1234a
Top 1000 Contributor
Share 1234a's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
1234a's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    22
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    26 March 2010
  • Last Review
    17 June 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    4
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    06 April 2010
  • Last Answer
    14 June 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
1234a's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Vittoria Rubino Pro Folding Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Rubino Pro Folding Clincher Tyre
The popular all-rounder Rubino Pro has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust and have a 150 TPI nylon casing, & a technical tread pattern + a long life tread compound.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent grip & very durable
Posted17 June 2011
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I love these tires, they are on all my training wheels. The grip is really excellent and is perfect for all road conditions, funtions very well in the dry and excels in the wet. I find I get the best rolling at 110psi but they can be run at a max of 140psi. I have put almost 5000kms into one set of these tires and am only thnking about replacing them now. Running these 140PTI tires at 110psi I have never punctured, despite getting plenty of small cuts and tiny flints in the tires, nothing has so far penetrated the inner shell."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Threadsaver Single Bolt Seat Post Clamp
Threadsaver Single Bolt Seat Post Clamp
Rotating thread insert prevents possibility of thread damage and bent bolts, which results in a more even spread of stress around the seat tube of the frame.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Useful spare
Posted17 June 2011
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This is a useful spare to carry in your bag when going to Sportives. Recently I snapped a seat clamp bolt due to overtightening (Al frame) and was mighty glad I had this spare in my bag. Weighs nothing but could mean the difference between starting and not."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Road Inner Tube Pack Of 5
Vittoria Road Inner Tube Pack Of 5
Pack of 5 inner tubes. The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Extremely Reliable Tubes
Posted17 June 2011
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I switched to Vittoria tubes over a year ago and have found these to be extremely reliable. Used with 140 or 320 TPI Vittoria tires the combination is un-beatable, I've only had 1 puncture in 1.5yrs in over 13,000kms. I use 40mm tubes on my C24 Dura-Ace wheels and 50mm tubes on my C35 Dura-Ace wheels."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Dura-Ace 7900 C35 Carbon Clincher Front Wheel
Dura-Ace 7900 C35 Carbon Clincher Front Wheel
The WH-7900 35mm carbon wheel earns the Dura-Ace pedigree and is designed to complement its 10-speed groupset meeting the pro road race criteria.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dura-Ace wheels just keep getting better & better
Posted14 June 2011
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I have been a huge fan of the C24 (1380) wheels for over a year and was really keen to get a set of the recently released C35's with the new upgraded Dura-Ace hubs.
I just raced these wheels in a very hilly 165km race in Norway and the wheels performed as well as I'd hoped. The new hubs spin silently and seem to spin forever; these would be absolutely stunning with ceramic bearings. On downhill sections these wheels are rocket fast, always helping me catch and outpace racers in front. You get more of that aerodynamic 'swish' when these rims spin than on the C24s and the wheels were fast on the flat sections and stiff but with just the right amount of response on big climbs. When you consider that you could buy 1x Dura-Ace C24, 1x C35 and 1x C50 for the price of 1 pair of ZIPPs I cannot see there is any completion. These could well be the best value most versatile wheel set for racing on the market today. If you are looking at this wheelset because you are thinking about buying them - you should.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Dura-Ace 7900 C24 CL Clincher Front Wheel
Dura-Ace 7900 C24 CL Clincher Front Wheel
The WH-7900 TL carbon laminate clincher wheel is designed to meet pro road race criteria.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The most versatile wheel on the market?
Posted15 April 2011
