KC
Top 1000 Contributor
Share KC's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
KC's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    22
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    21 September 2009
  • Last Review
    26 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    12 April 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    31 December 2011
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    25 January 2010
  • Last Question
    25 July 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    28 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    05 February 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
KC's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Compact, folding stand for storing or displaying bikes. A spring loaded arm holds front or rear wheel securely.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Roll in, roll out
Posted26 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"No assembly, no real messing to get the bike in just roll it in and roll it out. Minimal contact points and only contacts the tyre so no issues with scratching etc.
If the stand doesn't have traction on the floor, i.e. on tiles, use some double sided tape to give it that traction and the operation does not require you touching the stand.
Some have mentioned susceptibility to bumps but I have not had any issues, but considering the ease of getting the bike out, I wouldn't use it in a trafficked area. As for price, it is not cheap but it will last. A must if you want a 'lite' stand for your bike.
As for maintenance, I would not do any work on the bike whilst in this stand, it is not a substitute for a work stand. You can do a wipe down, but that's about it.
A quirk - you are not supposed to use this stand with deflated wheels. I have not tried and don't think it would slip, but a slow flat is not an uncommon event in cycling...."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Whether you're looking for ultralight race or full aero, Dura-Ace has the wheelset for you. These alloy/carbon C24 (11 speed) wheels are a great choice for any road machine wanting to display nothing but the best.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great wheels but not in true
Posted26 December 2013
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Shimano have a great history of putting out light wheels that are reasonably priced, low maintenance and have longevity.
You don't get the lightest or the fastest 11 spd wheelset but you do come close, and you will pay a lot less up front than the nearest rival, and you are unlikely to be getting them trued as oftern as those rivals.
That said, I was very disappointed that my rear need to be trued out of the box. I'll put that down to poor handling in the supply chain, but budget for an inital true when you are weighing up the options. (I've taken a star off for this)"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Middleburn Chainring Bolts
Middleburn Chainring Bolts
Middleburn chainring bolts are machined from solid 7075 T6 bar. As a result the heads and threads are extremely strong. We provide the bolts in a range of colours, perfect for adding the finishing touch to any chainset.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
4 when you need 5
Posted26 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I wanted these for an SE Lager Fixie....They work fine but I need 5 and there is only 4 in a pack..."
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Professional quality 330ml run bottle with fast flow pull nipple. Included in the bottle is the UK's leading electoylte sports drink tablet in a ten tube size plus a sachet of High5 Energygel a race proven real juice gel.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Under a buck for a throw away bottle
Posted15 August 2013
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I use High 5 tabs anyway but bought a few of these as the bottle cost is under a buck and they are great for the kids.
I wouldn't use these myself on the bike, but maybe I'll freeze recovery drinks in them to leave in the car on race days during the summer.
I don't know that these are BPA free but I'm not fussed as they are throw away in my view."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Dura-Ace 7900 C50 Carbon Clincher Rear Wheel
Dura-Ace 7900 C50 Carbon Clincher Rear Wheel
The WH7900 50mm carbon wheel earns the Dura-Ace pedigree and is designed to complement its 10-speed groupset meeting pro road race criteria.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Aero Wheels
Posted18 May 2012
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Not going to comment on performance; just a note to advise of the pack contents –
The wheel comes with
• Skewer
• A wheel bag.
• Valve extender
• O ring that goes over the tube value before screwing on the valve extender (Works – leak free)
• An aero magnet designed to fit on the bladed spokes (works with Garmin but use a touch of silicone to hold it in place)
Also, so that you are aware, the Topeak valve extenders do not fit through the hole in this rim."
