GingaNinga
Share GingaNinga's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GingaNinga's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    10 September 2009
  • Last Review
    08 March 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    27 March 2012
  • Last Question
    27 March 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    19 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    08 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
GingaNinga's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Jacket
Posted08 March 2012
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I use this for commuting about 10m and so far have been perfectly comfortable (with the right layers) on in 0deg on one day and 10 deg with driving rain on the next, i arrived dry & comfortable. The material is excellent. The mesh lining helps to keep it off you're skin incase you do manage to work up a proper sweat, there are also som well placed & thought out vent overlaps that help along with the pit-zips.
There are 2 pockets internally (one of which is zipped) which is really handy for stashing a phone ot couple of quid for a coffee while you're out.
The arms are a bit loose so would not be good for any kind of race even, but there are plety of others more suited to that purpose.
The body length is a bit short but once you're up & riding you dont notice too much I'm 5'11 15st and this fits great around the body. for the really wet days i use the OMMs as well as they are also excellent
DHB are always great value and i've yet to be dissapointed with any of their stuff. Some people complain about the lack of choice of colours but i like the ones that are available.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: slightly short in the body
 
Products related to my review
Kamleika Race Pant AW12
4.3 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Versatile SPD touring shoes, equally at home on a hike or on the bike. Featuring a breathable, waterproof Gore-tex membrane and grippy Vibram sole to help experience the countryside in comfort and security in any weather condition.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted14 February 2012
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I got these after my last pair of Shimano shoes finally gave up after a LOT of use.
My main reason for getting these was that they were gore-tex lined and to keep my feet dry & therefore warm on my ride to work. They do both very well. I've been rained on in close to 0degrees and my feet have remained comfy.
Not the lightest of shoe but the comfort that comes from being warm & dry more than makes up for it
I normally wear a 43 but have gone for a 44 to allow for a thicker pair of winter socks and this works very well"
Pros: Comfortable, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Air Backpack 2 Core
Air Backpack 2 Core
Designed for cyclists, this revolutionary cycling specific backpack uses pressurized air to fine-tune personal comfort and fit. Comes complete with Hydro and Gear Core's.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Toppedak Top Pack!
Posted14 February 2012
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"First & foremost this is a great cycling back pack.
It is comfy, easy to adjust & big enough to carry my lunch & a change of gear for my commute to work.
I have ditched the rain-cover housed in the bottom of the bag (as i use a lightweight waterproof bag inside) & now store my waterproof jacket in the storage compartment.
The "core" section inside the bag is very handy for organising keys, wallet etc and the hydration pouch is a good size for an hour or so ride (you'll need to run a couple of fills of water through it to lose the funny taste)
The Air filled ribs are a nice comfy change from the traditional framed rucksacks that can dig in a bit. Easy to adjust and once they're sorted they've stayed inflated.
The side pockets are very handy with room for additional bottles or food if you're out for a longer ride.
My only real con is that the netting that comes out of the lower zip pocket is too small to fit over my helmet when i'm off the bike but as i only use this pack for my daily commute and dont need to carry my helmet once i'm off the bike it's not too much of an iissue."
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: helmet net is too small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Unifying seamlessly advanced design technology and materials, the RYDON blends cutting-edge ergonomic features with advanced materials (Carbon, Aluminum, Magnesium, Silicium and Titanium) to create a lightweight, versatile, high performance sunglass.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Puts others in the shade
Posted09 August 2011
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having been an Oakley fan for many years now, I decided to try something else. Rudy Project has always been a name that I’ve known so after reading the reviews on here I went for the Blue Multi-laser lenses. They arrived in an amazing case that is a work of art on its own, with compartments for additional lenses. (I’ve already brought a set of High Altitude lenses as I’m off to Nepal trekking for a month) The glasses themselves are superbly light; you barely notice you are wearing them other than not needing to squint! They stay in place really well without clamping onto you head. They don’t steam up even on cool UK “summer” mornings. All in all a great purchase."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit, interchangeable lenses
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hi-Vis Waterproof Socks
Hi-Vis Waterproof Socks
SealSkinz Hi-Vis features a yellow cuff for added safety. Using a Coolmax® lining it is ideal for use with lighter weight footwear or by cyclists wearing SPD shoes. Ankle length.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted14 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Feel a bit odd when you first put them on but once you have you bike shoes on they are very comfortable and by keeping your feet dry you feel warmer as well. I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one who put them on & then dipped you toes into a bath to see just how waterproof they actually are. And i was very surprise, my feet came out dry!! They're never gonna win any style awards & i'm not sure if the "high vis yellow cuff" is even higher that average vis but who cares when you have warm DRY feet on a wet british evening or weekend?!"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Stella 300 Front Light
Stella 300 Front Light
Named after the Latin word for star; Stella Ni-MH is a super bright, high output LED lighting system that is twice as bright as comparable LED systems Custom engineered reflector provides an optimised beam pattern which gives a broad coverage and long line-of-sight; not just more light, but light where you want it most Reflectors are the best way to control beam pattern, whereas lenses filter light and can dramatically reduce output Machined fins for maximum cooling
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Let there be light
Posted11 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Let there be light: and there was light. And the motorist saw the light, and it was good cos he thought I was a car coming the other way!
This little light is brilliant (no pun intended) it securely & easily mounts on the bars with no wobble as you ride over uneven surfaces. The cable is long enough to mount the battery pack pretty much anywhere on my bike & i tend to put it in my saddle pouch.
The output from this tiny unit is truly amazing and easily lights up my commute along dark B-roads, the only thing you have to be careful to make sure that it's not pointing directly at oncomming traffic as it WILL blind them!
Burn time is spot of so far (1 charge for me last about a week of commute, about an hour total per day) and charging is pretty quick too, about 3.5 hours, so under the 4 hours stated by the manufacturers.
All in all a great product especially as i got it during the 20% off lighing offer around Chrimbo but even still it is well worth the money at the regular price as it is still cheaper than many other lights.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Jersey
A super light, slim garment with integrated wind protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted05 January 2011
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I'm 6ft & have a 44inch chest so I went for the XXL and body length & fit is spot on, arms could be called a bit long but I'd rather have it that way than cold wrists!
Wind-proofness(?) is good and breathability is good too, however, I would recommend a warm or thermal top on underneath in temps less than 5 degrees.
All in all a great value top that will defo be getting plenty of use this year!
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A world class pedal manufacturer who makes products for many of the more fashionable names.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does what it says in the box...
Posted19 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good value basic pedals that are an easy upgrade from the usually pretty ropey standard fit pedals. cant go wrong for the price for a commuter pedal, no need to spend, in some cases, more than 3 x the price!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A4 sheet of black scotchlite, black in colour but reflects as white in the dark.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Be safe. Be seen...
Posted19 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"... thats what they used to tell us at school and I still stick by it. I bought the A4 sheet of the Black Diamond Sticker reflective at the same time as i got the black & white themed Felt Brougham fixie and witht the frame being black it means that i've got stealth reflective patches stuck in strategic places around the bike, including a few bits on the black spokes on the front wheel & black rim on the rear wheel, that you dont notice during normal daylight hours but they come to life when they catch car headlights. It's very sticky & easy to shape, the only difficult choice is what shapes to make & where to put them!!
Will be using some bits on anything else black that I've got.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Brougham 2010
Brougham 2010
Equal parts style and substance, the Brougham is Felt’s sleek new way to get around town.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Get on it & ride...Simples!!
Posted19 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GingaNinga
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I chose this as my first Fixie down to 2 factors, the first was the reviews on here, and have not been dissapointed. the second factor was the monochrome colour scheme, it looks even better in real life than on the pictures.
My only concern is that the tyres are not great, but will keep them on for a while & then probably add the black & white Schwalbe Lugano to keep the colour scheme going.
It's fast, easy to ride, perfect for my 5 miles into work or a quick dive to the shops for that emergency pint of milk & pasty. It's a quick responsive ride as well which i was pleasantly surprised with after my first few outings as i whipped past lines of traffic.
After reading the reviews I immediately swapped the pedals out for a set of the Wellgo LU 950 Alloy Flat Pedals which are a great value, no frills set of pedals.
All in all a great value, easy to ride no fuss bike."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, perfect commuter, colour scheme
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GingaNinga's Questions
 
 Apex White 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Apex White 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
SRAM again raises the bar on Rear Derailleur performance with the new Exact Actuation Apex White rear derailleur.
 

10spd mid cage mech on a 9spd cassette

Can the Apex 10spd mid cage mech be used on shimano 9spd cassette?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
GingaNinga
Hampshire
 
GingaNinga's Answers
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Is this jacket fully windproof?

I know some waterproof jackets are not necessarily windproof, which is something i need.
Best answer
AJ, Ive ridden this jacket in a good breezy 0 degs with just a base layer on underneath and been perfectly comfortable. There are a couple of vent flaps but that just helps to regulate your own temperature
Hope my answer helps
Happy riding
2 years, 7 months ago
by
GingaNinga
Hampshire
 
A4 sheet of black scotchlite, black in colour but reflects as white in the dark.
 

Is this just on a sheet or is it pre cut designs?

It's an A4 sheet that is easily cut & stuck anywhere you watn
4 years ago
by
GingaNinga
Hampshire