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This wheelset is an improvement on the WH7850 version. I rode them in the Tour of Fanders and Paris - Roubaix sportives and they were superb. They spin really fast and on downhills they give you a huge advantage (you can easily see this), which must also translate into reduced fatigue on the flat and uphill. In the Paris - Roubaix one pro team had these wheels on ALL their spare bikes. For cobbles use these with Vittoria Pave tires, this is a really reliable combination. After Paris - Roubaix the wheels are as true as the day I bought them. BUT, these wheels are so versatile, they are outstanding on climbs and are my go-to wheel for big mountains, light, strong and fast spinning. Do not be put off by the thin side wall, I use these a lot in races and even training and have seen zero side wall thinning. When you think you can buy 3 sets of these for the price of 1 ZIPP wheel set, its a no-brainer - buy the Shimano's every time."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 ZipVit Sport ZV6 Zip-pro Whey Protein Drink - 900g
ZipVit Sport ZV6 Zip-pro Whey Protein Drink - 900g
A fast digesting high quality whey protein, perfect for meeting the nutritional demands of intense training. Zip-Pro’s amino acid profile is almost identical to muscle, making it an extremely valuable supplement for recovery and muscle repair.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality Whey Protein
Posted15 April 2011
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have used ZV6 for over a year now and it is ideal for use in recovery after long training sessions and for use in controlling calorie input. I typically use ZV6 in a morning fruit smoothie (using skimmed milk), if you add the recomended 3 scoops of ZV6 then you won't want to eat until lunch time, this makes the product ideal for use during rest days. On training/race days I also include 1 heaped scoop in my porridge before riding. Taste is excellent, I normally get vanilla and don't like chocolate flavours but the ZV6 chocolate is also super tasty."
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 L Bolt
L Bolt
Replacement L bolt for CycleOps trainers
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Useful spare
Posted23 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is the potential 'weak link' in the set up on CycleOps indoor trainers so is a useful spare to have around. Do take care fitting this bolt and do use a good spanner to ensure you do not thread the screw"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Ciussi Gel Bottle Cage
Elite Ciussi Gel Bottle Cage
Top quality bottle cage equipped with anti-vibration gel buttons on either side to keep your bottle firmly in place.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The bottle cage for cobbles
Posted23 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Use this kind of cage if you plan to race on cobbles e.g. Tour of Flanders/Paris-Roubaix Sportives. Do NOT use a carbon bottle cage because the effect of all the dust and grit on the road will 'sand blast' the bottle cage, the constant shock from the cobbles with full bottles could also potentially snap a carbon cage. This cage is what Cervelo use in Belgium. The bottle grips work well."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cervelo Test Team Training Bib Shorts 2009
Cervelo Test Team Training Bib Shorts 2009
For the same reason that there are racing and training wheels, there is also the Training bibshort that represents a big value with most of the features of the race short.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Extremely good value shorts
Posted23 October 2010
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are really high quality and well made shorts. Buying last years 'model' is an easy way to get a high quality pair of bib-shorts at an even better price. I have a 35" waste am 6' 1" tall and use XXLs which are a perfect fit. The Kiss padding is really high quality."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nano Windproof Arm Warmers
Nano Windproof Arm Warmers
The Nano collection is extremely lightweight while providing anatomic shaping.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Oustanding quality
Posted23 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
1234a
fromStavanger
Country : Norway
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Like most Castelli products, they don't come cheap - but if you are looking at buying Castelli its probably for a reason - quality.
These are excellent. The grip on the tops is superb and there is zero chance they will fall down. the grip on the outside of the warmer is a nice touch, making sure the top of the warmer stays stuck to your race jersey. I have ridden with these down to -2C and raced in long wet and cold races and they have performed excellently. They have a 'tight' fit which I think acts almost like compression wear.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
1234a's Questions
 
