kevj
Top 25 Contributor
Share kevj's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
kevj's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    88
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    01 December 2009
  • Last Review
    13 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    4
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    03 August 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    03 August 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    14 December 2012
  • Last Question
    14 December 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    136
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Answer
    11 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    13 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
kevj's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
 Shimano Dura Ace or XTR 9 Speed Chain
Shimano Dura Ace or XTR 9 Speed Chain
Shimano's CN-7701 Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed compatible chain is recommended for XTR and Dura-Ace drivetrains
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best
Posted13 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Shimano make the best chains. XTR can't be beaten for durability and shifting. The Wiggle price makes these chains astonishingly good value. The only downside is the lack of a quick link but this is easily solved by purchasing one from SRAM."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
awesome value
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"You always get great shifting from Shimano and this cassette does not fail to deliver. Typical Shimano quality and with only a few grams difference between this and Ultra it is a no brainer as to which one to buy."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Clarks Universal SS 1.1mm Inner Gear Cable
Clarks Universal SS 1.1mm Inner Gear Cable
Clarks S/S universal gear 1.1mm cable only.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
it works
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"it is a gear cable that does the job just fine. great vale price from Wiggle."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Stans No Tubes 473ml Tyre Sealant
Stans No Tubes 473ml Tyre Sealant
Will stop slow leaks and punctures. This Solution converts standard (non tubeless) tyres to tubeless. Also works with any tubeless tyre or tubular tyres. When properly used, it will seal up to 1/4 inch punctures.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No need to add more kudos
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The best. The rest are poor imitations. Don't waste your money on inferior products that will let you down (and your tyres)."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano XT M770 Front Derailleur
Shimano XT M770 Front Derailleur
The XT front deraileur is engineered for the way you ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
quality that works
Posted08 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Quality that works time and again. Shimano have the front derailleur market cornered - nothing else come close in shifting quality."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano SP41 Gear Cable Outer - 10m Length
Shimano SP41 Gear Cable Outer - 10m Length
For use with 1.2mm gear wires and SP41 sealed outer caps
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is the best quality outer gear cable you can get. Don't be fussed with other imitations - Shimano can't be beaten on this stuff."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Navo Baggy Short
dhb Navo Baggy Short
dhb’s Navo baggy short is the perfect alternative to lycra for those daily commutes. Offering a combination of comfort, low key styling and durability. Reflective detailing helps make sure you are seen.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
no fuss short
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Another high quality, great value DHB product. They aren't going to get any style awards at the local ferried trails but as a basic short for touring or commuting or just riding the trails these are excellent. The pockets work well and nothing has fallen out even on the roughest trails I have ridden. Good shorts, great price, DHB quality. What more do you need?"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfort with grip with durability
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A wonderful tyre! Great price on Wiggle too!
Sure there are probably faster, lighter tyres out there but if you are like me and only ride for fitness and fun and sportive the you can't be bothered changing tyres for different conditions/rides. These do it all very well.
I replaced some ageing Kenda's with these and despite the fact that they only recommend 116 psi I find them fast rolling and extreme;y compliant - they have transformed the ride on my bike. The red looks fantastic on the wheels and so far absolutely no punctures or major cuts after quite a few miles being ridden. Highly recommended as a tyre for all types of riding.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded waist tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent fit
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have come to expect excellent value for money from DHB and in this respect I have not been disappointed.
These tights are fabulously warm and fit superbly. There is no pad (exactly what I wanted) and therefore I have the freedom to wear whichever knicks I like underneath them. They feel tight at first but this 'compression' feeling works for you and very soon, once riding, you don't even notice you are wearing them - with the exception that your legs are toasty warm. The fabric is soft and feels like it is high quality and probably will last a long time. I honestly can't see why I would spend more money on other brands.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Race Pack
High5 Race Pack
A performance sports nutrition program for endurance events. The High5 Race Pack includes everything you need to stay fuelled, hydrated and focussed on race day.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Incredible value
Posted02 November 2014
kevj
fromQueanbeyan
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"High5 make great nutrition products and this race pack represents substantial savings over full retail. The only downside is the free water bottle - just how many do you need? It would be good to have an option to replace the water bottle with product of equivalent value.
The High5 gels taste great and even though there are different flavours in the pack they all taste the same to me - this is of little concern as they work well! Ditto for the various flavours of the energy drink. This race pack is also a good way to try various products and flavours to determine what you prefer."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
kevj's Questions
 
 Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Vredestein Black Panther all round competition tyre. Super fast XC tyre most suitable for dry loose conditions but a very good choice for all conditions if the going is fast.
 

are these the tubeless ready version?

