RKW123
Top 1000 Contributor
Share RKW123's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
RKW123's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    02 December 2009
  • Last Review
    15 January 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    2
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    08 January 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 January 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
RKW123's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
wife hates it!
Posted15 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"There’s enough on the reviews section about the spec, how to it set up, how quiet it is, build quality, value blah, blah, blah, so time for another angle.
My turbo trainer lives in the dining room and my wife hates it. To keep me motivated I need to have this in the house reminding me that I have to use it. It mostly gets used after 9.00 o’clock when the weather is grim, for 40 mins, on one of those evenings when I just can’t be ar5ed to go for a ride outside. Yes it helps to have a TV or an iPod because using these fellas is boredom personified! Stick a cycle computer on the rear wheel and you can keep track of the stats."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 bspoke 1W Front Light
bspoke 1W Front Light
1 x white CREE USA LED, 20 hour run time, 3 Modes, Waterproof and salt tested, 2600 candle power (1 Watt)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
buy one and see the light
Posted15 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"First things first, this is not going to mix it with the lights that punch out massive amounts of light. You're not going to use this as your sole light and go tanking around woods at the dead of night. BUT, this is the light to get you to the woods, along roads on the 'blinking mode' (you get to save the battery life on your main light).
This light certainly cuts the mustard on regular roads and you will get flashed by on coming cars...this is a bright light.
For 17 quid you would be plain stupid not to get one of these. This is a lot of light for next to nothing, You will not be disapointed by this light!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pro Bar Tape
Pro Bar Tape
Lightly cushioned bar tape which has a traditional style and of durable quality.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Just what the doctor ordered!
Posted18 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had a smash on my bike a while ago and my thumb got pretty mashed. After spending all summer in a plaster cast I lost all the muscle in the palm of my hand and resting it on a handle bar was painful. I switched to using barends because I couldn't curl my thumb under the grip, but quickly realised they needed some padding. Bar tape seemed to best solution.
I've never put bar tape on, but a quick youtube search chucked up plenty of video on how to put on bar tape. 15 mins later and quite a bit of fiddling to get the bar end plug in I have 2 padded bar ends.
This tape isn't quite as stretchy as I thought it would be, but it's stuck well, stood up to several hours in pouring rain and has plenty of nice padded grip. Just what the doctor ordered!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe City Jet MTB Tyre
Schwalbe City Jet MTB Tyre
The Schwalbe City Jet is tough and robust city tyre with Schwalbe's Kevlar Guard puncture protection belt.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
stunning tyre
Posted25 September 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had a big ‘off’ at Mountain Mayhem this year and smashed my hand up. I’ve got 12 months of physio ahead and I can’t cycle on the lumpy stuff as I can’t grip the handle bars. I decided that I would keep the fitness up by getting the miles in on the roads. Putting these tyres on has been a revelation. No more humming noise from the knobblies, the handing is sweet and crisp (although go steady in the wet!) but the speed I can ride at is exceptional – you will not believe how efficient these tyres are! I bought the 1.95’s purely from an aesthetic point of view. I thought the slimmer versions would look a bit naff on a MTB. The 1.95’s are a beauty. No need to buy different tubes, just wack your existing ones in, wack in plenty of air and get 'em rock solid and away you go (quickly!).
Buy ‘em now, you will not be disappointed."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
affordable weight savers
Posted09 June 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I ride MTB’s and I’m a fan of the baggy short, that is until it rains – then suddenly I’m lugging around a pair of shorts that seem to weigh a metric ton. I had the sudden realisation that it was just bonkers to be spending shed loads of money buying bits of fancy kit in order to shed weight, when I was wearing some of the heaviest kit when it got wet!
I bought a pair of these shorts and I’m an instant fan. Yes you still get wet but they weigh a fraction of the weight of a sodden pair of baggie’s. There is enough on this site about the quality of the shorts etc,etc,etc….but have a think, could this be your cheapest option to save weight that you hadn’t thought about????"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Chainstay Protector
Chainstay Protector
The dhb Chainstay Protector will help save your chainstay from chips and scratches caused by chain-slap. Available in two sizes: medium, for XC hardtail frames, and large for jump, freeride and dh frames. Made from black neoprene with Velcro fastening.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
no more chain slap noise
Posted29 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Chain slap noise drives me nuts - so this was the first purchase for my new bike. Size large for a Giant Anthem X4. perfect price, perfect fit - sorted."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Berry good
Posted29 May 2010
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"We get through a lot of energy / sports drinks / hydrating drinks in our house. I have 2 boys who play sport every day + I'm always out on my mountain bike. I have saved a fourtune using these tabs. 1 tube makes up 10 litres for 5 and half quid.....do the maths, it's a no brainer.
The berry flavour gets the thumbs up."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Pocket Rocket Pump
Topeak Pocket Rocket Pump
Light weight mini pump with alloy barrel for roadies. Efficient design pumps upto 160 psi
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
little beaut
Posted29 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I used to ride with an old school pump (you know the ones with the cloth type valve that screwed in and that often doubled as a make shift water pistol when you were 10yrs old!) Well I managed to fold it in half one day, so a new modern pump was on the cards. I wanted a cheap, light and powerful pump and this seemed to fit the bill (and had a shed load of complimentary reviews). This was a lot smaller than I was imagining - but quite honestly it's a little beauty. It's not something I use everyday, that's what I've got a track pump for. This only gets used once in a blue moon, on the side of a hill or mountain to inflate a tube. Yes, you have to give it the beans to inflate a full tube (it's not dual action). But I got what I paid for a small lightweight pump - perfect."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
 
 Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Short, alloy stubby bar ends especially popular with city riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
'bar' gain
Posted29 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bar ends don't seem to be in vogue at the moment and you don't see many of them around - this really doesn't bother me, these little fellas are perfect.
Nice and light and just the right size for my hands. I tend to cup my hands around the ends of the bar as well, so I don't think size is an issue here. They are nicely knurled so your hands stay put when they start to get sweaty and they point slightly inwards when they are mounted. I mostly use them on the flat to get a slightly more tucked position and of course, they help when you need it most to get extra pull on the bars when climbing.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
flying juice
Posted19 April 2010
RKW123
fromStone, Staffs
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Excellent value for money. Nice small size tablet that makes up a decent amount. Will be fantastic for keeping weight down during my long distant walks."
Pros: Lightweight, great value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RKW123's Questions
 
RKW123 has not submitted any questions.
 
RKW123's Answers
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Is my trainer louder than expected?

When I get on the trainer it is very loud, the stand seems to fall back slightly on to the unit (and therefore the tyre presses more firmly on to the unit), causing a loud whirring sound getting louder with increased rpm. If I get off the bike and move the pedals manually the sound is the same but much much quieter (more the volume I was expecting). As a reference to volume, if I cycled on it you wouldn't be able to watch tv at all unless the volume was very high. This doesn't sound normal from others experience, any suggestions?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
are you using knobblies? I had the same problem, switch to slicks and it should be quiet as a mouse..good luck
 
Products from my answer
Schwalbe City Jet MTB Tyre
4.4 out of 5(139)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 11 months ago
by
RKW123
Stone, Staffs
 
 High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

how many tubes come in the package

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
1 tube (20 tablets)
4 years, 6 months ago
by
RKW123
Stone, Staffs
 
 Topeak Pocket Rocket Pump
Topeak Pocket Rocket Pump
Light weight mini pump with alloy barrel for roadies. Efficient design pumps upto 160 psi
 

will this fit along side my bottle cage?

Does this pump come with a mounting bracket? if so will it fit along side my water bottle cage?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yep it does
4 years, 6 months ago
by
RKW123
Stone, Staffs
 
 Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Short, alloy stubby bar ends especially popular with city riders.
 

hey was just wondering would they fit a 2008 giant rincon , and do you just tighten these bar ends over the rubber grips ? thanks :)

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I would imagine these would fit almost all handle bars, I fitted mine to a Giant Anthem X4. You don't fit these over the grips, you would need to move the grips inwards (by first moving brake and gear mech...loosen using an allen key). You then tighten the bar ends with an allen key - simpulls!
4 years, 6 months ago
by
RKW123
Stone, Staffs
 
 Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Short, alloy stubby bar ends especially popular with city riders.
 

Tioga Power Studs XS Bar Ends

What is the height of the stud once fitted on to the handle bar.
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
from the centre of the handle bar to the tip of the bar end they are 94mm (don't forget they bend slightly inwards). From the top of the handle bar to the tip of the bar end they are 71mm
4 years, 6 months ago
by
RKW123
Stone, Staffs
 
 Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Short, alloy stubby bar ends especially popular with city riders.
 

How long & How Heavy?

Anyone know how long these are - and what weight they are, please?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
from the centre of the bar to the tip of the bar end they are 94mm (don't forget they bend slightly inwards). From the top of the handle bar to the tip of the bar end they are 71mm - sorry, I can't weigh them
4 years, 6 months ago
by
RKW123
Stone, Staffs
 
 DMR V8 Flat Pedals
DMR V8 Flat Pedals
V8's use exactly the same body design as the V12, making them great value platform pedals.
 

Would these pedals be any good on my road bike as I dont like the idea of getting cleats at the moment?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
read my review I posted on 23/12/09 - SPD's V's DMR's
4 years, 11 months ago
by
RKW123
Stone, Staffs
 
 M1 MTB Shoes
M1 MTB Shoes
The dhb M1 shoe is designed for the recreational mountain biker who likes the simplicity of a three strap shoe.
 

This will be my first pair of cycle shoes, I usually take a UK size 9 what size DHB should I buy.

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm a size 9 and I ordered a size 44. I wear Sealskinz in the winter as these shoes are well ventilated (so your feet will get wet). I had to remove the innersole in order to wear the Sealskinz. I think this is no hassle and when the weather warms up, I'll pop them back in and use normal thin socks and they fit a treat.
4 years, 11 months ago
by
RKW123
Stone, Staffs
 
 5 LED Front & 317 Rear Light Set
5 LED Front & 317 Rear Light Set
Front:, 5 Japanese High Performance White LED, Visible from over 1 mile away, Constant or flashing LED options, Water resistant, Great off-road/on-road front LED light, Intense beam clarity, With 2 AA alkaline batteries, Run time of up to 50 hours, Rear:, 1/2 watt red LED + 2 Extreme LEDs matched in alternating flash=SUPERFLASH, Superflash for 360 + visibility up to 1 mile, Soft-touch power switch accesses flashing or steady mode, For flashing: 30 hours or steady: 15 hours, Two AAA batteries included, Ultra compact vertical design has a water resistant case and is lightweight and durable, Includes bike mounts and clip mount
 

are this commuter lights or would they be sufficient for say riding in a village without street lighting?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'd be happy using these lights in a quiet village with no street lights. I'd draw the line taking these off road though. The rear light is the daddy here and I'd happily use the rear light in the thick of commuter traffic.
4 years, 11 months ago
by
RKW123
Stone, Staffs