GavH
Share GavH's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GavH's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    20
  • First Review
    27 May 2012
  • Last Review
    19 February 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    27 January 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    02 August 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    26 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    23 September 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
GavH's Reviews
 
The Bortola clincher wheelset, with it's low profile 21mm ultra-light tubeless ready rim, is the light and powerful cousin of the Bracciano and offers you straight-pull rigidity and strength making it ideal for training on harsh roads or racing.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Lightweight but flexy
Posted19 February 2016
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As a happy user of Pro-Lite products prior to purchase, I picked up a set of Bortolas as a lightweight 'climbing' wheel. My previous experience of PL products included the old Merano wheel, the Bracciano A42SE and I use a PL full carbon fork on my winter frame. These Bortolas are ridden on a Trek Emonda SL6 and primarily used for hilly routes.
There is no question these are the lightest PL wheels I have bought, weighing in at 1514g out of the box (the old Merano's were 1671g (w/o QRs) and the Bracciano A42SE weigh 1874g (w/o QRs). The lighter weight is instantly noticeable and they do feel more sprightly. The wider, shallower rim profile is unquestionably more comfortable than the more aero Bracciano, which feels very harsh on bumpy road surfaces. The hubs run super smooth and were one of the most notable features of my older Meranos and thus one of the key attractions in keeping with PL wheelsets.
I haven't run them tubeless yet but intend to. The first (and so far only) puncture I had on them took 4 tyre levers and 3 hands (work that out!) to remove the tyre. This seems to be a facet of rims that are tubeless compatible and has made me consider whether tubeless tyres might be the way forward with these rims. The fact they are wider also gives you more options. I've ran Conti GP4000S tyres on them before swapping to lighter Vittoria tyres. I didn't notice any particular difference in ride quality. I'm not a fan of the graphics, which have too much white in them when set against an all black frameset. A personal issue but one PL got spot on with the older Merano's - offering an SE version as they do for the Bracciano surely can't be that hard?
The biggest issue for me (5' 9" and 73-75 kgs depending on the day of the week!) is that these things can be like wet noodles when trying hard out of the saddle on climbs. Very disconcerting and more than a little annoying when you feel like your effort's being compromised by your rims banging (quite audibly) off the brake blocks. I initially dialled some of this out by tightening the QRs skewers and releasing the brake cable tension a bit. Nevertheless, this is not something I've experienced on any other wheelset I've ridden and I note that at least 2 other reviewers have commented on the same thing, so it can't just be me and my mere 225W FTP!
Overall I'd recommend these to anyone wanting a lightweight set of wheels that will improve the comfort of their ride. However the flex issue is annoying and costs them what would otherwise have been a 5* rating."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, Unattractive, flexy
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
 