2 years ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
kevj's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 >>>
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded waist tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

I'm 5"3, 68kg. Should I get S or XS?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
purchase based on your waist size
1 month ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded waist tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Are these mens?

I ask if they're mens because the picture looks female?

Thanks

James,.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am a man and they fit me very well. Since they have no pad I don't think it would make any difference whether they were women or mens.
1 month ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 SealSkinz Neoprene Overshoe
SealSkinz Neoprene Overshoe
A high performance cycle overshoe, made from close fitting neoprene material, featuring a storm flap, pull-on loop & hi-vis reflective branding for added safety. Additional Kevlar reinforcements in the toe & heel areas for added abrasion resistance.
 

Do they suit spd shoes?

I have two types of shoes for cycling - my very porous triathlon shoes that I use on my road bike (with cleats not unlike those shown in the pictures), and my everyday adidas cycle shoes with spd cleats. I was just wondering, would these be suitable for both types of shoe, mainly my spd types, as that's what I wear most on my commutes on the hybrid, or are they more suitable for out and out cycle shoes. Sorry for lack of more accurate terminology - have attached photos of my shoes, if that helps...
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
They will fit SPD mountain bike shoes. However, unlike road shoes, the bottom of the cover will be directly in contact with the ground should you walk on them - this will wear them out quickly.
1 month ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 

Anti puncture

Is this tyre having an anti-puncure layer?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
no tyre is anti-puncture! these do however have the usual puncture protection 'bands' in the construction
1 month, 1 week ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 Elite Custom Race Bottle Cage - 2014
Elite Custom Race Bottle Cage - 2014
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 

Stickers or printed?

Interested in the gloss black but would like to know if the colours are stickers that can be removed or if its printed on the cage?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
mine are printed on
1 month, 1 week ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 Shimano HG80 9 Speed Cassette
Shimano HG80 9 Speed Cassette
HG80 Mega9 cassette featuring light weight minimal design sprocket carrier.
 

WIll this be a simple swap out for my SRAM PG-950 12/26 9 speed?

My current winter bike (Cannondale CAAD8 7 Sora 2011) has a 9 speed SRAM PG-950 12/26 cassette. WIll this be a simple like for like swap over? Will there be issues with the rear derailleur (Shimano Sora Long Cage) clashing? Also, will my current chain (KMC 9-Speed) be of suitable length, or, should this also be changed?
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
chain might need shortening - suck it and see
derailleur will cope with the bigger (28) cog no problems
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 Shimano HG80 9 Speed Cassette
Shimano HG80 9 Speed Cassette
HG80 Mega9 cassette featuring light weight minimal design sprocket carrier.
 

Can I use this to replace a PG950 cassette?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
yes
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 Shimano HG80 9 Speed Cassette
Shimano HG80 9 Speed Cassette
HG80 Mega9 cassette featuring light weight minimal design sprocket carrier.
 

Can I replace my current 9 speed 12/26 with the 11/28 version?

My current winter bike (Cannondale CAAD8 7 Sora 2011) has a 9 speed SRAM PG-950 12/26 cassette. WIll this be a simple enough to job to install the 11/28 version of this cassette? Will there be issues with the rear derailleur (Shimano Sora Long Cage) clashing? Also, will my current chain (KMC 9-Speed) be of suitable length, or, should this also be changed?
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
with the smaller 11 tooth cog you might find the chain too slack - simply remove a link or two, the bigger cog (28) should be no issue for a long cage derailleur
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 Shimano Tiagra 4600 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano Tiagra 4600 10 Speed Cassette
High quality 10-speed cassette with hyperglide sprockets that have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Can I just replace my 12/28 with this 12/30 or will I have to change chain and front sprockets?

I have a Giant TCR SL 2 and I want to improve its climbing on Cornish hills!!! The bike has done 1k miles so was wondering if I can get away with just swapping the cassette?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
probably should get a new chain too, however give it a try and if there is skipping when you put the power down then simply order a new chain
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 Shimano Tiagra 4600 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano Tiagra 4600 10 Speed Cassette
High quality 10-speed cassette with hyperglide sprockets that have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Swapping from 12-28 to 11-25

Do you see any mechanical problems occurring from swapping my current compact 12-28 cassette for a 11-25. Reference chain tension and detailer arm limits.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
you will probably need to shorten the chain one or two links to take up the slack when on the 11 tooth cog
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan