BidstonKid
Share BidstonKid's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BidstonKid's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    23 February 2010
  • Last Review
    09 January 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    10 May 2010
  • Last Question
    15 February 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    18 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    18 January 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
BidstonKid's Reviews
 
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent product that does the job - well
Posted09 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BidstonKid
fromEastleigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased these to replace a set of SKS Commuter Road mudguards which failed by virtue of the front one mysteriously breaking right across. I put this failure down to them having insufficient stays giving a bigger unsupported span leading to more flexing and hence fracture.
These by contrast are absolutely solid and have the benefit of greater coverage and a rear reflector.
Fitting was straightforward though I did need to use bolt cutters to trim the ends of the stays and I'm not worried about having a few bolts and bits left over.
A great product and good value."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A high quality, low cost, full length mudguard set with high quality, stainless-steel fittings from the producers of the World's finest mudguards 3.0 mm twin-parallel, stainless-steel stays are light and strong and provide secure support.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Disappointing outcome
Posted09 November 2012
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
BidstonKid
fromEastleigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These mudguards were fairly straightforward to fit and looked good.
However, after about three months fairly regular use the front one suddenly split about 150mm down from the brake. Rather than go to the trouble of returning them I tried duct tape - inside and out - but it just tears through.
I believe the fault is due to the bending of the guards when riding on rough roads [ie standard UK road surfaces] and they suffer fatigue failure. NOTE: they only have one set of stays to each guard!
I have submitted for a refund and whilst Wiggle have asked for them to be returned I have ordered a set of the Chromoplastic ones [with two sets of stays each!] and will return the defective ones when the new ones are fitted.
I don't want to be without a bike this weather."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cable Cutter
Cable Cutter
Comfortable cushioned handles and heat-treated tool steel cuts cable, housing and wire quickly and easily.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent tool
Posted09 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BidstonKid
fromEastleigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having faffed about with DIY tools trying, unsuccessfully, to cut Shimano gear cable outers this cutter has proved to be ideal.
Highly recommended!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Coloured Balaclava
dhb Coloured Balaclava
The balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A good bit of Winter kit
Posted18 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BidstonKid
fromEastleigh
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Instead of looking like a bank robber in a black one I went for white so I can do an impression of the invisible man - which scared my four-year-old granddaughter! So, highly recommended.
It does its stuff - being comfortable, low air resistance, lightweight and certainly enables me to go even faster!
The one-size-fits-all could make it a bit tight over the shoulders for some people and perhaps it could do with instructions on which is front or back."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: no tartan version
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TORQ recovery is a highly advanced post-exercise nutritional drink formulation that has been designed to repair, recharge and refuel fatigued muscle tissue after heavy exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Recommended
Posted29 March 2010
BidstonKid
fromEastleigh
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I believe this stuff works.
I've been taking it for nearly a month and muscle recovery after hard rides is vastly improved.
I'd previously been subject to cramps but taking this in combination with Torq energy drinks has put an end to it.
My first purchase was the so-called “strawberries and cream” flavour which I found had an unpleasant after taste – so much so that I had to drink the 500ml in one go. The “banana and mango” is a lot better but this may be due largely to me following the guidance on the label and refrigerating the mix water prior to use.
One drawback is its cost – I am consuming more of this than the energy drink and it’s costing nearly double! It would otherwise have got 5 stars."
Cons: Expensive, consumed quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Bottle Recovery Drink Mixer
Bottle Recovery Drink Mixer
An essential piece of kit for mixing your recovery drink. Aerates and mixes your recovery formula effortlessly into a delightful smoothie.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Mixer
Posted29 March 2010
BidstonKid
fromEastleigh
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is absolutely essential for mixing Torq recovery drinks and it does it's stuff well.
I've yet to try it on cocktails but it'll most likely do them just as well!"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TORQ energy has been painstakingly formulated so that it delivers a unique blend of carbohydrate and electrolytes to the working muscles through a drink that is lightly flavoured, refreshing and most importantly natural.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Power Provider
Posted29 March 2010
BidstonKid
fromEastleigh
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been using this stuff for nearly a month and believe it really does make a difference.
On rides up to 70+ miles I've found it boosts my energy reserves when I would normally have been flagging.
Also used it to good effect at the Calshot track training sessions.
It's dead easy to mix and and the so-called Orange flavour is pallatable - just.
I will continue to drink it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Compact Survival Tool Wedge Saddle Bag
Compact Survival Tool Wedge Saddle Bag
Made from the respected high quality Dupont 1000 Denier Cordura Plus material with over two litres of storage, this bag should fulfil most riders needs. Using Topeak's unique, positive locking clip-on design to securely attach via the saddles rails which allows easy removal. Inside can be found a deluxe 16-piece tool kit which is stowed away in a die cut foam top compartment. Within the 16 piece tool kit you will find a 7 function folding tool, 8 and 10 mm box wrenches, 9mm box with dual spoke wrench, universal chain tool, 2 tyre levers and a patch kit. To finish this deluxe saddle bag Topeak have added an aluminum plate for an LED tail light and a strip of reflective detailing for added safety.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very Good Value
Posted23 February 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BidstonKid
fromEastleigh
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this to go with my new Cayo to avoid carrying tools and spare tubes in my pockets and its proved to be excellent. The tab on the rear is perfect for cateye rear lamps."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cayo 105 Triple 2009
Cayo 105 Triple 2009
New for 2009 is the Wiggle exclusive Cayo 105 Triple, this new addition to the Focus range features Shimano’s 10 speed 105/Ultegra components.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Even Better than Expected
Posted23 February 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BidstonKid
fromEastleigh
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"It's now five months since my purchase and I have to say the bike's performance (and mine!) has exceeded my expectations - by far.
When I bought it I was, initially, a little disappointed as I'd gone to the Wiggle site looking for a new carbon zimmer frame (with titanium fixing bolts) and thought the Cayo was a poor substitute.
I received good advice about sizing prior to purchase which proved to be spot-on and subsequent email exchanges about accessories have been dealt with promptly.
I would recommend this model as very good value for money."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BidstonKid's Questions
 
Nickel Plated chain that is ideal for city, touring or BMX bikes with narrow sprockets. Compatible with derailleur systems ( 5, 6, and 7 speed) as well as internal hub gear systems (5, 6, 7, 12 or 14 speed).
 

Compatible with classic bike with 5-speed Regina block?

My old 1960s bike has a 5-speed Regina block and Sachs changer using 3/32" chain of the old school. Will this one be compatible? If not, can you recommend one that is please.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
BidstonKid
Eastleigh
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 

Sizing and specification

With inside leg (actual) of 33.5", waist 31.5" and height 5'-10" I fitted a medium in dhb Merston padded bibs and would pesume the same hold here - please advise.

I am pleased with the Merston ones and would have ordered again if available but I am concerned that the Pace Roubaix are not as warm as there's no mention of knee padding etc. How do they compare on thermal performance please?
 
Products related to my question
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tights
 
 
 
 
 
4 years ago
by
BidstonKid
Eastleigh
 
 The Mega Meon Sportive - Epic Route
The Mega Meon Sportive - Epic Route
The stunning Meon Valley with its green countryside and quiet lanes provides the back drop for the Mega Meon sportive.
 

The route goes *over* Butser - I'm not aware of any roads going *over*, is this right?

4 years, 4 months ago
by
BidstonKid
Eastleigh
 
 The Long One Sportive - Standard Route
The Long One Sportive - Standard Route
'The Long One' is no ordinary sportive; this 'Super Sportive' which is longer and hillier than normal is taking place on the weekend of the longest day of the year.
 

The Long One

I am considering entering the shorter 100 km option but would like to see a map - not necessarily a GPS track - for it.

Are there any links to last years event?
4 years, 5 months ago
by
BidstonKid
Eastleigh
 
BidstonKid's Answers
 
 dhb Coloured Balaclava
dhb Coloured Balaclava
The balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 

is resistant to water?

No! It does soak up sweat real great though.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
BidstonKid
Eastleigh