Smudger100
Share Smudger100's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Smudger100's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    14 November 2009
  • Last Review
    16 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    18 April 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    18 April 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    07 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    04 March 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Smudger100's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Park Tools Chain Brute Chain Tool
Park Tools Chain Brute Chain Tool
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality
Posted16 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Yep, does the job and it feels much more substantial in build quality than others I have bought."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Etape Windproof Gilet
Etape Windproof Gilet
A lightweight, cycling vest for core windchill protection in mild conditions. With an unrestricive cycle specific cut and a ventilating mesh back, the Etape Gilet is the ideal for quick descents and cool early morning starts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very pleased
Posted07 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought a large in red and fit is just right for me. 5' - 11" tall and 40" chest. Wore over jersey this weekend and kept core nice and snug without overheating. Only minor niggle is lack of pockets but just store in jersey pockets so no big deal.
Overall very pleased and would recommend."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Clear Race Jacket AW12
Clear Race Jacket AW12
Super-lightweight and with a water resistant membrane you can't go wrong with the dhb Clear Race Jacket. Water resistant with vented arm pits.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Yep, seems good
Posted11 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Just to give you an idea of size, I am 5' 11" tall average build and 12 stone. I bought a large size and it is pretty good fit. Not tight but OK with a base layer and jersey underneath. I think a medium might be a bit tight. Arm length v good but maybe a bit short in body for some.
There is some moisture build up inside jacket but I still doubt that this would not happen with any waterproof jacket when you are giving it some beans on your bike.
I'm pleased and think this jacket is great value for money."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Long Sleeve Core Jersey
Long Sleeve Core Jersey
A competitively priced jersey for cyclists who are starting out in winter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Spot on
Posted18 October 2011
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought the large in blue. Snug fit in body and just right in the arms.
Medium weight is probably best way to describe thickness of material, just right for this time of year.
dhb really is great value for money and would recommend to anyone.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vans Atwood Canvas Skate Shoes 2013
Vans Atwood Canvas Skate Shoes 2013
Grounded in classic Wino styling, but twisted with Vans heritage, thanks to the vulcanized outsole with WaffleGrip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted19 August 2011
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these for my son and he is very pleased with them. Look and fit is great and price was spot on."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very good
Posted28 June 2011
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Overall very pleased with this top. Went for large and fits me well (6' tall and 40" chest). Snug fit but good arm and body length.
I particularly like the colour scheme of this top and suits black bib shorts and my Moda Stretto well !!
Only reason for not giving 5 stars is my continued doubt that £45 is good value for what is effectivly a tee shirt but hey it's my choice and yours too. DHB quality is spot on and I'm confident that other brands would be much more dosh."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Custom Race Bottle Cage 2011
Custom Race Bottle Cage 2011
The undisputed number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value
Posted04 June 2011
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought two of these for my bikes. One black and white and one red and white.
Look really smart and work well with my wiggle bottles. Weight wise, I think the variation in my body weight is more important than a few grams here or there with bottle cages !!
Overall, good design and quality."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Team Bib Short
Team Bib Short
The Wiggle Team kit shorts are exceptionally comfortable and affordable. The anatomically designed, antibacterial chamois will keep you comfortable in the saddle while the highly breathable Lycra wicks sweat away and provides great muscle support as you ride. A real winner!Also available from the d...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Spot on
Posted10 March 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I really like these bib shorts. The Wiggle logo and patterning on the legs wraps around your bum and adds a bit of detail that looks better than the plain black shorts. The white bibs look good as well.
I am 5' 11'' tall with 34" waist with 31" inside leg and the large size fits just right. Others have mentioned that the leg is a bit short but I think they are just right.
Overall a great Wiggle buy at a really competitive price."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Zefal Swan Road Rear Mudguard
Zefal Swan Road Rear Mudguard
A 45mm wide version of the Swan, the Swan road features the same unique fitting system, but is designed to blend better aesthetically with the narrower tyres on road bikes and sports hybrids.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Really good but......
Posted04 March 2011
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am generally very pleased with this rear mud guard and it is easy to fit and remove if you want to fit it to more than one bike.
It really does keep the rain and mud of your bum and jacket.
The only problem I had was with the hinge adjustment fixing that allows you to adjust the angle and distance from the rear wheel. In simple terms it fell apart when I was out on a ride and I didn't notice that it had dropped off until I was cleaning my bike later that day. The mudguard stayed in place even without the fixing allen bolt and nut.
I have had to make up a revised fixing arrangement with a visit to B&Q and it works OK. I just need to keep an eye on it and make sure it stays tight.
So my only warning to anyone buying this is to check the mudguard hinged fixing regularly or you to will be visiting B&Q !!"
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, keeps you dry
Cons: fixing system flawed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but check size you need
Posted07 November 2010
Smudger100
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've just bought the black and white version of this top and as I've found with my other dhb tops the quality is v good and the windslam protection on the chest and front of the arms really works well without the rest of your upper body getting too warm.
I was out this morning early and had it on over only a base layer and it was just right. About 5deg. C this morning so it will give you an idea of it's thermal protection.
Only problem I've had is getting the sizing right. I originally chose just the Windslam top not the Roubaix and got a large as the sizing guide suggested this would be OK. It was really tight across the chest and I had to send it back as it was not comfortable.
I've got the Roubaix in XL and if anything it's about half a size too big in the chest and I think a L would have been OK. Spot on in the arm and shoulders. I'm keeping it as it''s close enough.
For ref I'm 5' 11" tall, 40" chest and 30" from top of shoulder to finger tips.
Overall, great jacket but like me you might have to return to get the size that fits you best."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: sizing guide is questionable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Smudger100's Questions
 
Smudger100 has not submitted any questions.
 
Smudger100's Answers
 
 Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

26" wheel

Will they be too big for a 26" islabike luath?
I think it should be fine. You can adjust the position on the seat post and the angle of the guard relative to the rear wheel
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Smudger100
Derby
 
 Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

Mudguards for a Giant TCX2

Can these mudguards be fitted to a Giant TCX2 (700x35 tyres)? If not, any suggestions as to a good, tool free / fast fit mudguard that would fit would be welcomed - many thanks
I've fitted this to my cross bike with 700 x 35 tyres and it fits and works really well.

Just make sure you check the hinge fixing tightness at the start of each ride, mine fell apart.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Smudger100
Derby
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

Does it have a zipped pocket?

Yep, one zipped pocket on rear RHS of jacket with vertical zip. Just right for my mobile.
4 years ago
by
Smudger100
Derby
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

Is this warmer/heavier than the Momentum jersey?

Not tried the Momentum jacket, but the Roubaix does have the Windslam protection to chest and front of arms so you don't get any wind chill in those areas. I would say that it is going to be just right for winter and probably too warm for spring / autumn.
4 years ago
by
Smudger100
Derby