kevj
Top 25 Contributor
Share kevj's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
kevj's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    97
  • Helpfulness Votes
    13
  • First Review
    01 December 2009
  • Last Review
    09 December 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    4
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    03 August 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    03 April 2015
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    14 December 2012
  • Last Question
    06 November 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    143
  • Helpfulness Votes
    16
  • First Answer
    11 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    05 November 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    7
 
 
kevj's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Make sure you use the supplied sand paper
Posted09 December 2016
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Simply brilliant but you really need to rough up the tube with the supplied sandpaper and then ensure the hole is in the middle of the patch. The they work brilliantly. Otherwise..."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile, great colour
Cons: Limited Color Choices, won't stick if the temp is too low
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
you might need a spacer...
Posted09 December 2016
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Replaced a SRAM 11 speed cassette with this and it needed a spacer to slide on the free hub otherwise it would not tighten up and the individual sprockets were loose and rattled over every bump. Adding the spacer meant that the Shimano lock ring no longer worked but the original SRAM did. BE WARNED this may not be as straightforward as you think..."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit, not compatible with all 11 speed free hubs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works well as a tube.
Posted06 September 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's light. It's Schwalbe quality. For its intended use it is an excellent product. I like the fact that as a spare tube it is very compact in the saddle bag."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Dry PTFE Chain Lubricant 50ml Aerosol
Muc-Off Dry PTFE Chain Lubricant 50ml Aerosol
This Dry PTFE Chain Lube is formulated to hold up to the extreme pressures that are applied to modern drive chains. This highly versatile, dry weather chain lube has superior penetrative qualities that ensure every part of the chain link is lubricated.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
works well
Posted21 June 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It works well. It goes on easily and drys very quickly. It could do with a plastic nozzle/tube extender in order to get into tight spaces. Pricey though..."
Cons: Expensive, not easy to use in tight/small spaces
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very very good lube indeed
Posted21 June 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is an excellent lube. It lasts for a long time before the chain becomes noisy (about two weeks of riding for me). It doesn't gunk up if you apply it correctly and wipe the chain after lubing up.
Good stuff that will last a long time - this makes it excellent value."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne KTV Drive Front
Lezyne KTV Drive Front
The Lezyne KTV Drive Front is a bright, ultra-compact, 15 lm safety light. The CNC –machined aluminium body is lightweight, durable, and extremely weather-resistant.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Versatile but charging an issue
Posted10 March 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's ok, this light. Appears to be easy to see but is no champion in the brightness stakes. Easy to charge up but plugs directly into your PC USB slot and is too wide to have another USB drive fit next to it.
The light doesn't tell you when it is fully charged. Apparently it takes three hours from flat but if you just want to top it up it just glows red even after 24 hours on the charger. I would have expected a green light to indicate it is fully charged. Fitting to the bike is easy and versatile with many options for placement. Reasonable amount of time on the bike when in flash mode (about 6 hours).
"
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano XT M785 Centre-Lock QR Rear Hub
Shimano XT M785 Centre-Lock QR Rear Hub
High performance rear Freehub for rim or Disc brakes: XT is renowned for offering the best performance to value ratio. Designed for use with Centre-Lock Disc rotors for secure hassle free setup.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
XT quality, enough said
Posted18 January 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Top quality stuff from Shimano as usual. This hub has been faultless since installation. Quality seals mean the bearings have remained dry and smooth for over a year now. Recommended."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
only work up to a point
Posted18 January 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If it is really wet tihs thing makes no difference if the speed is high. For pooling around town it does a fair job. Save your money and buy some clip on mudguards for real protection. It also comes across as being quite flimsy - don't think it will last long. I also had major problems folding it under the seat. I guess it works better if you don't have a small saddle bag attached too."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm and dry feet
Posted18 January 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are good. They do what they should - keep my feet warm and dry. They look well made and fit nicely. I ordered a slightly larger size that needed because I want them to fit both my MTB shoes and my Road shoes. They are a snug fit on the MTB shoes and a tad looser on the road shoes. Either way they work well. Recommended."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Dura Ace or XTR 9 Speed Chain
Shimano Dura Ace or XTR 9 Speed Chain
Shimano's CN-7701 Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed compatible chain is recommended for XTR and Dura-Ace drivetrains
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best
Posted13 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Shimano make the best chains. XTR can't be beaten for durability and shifting. The Wiggle price makes these chains astonishingly good value. The only downside is the lack of a quick link but this is easily solved by purchasing one from SRAM."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
kevj's Questions
 
 

Mudguard mounts?

