kevj
Top 25 Contributor
Share kevj's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
kevj's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    91
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Review
    01 December 2009
  • Last Review
    18 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    4
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    03 August 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    03 August 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    14 December 2012
  • Last Question
    14 December 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    136
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Answer
    11 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    13 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
kevj's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
XT quality, enough said
Posted18 January 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Top quality stuff from Shimano as usual. This hub has been faultless since installation. Quality seals mean the bearings have remained dry and smooth for over a year now. Recommended."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
only work up to a point
Posted18 January 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If it is really wet tihs thing makes no difference if the speed is high. For pooling around town it does a fair job. Save your money and buy some clip on mudguards for real protection. It also comes across as being quite flimsy - don't think it will last long. I also had major problems folding it under the seat. I guess it works better if you don't have a small saddle bag attached too."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm and dry feet
Posted18 January 2015
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are good. They do what they should - keep my feet warm and dry. They look well made and fit nicely. I ordered a slightly larger size that needed because I want them to fit both my MTB shoes and my Road shoes. They are a snug fit on the MTB shoes and a tad looser on the road shoes. Either way they work well. Recommended."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best
Posted13 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Shimano make the best chains. XTR can't be beaten for durability and shifting. The Wiggle price makes these chains astonishingly good value. The only downside is the lack of a quick link but this is easily solved by purchasing one from SRAM."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
awesome value
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"You always get great shifting from Shimano and this cassette does not fail to deliver. Typical Shimano quality and with only a few grams difference between this and Ultra it is a no brainer as to which one to buy."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
it works
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"it is a gear cable that does the job just fine. great vale price from Wiggle."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No need to add more kudos
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The best. The rest are poor imitations. Don't waste your money on inferior products that will let you down (and your tyres)."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
quality that works
Posted08 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Quality that works time and again. Shimano have the front derailleur market cornered - nothing else come close in shifting quality."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is the best quality outer gear cable you can get. Don't be fussed with other imitations - Shimano can't be beaten on this stuff."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
no fuss short
Posted08 November 2014
kevj
fromEpsom, Surrey, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Another high quality, great value DHB product. They aren't going to get any style awards at the local ferried trails but as a basic short for touring or commuting or just riding the trails these are excellent. The pockets work well and nothing has fallen out even on the roughest trails I have ridden. Good shorts, great price, DHB quality. What more do you need?"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
kevj's Questions
 
 Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Black Panther Competition Folding MTB Tyre
Vredestein Black Panther all round competition tyre. Super fast XC tyre most suitable for dry loose conditions but a very good choice for all conditions if the going is fast.
 

are these the tubeless ready version?

2 years, 1 month ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan
 
kevj's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 >>>
 
 

I'm 5"3, 68kg. Should I get S or XS?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
purchase based on your waist size
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Are these mens?

I ask if they're mens because the picture looks female?

Thanks

James,.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am a man and they fit me very well. Since they have no pad I don't think it would make any difference whether they were women or mens.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Do they suit spd shoes?

I have two types of shoes for cycling - my very porous triathlon shoes that I use on my road bike (with cleats not unlike those shown in the pictures), and my everyday adidas cycle shoes with spd cleats. I was just wondering, would these be suitable for both types of shoe, mainly my spd types, as that's what I wear most on my commutes on the hybrid, or are they more suitable for out and out cycle shoes. Sorry for lack of more accurate terminology - have attached photos of my shoes, if that helps...
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
They will fit SPD mountain bike shoes. However, unlike road shoes, the bottom of the cover will be directly in contact with the ground should you walk on them - this will wear them out quickly.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Anti puncture

Is this tyre having an anti-puncure layer?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
no tyre is anti-puncture! these do however have the usual puncture protection 'bands' in the construction
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Stickers or printed?

Interested in the gloss black but would like to know if the colours are stickers that can be removed or if its printed on the cage?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
mine are printed on
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

WIll this be a simple swap out for my SRAM PG-950 12/26 9 speed?

My current winter bike (Cannondale CAAD8 7 Sora 2011) has a 9 speed SRAM PG-950 12/26 cassette. WIll this be a simple like for like swap over? Will there be issues with the rear derailleur (Shimano Sora Long Cage) clashing? Also, will my current chain (KMC 9-Speed) be of suitable length, or, should this also be changed?
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
chain might need shortening - suck it and see
derailleur will cope with the bigger (28) cog no problems
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Can I use this to replace a PG950 cassette?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
yes
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Can I replace my current 9 speed 12/26 with the 11/28 version?

My current winter bike (Cannondale CAAD8 7 Sora 2011) has a 9 speed SRAM PG-950 12/26 cassette. WIll this be a simple enough to job to install the 11/28 version of this cassette? Will there be issues with the rear derailleur (Shimano Sora Long Cage) clashing? Also, will my current chain (KMC 9-Speed) be of suitable length, or, should this also be changed?
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
with the smaller 11 tooth cog you might find the chain too slack - simply remove a link or two, the bigger cog (28) should be no issue for a long cage derailleur
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Can I just replace my 12/28 with this 12/30 or will I have to change chain and front sprockets?

I have a Giant TCR SL 2 and I want to improve its climbing on Cornish hills!!! The bike has done 1k miles so was wondering if I can get away with just swapping the cassette?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
probably should get a new chain too, however give it a try and if there is skipping when you put the power down then simply order a new chain
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
kevj
Epsom, Surrey, UK
 
 

Swapping from 12-28 to 11-25

Do you see any mechanical problems occurring from swapping my current compact 12-28 cassette for a 11-25. Reference chain tension and detailer arm limits.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
you will probably need to shorten the chain one or two links to take up the slack when on the 11 tooth cog
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
kevj
Queanbeyan