kaputnik
Share kaputnik's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
kaputnik's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    23 May 2010
  • Last Review
    23 December 2010
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    04 January 2011
  • Last Question
    04 January 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    23 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    18 July 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
kaputnik's Reviews
 
A helmet band is highly recommended as a safety aid as the band is positioned high above both bike and body, making it visible from all directions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bold, bright, tough
Posted23 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kaputnik
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Not much more to say than this product works. It is very bold in design (I have the checkerboard) and lights up like a christmas tree in any lights. You will definitely be seen with this and as it's on your head it is visible from most angles and is at a good height to increase your chances of being seen.
Made from tough but flexible fabric."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit, bright
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for touring bikes
Posted23 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
kaputnik
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got 2 pairs of these pads to replace the stock Shimano and Aztec units that had failed when it came to stopping performance, wet weather performance, durability and break squeal.
I have been using these pads on a 13kg steel touring bike in the horrible conditions on our roads over the last month or so; grit, salt, water, snow, ice and slush. The stopping performance has been good and reliable and squeal has been minimal. Compared to the previous 2 sets of pads they are holding up well, which is impressive with the amount of abrassive detritus the bike is picking up off the road surface.
I'm very pleased that I bought these pads as they have given me the confidence to continue cycling in appalling conditions.
My only complaint is that the stock stack washers are flat and don't allow for much control of pad angle or toe. I used the concave/convex ones from the Shimano pads to achieve this."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, wet weather performance, quiet
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
it holds a Lezyne Road Drive pump!
Posted11 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kaputnik
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Alloy holder for the excellent Lezyne Road Drive pump. Solidly made - as I've come to expect of Lezyne - in shiny, attractive alloy with generous foam padding on the inside of the arms to prevent rattling. The strap holds it tight and prevents it dropping unexpectedly out of the holder.
Recommend threading the strap /before/ you fix the pump.
My only niggle is that they've put the Lezyne logo on the /inside/ of the strap where it can't be read and is therefore a bit pointless. Would make more sense for it to be printed on the other side.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: silly logo position
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Classic Floor Drive Track Pump 2011
Classic Floor Drive Track Pump 2011
Aluminium foot, steel piston and barrel with varnished wood handle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
love it, neve buying another track pump!
Posted18 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kaputnik
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After being re-assured by the man in my LBS that you couldn't buy a track pump with a threaded valve attachment, lo I found this in a lovely shade of red with a beech handle. Looks good and feels well built - which generally means it will work good. And it does. No more messing around trying to keep a grip-fit attachment on the valve only to see it pop off as it comes up to pressure or rip the neck of the valve - just screw the hose on and after about 15-20 strokes you'll have a 23C tyre up to 120psi and beyond. Happily took some tyres up to 145 psi just to see what it was like cycling on concrete! My only note of caution is that it's rather too good - as it's screwed in to the valve, the tyre will blow first before the valve attachment pops off..."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, practical, screw fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Road Drive Mini Pump 2011
Road Drive Mini Pump 2011
Replaces the traditional frame pump and gives 20% more pumping power than most common frame pumps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
seriously good
Posted18 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kaputnik
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What can I say this is a seriously brilliant piece of kit. Exceptionally well designed and built and with a performance to match. Will take a 23C tyre quickly and rather effortlessly (in comparison to previous pumps) to c. 120psi., the flexible hose and screw in fitting means no more damaged valves and no faffing around in the rain trying to keep the grip-fit on the valve. You can discard tyre inflaters if you take this along on a ride as it makes them surplus to requirements. It all folds away rather ingeniously too. I have it's matching big brother track pump now which is equally impressive."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, compact
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Highest quality cork tape for long life durability with maximum comfort. Used by top professionals, Bike Ribbon remains the original and still the best Italian-made handlebar tape of its kind.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great tape, only let down by the sealing strips
Posted23 May 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kaputnik
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great tape in nice colours. Plenty of shock absorbing properties and comfortable and spongy on your hands. Very easy to install and even on my first attempt at re-taping a bar I made a professional looking job (even if I say so myself!). My only complaint is the sticky strips that cover and are meant to seal the ends of the tape are useless - too small and not sticky enough, they peeled off within a day. Nothing a spot of black insulation tape couldn't fix though."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Poor Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust 60 TPI nylon casing, have a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great everyday / training tyres at this price
Posted23 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
kaputnik
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I ordered these based on other people's reviews and I'm not disappointed. These tyres are tough and attractive, in a great range of colours to suit any bike and taste. Yes they aren't the most puncture proof, or offer the lowest rolling resistance or aren't the lightest, but what do you expect for £11? I've covered hundreds of miles on these on both a road bike and single speed bike, in town and countryside and can't complain one bit. I've only picked up 1 puncture (and that was as a result of stupidly cycling over debris washed up onto a seaside promenade).
Great for commuting, training and just going out cycling. If you manage to destroy them then so what, they cost £11, just order some more and try a new colour!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lycra Overshoes
Lycra Overshoes
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Make your shoes match your kit
Posted23 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kaputnik
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These look great and make sure that your cycling shoes are kept out of the dirt, dust and sunshine and most importantly, match the colour of the rest of your kit (which is scientifically proven to make you go further and faster!)
I use these with Look Delta cleat road shoes size EUR43 and the fit is great. It doesn't look like they will make it over the shoe at first, but they stretch all the way. The hole for the cleat and the heel hold them on perfectly and keeps them off the road when you put your foot down at a stop. However I don't think they would make it over a larger shoe, like an MTB shoe or one with a proper sole for recessed cleats that you can walk in.Because the fabric is fine and the fit snug, they offered no resistance to the cleat binding. On a hot, sunny day I noticed no extra heat or sweatiness as a result of wearing these."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted23 May 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
kaputnik
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have had biblongs and bibless shorts, this was my first pair of bibshorts. I was impressed by how small a pack these came in; beyond the chamois there is a minimum of material that is lightweight, making them great for hot summer days. On the first ride the chamois seems both dense and shock-absorbing as well as reasonably comfortable.
I've previously had problems with bibs and the straps causing nipple chafing. On a hot sweaty day I'm pleased to say these didn't.
I'm 6'1" with a 32" waist and I fitted a medium. If you're any taller, buy large.
A great buy for the price and in my favourite shade of blue too.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
kaputnik's Questions
 
