Malaconotus
Share Malaconotus's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Malaconotus's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    01 February 2011
  • Last Review
    01 February 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    20 December 2010
  • Last Question
    20 December 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    05 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    30 April 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Malaconotus's Reviews
 
 Camper Longflap Saddle Bag
Camper Longflap Saddle Bag
Hi-viz reflective triangle LED mounting strap Long flap allows bulky items to be carried under the lid Double seams for extra strength Made from heavy duty proofed black cotton duck Attaches to saddle bag loops, saddlebag quick release or clamp via leather straps and buckles Two external pockets Lea...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A perfect classic
Posted01 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Malaconotus
fromLeeds
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Hand-made in England and an absolute design classic I wish there were more products as good at what they do as Carradice's saddle bags are. It is clearly built to last a very long time indeed and does an outstanding job of carrying loads large and small with minimal effect on bike handling. The long flap design allows the bag to expand to carry more and tents or sleeping bags etc can be strapped on to the top to carry yet more still. The straps are perhaps a little fiddly, but they will last longer than any zip or plastic buckle.
I use it with the SQR system which is very handy, although off the bike it is not hugely easy to carry so I have improvised both a soft-carry luggage handle and removable shoulder strap.
Why anyone wears a rucksack when cycling is a mystery to me. This is what you need.
i liked it so much I bought another one, a much smaller Pendle bag for when I know I won't need to carry a lot but I can carry anything I really need."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SQR Saddle Bag Uplift System
SQR Saddle Bag Uplift System
Ideal for all types of bikes: audax, tourer, MTB, folder, racer etc.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Quality product and very useful
Posted01 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Malaconotus
fromLeeds
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"You'll need a good fist of seatpost spare to use this, and you may not be able to have your saddle all the way back on the rails once fitted, but those are the only issues with this excellent piece of kit.
Very highly recommended in conjunction with any of Carradice's saddle bags. I have both the pendle and the camper longflap. Why anyone commuted with a rucksack when a saddlebag is so much easier to carry I have no idea. You hardly know it's there."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
When you need to be sure of your footing when setting off, the Lambda will be there for you every time.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Too slippy
Posted01 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Malaconotus
fromLeeds
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought these to use in the cold and snow when SPD cleats act as heatsinks and make your feet freeze. I wanted quality, large, supportive pedals to use with walking boots, and these fit the bill in all those regards, but they offered virtually no grip whatsoever.
They may grip softer soled shows slightly better, but I could not recommend these at all and I have subsequently ordered and used BMX platform pedals with studs, which provide the essential grip."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, large
Cons: no grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Amazing low priced SPD pedal for all round use including tough freeride and off-road use
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Introductory SPD Pedals
Posted01 February 2011
Malaconotus
fromLeeds
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've been very pleased with these, my first pair of SPDs, which have given me good service for a little over a thousand miles before I experienced the end cap problem that several others report. I was pleased and surprised to discover that although Wiggle do not sell the spare parts, they can be obtained elsewhere. Importantly, there is no need to bin these if you have a problem with the cage assembly, as I see others have done.
The outer cage does not make these as suitable as platform pedals for riding without cleats, but it is perfectly adequate for popping to the shops in regular shoes. If you're covering any serious distance, or using them offroad, you will want to be wearing your cleats and clipping in. The cage also seems to provide a little more support for the foot, and to be more comfortable than the pure egg-beater style without a cage.
Disappointingly, they do not include the SM-PD40 reflectors, which are not available in the UK, and I was keen to have reflectors when riding on the road if only to prevent victim-blaming in the event of a traffic incident. I managed to secure some from Germany but it was at some expense."
Pros: Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Malaconotus's Questions
 
Amazing low priced SPD pedal for all round use including tough freeride and off-road use
 

Do these come with reflectors?

The shimano website specifies the SM-PD40 reflector set, which does not appear to be available separately?... http://www.shimano.com.au/media/techdocs/content/cycle/SI/Pedals/SM-PD40/SI-PD40C-ENG_v1_m56577569830606548.pdf
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Malaconotus
Leeds
 
Malaconotus's Answers
 
 TL-AU100 BS LED Rear Light
TL-AU100 BS LED Rear Light
Wide angle lens ensures excellent integral British Standard reflector. Constant or flashing modes. Batteries included.
 

Does this light compatible with the Cateye rear rack light mount?

Yes, it has the same square shape profile to the connecting 'block' as all other Cateye rear lights so it will fit the carrier adaptor.

It does, however, not look as elegant as the other Cateye rear lights which can be mounted horizontally because the light itself is narrower than the carrier fitting.

So yes, it will do the job, but it looks, to me at least, just a little odd.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Malaconotus
Leeds
 
 TL-AU100 BS LED Rear Light
TL-AU100 BS LED Rear Light
Wide angle lens ensures excellent integral British Standard reflector. Constant or flashing modes. Batteries included.
 

Does this light have "belt loop" style clip? If not, is there a cateye that does. It's to fit on my underseat saddle pack

This light, like all cateye rear lights that have the square block type mount, uses the C1 belt clip linked below. This is ordered separately.

I use one with a TL-LD600 and it is OK, but with heavier lights I am not convinced the clip will be 100% secure. The light will always stay in the clip, but the clip could come off the belt loop off-raod for example. To an extent it depends on the belt loop itself. You might want to use a cable tie or rubber band for extra security, and leave the clip permanently attached to the belt loop.
 
Products from my answer
 
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Malaconotus
Leeds
 
 Camper Longflap Saddle Bag
Camper Longflap Saddle Bag
Hi-viz reflective triangle LED mounting strap Long flap allows bulky items to be carried under the lid Double seams for extra strength Made from heavy duty proofed black cotton duck Attaches to saddle bag loops, saddlebag quick release or clamp via leather straps and buckles Two external pockets Lea...
 

Does the bag have a shoulder strap?

Was wondering if the bag has a shoulder strap or similar for carrying the bag when not on the bike.
Best answer
It doesn't, but it is quite straightforward to attach your own to the wooden pole which provides the rigidity across the top of the bag . I've used an old camera tripod strap to do this.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Malaconotus
Leeds
 
Amazing low priced SPD pedal for all round use including tough freeride and off-road use
 

Are they double sided i.e. can you clip in on either side of the pedal

Yes, you can. Which is a big advantage.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Malaconotus
Leeds
 
 Klick Fix Quick Release Bracket
Klick Fix Quick Release Bracket
For bar bags and baskets.
 

Will the klickfix fit the ortlieb classic 5??

Will the ortlieb classic 5 fit on the klickfix mounting system.
Of the 2 which is deemed the better mounting system.
Ortlieb or klickfix??

fred
The Ortlieb Classic 5 does attach securely to the Rixen & Kaul Klickfix bracket. I double-checked this in a store a couple of days ago. While I have not tested it out riding, it appeared perfectly secure and I have seen comments on the CTC website confirming this.

The reverse is not true, and thus I would choose the versatility of the Klickfix mount rather than the proprietary Ortlieb system, since other bags and baskets can be attached without changing the bracket. I cannot comment on which system is better as I have only used Klickfix. Both work on exactly the same principle and Ortlieb are a quality manufacturer so their bracket should work at least as well.
4 years ago
by
Malaconotus
Leeds
 
 Klick Fix Quick Release Bracket
Klick Fix Quick Release Bracket
For bar bags and baskets.
 

Will this fitting accept a Carradice super C handlebar bag?

Both Altura and Carradice use the same klickfix attachment, made by Rixen & Kaul, so yes, it will be compatible.
4 years ago
by
Malaconotus
Leeds