fr333zin
Top 500 Contributor
Share fr333zin's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
fr333zin's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    06 December 2009
  • Last Review
    31 December 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    14 August 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    14 August 2011
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    12 March 2011
  • Last Answer
    31 December 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
fr333zin's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Over a barrel
Posted31 December 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Let's face it. You have screws missing from your Speedplay cleats because you followed the instructions in the box and didn't do them up tight enough. By now the missing screws are down the road, and you need replacements.
Enter what are possibly the most expensive screws known to man. But you have to have them.
These are just ordinary machine screws with a blob of blue loctite at the end. To be fair Speedplay's pricing structure is at fault not Wiggle's, but they should be under a £1.00 for this quantity."
Pros: you have to have them
Cons: Expensive, how much!!??
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
These Roubaix 3/4 Bib Tights are your winter saviors and will keep your warm and comfortable whatever the weather.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very happy with these
Posted31 December 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought after reading magazine reviews and they don't disappoint. Comfy insert is matched up with fleecy Roubaix material. Good support from material which has a silvery sheen to it in the light, plenty flexible and no bunching behind knees. Best of all the cuffs stay where they are put. Easily warm enough for the 'winter' we've had so far.
Above all these are tremendous value and put a huge smile on my face whenever I wear them."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The first Gore-Tex shoes launched exclusively by Northwave guarantees all-out water protection combined with excellent breathablilty. Suitable for riding in temperatures from -10° - +15°C.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb winter boots
Posted31 December 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Northwave last works well for my feet and these are an accurate size, no slopping around but can still wiggle my toes easily. Plenty stiff sole, and above all comfortable and warm (but not overheating). The neoprene round the ankle is a bit tight, I guess that is the point though. I am never sure what to do with all the excess lace when the excellent Speedlace system is tightened, usually coil it round to get the 2-part cover over it. Could benefit from some Specialized insoles. Continuing on pluses, all the light coloured design you see is reflective. Overall a very stylish boot with warmth and comfort, at a very sensible price point."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Café cleats provide traction so you won't wipe out at the espresso shop thanks to the 3 non-slip stabilisers! For use with the C-Clic and Xpresso pedals.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Keep breaking and I'm fed up
Posted14 August 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are frankly rubbish. I have just broken my second pair after only 5 days of use. The side tabs just break off when walking - hah - the only walking I've done is from house to bike. At £20 a go that is too short a life and I don't believe they are of merchantable quality. Recommend you avoid like the plague, I am very unhappy as one of the pedals has broken too after only 4 months. Why didn't I just set fire to £150?"
Cons: Wears Out Easily, too fragile in normal use
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Effective if a bit weird
Posted26 July 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Mixes OK and provides a 750ml bottle full of slightly berry tasting slightly dairy tasting stuff. Does provide a useful energy boost. Doesn't really quench thirst, and seems to coat my lips. I've been using in conjunction with a Camelbak full of High 5 Zero (which does quench thirst). Not sure if all this scientific stuff is taking me forward or backward! But anyway I'm going to buy another box. Sachets are easy to carry and use."
Pros: energy stuff, easy mixing
Cons: sticky lips, and i'm still thirsty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pro3 Mono Road Front Hub
Pro3 Mono Road Front Hub
The new Pro3 hub replaces the Mono hubs. With the proven range of Pro2s having gone from strength to strength since they were launched, the Pro3 is the development of that hub, and is specifically aimed at road and non disc users.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fab blue front hub
Posted03 July 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Beautifully engineered in England with the experience of 1000s of miles on MTBs, cross-country and downhill. I bought it like a shot! Builds a lovely wheel, paired with Pro3 Mono Rear also in blue. I suppose I'm being a tart but have colour coded Hope bits all over the bike, and Hope road hubs aren't that commonly seen. So many admiring glances :O) Smooth rolling. Replacement sealed Swiss bearings available cheaply. Why look elsewhere?"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, and british!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hope Pro3 Mono Road Rear Hub
Hope Pro3 Mono Road Rear Hub
The new Pro3 hub replaces the Mono hubs. With the proven range of Pro2s having gone from strength to strength since they were launched, the Pro3 is the development of that hub, and is specifically aimed at road and non disc users.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smooth hub with loud freewheel
Posted03 July 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I was keen to buy Hope hubs for my road bike having found them very reliable on my MTB. Paired with the Pro3 Mono Front, both in blue. Very high bling factor, smooth and easy rolling, and not commonly seen. I love'em! The best bit of the loudish freewheel is you can draw attention to the fact that you're behind someone on the cycle path without needing to shout or ring an annoying bell. People genuinely pleased to let you pass!
When they get a bit older, the Swiss sealed bearings used by Hope are cheaply available and new freehubs can be got as well. 700 miles on these so far. Who needs Chris King stuff?
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, and british!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Extreme Chain Lubricant 16oz
Extreme Chain Lubricant 16oz
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Shake it baby, yeah
Posted03 July 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought this for my road bike because I do a lot of dusty/muddy Sustrans paths. Rock n Roll recommend their Gold for road bikes, but I chose different and I'm happy. The big bottle comes with an empty smaller size 5oz bottle and nozzles for application, would be useful for a tour as well. The PTFE falls to the bottom of the bottle so shake shake before use. Good advice leaflet included - wipe chain clean, put on LOTS of Rock n Roll and wipe again. Result clean, silky smooth chain. Product is mostly solvent, well PTFE grease dissolved in solvent. Leave over night after applying to allow solvent to evaporate, and that grease is right where you want it at the heart of very roller. I seem to be applying more often (fortnightly) than previous lube (Finishline) but that just clags on the outside so looked lubricated when you could hear that it wasn't. Rock n Roll is here to stay."
Pros: High Quality, clean silky chain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Recovery Powder - 12 x 72g
Recovery Powder - 12 x 72g
The UK's No.1 Recovery brand now in powders. The first to combine world class performance with world class taste. Fast & Slow Protein and Carbohydrate Formula.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I love this stuff
Posted03 July 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"FGS Vanilla tastes wonderful to me. Towards the last part of every training ride I start fantasising about the texture and how good it will taste. In the hot weather I'm mixing it with a couple of ice cubes as well. Compared to training without FGS I have more energy and less or no aches the next day. Very happy about this product!"
Pros: High Quality, tastes goood!
Cons: i have to go training before i can have some.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value and smart
Posted03 July 2011
fr333zin
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Had these shorts for about a fortnight. Managed to get them quite muddy on first outing, so pleased to find the white grippers came up clean from the wash. They really look smart on, much better than price would suggest. I'm 5'8" and 88kgs wearing M, same as other dhb shorts I own. Very good close fit without bunching up or chafing, perhaps the pad is a bit too close a fit as it seems to reach parts that others don't. Good comfort for shorter rides (30 - 40 miles), I'd like some more room for essential equipment as mine seems to be over-compressed in these shorts and I'm not the largest chap in the world. Just back from two 50+ mile solo stints over the weekend and not as enthusiastic about the pad now, after the first leg I described it as a 'cheese-grater', but today has been more comfortable so I'm confused what the problem was. I'd still buy them at this money!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: my jury's out on the pad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
fr333zin's Questions
 
fr333zin has not submitted any questions.
 
fr333zin's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Café cleats provide traction so you won't wipe out at the espresso shop thanks to the 3 non-slip stabilisers! For use with the C-Clic and Xpresso pedals.
 

Are these compatible with Time RXS pedals too?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, they are not compatible with RXS.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol
 
Café cleats provide traction so you won't wipe out at the espresso shop thanks to the 3 non-slip stabilisers! For use with the C-Clic and Xpresso pedals.
 

Do these cleats come with screw kits?

I've just realized that I've lost a screw with metal piece. Can't find screw kits for i-clic, so I'm wondering whether cleats comes with screws or not.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, they do come with screws and the rectangular washers.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
These Roubaix 3/4 Bib Tights are your winter saviors and will keep your warm and comfortable whatever the weather.
 

Sizing

Sorry another sizing question. I have an 84 cm waist which falls right between small and medium. I don't want a loose fit but am concerned the small might just be too tight. What are the size ranges please ?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Sizing chart is shown in the lower section of the Description tab. Based on this, buy Medium for 84cm waist.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
These Roubaix 3/4 Bib Tights are your winter saviors and will keep your warm and comfortable whatever the weather.
 

Does this use the same pad as was in the 2010 Merston tights?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No. Merston used a Silver Dry pad but the Roubaix tights use Cytec. In my opinion/experience of using both these are less bulky but just as comfortable.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
These Roubaix 3/4 Bib Tights are your winter saviors and will keep your warm and comfortable whatever the weather.
 

sizing

6' 1" and 165 lbs. The dhb Merston Padded Bib Tights in Large and Assos FI Uno S5 Bib Cycling Shorts in Large fit perfectly; what do you recommend for these?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Hi, DHB seem very consistent in their sizing. I wear their Medium bibshorts so bought Medium in these tights and they are an equivalent fit. As you say you are happy with Large size Merston I suggest you go with Large again for these.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

Compared To last years DHB Finchdean?

how do they compare? are these the equivalent of last years finchdeans? better made, better padding etc?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
These are quite different to the Finchdean shorts. The insert is from a different manufacturer and less bulky. The cut has less bunching and fabric provides better support. Overall they are more robustly constructed and the difference in quality is clear (Aeron definitely up there with best Castelli shorts).
2 years, 9 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

Is the photo on this product page black/black or black/white?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
This photo shows the black/white version. They look great when worn. The white section does get a bit grubby in use from suncream, mud and so on, but easily comes up clean when washed.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol
 
 SLR Gel Flow Saddle
SLR Gel Flow Saddle
The SLR Gel Flow Saddle is ideal for road and cross country disciplines.
 

Does this saddle have oval or circular rails

I am looking at a Seat post that only supports round (not oval) rails. Can you please confirm what shape rails this saddle has.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The rails are round
3 years, 2 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol
 
 SLR Gel Flow Saddle
SLR Gel Flow Saddle
The SLR Gel Flow Saddle is ideal for road and cross country disciplines.
 

Is this saddle compatible with Topeak saddles bag fittings?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, I am using a Topeak saddle bag with this saddle. There is nothing fancy about the rails that would prevent the use of any saddlebag.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol
 
 Hope Pro3 Mono Road Rear Hub
Hope Pro3 Mono Road Rear Hub
The new Pro3 hub replaces the Mono hubs. With the proven range of Pro2s having gone from strength to strength since they were launched, the Pro3 is the development of that hub, and is specifically aimed at road and non disc users.
 

What Length?

How do I know whether I need a 130 or a 135mm unit?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Measure between the inside faces of the rear dropouts of your frame to be sure, but essentially 130mm for a road frame and 135mm for a MTB frame. Be aware that older road frames will be less than 130mm and may need cold setting - search for this term on the internet.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
fr333zin
Bristol