1234a has not submitted any questions.
 
1234a's Answers
 
 Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
For the coming season the PRO overshoe range has been completely revamped and is bigger and better than ever. Innovative features, great designs, and excellent media reviews make PRO overshoes the obvious choice.
 

Xl or XXl for size 45?

which would be better?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have XXL for 45-46 and they are perfect
3 years, 5 months ago
by
1234a
Stavanger
 
 Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
The WH7850 CL Carbon Laminate wheel earn the Dura-Ace pedigree and are designed to complement any of their 10-speed groupset whilst meeting pro road race criteria.
 

Will they be shipped inside the wheel bags

Will these wheels be shipped inside the wheel bags for extra protection, or will the wheel bags just be in the box with the wheels if you know what i'm talking about.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Wheels are not shipped inside wheel bags. Mine arrived in a Shimano box that was inside a Wiggle box i.e. they were double packed and arrived in perfect condition.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
1234a
Stavanger
 
 Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
The WH7850 CL Carbon Laminate wheel earn the Dura-Ace pedigree and are designed to complement any of their 10-speed groupset whilst meeting pro road race criteria.
 

Breaking area

Hi,
Is the breaking area of the rim also reduced thickness (.7mm) or is this standard thickness. If it is thinner how does this affect the life of the rim??
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The thickness of the breaking area is thin but you are not going to wear these wheels out early so don't let that put you off. I have used them all year on Alpine style climbs with huge desents and have seen zero effect on the side walls. They are superb wheels and you can buy 3 sets for the cost of ZIPP 303/404s
4 years, 1 month ago
by
1234a
Stavanger
 
 Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
The WH7850 CL Carbon Laminate wheel earn the Dura-Ace pedigree and are designed to complement any of their 10-speed groupset whilst meeting pro road race criteria.
 

Do these wheels come with rim tape installed?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes they do and the rim tape is sapphire blue in colour
4 years, 1 month ago
by
1234a
Stavanger
 
 Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
The WH7850 CL Carbon Laminate wheel earn the Dura-Ace pedigree and are designed to complement any of their 10-speed groupset whilst meeting pro road race criteria.
 

Wheel Magnet?

Do these wheels come with a wheel magnet for a computer supplied either loose or inbuilt to the spokes?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No they don't. You have to buy that separately from your computer manufacturer
4 years, 1 month ago
by
1234a
Stavanger
 
 Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Wheel Set
The WH7850 CL Carbon Laminate wheel earn the Dura-Ace pedigree and are designed to complement any of their 10-speed groupset whilst meeting pro road race criteria.
 

Are the wheels (as supplied) compatible with Shimano 105 cassette?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes they are (10 Speed), but if you are buying such a good wheelset you really should run them with Durace cassette. These wheels are superb, buy them and you will be on one of the best value wheelsets in the world.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
1234a
Stavanger
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 

What are the colour schemes?

I've seen these tyres on different websites. You show them with a green stripe in the middle and black sidewalls. Other websites show them with green sidewalls and a black centre. Which ones do you have in stock?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Vittoria Open Pave tires are black walled with a green centre, they are 'the' classics tire. I buy them and use them in rides like the Tour of Flanders and Sportives in bad weather. I have never punctured one - ever. They are expensive but superb and can't recommend them highly enough
4 years, 1 month ago
by
1234a
Stavanger
 
 WCS Seat Post (1-Bolt)
WCS Seat Post (1-Bolt)
One piece 3D-Net forged 7075 alloy seat post with a patent pending one-bolt clamp system makes seat installation and adjustment extremely simple.
 

Will i notice a differance from less vibration on an alloy frame road bike by upgrading to a carbon seatpost?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes you will, there is an imeadiately noticable damping in vibration (when using a carbon seat post) and you return from your ride not so fatigued. After buying carbon forks for an alloy frame this is one of the best 'upgrades' you can make.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
1234a
Stavanger
 
 Rosso Corsa 6 Socks 2009
Rosso Corsa 6 Socks 2009
A great pair of socks makes a big difference in foot comfort. Castelli have constructed the main foot part of the sock in Air Mesh to enhance breathability and given it a central foot band for support.
 

how big is extra extra large ? I wear a 52 sidi road shoe most socks a re way too small

are there any others you can recommend?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Castelli XXL socks are perfect for someone with taking size 46 shoes (European size)
4 years, 7 months ago
by
1234a
Stavanger
 
 Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Fr Wheel
Dura Ace 7850 Carbon Laminate Clincher Fr Wheel
WH7850 CL carbon laminate wheel earns the Dura-Ace pedigree and is designed to complement its 10-speed groupset meeting pro road race criteria.
 

Do these wheels come with QR?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes the wheel set does come with DureAce QR (and pre-fitted rim tape) as well as wheel bags.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
1234a
Stavanger