Dragoon
Top 100 Contributor
Share Dragoon's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Dragoon's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    62
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    26 May 2010
  • Last Review
    28 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    37
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    26 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    28 December 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
Dragoon's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
probably all the average home mechanic will need
Posted28 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"i has a cheaper version from a competitor which broke after a year. this is better made and has a replaceable pin. great design."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ultegra rear derailleur with wide link design gives quick accurate shifts and excellent drivetrain efficiency.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A worthy upgrade
Posted28 December 2013
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Great upgrade from 105, the extra money buys you cramic jockey bearings."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The green handled SPA-1 fits the adjusting cup on many adjustable type bottom brackets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good Pin Spanner
Posted28 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"be aware Park Tool make these in 3 sizes so make sure you get the right one (I did not the first time!)"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fantastic frame and group set, poor wheelset.
Posted28 December 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I agree with Andy 1316's review above. The setup of the bike was distinctly average. The 4za wheelset is not anywhere near the quality of the frame, I have had to re-true mine again and again, loctite is slowly solving the problem. The hubs are not cx specific (not well sealed) so water ingress is a real problem as the bearings quickly rust if not maintained after each wet ride. Front brake judder and setup was initially poor but gets better with careful maintenance.
Initially the bike was supplied with an inferior cassette (Tiagra) but this was eventually replaced by Wiggle when i sent them a photo. Irritating.
On the positive side the frameset is sublime. The original frameset RRP is well over Wiggle's current sale price so if you are happy to upgrade the wheels and don't mind a spot of maintenance it is a great buy. it sure beats the alternative - a turbo trainer!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: wheelset, setup
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 HL-EL530 LED Front Light
HL-EL530 LED Front Light
The EL-500 was the brightest normal battery front LED by a mile, but harnessing the very latest LED technology, Cateye's new EL-530 surpasses this by 50% with no price increase!!!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
The best non-rechargable light
Posted13 January 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you want the simplicity of AA batteries (even if you use rechargeable) this is the front lamp to use. It is not the most robust housing but the light emitted is fantastic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good with one caveat
Posted13 January 2011
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These so nearly hit the mark but there is one irritant (two actually).
I am sure that others have mentioned this but the zips at the bottom of each leg are not lockable and thus rattle against your achilles tendon. Not painful, just irritating.
This would be a very easy thing to improve and should have been spotted during R&D."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: non-lockable ankle zips.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 City Contact Reflective City Road Tyre & Tube Set
City Contact Reflective City Road Tyre & Tube Set
For the frequent commuter, who prefers the cycle lanes to the motorway come rain or shine, the City Contact is what you are looking for. Now comes complete with 1 year anti puncture guarantee!
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Hugely Disappointing
Posted13 January 2011
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are the first Conti boots to have disappointed me. Bought for my commuting hybrid i suffered two punctures within a week. Admittedly this could be bad luck as I cycle in a city area but I have completely lost faith in their ability."
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, not very puncture proof!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 TG System Light Txn Skull Cap
TG System Light Txn Skull Cap
Textran Developed exclusively by Campagnolo through years of innovative technological research, Textran Thermo offers optimum windproofing, waterproofing, breathability and comfort. The windproof and waterproof membrane is bonded to a breathable, two-way stretch fabric to shield against the elements and provide form-fitting comfort with ease of movement.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Early morning essential!
Posted22 December 2010
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I only need the extra warmth on the coldest of mornings or on slower speed commuting but this skull cap provides the extra protection required whilst remaining comfortable under a helmet.
Weather you need one made by Camagnolo is up to you but is it a hight quality and comfortable product.
If you have a massive head, this may be a little tight. It is a snug fit on my 58cm bonce."
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
An Evolution of the best selling Night Vision Jacket. In a new fabric and new design featuring a removable LED tab, front hand pockets, hood fittings and loads of reflective trim this is the Ultimate commuting jacket.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A viable alternative to a High Vis Vest!
Posted22 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Although you can buy it in the fluorescent yellow colour, the black and red jackets help you standout, both to the traffic and from the crowd. These are hugely popular amongst commuting cyclists in Bristol and their popularity is well justified.
Good Fit, Breathable, very visible, and comfortable.
I stress that this is for commuting and is probably not suitable for serious road race cycling as it will be too bulky for that."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Super Narrow Spare Chain Pins
Super Narrow Spare Chain Pins
Shimano Super Narrow Spare Chain Pins for use with the HG 9-speed systems.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
essential but pricey
Posted22 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Dragoon
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you need to rejoin a chain you have little choice but to but these pins. They do not represent good value for money but do fix the chain well."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Dragoon's Questions
 
Dragoon has not submitted any questions.
 
Dragoon's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Ultegra rear derailleur with wide link design gives quick accurate shifts and excellent drivetrain efficiency.
 

Which derailleur model do I need?

I have a 50/34T chainring set and a Shimano 105 CS5700 cassette 11-27T. Will the SS model be the right one or would it be the GS? Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
i have the same setup, SS is correct.
10 months ago
by
Dragoon
Bristol
 
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Is it normal for the rear wheel to wobble from side to side on the unit?

The wheel is not buckled in any way.
Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
only by a few mm, more than this suggests you need to tighten the trainer more.
10 months ago
by
Dragoon
Bristol
 
 

Seatpost cutting guide included?

Will a cutting guide for the seatpost and manual be included with bike?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
yes, mine came with both.
10 months ago
by
Dragoon
Bristol
 
 

Bottle Cage Fixing

Can you confirm if the frames includes bottle cage mounting points. The description states it doesn't, however the photo seems to show a set on the down tube.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
yes, mine has a pair of bolts on the down tube.
10 months ago
by
Dragoon
Bristol
 
 

Will the frame need cutting?

I'm 173cm with 31 inside leg. If I get the 50cm will I need to cut the frame?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Almost certainly, i am 177 with a 31cm leg and got the 52. Don't get phased by the cutting, it is easy and ensures a perfect fit eventually. Use the Ridley website to get the right size.
10 months ago
by
Dragoon
Bristol
 
The green handled SPA-1 fits the adjusting cup on many adjustable type bottom brackets.
 

will this tool be compatible with the pins on the left arm of a FSA gossamer bb30 crank

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No, this tool is too large to fit in the FSA BB30 left crank holes.
1 year ago
by
Dragoon
Bristol
 
 Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2010
Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2010
Racing 3 wheels are ideal for both racing and for everyday training. Aesthetically aggressive, Racing 3 wheels offer the same technical advantages as the more titled Racing 1 and Racing Zero wheels.
 

Fulcrum 3 and Tiagra 9 Speed Cassette - anything else?

Hi,
I am looking at buying these wheels to go with my Specialised Allez which has a 9 Speed Tiagra cassette. I know it will fit, I just want to know if I need to buy spacers to fill in the gap if it normally takes 10 speed cassettes, and if I do, what sort? If not, is it just a matter of fitting the new cassette and away you go?

Cheers
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hello, I fitted a 9 speed cassette to my fulcrum 3s without a spacer so it was 'fit and go'. My understanding is that 9 and 10 speed cassettes are actually the same width but the cogs are closer together on a 10 speed, thus the requirement for specialist 10 speed thinner chains. Anyway, enjoy the wheels, they are awesome.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Dragoon
Bristol
 
 Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
The best selling Ultraflate Plus uses trigger controlled technology for fast, easy, single handed CO2 inflation.
 

Is a cartridge included

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes but is well worth buying the 6 pack of screw in canisters so that you can use the pump without its sheath.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Dragoon
Bristol
 
High quality replacement inserts for all Shimano cartridge brake road blocks.
 

Do I need to buy 2x for front and back brakes?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, one pair for the front and one for the back.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Dragoon
Shrivenham
 
Top quality, lightweight cassette for use with any 9 speed Shimano gear systems
 

Can I replace my Tiagra 12-25 cassette with the 12-27 Ultegra?

Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, If your Tiagra 9 speed fitted, so will the Ultegra 9 speed. The different ratios do not effect the hub fitting and the tiny difference in sprocket size (which affects required chain length) will be easily absorbed by the rear derailleurs.

I hope this helps!
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Dragoon
Shrivenham