Ultra lightweight, aerodynamically constructed and race ready, the dhb Professional ASV eVent Waterproof jacket is a race essential to protect you against bad weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good jacket
Posted24 October 2015
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've long been a believer that you can get away with being wet so long as you remain warm. Problem is that you still end up feeling like a giant sponge and stops are a no-no as you just end up cold. So, 'proper' waterproof jacket it was then.
I had a look at a few offerings and was familiar with the dhb brand and fit. At 5' 9" and 73kgs (38" chest), I ordered the Medium and it was a perfect fit. First run out I wore a base layer, winter Jersey and this. It was spot on for fit: close fitting but not at all restrictive.
The 'test run' was perfect for trialling a new waterproof: wet, windy and cold. The rain was pelting down from the start and didn't stop for the 3 hrs I was out. At no point did I feel like I was getting damp and certainly didn't feel like I was overheating or getting soaked from the inside either. The two access 'ports' at the back made getting a gel out of my back pocket very easy, although things like a pocket pump or phone would still require unzipping. It rolls up into a Jersey pocket, albeit at a push and is lightweight to the point you barely notice it in your hand. The only criticism is that it is perhaps a touch too short at the back, but not to the point that it exposes you in any way. I'd also like to see brighter colour choices; after all, you will be wearing it when it's overcast and dull - a grey jacket therefore is hardly a safety feature although it does have reflective strips on the back.
Overall this is an exceptional garment which is ideal for the cyclist looking for a packable, breathable, properly waterproof jacket. The race cut means no unnecessary weight or flappy material, saving your precious watts for the finish line or just the 30 sign!"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, bit short
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good content - poor packaging
Posted31 March 2014
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not thick and gloupy like most gels, these IsoGels have a real watery consistency so they're easy to consume. I've used during rides and runs. Flavours are decent and they left me with no stomach issues.
The problem with these - and the reason I only awarded 3* - is that they are difficult (nigh on impossible!) to fully open. The tear-off tab doesn't tear fully off, meaning it's jagging into your mouth and obstructing the opening. I've been left with gel all over my hands more than once and the only way to get around this is to stop and drink it carefully. Not good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Minoura Mag Riser 3 Block
Minoura Mag Riser 3 Block
The Mag Riser 3 levels out the front of your bike for a natural riding position when training. The Mag Riser 3 can be used with both 26" mountain bike tyres and narrow 700c road tyres.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Does what it needs to but could be better
Posted10 September 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"You've just bought the turbo trainer for the cold, wet winter nights. Without one of these the back wheel is higher than the front. You could use a copy of the Yellow Pages, but who actually gets those nowadays? In any case, serious roadies don't make do with cheap substitutes so you need a riser block.
This Minoura offering does what it needs to do, being perfectly sized to level off the bike when attached to my Minoura V150 Turbo. That said, it slides around a lot and needs something a bit grippier applied to the underside to mitigate against this. It's a block of plastic that will accomodate either a road or MTB tyre, but only offer one height option unlike the Cyclops one, so make your purchasing decision accordingly!"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Not Enough Features, slips around too easily, no height options
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 R106 SPD-SL Road Cycling Shoes
R106 SPD-SL Road Cycling Shoes
Competition level road shoes with a Micro adjust buckle, synthetic leather upper and a glass fibre composite sole, built with Shimano technology and expertise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit like a glove
Posted16 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Im a size 8 in normal shoes and a 43 fits like a glove. I've got a pair of Diadora shoes in which a 43 are a touch on the tight side but these are sized perfectly. Colour scheme is a bit boring (I got the white/red ones)."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Unbeatable
Posted27 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've a pair of these on each of my road bikes. The ones on my current winter/commuting setup are 3 years old, have been on a total of three different bikes, have covered over 3000 miles and have yet to puncture! Likewise, the newer ones on my summer bike have not suffered a puncture and done perhaps 200 miles thus far. I run these at around 115psi in summer, and a touch lesson winter or when commuting the short but bumpy distance to work.
Excellent tyres, the only downside is that they don't look as sexy as some of the other offerings out there. That said, who cares what colour your tyres are when you're sat by the side of a road, in the puring rain, fixing a puncture!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Compressport R2 (Race & Recovery) Calf Guard - Exclusive
Compressport R2 (Race & Recovery) Calf Guard - Exclusive
The Compressport R2 was the number one calf guard worn at the Ironman World Championships in Kona 2010. The Compressport R2 calf guard boosts your venous return, reducing the accumulation of toxins while increasing oxygenation to the muscles.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
These work!
Posted27 May 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've suffed from 'shin splint' (Tibial periostitis to be more exact) for years and the usual cure is to ensure I don't run far and that if I do (more than 6-7 miles!), that I don't run the following day. Having taken up the idea of training for a forthcoming local half marathon, I needed to think of a new cure.
I read about compression wear and fished out a pair of medical grade compression socks the wife was given after giving birth to our daughter. Unsightly, probably a touch too small and a little uncomfortable, I would wear them in bed or for several hours after a run. The result was astounding: NONE of the usual lower leg pain that I would normally experience.
That pushed me towards 'proper' compression wear and a pair of Saucony socks, again, worn after a run. Same result; no pain and the ability to run on consecutive days. I didn't like the fact though that sweaty feet would mean I'd need to wash the socks, rendering them useless for wearing on that consecutive day.
Browsing Wiggle, I came across these Compressport calf guards and thought they'd be ideal. Wearing them after each run, I have actually felt the compression working. It's hard to explain, but there are sensations in the lower leg that I've not felt with either of the previous garments. I've even worn them under my suit to works uch is their versatilty.
I've not tried wearing them out on the run as frankly, I think they'd look daft, but there is no doubting their performance as a recovery garment whatsoever. The only reason I haven't given them 5* is that there are cheaper, equally functional alternatives (ie the medical things mentioned earlier which I'll bet your GP could get you). Sizing for me was simple using the size guide. With a 40cm calf circumference, I opted for the T3 and it seems perfect."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
GavH's Questions
 
GavH has not submitted any questions.
 
GavH's Answers
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

How to get bike oil out of white shorts?

I got oil on the shorts and washing them with the assos detergent has not removed it. What's the best way to get it out
Best answer
Have you tried dabbing about of citrus degreaser on the stain bro break up the oil a bit before washing?
4 years ago
by
GavH
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Will a Shimano Ultegra 6600 short cage rear mech be able to cope with the 28 large sprocket on the 11-28 6700 cassettel

YES, it will. I know because I am currently running an 11-28 with a 6600 short cage rear mech and an FSA Gossamer compact up front. I had to tweak the rear mech ever so slightly to ensure smooth shifting, but it's nothing you can't do yourself.
4 years ago
by
GavH
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

I am 100kg and 5"8, what size?

I'd opt for the Medium. I am 5' 9", 80kg with a 38" chest but a 34" waist and a Medium fits like a glove. Hope that helps.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
GavH
 
 Ladies ProGrid Triumph 8 Shoes aw11
Ladies ProGrid Triumph 8 Shoes aw11
The Triumph 8 is the latest incarnation of Saucony's top-of-the-range cushioning shoe. The full-length ProGrid cushioning give an amazing luxurious feel and the transition from heel-to-toe is fantastically smooth. The Triumph offers even the heaviest runner maximum protection from the continuous i...
 

hi i am a US 9 shoe so what am i for the UK ? or is it the same cheers amanda

A US 9 would be a UK 8, also known as a European 42.
5 years, 4 months ago
by
GavH