kevj
Top 25 Contributor
Share kevj's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
kevj's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    78
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    01 December 2009
  • Last Review
    27 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    4
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    03 August 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    03 August 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    14 December 2012
  • Last Question
    14 December 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    125
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    11 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    27 April 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
kevj's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
The original DuPont Teflon based lubricant made specifically for use on bicycles. Teflon is used to reduce the coefficient of friction and reduce mechanical wear, and is suspended in a solvent carrier.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Usual high quality from Finish Line
Posted27 October 2014
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I needed a basic 'all round' lube for both the roadie and the MTB. This fits the bill nicely. Not a fan of wet lubes, this dries quickly and doesn't leave a sticky residue once the excess is wiped off. My only issue is that the lube is very thin and a fair bit of it ends up on the floor as you apply it to the chain. A thicker consistency would be less wasteful. I might add that once applied it lasts for quite a while before a re-lube is needed."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: thin consistency means waste on floor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Heavy weight winter cycling sock, with Thermolite polyester fibres aimed to keep your feet as warm as possible, in colder conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Toasty warm!
Posted27 October 2014
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Excellent product! They are an excellent fit, very comfy and the colour scheme is good too!
Another value-for-money product from Wiggle.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fully featured road cycling shoes with Shimano Dynalast ergonomic shaping and sole technology for optimum energy transfer. Featuring a wide fit last for riders with wide or high volume feet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
At last a proper fit Shimano shoe!
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are excellent! I don't have particularly wide feet but have always found Shimano shoes to pinch my feet near the toes resulting in numb feet pretty quickly. These are a revelation. Added to the wonderful fit is the usual Shimano quality and the excellent Wiggle price. They are a tad short in the length so check this out before buying (the 44 is only a US 9.7 as compared to the usual 10). These are a great buy and I now have comfortable feet on the bike. Smiling."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano SPD MTB Cleats
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats: Available options are SH51, SH52 and SH56 to fit the vast majority of SPD pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Shimanoqualityhardtobeat
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I feel silly reviewing cleats. They work as intended. They are Shimano quality so will outlast your shoes. There are imitations out there for less money but why pay less for mediocre when the genuine item is way better? Buy 'em."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Unique spring system makes this bell exceptionally loud with a durable and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Loud but rattles like crazy
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fits well. Very loud - you only need one ring and people will be moving out of your way. The pitch is a little aggressive for me but in traffic it works a treat. Mine quickly began to rattle like crazy - not the best built bell I have owned."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
4 bolt chainring suitable for the Shimano XT M760/Saint M800 chainset.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Shimano still No 1 with this stuff
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There are lots of competitors out there but Shimano can't be beaten for quality and shifting performance. This is the stuff, don't throw your money away on poorer quality imitations."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
slick shifting!
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Yes, a real improvement in shifting. I can't believe how much better this chain is than the previous (non directional) model. The Wiggle price makes it great value too. Just make sure 116 links is big enough for you (I have compact cranks, so no problem)."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb 8cm Light Weight Cycling Sock Bundle - 3 Pack
dhb 8cm Light Weight Cycling Sock Bundle - 3 Pack
Get kitted out with the newest 8cm unisex cycling socks from dhb. The 8cm Light Weight Cycling Socks Bundle contains three pairs in different colours so you can match your socks to your kit theme.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hard to beat
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"DHB really do make some good kit. These socks are no exception. In this three pack they are particularly good value. Comfortable, cool and a great fit. Very hard to go past."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High quality 10-speed cassette with hyperglide sprockets that have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome value
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"OK, it isn't the lightest cassette out there but at this price it is brilliant value. Not worried about weight? Buy it.
All the usual slick shifting etc from the big S.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
HG80 Mega9 cassette featuring light weight minimal design sprocket carrier.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb value
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This 9 speed cassette is the best value of all Shimano cassettes. Only a small number of grams heavier than XT but way, way less expensive. Hard to beat if you don't believe that XT is worth the extra money (like me)."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
kevj's Questions
 
 Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Vredestein Black Panther all round competition tyre. Super fast XC tyre most suitable for dry loose conditions but a very good choice for all conditions if the going is fast.
 

are these the tubeless ready version?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
kevj's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 >>>
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Garmin speed readings

How does the Garmin get its speed and distance readings? Does it use GPS to track and plot, or does it use the magnet on a wheel to measure it?
I ride mountain bikes so GPS may not be as accurate as an old fashioned magnet on the wheel
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
GPS units sample once every 4 to 5 seconds. So, in tight, twisty single track they are not accurate - not even close! For best accuracy get the speed sensor for your wheel - this is the only way of accurately measuring distance.
6 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 

Is it compatible with SRAM rear cassettes?

Just putting this up for information for other buyers.

I brought this chain thinking it would be compatible with SRAM products, as many other sites seem to confirm they work together fine.

However, when used with a SRAM Rival 1070 rear cassette, the chains skips over the teeth somehow. Best to keep within the manufacturers it seems.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
You have done something wrong. This is a directional chain.....
7 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 

Compatability with 12-30 cassette

Is this compatible with my Boardman Team Carbon with SRAM Rival & 12-30 cassette, or should I be looking at the 5600?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have it on a 12-30 cassette but with 50/34 chainrings. Your from chainrings will determine if 116 links is enough (53/39 for instance might be too big).
7 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 

Will this chain fit.....

I Have a Specialized sirrus expert 2011 model.

im due to ride 100miles soon and am doing 100miles a week training.

would feel better knowing i have a new chain on bike when so far from home lol

will this chain fit my bike?
is this chain any good tho?
or would i be better buying a more expensive one?
if so what one?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
It depends on whether you have Shimano/SRAM gears and cranks or Campagnolo. If Campagnolo then it won't fit.
How old is your current chain? If old you will need a new cassette too.
7 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
 Shimano SPD MTB Cleats
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats: Available options are SH51, SH52 and SH56 to fit the vast majority of SPD pedals.
 

Replacement Screws

Hi, I have these cleats, and have now lost one of the screws (tricky moment, unable to unclip). I understand you don't stock single screws, but could you please tell me what length the screws are in mm so I can buy a replacement. Thanks
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Just go to your local bike shop...
7 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
 Shimano SPD MTB Cleats
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats: Available options are SH51, SH52 and SH56 to fit the vast majority of SPD pedals.
 

do shimano sh51 cleats fit dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoes?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
yes
7 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

My pedels are Shimano Ultergra PD-6610

Are these cleats suitable for the pedels I have?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
yes
7 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

what if I need c-M5x10mm

The shoes I bought recommend a 10mm screw but the existing SPD cleats only have an 8mm. How do I specify a length of screw or where do I get 10mm screws from to go with the spd cleat?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Bike shop?
7 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

do they fit pd m505?

Do they fit for Shimano pd m505 padals?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
No. You need SPD cleats (not SPD SL)
7 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
From dhb's highest spec range, the Goldline Bib Short offers regular and professional cyclists an extremely lightweight and breathable technical bib short for warm summer rides. A form fitting shape enhances aerodynamics and reduces excess bulk.
 

I'm looking for a bib short for all day riding. Is this seat pad equivalent to an assos Mille or a castelli free aero pro?

Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have no idea. However, these are superb bib shorts of very high quality. They are the most comfortable I have ever owned. Very lightweight, so I don't expect they are very durable in the long run. I use mine for big rides of over 100 km - no chaffing at all.
7 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan