GavH
Share GavH's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GavH's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    40
  • First Review
    27 May 2012
  • Last Review
    29 April 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review Comment
    27 January 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    02 August 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    26 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    23 September 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
GavH's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Prime RP-50 Carbon Clincher Wheelset were created for unrivalled straight line speed & acceleration for cyclists looking to beat their personal records. The RP-50 feature straight-pull RO10 hubs to create a stiffer, lighter & more reactive whe
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value wheels
Posted29 April 2017
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Reviewed after approximately 275 miles riding in dry conditions. I weigh 74kg, have them paired to a Trek Emonda SL6 and have been riding main and back roads around Co Antrim and Co Down in Northern Ireland. Initial impressions are very good indeed.
Unboxing: Well packaged and including everything you need to go tubeless straight away (I didn’t, preferring to stick with 25c Conti GP4000S II and inner tubes). Two things let the package down from the off: tubeless rim tape covering over the valve hole (easily fixed but it’s the attention to detail that marks the best products apart) and the front wheel was not at all true. Both these relatively easy to fix issues, coupled with other early reviews also pointing to the poor truing, suggest rushed Quality Control.
Weight: 1513g straight out of the box (677g Front, 836g Rear) with the rim tape installed but without QR skewers inserted. One can only assume the 1490g claimed weight is without the tubeless tape applied and supplied QRs, which are perfectly adequate, add another 72g for the pair (34g Front, 38g Rear). Overall, this means these are right up there with Campagnolo Boras in terms of weight but at almost half the price for the same depth rim. Whilst I suspect the Campagnolos will have far better hubs and bearings, I'm not convinced they'd be £600-700 worth better!
Performance: Installing tyres was hard work - REALLY hard work! I snapped a full size tyre lever in trying to get the last bit on the first wheel, which clearly gave me immediate cause for concern in respect of conducting roadside repairs. A little soapy water and an alloy lever (wrapped in tape to help protect the rim - I was quite nervous of this tactic to say the least!) helped ease it on. Once on though, it became apparent the inner tube on the front wheel was causing a bulge in the tyre. I quickly discovered the cause was a tad too much tubeless rim tape near the valve hole which had crept up the inside of the rim and was preventing the tyre bead engaging fully. New, stiffer, tyre levers purchased, I was able to remove the tyre, trim the tape with a sharp blade at which the tube and tyre sat flush from then on but another point deducted for QC reasons perhaps.
These wheels spin up nicely and with no real effort and the freehub has a real Chris King-style ‘buzz’ sound which one of my mates commented on almost immediately upon hearing it the first time I used these. The wheels are stiff and feel strong out of the saddle with no discernible brake rub although the bike felt considerably more lively in windy conditions than with my previous alloy Pro-Lite Bracciano wheels which, at 42mm depth but at 361g heavier, very rarely gave me any sense of instability. It’s nothing uncontrollable or frightening as such, but it certainly isn’t the ‘predictable handling’ the U-shaped rim is supposedly noted for in the product listing. If you are relatively light and not an entirely confident descender, with long, fast, exposed descents regularly a feature in your routes, I’d suggest looking at either lower profile Primes or another wheelset altogether.
One surprising aspect of the handling though was that these wheels have made the bike corner far more sharply than it did with the previous Pro-Lite wheels. If anything I would have thought that the deeper rim would cause more 'understeer' rather than a complete reversal of what I had become used to. The Prime’s also take significantly more of the harshness out of the road than the alloy Pro-Lites, despite running the same tyres and this is a definite advantage. I suspect both the vibration damping and the improved cornering are down in part to the Carbon Fibre construction but also due to the Prime’s being much wider than my previous wheels.
Braking, so far only tested in the dry, is very positive indeed; almost as good as any alloy rim I’ve ridden. There’s a really satisfying ‘zing’ sound from the rims and certainly not the squealing I’ve heard mentioned common to other carbon rims under braking. I can testify to the supplied brake pads being pretty good indeed, although I can’t yet say much to their longevity. Using Ultegra 6800 brake callipers, I had no problem matching the pads to the braking track, with plenty of room to spare.
I haven’t yet had cause to open up the hubs but I suspect an upgrade path with these may well be better bearings if at all possible - they don't spin when the bike is on the workstand for as long as I'd like, suggesting the hubs are a bit more 'draggy' than they could be.
I'm no wheelsmith and hence I'm unsure what, if any, real advantage the different spokes really offer between the RP (straight-pull) and the RR (J-bend) models and whether, given the very small weight differential between the two models, the RPs are worth paying more than £100 extra over the RRs?
Make no mistake, I think these are great wheels, especially when comparing the price to ‘higher end’ brands such as Campagnolo or Zipp. They are not flawless but if you read the various reviews, opinions are varied on a range of the issues I’ve noted therefore your mileage may vary as they say. The bottom line is: they are light, stiff, fast, look the business (if you don't think that's important, you're in the wrong game!) and don’t cost the earth (as carbon rims go - £760 is still a pricey upgrade for effectively a single component, even a significant one like wheels).
Overall, I’d recommend these wheels in the main, although the QC could be improved and the crosswind handling perhaps, hence why 4* only (I'd give 4.5* if I could - I've overcome the QC issues easily enough and will hopefully learn to handle the bike better in the wind!). For me, the entry of Prime wheels to the market has provided a worthy competitor to the more established - and expensive - brands and a very worthwhile upgrade."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, Lightweight
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
 
Deda Mistral, a new tape is born: skin-like, finely perforated and really personalised. A mix of elegance and quality signed Deda.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good tape - until it's time to take it off
Posted11 January 2017
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good quality tape and a very reasonable price. Not too difficult to wrap although as other reviewers note, it isn't as compliant as other types of tape.
The real problem for me is when it comes time to remove it, this stuff shreds and leaves a lot of the sticky part - including a lot of the tape itself - stuck to your bars, which means a lot of time spent scrubbing and removing it. Fizik tape does not do this and will be the type I revert back to for future."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, Rugged
Cons: removal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tailored with extreme care to give an amazing race fit, the Assos T.équipe_S7 Bib Shorts are snug and feature a super-anatomic insert. The supremely comfortable fit make these a great choice for non-stop use and races where details make a difference
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worth the money
Posted04 January 2017
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these to replace a worn out pair of Assos S5 Uno shorts which after about 6 years use, had developed a 'see-through' patch at the lower end of the back/upper end of my backside. Reading reviews here on Wiggle and elsewhere online, this appears to be a common problem and if Assos are to be believed, is simply a result of the corrosive effects of sweat and sunlight on Lycra. In other words, it'll happen to all well-used shorts eventually and to be fair, my 6 yr old pair of DHB bib-longs have gone exactly the same way - albeit not to the same extent - despite being thicker, roubaix fleece lined.
Onto the S7 Equipe shorts though...
First appearance, the packaging makes you realise you've bought a quality product. S5s came with some Assos washing liquid, chamois cream and a washing net however the S7 no longer seems to come with such freebies: a zip-lock clear, waterproof ID wallet being the only such addition.
I elected for Medium (5'8", 38" chest, 32-33" waist - and at the time, carrying a little 'Christmas' weight at 74kg - closer to 70 mid-season). Medium was a perfect fit - good compressive fit on the legs and not at all tight or loose up top.
The significant difference between the S7 lineup seems to be the chamois, which is different for each 'model'. I opted for the Equipe as it looked to have a very similar pad to that in my previous S5 Unos and hence I knew I'd get along fine with it. First outing was 100.6 miles. Absolutely no rubbing or discomfort whatsoever - I was genuinely surprised at just how good and comfortable theses shorts are. The S7 is undeniably an improvement on the previous S5 lineup. The pink band around the lower left thigh also lets your club mates know these aren't just any black shorts as well (let's be honest, cycling is a style orientated sport!).
The only downside I can mention is the simple fact that these are very expensive shorts. In defence of the price though, I do believe you get what you pay for and by way of example I have a cheaper pair of DHB Aeron Pro shorts which fit equally as well, but the pad is nowhere near as comfortable. I'll add now that I'm also a fan of DHB and think the value for money aspect of that brand should not be overlooked however, I can feel the DHB pad getting abrasive and uncomfortable after an hour (chamois cream doesn't seem to help) and whilst I've worn them on many 3 hr plus rides, the S7 performed flawlessly for over 6 hours on their very first outing - a very big difference. That additional comfort is the difference between finishing a long ride strong and wanting to go home early. For the quality, styling and comfort though, I think the Assos premium is a small price to pay over lesser priced brands."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Alé Router Headband
Alé Router Headband
A lightweight, soft feel fleece headband to protect your ears for cold winds.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and Effective
Posted04 January 2017
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I was finding a full 'skull cap' made my head overhear, so thought I'd try a headband. All I can say about this Ale Router is that it is simple, comfortable, light, folds away to nothing when you need to take it off and perfectly effective. I wore it under my helmet in temperatures pushing 1C and found it kept my ears warm and allowed enough heat to vent through the top of my head to ensure I didn't overheat but remained warm enough. The colour schemes on offer may not be to everyone's taste, but it 'does what it says on the tin'."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Bortola clincher wheelset, with it's low profile 21mm ultra-light tubeless ready rim, is the light and powerful cousin of the Bracciano and offers you straight-pull rigidity and strength making it ideal for training on harsh roads or racing.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Lightweight but flexy
Posted19 February 2016
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As a happy user of Pro-Lite products prior to purchase, I picked up a set of Bortolas as a lightweight 'climbing' wheel. My previous experience of PL products included the old Merano wheel, the Bracciano A42SE and I use a PL full carbon fork on my winter frame. These Bortolas are ridden on a Trek Emonda SL6 and primarily used for hilly routes.
There is no question these are the lightest PL wheels I have bought, weighing in at 1514g out of the box (the old Merano's were 1671g (w/o QRs) and the Bracciano A42SE weigh 1874g (w/o QRs). The lighter weight is instantly noticeable and they do feel more sprightly. The wider, shallower rim profile is unquestionably more comfortable than the more aero Bracciano, which feels very harsh on bumpy road surfaces. The hubs run super smooth and were one of the most notable features of my older Meranos and thus one of the key attractions in keeping with PL wheelsets.
I haven't run them tubeless yet but intend to. The first (and so far only) puncture I had on them took 4 tyre levers and 3 hands (work that out!) to remove the tyre. This seems to be a facet of rims that are tubeless compatible and has made me consider whether tubeless tyres might be the way forward with these rims. The fact they are wider also gives you more options. I've ran Conti GP4000S tyres on them before swapping to lighter Vittoria tyres. I didn't notice any particular difference in ride quality. I'm not a fan of the graphics, which have too much white in them when set against an all black frameset. A personal issue but one PL got spot on with the older Merano's - offering an SE version as they do for the Bracciano surely can't be that hard?
The biggest issue for me (5' 9" and 73-75 kgs depending on the day of the week!) is that these things can be like wet noodles when trying hard out of the saddle on climbs. Very disconcerting and more than a little annoying when you feel like your effort's being compromised by your rims banging (quite audibly) off the brake blocks. I initially dialled some of this out by tightening the QRs skewers and releasing the brake cable tension a bit. Nevertheless, this is not something I've experienced on any other wheelset I've ridden and I note that at least 2 other reviewers have commented on the same thing, so it can't just be me and my mere 225W FTP!
Overall I'd recommend these to anyone wanting a lightweight set of wheels that will improve the comfort of their ride. However the flex issue is annoying and costs them what would otherwise have been a 5* rating."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, Unattractive, flexy
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
 
Ultra lightweight, aerodynamically constructed and race ready, the dhb Professional ASV eVent Waterproof jacket is a race essential to protect you against bad weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good jacket
Posted24 October 2015
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've long been a believer that you can get away with being wet so long as you remain warm. Problem is that you still end up feeling like a giant sponge and stops are a no-no as you just end up cold. So, 'proper' waterproof jacket it was then.
I had a look at a few offerings and was familiar with the dhb brand and fit. At 5' 9" and 73kgs (38" chest), I ordered the Medium and it was a perfect fit. First run out I wore a base layer, winter Jersey and this. It was spot on for fit: close fitting but not at all restrictive.
The 'test run' was perfect for trialling a new waterproof: wet, windy and cold. The rain was pelting down from the start and didn't stop for the 3 hrs I was out. At no point did I feel like I was getting damp and certainly didn't feel like I was overheating or getting soaked from the inside either. The two access 'ports' at the back made getting a gel out of my back pocket very easy, although things like a pocket pump or phone would still require unzipping. It rolls up into a Jersey pocket, albeit at a push and is lightweight to the point you barely notice it in your hand. The only criticism is that it is perhaps a touch too short at the back, but not to the point that it exposes you in any way. I'd also like to see brighter colour choices; after all, you will be wearing it when it's overcast and dull - a grey jacket therefore is hardly a safety feature although it does have reflective strips on the back.
Overall this is an exceptional garment which is ideal for the cyclist looking for a packable, breathable, properly waterproof jacket. The race cut means no unnecessary weight or flappy material, saving your precious watts for the finish line or just the 30 sign!"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, bit short
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good content - poor packaging
Posted31 March 2014
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not thick and gloupy like most gels, these IsoGels have a real watery consistency so they're easy to consume. I've used during rides and runs. Flavours are decent and they left me with no stomach issues.
The problem with these - and the reason I only awarded 3* - is that they are difficult (nigh on impossible!) to fully open. The tear-off tab doesn't tear fully off, meaning it's jagging into your mouth and obstructing the opening. I've been left with gel all over my hands more than once and the only way to get around this is to stop and drink it carefully. Not good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Minoura Mag Riser 3 Block
Minoura Mag Riser 3 Block
The Mag Riser 3 levels out the front of your bike for a natural riding position when training. The Mag Riser 3 can be used with both 26" mountain bike tyres and narrow 700c road tyres.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Does what it needs to but could be better
Posted10 September 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"You've just bought the turbo trainer for the cold, wet winter nights. Without one of these the back wheel is higher than the front. You could use a copy of the Yellow Pages, but who actually gets those nowadays? In any case, serious roadies don't make do with cheap substitutes so you need a riser block.
This Minoura offering does what it needs to do, being perfectly sized to level off the bike when attached to my Minoura V150 Turbo. That said, it slides around a lot and needs something a bit grippier applied to the underside to mitigate against this. It's a block of plastic that will accomodate either a road or MTB tyre, but only offer one height option unlike the Cyclops one, so make your purchasing decision accordingly!"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Not Enough Features, slips around too easily, no height options
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 R106 SPD-SL Road Cycling Shoes
R106 SPD-SL Road Cycling Shoes
Competition level road shoes with a Micro adjust buckle, synthetic leather upper and a glass fibre composite sole, built with Shimano technology and expertise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit like a glove
Posted16 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Im a size 8 in normal shoes and a 43 fits like a glove. I've got a pair of Diadora shoes in which a 43 are a touch on the tight side but these are sized perfectly. Colour scheme is a bit boring (I got the white/red ones)."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Unbeatable
Posted27 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've a pair of these on each of my road bikes. The ones on my current winter/commuting setup are 3 years old, have been on a total of three different bikes, have covered over 3000 miles and have yet to puncture! Likewise, the newer ones on my summer bike have not suffered a puncture and done perhaps 200 miles thus far. I run these at around 115psi in summer, and a touch lesson winter or when commuting the short but bumpy distance to work.
Excellent tyres, the only downside is that they don't look as sexy as some of the other offerings out there. That said, who cares what colour your tyres are when you're sat by the side of a road, in the puring rain, fixing a puncture!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GavH's Questions
 