Pros: Attractive, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergyBar is race proven, high in energy and low in fat (less than 2%) for fast carbohydrate absorption. Made from real fruit (58%) and wholesome grains (22%).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted31 December 2011
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"For the kJ's that the bar delivers, it's a nice slim bar and that makes it easy to carry a number of these.
Taste wise, I find that these are very bland and have a somewhat 'dry' taste, though they are easy to consume without washing down. The texture is smooth and the bar doesn't seem to soften much on a hot ride day (30+ Degrees, 4 + hour rides), so no sticky mess issues or issues sliding the bar out of the wrapper.
The issue with taste does not bother me as I'm eating them for the energy and it does mean that I'm not tempted to eat them as 'snacks' off the bike.
One thing common to most bars (including this one) is that they can be hard to open. It would be nice to see a manufacturer add some form of tear strip to allow the bar to be torn open with your teeth..."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: hard to open
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Worth the money
Posted16 November 2011
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have a 33 inch/84 cm waist and am 5'11 and the medium fits fine. The shorts are a heavier gauge material than the usual pro kits or the non race version, and this alone give them a more comfortable and (evenly) compressive fit.
The pad is also more substantive than the non-race version and that again adds a little to the comfort level.
In terms of quality and longevity, I’ve had these about 4 months and wear them about 3 times a week and the only thing I’ve noticed is that the little silicone grippers have yellowed slightly (always cold washed without spin – drip dry).
I have never tried Assos bib-shorts due to the crazy pricing, but I imagine that they are just like these only twice the price.
However, I’m only giving them 4 stars on the basis that there is the possibility that a pair of $400+ Assos would rate higher and therefore deserve 5 from me (Note to Wiggle - pls send Assos FOC for testing!)."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Okay
Posted15 November 2011
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"There is not too much to be said about these. Size wise the Medium fit fine, I'm a 33 inch /84 cm waist and there is no noticable pull on the bib straps (I'm 5.11).
All up, I can't say you'd notice the difference between these and the usual team kit...However, I would strongly suggest that you stump up a little extra and by the Pro Race version as they are much better...."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye TL-LD1100 LED Rear Light 2013
Cateye TL-LD1100 LED Rear Light 2013
No other led light offers the same level of all round visibility as the TL1100.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Big but bright
Posted07 June 2011
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The positives are that this is one of the brightest rear lights I’ve seen around, and the two independent rows of LED’s gives you good flexibility in terms of how bright you want to be. Now you can be seen by motorists but drop off a row when you are on the cycle paths so that you don’t blind following bikes.
Additionally, the LED on each side of the light is a nice touch that should be standard on all lights at this stage.
The negatives are, it’s big and I mean big. I normally use the TL-LD610 and this light is about the same as 3 or 4 of those put together. There is also the issue of placement; unlike a TL-LD610 which can be used in vertical or horizontal positions, the side LED’s on this mean that it is only designed to be used horizontally.
All up, the usual Cateye quality and is thankfully supplied with a couple of brackets (and a clip) that are NOT of the flex-tight variety.
I'm giving this 4 stars as it is a very good light and will ensure you're seen. You'll need to decide as to whether it suits your application / riding considering it's size."
Pros: bright, independent rows of led's, side led's
Cons: Expensive, Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Weight Lifting Glove with Wrist Wrap SS11
Weight Lifting Glove with Wrist Wrap SS11
Fitness-Mad wrist wrap gloves are highly supportive for heavy weightlifting. The 50mm wide heavy duty cotton wrist wrap helps stabilize wrists during lifts while the Palm, fingers and thumb feature a double layer of durable suede with a 5mm foam core that absorbs vibration and provides maximum prote...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent gloves
Posted12 April 2011
KC
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The suede palm / fingers with foam core is a strenght and weakness.
Most of my gloves have been leather doubled in these areas, so the suede with foam makes for a comfortable glove but does make it bulkier and not as durable. After 2 months of frequent use with freeweights you can see the wear on the palms.
Still, a comfortable glove with decent wrist support, though I'd like it a little bit more than the 50mm width."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
KC's Questions
 
