GavH
Share GavH's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GavH's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    27 May 2012
  • Last Review
    31 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    27 January 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    27 January 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    26 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    23 September 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
GavH's Reviews
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good content - poor packaging
Posted31 March 2014
GavH
fromUK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not thick and gloupy like most gels, these IsoGels have a real watery consistency so they're easy to consume. I've used during rides and runs. Flavours are decent and they left me with no stomach issues.
The problem with these - and the reason I only awarded 3* - is that they are difficult (nigh on impossible!) to fully open. The tear-off tab doesn't tear fully off, meaning it's jagging into your mouth and obstructing the opening. I've been left with gel all over my hands more than once and the only way to get around this is to stop and drink it carefully. Not good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Mag Riser 3 levels out the front of your bike for a natural riding position when training. The Mag Riser 3 can be used with both 26" mountain bike tyres and narrow 700c road tyres.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Does what it needs to but could be better
Posted10 September 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"You've just bought the turbo trainer for the cold, wet winter nights. Without one of these the back wheel is higher than the front. You could use a copy of the Yellow Pages, but who actually gets those nowadays? In any case, serious roadies don't make do with cheap substitutes so you need a riser block.
This Minoura offering does what it needs to do, being perfectly sized to level off the bike when attached to my Minoura V150 Turbo. That said, it slides around a lot and needs something a bit grippier applied to the underside to mitigate against this. It's a block of plastic that will accomodate either a road or MTB tyre, but only offer one height option unlike the Cyclops one, so make your purchasing decision accordingly!"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Not Enough Features, slips around too easily, no height options
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 R106 SPD-SL Road Cycling Shoes
R106 SPD-SL Road Cycling Shoes
Competition level road shoes with a Micro adjust buckle, synthetic leather upper and a glass fibre composite sole, built with Shimano technology and expertise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit like a glove
Posted16 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Im a size 8 in normal shoes and a 43 fits like a glove. I've got a pair of Diadora shoes in which a 43 are a touch on the tight side but these are sized perfectly. Colour scheme is a bit boring (I got the white/red ones)."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Unbeatable
Posted27 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've a pair of these on each of my road bikes. The ones on my current winter/commuting setup are 3 years old, have been on a total of three different bikes, have covered over 3000 miles and have yet to puncture! Likewise, the newer ones on my summer bike have not suffered a puncture and done perhaps 200 miles thus far. I run these at around 115psi in summer, and a touch lesson winter or when commuting the short but bumpy distance to work.
Excellent tyres, the only downside is that they don't look as sexy as some of the other offerings out there. That said, who cares what colour your tyres are when you're sat by the side of a road, in the puring rain, fixing a puncture!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Compressport R2 (Race & Recovery) Calf Guard - Exclusive
Compressport R2 (Race & Recovery) Calf Guard - Exclusive
The Compressport R2 was the number one calf guard worn at the Ironman World Championships in Kona 2010. The Compressport R2 calf guard boosts your venous return, reducing the accumulation of toxins while increasing oxygenation to the muscles.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
These work!
Posted27 May 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GavH
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've suffed from 'shin splint' (Tibial periostitis to be more exact) for years and the usual cure is to ensure I don't run far and that if I do (more than 6-7 miles!), that I don't run the following day. Having taken up the idea of training for a forthcoming local half marathon, I needed to think of a new cure.
I read about compression wear and fished out a pair of medical grade compression socks the wife was given after giving birth to our daughter. Unsightly, probably a touch too small and a little uncomfortable, I would wear them in bed or for several hours after a run. The result was astounding: NONE of the usual lower leg pain that I would normally experience.
That pushed me towards 'proper' compression wear and a pair of Saucony socks, again, worn after a run. Same result; no pain and the ability to run on consecutive days. I didn't like the fact though that sweaty feet would mean I'd need to wash the socks, rendering them useless for wearing on that consecutive day.
Browsing Wiggle, I came across these Compressport calf guards and thought they'd be ideal. Wearing them after each run, I have actually felt the compression working. It's hard to explain, but there are sensations in the lower leg that I've not felt with either of the previous garments. I've even worn them under my suit to works uch is their versatilty.
I've not tried wearing them out on the run as frankly, I think they'd look daft, but there is no doubting their performance as a recovery garment whatsoever. The only reason I haven't given them 5* is that there are cheaper, equally functional alternatives (ie the medical things mentioned earlier which I'll bet your GP could get you). Sizing for me was simple using the size guide. With a 40cm calf circumference, I opted for the T3 and it seems perfect."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
GavH's Questions
 
GavH has not submitted any questions.
 
GavH's Answers
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

How to get bike oil out of white shorts?

I got oil on the shorts and washing them with the assos detergent has not removed it. What's the best way to get it out
Best answer
Have you tried dabbing about of citrus degreaser on the stain bro break up the oil a bit before washing?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
GavH
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Will a Shimano Ultegra 6600 short cage rear mech be able to cope with the 28 large sprocket on the 11-28 6700 cassettel

YES, it will. I know because I am currently running an 11-28 with a 6600 short cage rear mech and an FSA Gossamer compact up front. I had to tweak the rear mech ever so slightly to ensure smooth shifting, but it's nothing you can't do yourself.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
GavH
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

I am 100kg and 5"8, what size?

I'd opt for the Medium. I am 5' 9", 80kg with a 38" chest but a 34" waist and a Medium fits like a glove. Hope that helps.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
GavH
 
 Ladies ProGrid Triumph 8 Shoes aw11
Ladies ProGrid Triumph 8 Shoes aw11
The Triumph 8 is the latest incarnation of Saucony's top-of-the-range cushioning shoe. The full-length ProGrid cushioning give an amazing luxurious feel and the transition from heel-to-toe is fantastically smooth. The Triumph offers even the heaviest runner maximum protection from the continuous i...
 

hi i am a US 9 shoe so what am i for the UK ? or is it the same cheers amanda

A US 9 would be a UK 8, also known as a European 42.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
GavH