The DUO is made of two parts, and comes without a bow frame above the front wheel. The front fork needs to pass through, mid-point braze-ons as well as drop-out eyelets. Mounting of bags, and riding performance, are similar to the TARA. The DUO is particularly suitable for tandems or touring bikes f...
 

Is it 15kg capacity total or per side?

Specification states the maximum load as 15kg. Is that on each side or a total?
3 years, 3 months ago
by
kaputnik
Edinburgh
 
kaputnik's Answers
 
 Road Drive Mini Pump 2011
Road Drive Mini Pump 2011
Replaces the traditional frame pump and gives 20% more pumping power than most common frame pumps.
 

length and diameter of Lezyne Road Drive size M

hi
i would like to fix my pump to the underside of my bike but not sure if the Lezyne Road Drive size M would be too long and fat to fit here and may pretrude below the bottom bracket.

if i knew the length i could determine if it will fit.

hope you can help.

Rach
295mm x c. 19mm. It does fit nicely on the bottle cage braze-on attachment too if that helps
3 years, 8 months ago
by
kaputnik
Edinburgh
 
 Road Drive Mini Pump 2011
Road Drive Mini Pump 2011
Replaces the traditional frame pump and gives 20% more pumping power than most common frame pumps.
 

How long is the pump? is it suitable to store in a pocket or saddle bag?

the one attached to my bike frame is 295mm. I carry it in a messenger bag sometimes when I'm on a different bike.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
kaputnik
Edinburgh
 
 Road Drive Mini Pump 2011
Road Drive Mini Pump 2011
Replaces the traditional frame pump and gives 20% more pumping power than most common frame pumps.
 

Does this pump need threaded valves?

yes, it has a threaded rubber hose to attach it to the valve
3 years, 8 months ago
by
kaputnik
Edinburgh
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust 60 TPI nylon casing, have a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 

IS THE PRICE FOR TWO TYERS

No it is per tyre, but at this price you cant complain
3 years, 10 months ago
by
kaputnik
Edinburgh
 
 Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 

size I am 6ft 2 and 38-40 " waist what size should I go for ??

size I am 6ft 2 and 38-40 " waist what size should I go for ??
I'm 6'1 and 32" waist and cant get away with the mediums - but not if I was any taller or girthier. You will need at least the large.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
kaputnik
Edinburgh