Brianthecyclist
Share Brianthecyclist's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Brianthecyclist's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    20 April 2010
  • Last Review
    30 July 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    24 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    18 June 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Brianthecyclist's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The SKS Raceblade Long 2 Mudguard Set is designed for tyres up to 25 mm. Whether you’re riding your road bike in a warm summer rain or on solitary winter trips, the full length design will keep you and your fellow cyclists dry.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Noisy
Posted30 July 2017
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Horrible mudguards fitted by the shop (not Wiggle) when it supplied my bike.
They rattle continually during the ride. They fit to the QR skewer rather than using the mudguard attachment holes. This makes them a pain when removing the front wheel for transporting the bike.
Unfortunately I left it to the shop to supply the (considerably over priced against the Wiggle price) mudguards so will now have to find some decent ones.
They can be removed quickly as each section - front and back of each mudguard - has a push connector to a metal bracket which is permanently attached to the frame. "
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit, rattle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted30 July 2017
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" After reading some reviews I was expecting to be able to get my sink in the bag but it isn't as big as I had thought (hoped!). I fill it with one inner tube, one Zefal puncture repair canister, multi tool, phone, two tyre levers and a camera film plastic tube for my money. I might try and squeeze in a very thin gilet.
So it does the job but I've had to leave the sink at home.
The fit is OK and I've only used it on one ride but it stayed firmly attached, no rattle. "
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Lightweight Long Finger Road Gloves
dhb Lightweight Long Finger Road Gloves
The dhb Long Finger Summer Road Glove is a stylish and technical cycling glove which features temperature regulating panels, a foam padded palm for enhanced comfort and absorbent thumb wipe panel.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
I should have looked for the Short Finger version!
Posted1 May 2015
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I had assumed Long Finger referred to the gloves ciovering the full finger rather than a glove for people with long fingers! As a previous reviewer has said the index finger is too long and in my case also the middle finger. Never had this problem in any other glove (cycling or otherwise) I've ever bought so I've decided not to get a complex about the size of my fingers.
Returned so can't comment about how well they wear. Other than the 'long' two fingers, the fit was OK. "
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Stainless steel inner gear cable for smooth and lasting shifting performance.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
2 out of 2 unravelled
Posted8 October 2014
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Just had to fit two new gear cables. Have always used Shimao cable in the past but on this occasion when I cut the excess cable off both the cables, the cable strands unwound back to the nut holding the cable to the derailleur.
I'll look for another brand for the next cables. "
Cons: cable strands unwound
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Professional Workstand
LifeLine Professional Workstand
A top quality bicycle stand for safe and convenient bike maintenance and repair. Lightweight, stable and packed with features, the Professional workstand is essential for high mileage riders and mechanics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Product
Posted2 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Very easy to assemble - takes max of 10 minutes.
Folds up easily so that it can be stored.
Holds the bike firmly and at a very convenient height to work on.
Sturdy and doesn't look as though it will fall over.
No complaints. "
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 BBB EasyFit Deluxe Bike Bell
BBB EasyFit Deluxe Bike Bell
Lightweight bicycle bell with extra loud brass top and stainless steel spring and can be mounted in various positions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Quiet but otherwise good
Posted22 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Easy to fit. looks good if you want an all black bell and works.
It isn't as loud as my previous bell and I would say it is on the quiet side but pedestrians hear it when I use the bell so it does the job.
The 'clanger' does move around when you flick it and doesn't always end up as you think it should be to use. However if you ignore this and just flick it then it rings the bell.
It doesn't rattle as my previous bell did (we'll see if this changes over time).
So good value for money and it does the job. "
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Adjustable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Reliable innertubes with a butyl rubber compound for lasting pressure retention. Schwalbe innertubes undergo a rigorous testing process to ensure consistently high performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
They do what it says on the box
Posted15 November 2011
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I've just fitted these inside new Schwalbe Marathon Plus Smartguard City Tyres so I'm not expecting to have to repair any punctures or replace the inner tubes soon!
No problems fitting and inflating the tubes. Quality looks OK. They have held the pressure and are OK after 100 miles - not sure what else there is to say. "
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Marathon Reflective Kevlar City Tyre
Marathon Reflective Kevlar City Tyre
The legend. 25 years ago it was a quantum leap: The first high-quality tyre that functioned reliably in both everyday use and touring.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
OK?
Posted23 June 2011
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" These came as standard on my Dawes bike. However over the 18 months I've had the bike I've had a large number of punctures in the rear tyre during road cycling. There was also a a cut in the tyre and I had two puntures over a short period in the area of the cut.
I read that tyres are supposed to be for protection against punctures so I've persevered with a second one.
Fingers crossed. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Core Padded Undershorts
Core Padded Undershorts
The all new Core padded under short for cycling is a close fit under short to make sure that you stay comfortable on your ride. This product replaces the incredibly popular dhb Earnley short.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
My second pair
Posted18 June 2011
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" These are the new improved undershorts. The material looks more like the normal shorts and they are shorter in the back. Otherwise they do the same job as the old version which I had already used. They have been fine under tracksters or shorts on rides up to 40 miles. "
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great
Posted18 June 2011
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Took a few minutes with an allen key to fit. They are quick and easy to put on and remove - just lift the handle to open the catches. Easy to pack and unpack if you want one large contaoner - I prefer this as you can use at as you want using plastic bags to break the load up if you want. They are light and using the shoulder straps easy to carry. I haven't tested how waterproof they are yet but they look as though the will be OK. The roller top arrangement wasn't clear to me from the pictures I've seen but it works really well allowing the bag to be packed tightly no matter what the volume. They don't get in the way of my feet when @m cycling. I have the yellow ones which I bought to help being seen and also a slight deterent to thiefs who would stand out carrying them.
Overall a great bag but very expensive. "
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Brianthecyclist's Questions
 