GavH has not submitted any questions.
 
GavH's Answers
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

How to get bike oil out of white shorts?

I got oil on the shorts and washing them with the assos detergent has not removed it. What's the best way to get it out
Have you tried dabbing about of citrus degreaser on the stain bro break up the oil a bit before washing?
4 years, 9 months ago
by
GavH
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Will a Shimano Ultegra 6600 short cage rear mech be able to cope with the 28 large sprocket on the 11-28 6700 cassettel

YES, it will. I know because I am currently running an 11-28 with a 6600 short cage rear mech and an FSA Gossamer compact up front. I had to tweak the rear mech ever so slightly to ensure smooth shifting, but it's nothing you can't do yourself.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
GavH
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

I am 100kg and 5"8, what size?

I'd opt for the Medium. I am 5' 9", 80kg with a 38" chest but a 34" waist and a Medium fits like a glove. Hope that helps.
5 years ago
by
GavH
 
 Ladies ProGrid Triumph 8 Shoes aw11
Ladies ProGrid Triumph 8 Shoes aw11
The Triumph 8 is the latest incarnation of Saucony's top-of-the-range cushioning shoe. The full-length ProGrid cushioning give an amazing luxurious feel and the transition from heel-to-toe is fantastically smooth. The Triumph offers even the heaviest runner maximum protection from the continuous i...
 

hi i am a US 9 shoe so what am i for the UK ? or is it the same cheers amanda

A US 9 would be a UK 8, also known as a European 42.
6 years, 1 month ago
by
GavH