roygardner
Share roygardner's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
roygardner's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    05 November 2011
  • Last Review
    17 June 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    05 November 2011
  • Last Answer
    17 June 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
roygardner's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good product
Posted17 June 2014
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The reflectors keep me legal on my commute in the winter."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Thomson Elite seatpost is the standard by which all other seatposts are judged.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beautifully engineered
Posted17 June 2014
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Excellent. Perfect for obsessive adjustment of seat angle."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Attractive cap with classic and elegant design fitting well under a helmet. The visor also helps keep rain away from your eyes on rain soaked rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent hat
Posted17 June 2014
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Good fit and doesn't shrink or lose colour in wash."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Robust but slow
Posted14 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Definitely slowed me down but they cope with the appalling conditions on the lanes I ride. No punctures or blow-outs after 3 weeks use. In the previous 3 weeks I had 2 punctures and a blow-out."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fast Jacket XL Sunglasses - SS13
Fast Jacket XL Sunglasses - SS13
Performance Sunglasses with a unique interchangeable lens design that lets you match your optics to your environment. Switching lenses is fast and easy, thanks to Switchlock Technology, an innovation that locks in the lenses with a quick release system.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I returned to Oakley
Posted15 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Following the demise of my last pair of Oakleys after 10 years of hard use I tried to avoid the cost of another pair and went for some cheaper glasses twice. I got another pair of Oakleys because of the lenses and the fit. The lens quality is awesome - in Spring dawn and dusk light conditions the persimmon lens is like a night-vision goggle. The larger lens size on the XL gives me more coverage and better protection against light, dust and insects."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Endurance Baggy Shorts
Endurance Baggy Shorts
Durable baggy shorts with a removable inner liner and an Odlo Soft Protection Tec Seatpad for cushioning and comfort on cross country loops and trail centre sessions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very comfortable
Posted15 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These are really good. The padded liner is very comfortable and the outer short has a high waist. I got large (I'm a 33" waist) and at first I thought they felt a little tight around the hips but on the bike they are fine I guess because they are cut so well. They are a little pricy but they are well made and because the inner is removable they can be worn with other liners."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Put an end to cold and wet feet with Shimano MW81 Winter boots. An insulated Gore-Tex lining provides complete waterproof protection whilst allowing your feet to breathe. A stiff sole and mud shedding tread make MW81s ideal for the winter trail warrior.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product
Posted15 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Used them over the winter and they kept me dry (see below) and warm on very muddy lanes. Much better than using overshoes. I don't use waterproof trousers so on a couple of extremely wet rides water got under the shoe's neoprene ankle band because of wet tights - nothing serious and because I stayed warm I didn't know until the end of the ride."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A much loved saddle used by sporting cyclists for many years.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Work for me
Posted15 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been using these for o25 years on road and MTB bikes. The choice of saddle is very subjective but these are a good shape, have a little padding, look good and last a long time."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Topeak quality at a great price! Padded elastomer grip and TwinHead connector make this efficient pump comfortable and easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good product
Posted13 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Nice product. It's robust and well designed. Essential item."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SealSkinz Winter Handle Bar Mitten
SealSkinz Winter Handle Bar Mitten
An exceptionally warm, waterproof, breathable and windproof glove with a ‘lobster claw’ construction. Split fingers provide good dexterity for braking and changing gears whilst minimising heat loss.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perhaps too good
Posted13 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
roygardner
fromWhitchurch, Shrophire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These gloves are extremely effective and I was only able to wear them when the temperature was well below zero. Any warmer than that and they can become uncomfortable (and damp) inside."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
roygardner's Questions
 
roygardner has not submitted any questions.
 
roygardner's Answers
 
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

What cleats do I need for this pedal?

Shimano SPD
5 months ago
by
roygardner
Whitchurch, Shrophire
 
A much loved saddle used by sporting cyclists for many years.
 

Do these saddles need a conditioning lotion aka the Brooks 'Proofide'?

Or are they good to go once worn in?
I've had a few and currently have one on each of my two bikes. I've occasionally used shoe cream if they've been soaked otherwise they seem fine if left alone.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
roygardner
Whitchurch, Shrophire
 
 SealSkinz Winter Handle Bar Mitten
SealSkinz Winter Handle Bar Mitten
An exceptionally warm, waterproof, breathable and windproof glove with a ‘lobster claw’ construction. Split fingers provide good dexterity for braking and changing gears whilst minimising heat loss.
 

Can insulation be removed to be dried?

Is the insulation in the form of a removable inner glove?
No - it's sewn in.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
roygardner
Whitchurch, Shrophire
 
 Vision 2 LED Front Light
Vision 2 LED Front Light
The all NEW LED light - boasts some impressive features. Beautifully made, this tiny light packs a big punch with it's twin high power 5w LED's pushing out a maximum of 480 lumens. Standard version includes 1 x 2 cell battery pack.
 

Can the Hope vision 2 LED front light be charged using a 3 pin plug ?

The charger I received was a 3-pin model.
3 years ago
by
roygardner
Whitchurch, Shrophire