Racingsnake1971
Share Racingsnake1971's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Racingsnake1971's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    10 December 2009
  • Last Review
    14 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    14 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    14 May 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Racingsnake1971's Reviews
 
The Kéo Covers protect your cleats and improve walking in cleated shoes. They are compatible with all Kéo cleats.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Save your cleats!!
Posted14 September 2014
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cycled up to Haytor to watch the Tour of Britain. Walking around gravel car park these protected my cleats and my carbon soled shoes.
Easy to fit and fit nicely in a jersey pocket."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great tyre, great price
Posted23 May 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I fitted these to replace my trusty Vittorias which were getting increasingly expensive.
I bought the 25mm size for improved comfort.
They are light, easy to fit, fast and comfy. I can't comment on their grip in the wet yet but so far I am very happy"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Schwalbe City Jet is tough and robust city tyre with Schwalbe's Kevlar Guard puncture protection belt.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rugged
Posted16 March 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this for my partner's mtb. She rides back lanes to work and they are slimy and covered with thorns. No punctures yet. Also easy to fit."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fast and puncture resistant
Posted22 January 2012
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these in the 28mm size for my 'cross/commuting bike. Despite the lack of tread they are very grippy on wet slimy roads. I have only ridden a couple of hundred km but they seem to be puncture resistant. They feel fast too!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Solid
Posted12 October 2011
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I just fitted these mudguards to my cyclocross/commuting bike and first impressions are very good. They are sturdy and rattle-free, unlike some other types.
They are good value but quite time-consuming to fit, requiring the struts to be sawn down with a hacksaw."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pro Core Long Sleeve Tight Compression Crew AW12
Pro Core Long Sleeve Tight Compression Crew AW12
PROFILE: Engineered Dri-Fit stretch body fitting first layer fabricDynamic fit and superior technical fabric provides optimal ventilation and moisture managementStrategically designed seams provide enhanced comfort for performance Contrasting tipping on neckband and jock tag at lower left hem#3 swoo...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bargain!
Posted21 March 2011
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Helps keep the chill off and feels like it's not even there. Essential part of any cyclist's kit.
Not quite long enough for my monkey arms, leave the wrists exposed but this is not really a problem for me."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ergofit Knee Warmers
Ergofit Knee Warmers
Flexible insulation, reflective trim, silicone grippers and an ergonomic fit. Perfect for cold early starts or changing spring and autumn conditions, Ergo Fit knee warmers extend your shorts or layer under your tights in extreme cold.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Spring Choice
Posted21 March 2011
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are ideal for changeable spring conditions and save having to buy bib knickers. On a cold morning you can put these on and keep nice and toasty. When it warms up you can take 'em off and voila you are in your favourite shorts.
They are very comfortable and stay up no problems at all.
My only gripe is that there are seems that sit right at the back of your knees, these are flatlocked and don't cause too much irritation though.
Recommended, good value."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
 
Products related to my review
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
4.5 out of 5(132)
 
 
 
Vision 1 LED Front Light 2012
4.5 out of 5(283)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 C-Lite Road (30-35mm) Mudguards
C-Lite Road (30-35mm) Mudguards
Super stylish C-Lite guards are made from a high impact, weather resistant aluminium sandwich composite material.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Effective, robust, light
Posted07 December 2010
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I put these on my winter bike and since then the weather has been either wet, snowy or icy. They have proved very effective in keeping me clean and dry as well as keeping road salt of my precious bike. They are also light and rattle-free.
I found them a bit fiddly to fit because to fit my frame I had to drill a hole in the rear one. Since then they have been hassle-free."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for British Roads
Posted14 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these tyres to cope with the dodgy road surfaces across Dartmoor and Devon where I live. I have ridden a couple of hundred miles and they are great! They are light, supple and grippy and as yet I have not had a puncture. I run them at 90psi front and 100psi rear and they certainly add comfort - I don't know if this is the extra 1mm over a standard tyre or the rubber compound.
My only gripe is that they were hard to put on straight out of the box but that's normal for kevlar-beaded tyres."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 MX165 MTB Shoes
MX165 MTB Shoes
Any terrain. Any weather. Any day off road cycling shoes.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good value
Posted10 December 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Racingsnake1971
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these for one reason: price. At under 50 quid they function well, look like they will last and because they are wide fitting. I am using them for my winter commuting bike and they are good for hopping on and off trains (unlike my road shoes). I don't like the colour much but they'll soon get grubby..."
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: Bulky, Limited Color Choices, Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Racingsnake1971's Questions
 
Racingsnake1971 has not submitted any questions.
 
Racingsnake1971's Answers
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 

can I get Vittoria Open Pave Evo CG Tyre in all black?

Don't think so but the green looks great!
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Racingsnake1971
Devon
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 

I'm confused as to the tubular bit. Do i still need a normal inner tube or is it a glue on job. It look like a clincher from the picture

It is a clincher tyre, it uses the same compound as tubulars, hence the name.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Racingsnake1971
Devon