rearviewmirror
Top 500 Contributor
Share rearviewmirror's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
rearviewmirror's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    13 December 2010
  • Last Review
    21 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    31 May 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    15 December 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 December 2009
  • Last Question
    16 May 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    22
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    13 December 2010
  • Last Answer
    11 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
rearviewmirror's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The gear bike cover offers essential protection for your drivetrain during transport on bike racks or in storage etc.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Scicon delivers
Posted21 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Scicon products do what they're advertised to do. This gear cover works great for use in the car or travel case. If you need one, I highly recommend it."
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The CX9’s linear pull design is compatible with most lever types and provides huge amounts of stopping power when the grades get steep or when your bike is loaded with enough gear to get you to the next continent.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best canti replacement option!
Posted11 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These brakes are great, absolutely no regrets in running them over the canti's. Mud clearance is fine, and braking performance is 10x better."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ardennes CL Clincher Wheelset
Ardennes CL Clincher Wheelset
Sharing all the same advantages as the Ardennes FR, the Ardennes CL (Classic) is more suitable for ultimate longevity, larger riders, and/or Cyclocross.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love these wheels...
Posted12 December 2012
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"They're not the lightest, but the wide rim and extra spokes make them an awesome CX setup. I was running a carbon clincher wheelset that rode extremely harsh, these wheels are a so smooth off-road, I really can't recommend them enough."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The classic semi-slick. This tread concept is as popular as ever and it is understandable.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Tires
Posted12 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These tires are great on and off road. They're actually more suited to trails and off-road than on for sure. Don't let the tread pattern fool you, they're quite grippy even in the mud. I wouldn't use these for commuting or long road rides, they'll wear too fast. The soft compound offers great traction, but will wear on the road. Other than that, they're great tires and provide for a great ride."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Wears Out Easily
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
Flash front and Flare rear light pack with rechargable batteries, charger and a silicone band bracket.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Save your money....
Posted26 June 2012
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"A mini review of the Exposure Lights Flash/Flare front and rear light combo. In a nutshell, don't bother with them, they are small, lightweight, and bright, but they are fraught with issues. Starting with front light, well it's OK, at least it actually stays in flash mode, but for me, I had the front light turned off (unscrewed) about a quarter turn and somewhere on the ride it decided to say farewell. The rear light will NOT stay on flash mode, ever... at least the actual light portion hasn't fallen off yet. Lastly, they're way overpriced for what you actually get, save your money. I've only had them for a few months, but I can't imagine they'll last too long screwing the plastic lighthead into the aluminum body, cross-threading is easy to do, and there is wear on the threads. You must remove the batter to recharge, so pretty much every ride (in winter) will require a battery removal and recharge. Lastly, the twist on/off is terrible, it can't be done effectively while riding and usually takes two hands."
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The GatorSkin Folding is the UK's favourite training tyre (formely known as Ultra GatorSkin). With its DuraSkin™-anti-cut fabric and PolyX Breaker® also makes it suitable for commuting through to sportives as well as training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Absolutely the best commuting tire...
Posted06 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"There is no better tire for commuting than the Gatorskin. They last for ages, are very puncture resistant, and handle perfectly in wet weather. I also recommend running a large size, like 25mm or 28mm if commuting, the ride quality is worth the extra bit of weight."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Invaluable!
Posted06 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These things are the best when it comes to fixing roadside flats, I hated the days of glue and patches, these make thing whole process seamless, I highly recommend them."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Very nice quality tool...
Posted15 August 2011
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"....however, the fact that the adapter doesn't support 1 1/2 inch headsets (tapered) makes it kind of useless in today's shops. The other annoyance is that Wiggle doesn't sell an upgraded adapter and finding anything one on-line doesn't yield any results either. While I do think the quality of this part is great, I wish I'd coughed up the extra cash for the Park Tool in stead."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Not Enough Features, no 1 1/2" compatibility
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
It's OK, not a must have....
Posted09 July 2011
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I've only removed (well attempted) remove one crown race w/ this tool. I was removing a Chris King crown race from a Fox fork, in the end I finished the job with a screwdriver. The tool did move the race about 1.5mm, but then it seems I was just pounding for nothing. The tool also showed notches on it from the crown race, so the race is actually strong than the tool. In the end, a large screwdriver is still my preferred tool for removing a race, I wouldn't say this tool is a must at all."
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily, not as effective as a screwdriver.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Dura-Ace 7900 C24 CL Clincher Wheel Set
Dura-Ace 7900 C24 CL Clincher Wheel Set
The WH-7900 CL carbon laminate clincher wheel is specifically designed to meet the demanding strength, weight and rolling criteria of Pro Road Racers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Amazing Wheels!
Posted08 July 2011
User submitted photo
rearviewmirror
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought these wheels so I could put my current Ksyrium's on my cyclocross bike, let me say that I couldn't be happier with them. The fit and finish is top notch, and when riding they're snappy and stiff. They're also lighter than my Mavic's. In summary, I don't think a better wheelset could be had at this price point aside from building your own. Buy with confidence!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: none so far.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
rearviewmirror's Questions
 
The Continental quality road long valve inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

Why does the valve on the 60mm 700x25/35 only measure 45mm?

I have a set of 50mm carbon wheels I've been using on the road, I bought the Conti 60mm 700x18-25 Race 28 tubes and used them without issue. Now I'm moving the wheels to CX, I bought the 60mm 700x25-35 Cross 28 tubes, the problem is, the valves only measure to ~45mm. They clearly do NOT work with the wheels. Why are they advertised as 60mm, when they're only 45mm? The 18/25 60mm tubes measure out to a true 60mm. Please advise.
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my question
 
1 year, 11 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
 Jet 6 FR Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Jet 6 FR Carbon Clincher Wheelset
The aero section on Jet 6 FR wheels is molded from a stiffer and lighter Uni fabric, saving 42 g per rim. Flamme Rouge wheels are built for one thing only. They are built to win.
 

Are these the 2012 model?

Please verify if there are 2012 as there are subtle differences from the 2011 wheels.

From the Hed website: For 2012 Jets are tuned with HED's proprietary SCT (Stability Control Technology) - adding improved crosswind handling to their stellar ride and cornering characteristics.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
 Super Tourist Rear Rack
Super Tourist Rear Rack
Outstanding value, lightweight 3-strut alloy rear rack with integral fender top. Adjustable extenders with two length fittings ensure a level fit to any bike.
 

Does this work with the Topeak MTX Top bag?

I believe there is compatibility between Topeak Top Bags and their Pannier rack. Is this one MTX compatible?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
Now they see you! Powered by Smart Port Technology from your front light (2009 model MaXx and upwards), never buy a battery again.
 

Voltage?

What is the operating voltage of this taillight?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
Analysis, inspiration and innovation are the key words behind the development of the Tao, the Tacx superlight streamlined bottle cage. The shape of the bike and its technical components inspired the designers.
 

Suitable for mountain biking?

All references I've seen for this bottle are related to road bikes. Has anyone used them for mountain biking? I'm wondering they'll grip the bottle tight enough on rough trails.
User submitted photo
3 years, 4 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
 IS 3 Integrated Aheadset
IS 3 Integrated Aheadset
'IS' headsets use no cups. IS bearings rest inside a head tube designed to cradle the bearings which greatly reduces stack height and weight.
 

What is the diffrence between the 1 1 / 8" Short & Tall?

I am trying to replace the headset on my 2003 Trek 2300 road bike. The original headset is a Cane Creek. I want to install a new Cane Creek IS 3 Integrated, but I'm not sure if the short or tall headset is required. Any thoughts?

Thanks
 
Products related to my question
IS 3 Integrated Aheadset
5 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 8 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Racing 7 Clincher Road Bike Wheelset
Essentially unchanged from the technical point of view compared to the 2009 version, the Racing 7 wheels sport the new Fulcrum graphics that have been applied to the whole Fulcrum Road range. The message is immediate: Speed and Competition. Two concepts that match perfectly with the DNA and the unparalleled sports successes of Fulcrum. Racing7 wheels have an aluminium rim with a height of 24 mm and aerodynamic profile and machined braking surfaces with wear indicator. Hubs are oversize, flanged, and turning on sealed cylindrical bearings. Twenty 2mm spokes are radially laced on the front wheel to improve the bike's aerodynamics. The rear wheel, on the other hand, has 24 spokes laced according to Fulcrum's renowned 2:1 Two-to-One™ geometry to improve transmission of the athlete's power.
 

