ash46
Share ash46's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
ash46's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    10 April 2014
  • Last Review
    15 June 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    10 April 2014
  • Last Answer
    12 April 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
ash46's Reviews
 
The ultimate cycle chain lube, Muc-Off Team Sky Hydrodynamic Chain Lube has been developed with Team Sky to consistently provide the highest levels of lubrication in any conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Expensive - but you get what you pay for.
Posted15 June 2016
fromIpswich, Suffolk, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" This is good stuff. Lasts for ages and clean to use.It may cost a lot compared to other lubes but you definitely get what you pay for. "
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Wahoo ELEMNT is a real game changer. With integrated GPS and so many features, it shouldn't be this easy to use. Just download the free ELEMNT app, pair with your smartphone in seconds and you're ready to ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant GPS
Posted12 April 2016
fromIpswich, Suffolk, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" When considering this product, I read another review that said “buying this will be like going from a Windows to a Mac”. Anyone who has done that will know what this means. I thought ‘oh yeah, I wish’. Well I have not been disappointed.
It is so simple to set up (some initial issues with i-phone 4s compatibility, so just beware if this is what you have – despite Wahoo saying it is compatible. I am still awaiting a response from Wahoo support but works fine with my 5c). There are no complex menu pages to navigate through and everything is controlled from your phone via the companion app.
I love the fact that you never need to physically connect the Elemnt to upload your rides or download routes. I have linked the companion app to Strava and within seconds of returning from a ride and connecting to WiFi, my ride has uploaded to Strava. Perfect simplicity.
You can so easily customise what you see on the pages on your Elemnt and the choice of what to include is vast. If you want more detail you can add custom pages. You can zoom in and out of detail during your ride so it really is very flexible.
You don’t need your phone with you during a ride, but if you do take it, connecting to Elemnt does not seem to use any battery. You can see calls and messages coming in on the Elemnt.
I have not had a vast experience of Garmin products (having predominantly used Bryton which I was happy with at the time) but it is hard to believe that anything could be as user friendly as the Elemnt.
I had delayed writing this review until I had used the Elemnt for a good few rides. I am delighted with every aspect of the Elemnt.
If you like colour, you may be disappointed by the black and white screen. However, Wahoo say they went with black and white as it is visible in all conditions. They were right, even in bright sunlight the display is clear and visible.
The Elemnt comes with three mounts so you will have no issues attaching in your favourite position on the bike.
This is a great product. "
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, user friendly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Thermolite® Sock
dhb Aeron Thermolite® Sock
When the temperature drops reach for the dhb Aeron Thermolite® socks. They feature the hollow-core fibres of the THERMOLITE® fabric to trap in air and provide warmth and comfort without weight. This means you get excellent thermal performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I love these socks!
Posted17 March 2016
fromIpswich, Suffolk, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" OK, so its a sock and you can't get too excited, but these are great socks. Good value, well made, comfortable and warm. Everything you would want from a sock!
They look good too. "
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The new Equinox Thermal Knee warmers are an ideal top up to your summer kit in the cooler months of spring and autumn, adding thermal insulation in areas you need it.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great knee warmers, great price
Posted9 April 2015
fromIpswich, Suffolk, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" These are brilliant. Suitable for cooler days (8C to 14C). The fit is great and do not slip down whilst riding. Keep knees warm and you hardly know they are there. The quality appears good and they have been washed several times now but still look like new. "
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The supremely compact 8 function Cateye Strada is now available with a valuable cadence function for those riders wanting to monitor their training more accurately.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Functional Computer
Posted9 April 2015
fromIpswich, Suffolk, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I bought this to use on my turbo trainer bike for the winter as the sensors attach to the rear wheel and therefore it was perfect. It gives me all the information I need for the turbo trainer, particularly cadence, which was the main purpose for getting this. Unfortunately it doesn't help ease the boredom of turbo training!! Good product though. "
Pros: does the job
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Cycle Shoes
Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Cycle Shoes
Shimano have developed the RT82 sole to offer the stiffness and sleek profile of a road shoe with convenience of an SPD design. This creates a lightweight, road style shoe perfect for high mileage touring and recreational applications.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Shoes
Posted31 July 2014
fromIpswich, Suffolk, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I purchased these shoes to use for general everyday use on a single speed and hub geared bike. They are a great fit (I am size 9 and size 45 is perfect) and very comfortable, even on long rides. The quality seems great.
OK so they don't exactly look like the most fashionable shoe out there but I would rather have comfort over style any day.
If you want a shoe for everyday riding then you can't go wrong with these. "
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb’s warmest Winter bib tight, built from the original MITI Thermoroubaix fabric, TEFLON coated, with large wind blocking membrane on legs. (dhb Vaeon Zero - replaces dhb PACE SuperRoubaix Windproof)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent for winter riding
Posted10 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromIpswich, Suffolk, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I have used these throughout the winter and I can honestly say they are brilliant. The fit is great, the pad comfortable. They are warm and windproof. Almost a shame that spring is here!!
They are worth every penny if you ride through the winter months. "
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ash46's Questions
 
ash46 has not submitted any questions.
 
ash46's Answers
 
The Wahoo ELEMNT is a real game changer. With integrated GPS and so many features, it shouldn't be this easy to use. Just download the free ELEMNT app, pair with your smartphone in seconds and you're ready to ride.
 

Can you upload GPX files to Elemnt?

I'm looking for a cycling computer which I can upload GPX routes to and follow them. Is this possible with the Elemnt GPS? If so, does it give turn by turn directions? Or does it simply display the route on a map, showing your current location?
You can upload GPX, either from Strava, Ride with GPS or other linked apps. You can also load files from e-mail of other files.

The Elemnt does not currently support turn by turn navigation and shows the map with your current location.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
ash46
Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
 
 Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Cycle Shoes
Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Cycle Shoes
Shimano have developed the RT82 sole to offer the stiffness and sleek profile of a road shoe with convenience of an SPD design. This creates a lightweight, road style shoe perfect for high mileage touring and recreational applications.
 

Toe Cover overshoe

will these be compatable with road style toe cover like the DnBs
Yes they should be. I use toe covers on my RT82 SPD shoes and they are great. Do not snag the cleats and keep toes warm and dry.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
ash46
Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Zero Padded Bib Tight
dhb’s warmest Winter bib tight, built from the original MITI Thermoroubaix fabric, TEFLON coated, with large wind blocking membrane on legs. (dhb Vaeon Zero - replaces dhb PACE SuperRoubaix Windproof)
 

Would I over heat in these tights?

This winter hasn't been particularly cold. Would I get too hot riding these in 8 degrees-ish? I want them for the water resistance and ankle loops but im slightly concerned they may be too hot.
I have worn these throughout the last winter. whilst they are warm, I have never overheated. It is only when the temperature gets ovr 10 degrees that they start to get a little hot. Anything below that is fine.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
ash46
Ipswich, Suffolk, UK