MadKeenBiker
Share MadKeenBiker's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MadKeenBiker's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    16
  • First Review
    13 September 2009
  • Last Review
    12 February 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    3
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    06 May 2016
  • Last Review Comment
    06 May 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    23 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    26 October 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MadKeenBiker's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The fattest version in the Race Rocket series. An all aluminium mountain pump gets big volume tyres up to pressure fast.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Let me down when I needed it most..
Posted12 February 2017
User submitted photo
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I'd had this in my pack for a year or so and only used it once on a friends bike. Then one fateful evening, I suffered a fairly catastrophic rail tyre blow out heading over a rock garden. I fixed the tear with a boot patch and got the tubeless tyre back on with a Co2 canister but needed to then top it up to a rideable point with the pump. Try as I might, I couldn't get the pump to seal on the valve and then couldn't get the pump back off. When I did eventually separate the two, the pump took the valve inner with it. Cue a very long walk back down the hill. Most disappointing!"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, compact
Cons: broke and took the valve with it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight and functional, the Crank Brothers 17 Function Multi Tool will help get you though a wide variety of trail-side repairs.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Effective but heavy
Posted14 April 2016
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a great tool. Very sturdy. ...but my god it's heavy!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Bulky, heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
One Word: Perfect
Posted26 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've had this mounted vertically on my bike for ~1.5 years now and it's still going strong. I've probably only changed the batteries 3-4 times since I've had it and have been thoroughly impressed.
I don't know why people are whining about the strip poking out. Just cut off the excess once it's adjusted and you're good to go.
I ride some pretty rough terrain (off-road / single track sections across the Malvern Hills) and it's always held on. Maybe it's just when it's mounted horizontally you have problems?
It's incredibly bright and has a range of patterns. I generally stick on the same slightly-random-flicking-up-and-down mode (it really is called that - honest!).
Seriously though , I can't recommend this light enough. Don't even hesitate; go buy one now :-)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 HL-EL610 LED Single Shot Plus Front Light
HL-EL610 LED Single Shot Plus Front Light
The new HL-EL610 is tough, powerful, rechargeable and affordable. 2 one-watt LEDs, combined with the new ROL™ (Reverse Offset Lens), emit the greatest total candlepower in the class - and every lumen is focused exactly where you need it.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Incredible value for money
Posted26 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've been using one of these along with a TL-LD610 on the back for about 1.5 years now and it's still going strong. I ride a mixture of roads, muddy trails and some of the milder routes across the Malvern Hills in the UK.. ...and this combined with a decent head torch for the sharper corners has worked brilliantly!
Batteries seem to last a week of cycling for ~ 7 hours with a mixture of the flashing mode and full brightness (depending on how much light I actually need). The charger's reasonably quick although I tend to leave it on charge once a week or so for an evening just to be sure I'm not left stranded.
The silver casing has cracked slightly (I dropped it after about a month) but the light still works well. These days I don't even bother taking it off when I turn the bike upside down to remove wheels / fix punctures etc. because it laps up the punishment!
Can't recommend these things highly enough :-)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Now available in a choice of three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic value for money
Posted23 June 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Had these for a while and just about to buy another pair. Fit is very snug and I have quite a big head so often glasses are uncomfortably small.
Didn't have any problems with them steaming up even though the winter months ....as long as your moving that is ;-)
I had a nasty tumble a while back and scratched the lens right in front of my eye - disappointing you can't get replacement lenses on their own, but I'd rather spend £15 than risk an eye!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 15 Function Multi Tool
15 Function Multi Tool
Compact multi-tool that's perfect for taking with you on every ride.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A little short
Posted13 September 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"An excellent range of tools which work very well in most cases.
I've found a few areas around the rear derailier which are tricky to get to with the rather short stubs on the tool (it's seems shorter in reality compared to the photo on the site)."
Pros: Rugged
Cons: a little short for fiddly work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Alloy Bottle Cage
LifeLine Alloy Bottle Cage
A simple and strong, classic designed bottle cage constructed from alloy.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No need to be cagey about this one
Posted13 September 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Nice strong construction and holds a decent sized waterbottle without worries of it falling out. An excellent addition to any thirsty bikers rig!
The screws seemed a little tricky to fit, but I think that was down to a badly tapped frame rather than the cage itself."
Pros: Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 M1 MTB Shoes
M1 MTB Shoes
The dhb M1 shoe is designed for the recreational mountain biker who likes the simplicity of a three strap shoe.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pretty good!
Posted13 September 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Definitely a good choice. These were my first clip-in shoes and they definitely do a good job.
I've been using them for ~1 month and the only slight problem is that it's easy to do them up a little tight and not reaslise until you set off. Once they're on right they're fantastic though - comfortable (I'm a UK size 8 and the 43's are a good fit for me) and they look pretty good too."
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: easy to overtighten
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Graphic Stripe Crew L/S Base Layer AW08
Graphic Stripe Crew L/S Base Layer AW08
The original technical base layer gets a fashion infusion with a hot camo print.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Noice!
Posted13 September 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"This is my second of these HH's and I'm every bit as impressed with the new one as I was with the first.
The fit is fantastic and it does an excellent job of wicking sweat away from your body ..not to mention looking pretty awesome! Just be careful though; with all that camouflage, be careful falling off or your mates following will ride straight over you ;-)"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Singletrack Baggy Shorts
Singletrack Baggy Shorts
Endura's top of the range, fully featured, durable baggy short
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
EEEeeexcellent
Posted13 September 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MadKeenBiker
fromGreat Malvern, England
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"I've had these about a month now and am thoroughly impressed all round. Definitely ordering a second pair in the near future.
The fit is very comfortable and having vents over your thighs is excellent when you get to a downhill section to cool off. They're shorter than they seemed in the photo one the website, but I've got pretty short legs anyway, so not a problem for me.
I've not had any issues with clips etc. that other reviewers have mentioned - all of them seem to stay done up without fail.
Highly recommended."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: slightly short on the leg
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MadKeenBiker's Questions
 
MadKeenBiker has not submitted any questions.
 
MadKeenBiker's Answers
 
 HL-EL610 LED Single Shot Plus Front Light
HL-EL610 LED Single Shot Plus Front Light
The new HL-EL610 is tough, powerful, rechargeable and affordable. 2 one-watt LEDs, combined with the new ROL™ (Reverse Offset Lens), emit the greatest total candlepower in the class - and every lumen is focused exactly where you need it.
 

Replacement batteries for EL610 Single Shot Plus?

What battery should I purchase to replace that in a Cateye EL610 Single Shot Plus front light (headlight).
You shouldn't need one; the battery is integrated, the unit comes with a charger and mine's been going strong for ~1.5 years and counting!
7 years ago
by
MadKeenBiker
Great Malvern, England
 
Now available in a choice of three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 

Lense Advice

Hi there,

Would you recommend the orange or clear lenses for night riding?

Many thanks,
Nick
I found them good in low-light conditions (dusk), but for night time I'd say go for the clear ones.
7 years, 4 months ago
by
MadKeenBiker
Great Malvern, England