Would these wheels be suitable for cyclocross use?

I am looking for a durable, yet cheap wheelset to build up my cross bike.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
 
rearviewmirror's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Ortlieb messenger bag offers 30 litres of secure waterproof storage in a stable and durable format. Ideal for pedalling your cargo across town in all conditions.
 

Does the bag have any inner compartments? Thanks

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The larger messager bag comes with no compartments, the smaller one has a snap-in compartment which is quite handy.
9 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
The CX9’s linear pull design is compatible with most lever types and provides huge amounts of stopping power when the grades get steep or when your bike is loaded with enough gear to get you to the next continent.
 

Do I need a travel agent to go with these brakes?

People have said the 2012 CX9's have a barrel adjuster and don't require a Travel Agent for correct modulation, but the TRP website makes no mention of a barrel adjuster (only mentions one on the CX8.4's).

I want to fit these on my 2009 Kona Jake The Snake cyclocross bike with 2010 Shimano 105 levers.
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No adjuster required, they'll work fine without. I run the CX9 and CX8.4 and neither setup requires any additional parts.
9 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
The CX9’s linear pull design is compatible with most lever types and provides huge amounts of stopping power when the grades get steep or when your bike is loaded with enough gear to get you to the next continent.
 

Hi, do these require a cable adapter to work with Shimano STI levers?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, they will work fine without.
9 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
The CX9’s linear pull design is compatible with most lever types and provides huge amounts of stopping power when the grades get steep or when your bike is loaded with enough gear to get you to the next continent.
 

Is this for a front and rear set?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, they are definitely sold in a set.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
 Dura-Ace 7900 C24 CL Clincher Rear Wheel
Dura-Ace 7900 C24 CL Clincher Rear Wheel
The WH-7900 TL carbon laminate clincher wheel is designed to meet pro road race criteria.
 

suitability

please can you confirm whether these wheels would be suitable for a TT bike - or are they really only for road bikes?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
This wheelset would be fine for TT, but you might prefer something more "aero".
1 year, 9 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
 Jet 6 FR Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Jet 6 FR Carbon Clincher Wheelset
The aero section on Jet 6 FR wheels is molded from a stiffer and lighter Uni fabric, saving 42 g per rim. Flamme Rouge wheels are built for one thing only. They are built to win.
 

Do these come with valve extenders?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes. Valve Extenders are definitely included.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
Flash front and Flare rear light pack with rechargable batteries, charger and a silicone band bracket.
 

Does the charger suit Australian power sockets

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Comes with a UK plug, you will need an adapter to accommodate the Australian plug. The voltage (240V) is fine.
2 years ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
 XT M770 V-Brake Levers
XT M770 V-Brake Levers
High quality brake levers designed for use with V-brakes and mechanical disc brakes.
 

Can I install over bar tape?

I have handlebar tape on my handlebars and want to install these brake levers without removing the tape. Is that possible? Basically I want to know if I must slide them on to the handlebars from the end without any tape or grips in the way or if I can just pop them onto the bars and tighten them up with the tape remaining intact. It looks as though the handlebar clamp is one piece so I don't fancy my chances. Does anybody know of levers that I could install this way?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
 XT M770 V-Brake Levers
XT M770 V-Brake Levers
High quality brake levers designed for use with V-brakes and mechanical disc brakes.
 

I am planning on converting my road bike to flat bars will these work with caliper brakes?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They work fine w/ caliper brakes. I wouldn't worry at all, I've been running them for along time without issue. Braking power is fine, I am running them with the adjustment blocks removed and the brake power is fine. (Setup: XT levers to Ultegra SL calipers.)
2 years, 8 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne
 
 Dura-Ace 7900 C24 CL Clincher Rear Wheel
Dura-Ace 7900 C24 CL Clincher Rear Wheel
The WH-7900 TL carbon laminate clincher wheel is designed to meet pro road race criteria.
 

Can you confirm the nipples in these wheels (front and rear) are black and not red as shown on Shimano's website?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
On the wheelset I received they are black.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
rearviewmirror
Melbourne