Brianthecyclist has not submitted any questions.
 
Brianthecyclist's Answers
 
 Core Padded Undershorts
Core Padded Undershorts
The all new Core padded under short for cycling is a close fit under short to make sure that you stay comfortable on your ride. This product replaces the incredibly popular dhb Earnley short.
 

Is the sizing on the Core undershort the same as on the Earnley shortbthat they replace?

I have a medium size in the old model and the new model and they seem an identical fit so the sizing looks to be the same,
7 years, 3 months ago
by
Brianthecyclist
London
 
 dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 

Is there Windtex material over the ears, and does the hat completely cover the ears?

Also, what's the difference between this and the discontinued Hunston version?
Thanks
The material covers the head and ears. Very good fit.
7 years, 9 months ago
by
Brianthecyclist
London
 
The Joe Blow Max II is a great performing track pump that is superb value for money. providing efficiency and accuracy throughout its pressure range, the whole way up to 120 psi.
 

I'm thinking of bying a floor pump as I an struggling to get top pressure with a hand pump, just wondering if they all fit all kinds of valves,

I have a road bike with thin valves.
Works with Presta, Schrader.

The web site below will allow you to see what type of valve you have.

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/tyres.html
8 years, 3 months ago
by
Brianthecyclist
London
 
 Earnley Cycling Shorts
Earnley Cycling Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices. One of our best-selling products, the dhb Earnley Cycling Shorts are exceptionally comfortable and affordable.
 

To pant or not to pant.

I've only just started wearing padded cycling shorts. Should I wear pants with them or not? Also, do I need the chamois creme with these shorts? Ta.
I read about some shorts splitting (I don't think they were dhb) so I always ensuire that I'm wearing two layers.
8 years, 3 months ago
by
Brianthecyclist
 
 Earnley Cycling Shorts
Earnley Cycling Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices. One of our best-selling products, the dhb Earnley Cycling Shorts are exceptionally comfortable and affordable.
 

grippers elastic

Just purchased size large. I am 5' 10" with 33 waist. They feel very comfy but with my skinny legs the gripper elastics are loose. Is this an issue & should I try the medium?
My waist is 36 and I wear the medium and the shorts most definitely aren't at all small. The shorts grip my legs fine. Based on my experience you wouldn't need anything larger than medium.
8 years, 3 months ago
by
Brianthecyclist