years, 5 months ago
by
BionicHips
Melbourne AU
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

What size do I buy for slim build?

What size do I buy for slim build i.e.
height 178cm
waist 80cm
weight 60kg (yes 60)?
4 years, 1 month ago
by
BionicHips
 
BionicHips's Answers
 
 Hot Peak 60 Cap - SS13
Hot Peak 60 Cap - SS13
Running cap featuring breathable stretch mesh, fast wicking, quick drying microfibre with UV resistance, anatomical fit and simple velcro fastening.
 

Hot Peak 60 Cap Size

Can anyone define medium & large for this item?
Best answer
M is 51-57cm around your head. L is 58-64 cm.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
BionicHips
Melbourne AU
 
These ergonomic socks are the essential addition to your Gel Kayano shoes - excellent fit and shock absorption.
 

Can you tell me which size I require?

Hi Wiggle Team,

I just purchased a pair of Asics Gel Kayano 18 ( 2E Width ) Size:
UK 10 mens runners. I want to buy the Asics Kayano Socks but
don't know the correct size for my shoe size. Can you help me out.

Cheers.
I take a UK 8 in ASICS (2E width) but found the previous design medium size Kayano sock a bit small. I suggest you go up a size, probably XL.
2 years ago
by
BionicHips
Melbourne AU
 
 Inov-8 Prosoc 22 Twinpack - SS13
Inov-8 Prosoc 22 Twinpack - SS13
Anatomically designed training and winter racing sock. Developed and tested to provide the ultimate in off-road running comfort and performance. Fast wicking, quick drying Coolmax® with padded areas giving extra cushioning and protection for long distance running and walking.
 

How many are in a package?

How many socks or pairs are in a package??? two or four pairs?????
and in this item (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/es/inov-8-elitesoc-18-twinpack) is the same????
Two pairs = four individual socks.

I received one black/red pair, one black/yellow pair.
2 years ago
by
BionicHips
Melbourne AU
 
These Ultegra brake blocks will also fit 105/RX100/Exage.
 

Will they fit shimano 600?

also are the shoes made out of metal or plastic? thanks
Best answer
They will fit Ultegra 6600, not sure about 600. They are plastic. The Shimano technical sheet is at http://techdocs.shimano.com/media/techdocs/content/cycle/EV/service/EV-BR_SHOE-Road-1326N_v1_m56577569830698525.pdf
2 years, 4 months ago
by
BionicHips
Melbourne AU