The Scicon AeroComfort 2.0 Team Edition is the perfect solution for cyclists wishing to protect their bike while travelling; but find a hard case too impractical. Packed with features, this bag allows for the safe and secure transport of your bike.
 

Crush protection

What if any crush protection is there, particulary for the bars which would be the widest point?
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
The Tacx Genius VR Trainer with Video Reality & VR Software is a wireless trainer which uses an integrated motor brake unit and also has a max power rating of 1500 watts.
 

Repairs

A quick search of the web will tell you that there are a lot of issues with this product; from buggy software to hardware quality issues. The Tacx standard response seems to be to return faulty products to the dealer for repair / replacement. If I by one and a fuse goes or the brake fails after, say, 6 months, will Wiggle cover the cost of the return, or am I going to have to pay for this?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
Protective, lightweight and packable vest tailored to the needs of every hard-working cyclist. As an outer layer, this is the multifunctional piece cyclists can take with them on every ride.
 

White / Vivid yellow?

I only see white in the picture. What part is vivid yellow?

Do you have photos of the back, and is it mesh?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
 Five 2011 Road Shoes
Five 2011 Road Shoes
New for 2011, Sidi Five road shoes offer a strong set of features including a carbon composite sole and a micrometric caliper buckle. All with unbeatable Sidi styling.
 

Pricing

I asked about the 'strange' pricing the other day and it gets even stranger..... I got a price for the Sidi 5's in GBP for delivery to the UK of 184.49, but when I changed it to delivery to Australia, the price jumped to 202.42.

Today the Australian delivery price is 190, better than yesterday but still more than the UK and far more than the 173 the system quotes me if I ask for delivery to NZ. What is going on?
3 years, 5 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
 Hot Pack 4 Windproof Cycling Gilet
Hot Pack 4 Windproof Cycling Gilet
Minimum weight and minimum bulk: the Hot Pack 4 Windproof Cycling Gilet weighs less than and energy bar and is smaller than an apple.
 

Size / Fit

I normally take a medium in the standard pro tops for a good close fit . Would a medium in this Gilet be sufficent to go over a normal top or would the large be a better option without it flapping in the wind?
3 years, 6 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
The Aliante Carbon is the top-of-the-line saddle available in this shape. The carbon shell has Twin Flex™ ‘sweet spot’ at the centre and carbon braided rails make this a lighter and stiffer. The increased curvature (support)is ideally suited to Bulls.
 

Is this a 2009

This appears to be the old discountinued size; is it a 2009?

Do you not have 2010 or 2011 models?
3 years, 7 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
 Antares Carbon Saddle with K:IUM Rails 2011
Antares Carbon Saddle with K:IUM Rails 2011
A new design that is exceptionally comfortable, flexible and light.
 

Wider Sit Bones

I've an Arione and find it a painfull saddle to ride for extended periods. Basically it's too narrow for my sit bones so there's pressue down the center.

Anyone had a similar issue and tried this one ...let me know if it worked out?
3 years, 7 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
 Pro 104 Ultralight Cycling Helmets
Pro 104 Ultralight Cycling Helmets
Created and conceived for the demanding cyclist, the PRO 104 is the most advanced helmet Limar has ever made.
 

When will you be getting in the 2011's?

When will your supplier be providing you with the current model?
3 years, 8 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
Mudguards
Mudguards
 

Nothing for Road Race bikes?

Where are the mudguard options for race bikes with 23mm tyres?

No SKS Race Blades, no Crud RoadRacers...no nothing by the looks of it....
4 years, 4 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
 Sirius Soft Gel Folding Magnetic Turbo Trainer
Sirius Soft Gel Folding Magnetic Turbo Trainer
Tacx launches a new innovation! The Sirius is a striking cycletrainer featuring a "silent" action.
 

Is this model any use for out of the saddle work?

4 years, 8 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
KC's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Whether you're looking for ultralight race or full aero, Dura-Ace has the wheelset for you. These alloy/carbon C24 (11 speed) wheels are a great choice for any road machine wanting to display nothing but the best.
 

Are C24 a everyday wheelset

Can C24 be a everyday wheelset? I do not change wheelsets for the different type of rides. I am 6 foot 2 and 91kgs.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Despite what Wiggle have said, I would say yes. I put 2 years and about 15,000K's on my first set of the 10 spd version and recently bougth these so that I could move the old ones to an old bike.

I've had the old ones trued twice over the 2 years and though I'm near 20Kg lighter than you, Shimano do tend to built solid products and as these are both light and roll well, they are a good all 'round wheelset.

Mind you - I had to have one of these new ones trued out of the box, so I wasn't pleased about that.
8 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

Is there a trick to changing the lenses?

The instructions included are useless. I can't get the lens to click out and I'm scared of breaking them.
Never had changeable lenses before.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes... Some lenses can be very tight and it does feel like something is going to snap, but you do need to bend the frame slightly in the center (away from the nose piece) to get some lenses to pop out...

I have 4 pairs and have never broken one despite some tense moments....
8 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
 Middleburn Chainring Bolts
Middleburn Chainring Bolts
Middleburn chainring bolts are machined from solid 7075 T6 bar. As a result the heads and threads are extremely strong. We provide the bolts in a range of colours, perfect for adding the finishing touch to any chainset.
 

How many bolts come in a set?

The photos show the Middleburn chainring bolts in a set of 4 and the item description does not indicate whether 4 or 5 bolts come in a set.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
4
9 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
The Genius Multiplayer, Tacx's new top model, is unique. The combination of the sturdy frame and the advanced Tacx Trainer software 4.0 makes riding through the virtual worlds a lifelike experience.
 

Will this work with the Auatralian 240 Volt power supply ?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The Uk and Aus both use 240 volt power supply, but the three pin plug pins are a different shape. You only need a travel adaptor that turns UK to Aus. Many in Aus only convert the other way. Wiggle should be selling these (if they don't already).....
1 year, 5 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 

Will this tool fit a shimano SF-MX30 single speed freewheel?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
This does not fit the Shimano MX30 Freewheel!
2 years, 1 month ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 

Great if you could define what the numbers on tyre and inner tube mean?

Hi I have a road bike which I use for fun and for getting from to A to B. It has bontrager tyres that have on them:
23-622 (700 x 23C) C-1839-2
I guess the latter bit is a part number but what with the 700 x 23C?
Is 23C the circumference of the type if it was a complete circle at a cross section?
I need to buy some new inner tubes and notice I have bought 700 x 23C and 700 x 25C in the past as I keep them for repairs. Does this matter too much, the 23C and 25C part? You say on the website that it is very important to get the size right for the tyre. Appreciate your help with this one. I have been riding a road bike for 6 years, take it apart and put back together so not too daft but not sure on this. Thanks Cel
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Have a look at sheldonbrown.com for a great explanation of how wheel sizing works, what the numbers mean and how they came about.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 

Can the inner core be removed to allow and extender to be screwed in

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Wiggle CS - your answer is wrong!

The 42's do not have a removable core but the 51's do.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust 150 TPI nylon casing, have a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 

Swap for existing 700x32c tyres?

This is probably a daft question (but I am somewhat new to cycling) - I am currently running 700x32c tyres on my cyclocross bike, but want some slimmer tyres for road riding in the summer. Would these be suitable replacements? If so, would I need 23c or 25c? My rims are Mavic CXP22's. Thanks in advance.
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The Rubino Pro is a great all 'round tyre. Your rims are good to take either the 23 or 25.

23 would be the road standard, but nothing wrong with a 25 if you rather a larger contact patch.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Is the photo on this product page black/black or black/white?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The pair in the photo are the Black/White.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia
 
 Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
The ultra popular Strada Wireless is now available with an extra 9th function - Cadence.
 

I need to change the battery in the head unit but am unable to get the black cover off. Is this a known issue?

Strada double wireless computer with cadence.
The cover is supposed to push down and out but there is no way of doing this.
Please advise as the computer is completely useless with a dead battery and this feels like a serious design flaw.
Thanks.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
If you can't slide the lower half of the head unit off to expose the seal under which the battery is placed, I can only guess the the seal was not put in correctly and is jamming the cover. You'll have no choice but to use a knife and lever it down.....

I've had minor issues with the seal (not the cover) and used a knife to get it off without issue.

http://www.cateye.com/sites/cateye/upload/manuals/en/CC-RD400DW_ENG%20v2.pdf
3 years, 8 months ago
by
KC
Perth, Australia