The description states that it comes with mudguard mounts. Can't see 'em in the pic. Please confirm and if not can you please change the description (which also states that the groupset manufacturer is Shimano!)
1 month ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 RockShox Recon Gold TK Solo Air Suspension Forks (29er)
RockShox Recon Gold TK Solo Air Suspension Forks (29er)
The Rockshox Recon Gold TK 29er fork is at home on the trail. Offering 100mm of travel, this fork features a stiff 1 1/8th steerer, aluminium tubes and is ideal for singletrack.
 

tapered or not?

the pics show a straight non-tapered steerer but the description says it is tapered.... which is it?
8 months ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Vredestein Black Panther all round competition tyre. Super fast XC tyre most suitable for dry loose conditions but a very good choice for all conditions if the going is fast.
 

are these the tubeless ready version?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
kevj's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 >>>
 
 

Cage lenghts

What is the length option of the rear Sram Rival derailleur ? Short, Mid or Long? Just to know the biggest cassette than can fit.

Thanks a lot!
User submitted photo
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
It comes with a MEDIUM cage derailleur. WiggleChris is wrong. There is no short version of this derailleur. It will take a maximum of 36 teeth (according to SRAM).
There is a long version which will go up to 42 teeth.
1 month ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Is it possible to fit a larger cassette

E.g. Could I fit the SRAM 10-42?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. The derailleur it comes with will allow up to 36 teeth. This probably means in reality you could get away with 40 teeth. You would probably need to consider a new chain if going to 40 teeth as the the chain will have been adjusted for 11-28 cassette.
I have no idea why GT would spec such a 'big' lowest gear for a bike designed to go off road!
1 month ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Mudguard fitting?

Can you please confirm whether this bike has any eyelets on the fork/frame for fitting mudguards?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
yes it does!
1 month ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Does this fit a mono railed seat?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Unless your seat has seat rails the answer is no.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Are these cleats compatible with the Shimano XTR Race M9000 SPD Pedals

Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes
1 year, 8 months ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Dura-Ace 7900 Tubeless Wheelset freehub capatability

Hello,

I am in the process of changing my wheelset to Dura-Ace FH-7801 Tubeless*. The problem is that my current Shimano CS-4600 cassette does not fit on the FH-7801 freehub body as there is a "step up" on the hub which the cassette can't move on to. Would you please review the image from the tech doc from Shimano and let me know if this cassette will fit on the freehub?

*http://techdocs.shimano.com/media/techdocs/content/cycle/EV/bikecomponents/FH/EV-FH-7801-2512_v1_m56577569830608916.pdf
User submitted photo
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
You will need Ultra and higher to fit this free hub.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette

Will the 12-27 go with a Shimano 105 Triple 5703 10 Chainset 172.5 30/39/50?

And same question for 11-28?

Thanks
Sam
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
If you have a triple ring crankset already on the bike then you will have a derailleur to cope with the capacity of both cassettes. So, yes both these cassettes will work.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded waist tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

I'm 5"3, 68kg. Should I get S or XS?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
purchase based on your waist size
2 years ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded waist tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Are these mens?

I ask if they're mens because the picture looks female?

Thanks

James,.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am a man and they fit me very well. Since they have no pad I don't think it would make any difference whether they were women or mens.
2 years ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Do they suit spd shoes?

I have two types of shoes for cycling - my very porous triathlon shoes that I use on my road bike (with cleats not unlike those shown in the pictures), and my everyday adidas cycle shoes with spd cleats. I was just wondering, would these be suitable for both types of shoe, mainly my spd types, as that's what I wear most on my commutes on the hybrid, or are they more suitable for out and out cycle shoes. Sorry for lack of more accurate terminology - have attached photos of my shoes, if that helps...
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
They will fit SPD mountain bike shoes. However, unlike road shoes, the bottom of the cover will be directly in contact with the ground should you walk on them - this will wear them out quickly.
2 years ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK