kevj
Top 25 Contributor
Share kevj's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
kevj's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    92
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Review
    01 December 2009
  • Last Review
    10 March 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    4
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    03 August 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    03 August 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    14 December 2012
  • Last Question
    14 December 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    140
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Answer
    11 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    10 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    6
 
 
kevj's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
The Lezyne KTV Drive Front is a bright, ultra-compact, 15 lm safety light. The CNC –machined aluminium body is lightweight, durable, and extremely weather-resistant.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Versatile but charging an issue
Posted10 March 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's ok, this light. Appears to be easy to see but is no champion in the brightness stakes. Easy to charge up but plugs directly into your PC USB slot and is too wide to have another USB drive fit next to it.
The light doesn't tell you when it is fully charged. Apparently it takes three hours from flat but if you just want to top it up it just glows red even after 24 hours on the charger. I would have expected a green light to indicate it is fully charged. Fitting to the bike is easy and versatile with many options for placement. Reasonable amount of time on the bike when in flash mode (about 6 hours).
"
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance rear Freehub for rim or Disc brakes: XT is renowned for offering the best performance to value ratio. Designed for use with Centre-Lock Disc rotors for secure hassle free setup.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
XT quality, enough said
Posted18 January 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Top quality stuff from Shimano as usual. This hub has been faultless since installation. Quality seals mean the bearings have remained dry and smooth for over a year now. Recommended."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Ass saver Extended is perfect for Road cyclists. The pro peloton (Lotto-Belisol, Belkin), continental teams, and development teams have all adopted and used Ass Savers in recent years for training and racing.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
only work up to a point
Posted18 January 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If it is really wet tihs thing makes no difference if the speed is high. For pooling around town it does a fair job. Save your money and buy some clip on mudguards for real protection. It also comes across as being quite flimsy - don't think it will last long. I also had major problems folding it under the seat. I guess it works better if you don't have a small saddle bag attached too."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These shoe covers are extremely tough and will keep your foot insulated and your shoes protected from adverse weather. The industrial strength full length zipper won't let you down and the reflective detailing will help you stay visible at night.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm and dry feet
Posted18 January 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are good. They do what they should - keep my feet warm and dry. They look well made and fit nicely. I ordered a slightly larger size that needed because I want them to fit both my MTB shoes and my Road shoes. They are a snug fit on the MTB shoes and a tad looser on the road shoes. Either way they work well. Recommended."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano's CN-7701 Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed compatible chain is recommended for XTR and Dura-Ace drivetrains
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best
Posted13 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Shimano make the best chains. XTR can't be beaten for durability and shifting. The Wiggle price makes these chains astonishingly good value. The only downside is the lack of a quick link but this is easily solved by purchasing one from SRAM."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
awesome value
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"You always get great shifting from Shimano and this cassette does not fail to deliver. Typical Shimano quality and with only a few grams difference between this and Ultra it is a no brainer as to which one to buy."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
it works
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"it is a gear cable that does the job just fine. great vale price from Wiggle."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Will stop slow leaks and punctures. This Solution converts standard (non tubeless) tyres to tubeless. Also works with any tubeless tyre or tubular tyres. When properly used, it will seal up to 1/4 inch punctures.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No need to add more kudos
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The best. The rest are poor imitations. Don't waste your money on inferior products that will let you down (and your tyres)."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The XT front deraileur is engineered for the way you ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
quality that works
Posted08 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Quality that works time and again. Shimano have the front derailleur market cornered - nothing else come close in shifting quality."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For use with 1.2mm gear wires and SP41 sealed outer caps
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is the best quality outer gear cable you can get. Don't be fussed with other imitations - Shimano can't be beaten on this stuff."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
kevj's Questions
 
 Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Vredestein Black Panther all round competition tyre. Super fast XC tyre most suitable for dry loose conditions but a very good choice for all conditions if the going is fast.
 

are these the tubeless ready version?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
kevj's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 >>>
 
The Ass saver Extended is perfect for Road cyclists. The pro peloton (Lotto-Belisol, Belkin), continental teams, and development teams have all adopted and used Ass Savers in recent years for training and racing.
 

Does this fit a mono railed seat?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Unless your seat has seat rails the answer is no.
2 weeks, 3 days ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats: Available options are SH51, SH52 and SH56 to fit the vast majority of SPD pedals.
 

Are these cleats compatible with the Shimano XTR Race M9000 SPD Pedals

Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes
2 weeks, 3 days ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Dura-Ace 7900 Tubeless Wheelset freehub capatability

Hello,

I am in the process of changing my wheelset to Dura-Ace FH-7801 Tubeless*. The problem is that my current Shimano CS-4600 cassette does not fit on the FH-7801 freehub body as there is a "step up" on the hub which the cassette can't move on to. Would you please review the image from the tech doc from Shimano and let me know if this cassette will fit on the freehub?

*http://techdocs.shimano.com/media/techdocs/content/cycle/EV/bikecomponents/FH/EV-FH-7801-2512_v1_m56577569830608916.pdf
User submitted photo
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
You will need Ultra and higher to fit this free hub.
2 weeks, 3 days ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette

Will the 12-27 go with a Shimano 105 Triple 5703 10 Chainset 172.5 30/39/50?

And same question for 11-28?

Thanks
Sam
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
If you have a triple ring crankset already on the bike then you will have a derailleur to cope with the capacity of both cassettes. So, yes both these cassettes will work.
2 weeks, 3 days ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded waist tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

I'm 5"3, 68kg. Should I get S or XS?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
purchase based on your waist size
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded waist tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Are these mens?

I ask if they're mens because the picture looks female?

Thanks

James,.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am a man and they fit me very well. Since they have no pad I don't think it would make any difference whether they were women or mens.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 SealSkinz Neoprene Overshoe
SealSkinz Neoprene Overshoe
A high performance cycle overshoe, made from close fitting neoprene material, featuring a storm flap, pull-on loop & hi-vis reflective branding for added safety. Additional Kevlar reinforcements in the toe & heel areas for added abrasion resistance.
 

Do they suit spd shoes?

I have two types of shoes for cycling - my very porous triathlon shoes that I use on my road bike (with cleats not unlike those shown in the pictures), and my everyday adidas cycle shoes with spd cleats. I was just wondering, would these be suitable for both types of shoe, mainly my spd types, as that's what I wear most on my commutes on the hybrid, or are they more suitable for out and out cycle shoes. Sorry for lack of more accurate terminology - have attached photos of my shoes, if that helps...
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
They will fit SPD mountain bike shoes. However, unlike road shoes, the bottom of the cover will be directly in contact with the ground should you walk on them - this will wear them out quickly.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 

Anti puncture

Is this tyre having an anti-puncure layer?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
no tyre is anti-puncture! these do however have the usual puncture protection 'bands' in the construction
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 

Stickers or printed?

Interested in the gloss black but would like to know if the colours are stickers that can be removed or if its printed on the cage?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
mine are printed on
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
HG80 Mega9 cassette featuring light weight minimal design sprocket carrier.
 

WIll this be a simple swap out for my SRAM PG-950 12/26 9 speed?

My current winter bike (Cannondale CAAD8 7 Sora 2011) has a 9 speed SRAM PG-950 12/26 cassette. WIll this be a simple like for like swap over? Will there be issues with the rear derailleur (Shimano Sora Long Cage) clashing? Also, will my current chain (KMC 9-Speed) be of suitable length, or, should this also be changed?
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
chain might need shortening - suck it and see
derailleur will cope with the bigger (28) cog no problems
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK